Honolulu - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crepes

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Medium-high heat helps keep them from sticking to a nonstick pan. You won't need any butter or oil. Be patient and let them start to release themselves on the edges, then let them go the rest of the way. They turn out a little more golden that way, but stacking them on a plate keeps them pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
FANTASTIC! ...and oh man, the aroma is mouth-watering! Made this for my father for Father's Day, he proclaimed this one of the best ever sandwiches! I did use most of the suggestions by the reviewer 'MomSavedbyGrace'. The end result was a moist Italian Beef that tasted restaurant gourmet! Thank you, thank you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very simple. The taco seasoning was a brilliant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this last night and after following the recipe to the letter, needed to doctor it up at the end. It was quite bland and as others noted, was lacking "something." Even after adding more of the red curry paste, a little more salt, cayenne to spice it up, I couldn't determine what that missing something was. My local favorite Thai restaurant is what inspired me to make this at home and I have decided it needs fresh lime juice and more cayenne. A good basic recipe from which to start though, so thank you! I was the picky eater, everyone else enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Shaffer LaMania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Simple and nutritious, but it left a strange feeling in my mouth. My mouth felt dry/rough/I don't know how to describe it. Maybe it's the dressing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chicken with Lemon-Caper Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I first cooked the pan off with a cup of chicken broth, then added the wine, 1/4 cup of lemon juice, a corn starch slurry to thicken the sauce (instead of butter), and a bit of sugar to reduce the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chef John's Easy Apple Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
If you follow the recipe without adding anything, this is hands down a 5 star recipe. I don't like nutmeg or apple pie spice - I'm strictly all about brown sugar and cinnamon when it comes to baking with apples. I know, I'm probably not normal but I like keeping things simple. BTW - this is no means a simple tasting pie! It's delish, no need to add lemon or orange essence (really, who does that to apple pie?) nutmeg or flour. And how simple was it to make by making a syrup and pouring on the pie? Can't get easier than that. The only thing that was hard was peeling the apples and slicing them. Even the hubs liked it considering he's not a an apple pie lover. Don't change a thing, kudos to Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkikoGurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hanover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mango Salsa Couscous

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was good, but it was missing... something. My guess is salt. I used some fresh mango salsa from a friend (heavy on the mango), and my guess is that there wasn't much salt in it, like there would be in commercial salsa. That said, it paired quite nicely with macadamia-crusted fish fillets with mango cream sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smashed Cauliflower Side Dish

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Whole family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I am planning to pair it with homemade piña colada ice cream topping! Remember that there is a difference between coconut cream and cream of coconut. Cream of coconut is very sweet and used in piña coladas. Coconut cream has NO sugar just like coconut milk. I recommend tasting it first if you are not sure which you have. If it isn't sweet, then you have the wrong kind for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Bars

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We think this cake is delicious, however, a cheesecake it ain't. Nor does it taste like a cheesecake. It is a wet-bottomed cake, (in a good way) which keeps it moist. The almond extract gives the cake an exquisite taste along with the blueberries. I think vanilla may be substituted as some reviewers suggest but you'd be missing out; trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Great!!! Amazing company-keeping dish...highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hauoliz_eats

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was so delicious! I made it for Boy's Day, and everyone in my family loved it. I once used a prepared graham crust for a key lime pie and it tasted terrible, so now I always make my own. Here is a recipe for a perfect graham cracker pie crust: a little bit less then 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted, 1 1/2 cup crushed graham crackers, 1/4 cup granulated sugar. Preheat oven to 375 degrees, melt butter, and crush graham crackers by putting about 12 crackers into a plastic bag, sealing it, and rolling a rolling pin over the crackers. Combine in a bowl or food processor, then press into a 9 or 10 inch pan. Make sure it is evenly spread, with no gaps or holes. Bake for 8-10 min., or until the edges become slightly brown. Let cool before filling. I made my pie in the morning and ate it that night. It was delicious, but the next morning it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I followed the recipe except for omitting the onion powder and the cayenne pepper, and adding instead crushed red pepper. I also added a bit more parmesan cheese. At first I was worried because my chopped mushroom stems and garlic's moisture didn't go away, but I just drained it, and it came out fine. Because my mushrooms were small, I have a lot of leftover filling, which I plan to use with other vegetables. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini and Potato Bake

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This recipe was awesome! I just used all the vegetables I had in my garden and refrigerator, here is my variation of this recipe. 3 zucchinis, 3 small and skinny peeled eggplants, 1 tomato (not peeled). Tossed this together, with 3/4 cup plain breadcrumbs, salt, pepper, about 1T and 2t of garlic from a jar (I didn't have fresh garlic), and 1/3 cup olive oil. I put it into a 9x13 pan, and sprinkled a lot of pecorino romano cheese on top. Baked this for 55min, which was slightly too much (next time I will bake it for 45-50min.). It made a dinner that was perfect for five people, I also added some ravioli to my dinner. The cheese adds a very good taste, and I would recommend to anyone who is reading this to use it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I liked this recipe. I doubled ingredients (except for the red crushed peppers) and I also used fresh shrimp. Towards the end I added in frozen sweet peas. I served it over hot white rice. Yummy,tasty and best of all you can control the level of spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Traditional Lamb Stew - Alexa Version

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was amazing! I followed the directions exactly as other reviewers said they did and it turned out beautifully. It's good right after you make it and it's even better the next day. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Baked Paprika-Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made this on the stovetop instead of baking (my oven was occupied at a different temperature), pan-frying chicken tenderloins in a little vegetable oil, which was a lot faster than baking. It was tasty, a nice riff on chicken parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB'

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Not the best banana bread I've ever made. Very little rise to it, so it was particularly dense, and I adjusted the baking soda/powder ratio. There isn't really any acid in the recipe for the baking soda to react with, so if I were to make it again, I'd probably use all baking powder, no soda, and maybe a little extra than is called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States