Wahiawa - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Haili

Beanie-Weenie

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Yummy. Beanie weenies are a childhood memory. I just started cooking and I love making simple and delicious foods. This was easy to prepare, cook and clean. It went perfectly! It's not a hard recipe but it sure is a fun and yummy dish:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haili
Home Town: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I wish I could give this six stars--this is why: There's a Mexican joint around where I grew up that has rice EXACTLY like this. Now older and in the military, I rarely get to eat that delicious side dish. This recipe is 99% dead on. I make it any time my family has Mexican food. Now if I could only reproduce their salsa...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I use this recipe any time I make a pizza, but I use a mixture of white, wheat, and spelt flours to get a grainy, nutty taste, plus I like the variety. I even toss a generous amount of oregano in there, and sometimes even cheese. Finally, before baking, I coat the exposed crust at the edges with a bit of olive oil so that it crisps up in the oven. Gives it a nice texture and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Dill Pickles

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I'm in the military, stationed in Hawaii, and it can be hard to find some of my family's favorites from back home on the islands. My pregnant wife started to crave "frickles", as we call them. Found this recipe and it hit the spot! I added in some garlic powder and a pinch of chili powder to the flour mixture. This recipe is highly-customizable! I'm trying to watch what I eat, but I couldn't help but to have some of these puppies with my light, home-made ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smooth Sweet Tea

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I made it for the first time last night. I doubled the recipe so I have plenty of tea, but I have already had several glasses. Very good! I've always wondered why my tea never tasted as good as many restaurant teas, but now it is! I live in Hawaii, where it is very hard to find sweet tea...even McDonald's doesn't have it here. Doesn't matter now that I can make it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by proudarmywife

Greek Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I am in love with this pasta salad! I didn't add the olives because I forgot to buy some, and I think I added a little more sugar than the recipe called for (I needed to adjust the taste to my liking), I also didn't use elbow macaroni, instead I used organic gemelli. It came out fabulous! I got rave reviews at my son's birthday party. Will definitely be making this again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudarmywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kahului, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
best apple pie recipe i have ever made! made a yummy pie that i will be serving again this year for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leabers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Great recipe!!!!!11 I follow it exactly, except I use only bacon and no broccoli! I also substitute the mayonnaise with melted butter! And no raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inquebiss

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Kalua Pork with Cabbage in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Having been to a couple of luaus now, this effectively recreates the taste as well as you can without burying a pig in your back yard. We used a low sodium soy sauce, which was fine as their is more than enough salt in the recipe. We cooked a 4 lb butt in the slow cooker for about 8 hours, steaming with the cabbage for the last 30 minutes. The result was great. I served it with Guam styled fried rice, so it was a real gut buster feast. While buns or rolls are somewhat traditional, as a low glutein household we don't feel they are required. in fact, the first time I served this with hot dog buns the bread was ignored entirely, as everyone was perfectly full with pork, cabbage, rice and vegetables. while not anyone's idea of a health nut dinner, this is certainly a good option if you want a breadless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Guam Fried Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
OK, for us this was a side dish to kalua pork. I used brown rice instead of white and frozen peas instead of pea pods, worked out just fine. Our autistic 8 YO gobbled up a plate and a half of it. Why not, it has all his favorite flavors- rice and bacon! This is also a good way to sneak in vegetables if you are liberal with the carrots and peas. I guess the principle is that if you smother anything in bacon fat my kids will eat it up with a smile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Soft Mahi Mahi Tacos with Ginger-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The ginger lime dressing is delicious, and could go with just about any fish taco, not just mahi mahi. I replaced the salsa recipe with my own, because I prefer tomatoes to avacadoes. Also, shredded cheese on the tacos is a good compliment. I would recommend adding shredded lettuce, beans, or rice to the taco in order to give it body. Even with liberal servings, just the fish and the topping doesn't do it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Chef John's Salmon

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
As a novice cook, this dish seemed like it would be a challenge, but it was pretty easy to put together. Our salmon steak was quite a bit thicker than the 8 oz, so we more than doubled the cooking time before the fish was flaking. As far as taste, both our picky 4 YO and our autistic 8 YO loved it, eating more than an adult serving each. We combined it with a spinach salad with vinegar and olive oil dressing, along with some left over potato salad. I accompanied my dinner with some merlot that our neighbor had to get rid of before it went bad. Over all, a "perfecto" dinner, as my daughter put it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Own Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I ended up making this as I was pissed at myself for forgetting to get dressing at the store. I may never buy commercial dressing again, if it is always this easy, good, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I scored major points with my wife by making this dish on the 4th of July! I wish that I had read the suggestions by Janet and Bubooki to marinade the veggies as well, but I think that you can hardly improve on fresh Hawaiian pineapple in Oahu in any case. My notoriously picky 4 year old said, "Dad, this dinner is perfecto!" Also, once the preparation is done, setting up the skewers is a fun family activity. The color and smell combination are very appetizing, and I would recommend this as a quick and easy accompaniment for football games. Not poker, though. It isn't clean finger food, and you don't want to mess up the cards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Cream Cheese Cookies IV

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Instead of a birthday cake, my wife agreed that she could have cream cheese cookies today. This gamble paid off in spades! I added chocolate/peanut butter chips, and everyone just loved them! Unfortunately we grazed so much wandering around post and visiting friends that we couldn't devour these cookies ate the correct rate, but I am sure that we will more than make up for it tomorrow. In fact, I think that the kids can be assured there will be NONE left when they get back from school tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Red Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is an absolute baseline recipe: you can go anywhere from here, but if you do it just the way Ms. martin writes it you will have a somewhat bland product. We took some suggestions and added garlic to the potato boiling process, and additional bacon. Then, my wife accidentally spilled a HUGE amount of garlic powder into the mixing bowl while trying to add :just the right amount". Then we added mustard powder. the result was just about right. You can do without the excess garlic, but the mustard really helps this dish "pop".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I didn't have ranch dressing so I used the Dry Ranch Style Seasoning for Dip recipe (here on AR) and sprinkled that all over the chicken. I've made them straight after seasoning and also letting them set for a few hours. Great both ways. I couldn't picture how to do the bacon, so the video was very helpful. This has become a must-have when we have friends over, they all ask for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These were delicious! I did throw in milk chocolate chips. I didn't have an 8x8 pan so I used my Pyrex dish. Baked for 26 minutes, it came out really good. Only problem I had was that it stuck to the dish, but I can't knock down a star because of that :). These went well with ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudarmywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kahului, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa with Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
this was so good everyone loved it! i used diced tomatoes and turkey kielbasa and curly and pene pasta it turned out so good my 7 year old picky kid even asked for 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leabers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Colorful Kielbasa

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
this was really good but i had to use a little extra water and i used extra cheese and mixed in in at the end it made it all gooey and melty my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leabers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States