Honolulu - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Pumpkin Crunch Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Another easy and delicious recipe. I halved the butter. One cup is just deadly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
So easy and good! Next time I will half the oil and sub with apple sauce. I also cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Au Jus Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I'm not sure why this got so many rave reviews. I will say the roast was EXTREMELY tender and juicy, but completely lacked in flavor. It was just bland to me. I think the coffee took away from the other flavors. The ONLY flavor that remotely came through, was a hint of black coffee. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caleyneel
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Buttermilk Layer Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This cake recipe taste almost like devil's food cake. It was chocolatey but not too much chocolate. It was very moist. I used this recipe for my mother-in-law's birthday cake, and she loved it. I was using this cake recipe for a decorating project, so I did not use any of the candy on the cake. Other than the omission of candy, I followed the recipe without changed. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I put in a Tablespoon and a teaspoon of vinegar to regular milk. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Pies

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Made breakfast for dinner tonight and decided to make these as well. All I had in the fridge was the home style grands. This can only had 8 biscuits. I used only 4 of them and cut them in half (some were successful into thirds). I sautéed the onions and peppers using some bacon drippings. Also used bacon instead of sausage ( again used what I had on hand.) I used 3 eggs, though I think next time I will use 4. The 4 grands filled 12 muffin holes. My boys (4 & 10) ate them. They liked the portable breakfast. I froze the rest, gonna try it out tmrw morn to see how well it reheats/tastes. Bottom line, if u use grands, cut it in half or thirds, so they won't rise up too much. These were great ! EDIT: Tried these today and nuked them for about 30 sec from frzn. Great easy brkfst! The crusts become softer if you microwave them. I also reheated one in the toaster oven, and that one became crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Made this last night. After reading tons of reviews, I decided to omit the oil altogether. I doubled the sauce, and used 3 large bone in chops for our family. Marinated the chops with 1/2 the sauce for about 1.5 hrs. Baked the chops in foil lined casserole dishes. Clean up was a breeze! Sauce thickened a bit in the oven. Entire family devoured this! Keeper! Will try on chicken next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! I didn't use all the powdered sugar, I just added in more cocoa powder to thicken it. I used a combination of Hershey's and Hershey's special dark powder. Everyone loved this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This was an excellent recipe and so very flavorable. I made it exactly as stated. The only issue I had was I wasn't sure what it was supposed to look like. Is this like a casserole? Mine came out a little soft on top and it was served like a very thick stew. Either way it was totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Cindy's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Used the Simple Cajun Seasoning here on this site, but used about 2 tsp, but no salt/pepper from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Lasagna Recipe : Trisha Yearwood : Recipes : Food Network

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Actually this was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Blueberry Salsa

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This has exceptional flavor and so easy to make. There's not much to do with the prep of the salmon. I have made the salsa so many times to go with fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Tomato Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Took this recipe to a potluck and everyone loved it. The recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of salt, but I used only 2 teaspoons. I felt the tablespoon of salt was excessive and that more saltiness would come from the parmesan cheese. The smell of the onions, garlic and thyme made gave the home a wondeerful aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Celebrate the holidays with a simple brunch - today > food - food - TODAY.com

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Took this to a potluck and everyone loved it. As explained in my notes I did not use 1 tablespoon of salt. Used 2 teaspoons instead as I felt more saltiness would come from the parmesan cheese. Makes a good brunch side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Cinnamon-Curry Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The ingredients in this dish inspired me! I had never considered adding spices to my tuna. Last year I found a great deal for Tuna on Amazon and bought 36 cans. Living in Hawaii, it's very expensive to buy here - so when I found it for about $1. a can, I stocked up - then, guess what happened, I never wanted to eat Tuna again. Finally, in an effort to clean out my cabinets, I searched for a recipe other than my normal, lemon juice, olive oil and salt. This recipe was Delicious! I used curry, cinnamon, mayo, Dijon mustard, salt and the juice of a fresh lime. It was nice and bright! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donna Mae's Custard Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Mochi

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and some freshly grated nutmeg before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Delicious and simple! I simmered about 2 cups of chopped kale with the broccoli, as well as several cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Ono Butter Mochi

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Fantastic Recipe! Have had mochi many times here in Hawaii, and this at least stands up to and often squashes anything I can buy. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Excellent cobbler recipe, very simple and tastes great. Used peaches in our version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States