Honolulu - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I loved it! Different from my typical Chinese turkey and rice soup (juk). I used one can of diced tomatoes and a can of red kidney beans with the liquid. I took someone's advice and used 1/2 c barley but then it wasn't enough so I added 1/2cup of elbows. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I loved it! Different from my typical Chinese turkey and rice soup (juk). I used one can of diced tomatoes and a can of red kidney beans with the liquid. I took someone's advice and used 1/2 c barley but then it wasn't enough so I added 1/2cup of elbows. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Pumpkin Crunch Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Another easy and delicious recipe. I halved the butter. One cup is just deadly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
So easy and good! Next time I will half the oil and sub with apple sauce. I also cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I'm not sure why this got so many rave reviews. I will say the roast was EXTREMELY tender and juicy, but completely lacked in flavor. It was just bland to me. I think the coffee took away from the other flavors. The ONLY flavor that remotely came through, was a hint of black coffee. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caleyneel
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Buttermilk Layer Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This cake recipe taste almost like devil's food cake. It was chocolatey but not too much chocolate. It was very moist. I used this recipe for my mother-in-law's birthday cake, and she loved it. I was using this cake recipe for a decorating project, so I did not use any of the candy on the cake. Other than the omission of candy, I followed the recipe without changed. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I put in a Tablespoon and a teaspoon of vinegar to regular milk. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Pies

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Made breakfast for dinner tonight and decided to make these as well. All I had in the fridge was the home style grands. This can only had 8 biscuits. I used only 4 of them and cut them in half (some were successful into thirds). I sautéed the onions and peppers using some bacon drippings. Also used bacon instead of sausage ( again used what I had on hand.) I used 3 eggs, though I think next time I will use 4. The 4 grands filled 12 muffin holes. My boys (4 & 10) ate them. They liked the portable breakfast. I froze the rest, gonna try it out tmrw morn to see how well it reheats/tastes. Bottom line, if u use grands, cut it in half or thirds, so they won't rise up too much. These were great ! EDIT: Tried these today and nuked them for about 30 sec from frzn. Great easy brkfst! The crusts become softer if you microwave them. I also reheated one in the toaster oven, and that one became crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Made this last night. After reading tons of reviews, I decided to omit the oil altogether. I doubled the sauce, and used 3 large bone in chops for our family. Marinated the chops with 1/2 the sauce for about 1.5 hrs. Baked the chops in foil lined casserole dishes. Clean up was a breeze! Sauce thickened a bit in the oven. Entire family devoured this! Keeper! Will try on chicken next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! I didn't use all the powdered sugar, I just added in more cocoa powder to thicken it. I used a combination of Hershey's and Hershey's special dark powder. Everyone loved this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was an excellent recipe and so very flavorable. I made it exactly as stated. The only issue I had was I wasn't sure what it was supposed to look like. Is this like a casserole? Mine came out a little soft on top and it was served like a very thick stew. Either way it was totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Cindy's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Used the Simple Cajun Seasoning here on this site, but used about 2 tsp, but no salt/pepper from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Lasagna Recipe : Trisha Yearwood : Recipes : Food Network

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Actually this was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Blueberry Salsa

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This has exceptional flavor and so easy to make. There's not much to do with the prep of the salmon. I have made the salsa so many times to go with fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Tomato Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Took this recipe to a potluck and everyone loved it. The recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of salt, but I used only 2 teaspoons. I felt the tablespoon of salt was excessive and that more saltiness would come from the parmesan cheese. The smell of the onions, garlic and thyme made gave the home a wondeerful aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Celebrate the holidays with a simple brunch - today > food - food - TODAY.com

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Took this to a potluck and everyone loved it. As explained in my notes I did not use 1 tablespoon of salt. Used 2 teaspoons instead as I felt more saltiness would come from the parmesan cheese. Makes a good brunch side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Cinnamon-Curry Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The ingredients in this dish inspired me! I had never considered adding spices to my tuna. Last year I found a great deal for Tuna on Amazon and bought 36 cans. Living in Hawaii, it's very expensive to buy here - so when I found it for about $1. a can, I stocked up - then, guess what happened, I never wanted to eat Tuna again. Finally, in an effort to clean out my cabinets, I searched for a recipe other than my normal, lemon juice, olive oil and salt. This recipe was Delicious! I used curry, cinnamon, mayo, Dijon mustard, salt and the juice of a fresh lime. It was nice and bright! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donna Mae's Custard Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Mochi

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and some freshly grated nutmeg before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Delicious and simple! I simmered about 2 cups of chopped kale with the broccoli, as well as several cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States