Kaneohe - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spaghetti Squash I

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is one of my absolute favorite recipes that I've found on this site. I do not care for black olives so I sauté some chopped zucchini instead. Always a hit when I make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*krystal*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Just Wonderful!!!!! I used a little less sugar but the rest remained the same. I'll say it again, Just Wonerful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiivike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grated Potato Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Growing up as a Norwegian on a North Dakota farm, this was served in our family a lot! The only addition was to grate a small onion into the potatoes before adding the flour. I was told that the Swedish dumplings are from cooked potatoes and the Norwegians made them from raw. I don't know the actual country of origin for this recipe but it sure brings back memories from my childhood. Sliced and fried in butter for the next days breakfast is unbeatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiivike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is the real deal! I am from Hawaii and living in the mainland, so no imu roasts in the yard like we had growing up. Slow cooker is the next best thing. This is basically the same recipe I have been using to introduce the mainlanders to our way of eating. Sea salt is a must! If you use regular salt it will be way too salty. I have just 2 small recommendations. 1) Place the pork butt with the fat side up to start. 2) Mix the liquid smoke with 2 cups water and pour over the top before coating with the sea salt. With the water added, no need to turn the pork. Just let it cook on high for 8-10 hours and shred. Add the pork back to the liquid because it's loaded with flavor. ... To really go island style, chop up a head of cabbage and add to the shredded pork then cook until it softens. May need a little pepper and soy sauce as the cabbage sucks up the salt. Broke da mouth! (delicious)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike808
Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike808

Red Velvet Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this as a cake, with the changes recommended by several other reviews (reducing flour to 2 and 1/4 cups, increasing sugar to 2 and 1/4 cups, and substituted evaporated milk with 1/2 tbsp vinegar for the milk). I thought the cake was very dense and heavy, but those I made it for said they really liked it. For finishing touches, I made a layer of sliced fresh strawberries and frosting. Then after frosting the outside, I decorated with some sliced/fanned-out strawberries and a dusting of cocoa powder. If I made this again, I would likely use cake flour for a lighter cake and add a bit more cocoa powder for more of a chocolaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike808
Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I'm not really a dessert person, but hubby likes to eat cobblers and pies and.... so, I thought I'd try this. Between me, hubby and my 12 year old son, the whole thing was gone in 5 minutes. Followed it to the T + the cinnamon. Excellent recipe! Not too sweet which is how I like my dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Mini Sour Cream Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Best eaten fresh out of the oven (after it cools a little). The biscuits were nothing to rave about, but it is simple and easy to make when you want biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was okay. It wasn't OMG delicious. I would eat this again since it was easy and fairly quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Pretty good. Refreshing taste. I didn't want to cook chicken, so I used canned chicken. I used lettuce as a wrap for the chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
It was too strong on the onion taste and bland on the other flavors. I tried to add more lime for more flavor. It tasted a little better, but the onions were still too much for me (and I love onion). Tried to eat it the next day. Onions were still too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is undoubtedly the best pepper recipe I've ever eaten. I added a little Italian sausage to the burger and also some herbes de provence to both the sauce and the meat. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiivike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is undoubtedly the best pepper recipe I've ever eaten. I added a little Italian sausage to the burger and also some herbes de provence to both the sauce and the meat. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiivike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It's edible. The flavor was a bit bland on the gravy. It's a good thing there was the Tobasco in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I substituted the 46 fl. oz. can of tomato juice with: 2 cans diced tomatoes and 1 can (16 oz) tomato sauce. The chili was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It taste pretty good, but it took long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerri808

Zesty Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Initially I rated this after eating it warm on the first day. After chilling it overnight and eating it the next day, I am adding the fifth star :) It is GOOD! Yum! Below was my first review of the dish. "I like this recipe. I cooked the quinoa in the rice cooker and used the low sodium canned black beans. This is only the second quinoa dish that I enjoy eating."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Glazed Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Yummy :) The only thing I changed was that I marinated overnight and after marinating, I baked uncovered instead of grilling (no grill available). Baking was done at 375 degrees for about 1 hour and 15 minutes (Estimate). Ribs were turned over once to brown both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
So, this was my first time ever making any kind of bread, and it came out perfectly! Huge shout-out to SaraLady19. I used her suggestions on the adjusted baking time and added that dash of nutmeg. I also halved the recipe, used 2 eggs, and omitted the milk. (Okay, I forgot the milk.) Everybody in this house rolled their eyes when they ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Garden Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
So yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnk.kiefer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cilantro-Lime Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
So awesome! Two of my favorites: cilantro and lime. I tried to be cute and measure out the ingredients, but why bother; this recipe is fool proof. I omitted the chili sauce, and added some grated carrot. Oh! I also used the "juice" from a jar of pickled jalapenos in place of the rice vinegar and served the jalapenos on the side. I just served it with some fried pork chops this time, but I bet this would be AWESOME on a pulled pork sandwich. :-) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 97) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States