Honolulu - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Great tasting, easy to make. My family LOVES this recipe. The first time I made it, the filling fell out all over the place as we were eating it. Was NOT easy to handle. The next time, I folded the tortilla over in half and that made it so much easier to eat. Overall, the recipe is great, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raynesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I first made a double recipe for my neighbors who were down w/the flu after Christmas. I did taste it before taking it to them & knew it was good. They raved about how delicious it was...again & again & again! I made a batch for myself 2 nights ago & although I'm having it for lunch & supper, I am tempted to have it for breakfast too. I didn't change a thing in your recipe. And it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Bertram

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious recipe..add bananas or blueberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Butter

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very nice! Many reviewers thought that the original recipe was too sweet, so I cut the sugar in half, and used brown sugar instead of white. I also cooked it in the slow cooker, which kept the splatter down quite a bit. However, I thought the spice level was perfect, contrary to some reviews. I would point out that using the freshest spices possible will bring out the best results. If possible, buy your spices from a local spice merchant in small amounts. Grocery store spices tend to have been on the shelves for a LONG time, which dulls the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

Laura's Unbelievable Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Excellent. It's a little bland though so I added some Garlic pepper and salt to give it a little more flavor. Otherwise a very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Steenburgh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Good basic dish...just what I was looking for. I used a two pound chuck roast; you will still need to use one cup of water if you want to make gravy (I didn't want gravy). The liquid was very oily but that's to be expected from this cut of meat. I cut two russets in half and placed atop the meat...they came out perfect for us: Not soaked through with 'juices' nor falling apart. Very tender and tastes just as you'd expect: Meat and vegetables :-) I used Wylers Mrs. Grass onion soup mix. To me Lipton is too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Photo by Veronica

Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The best ever!! I have never had cranberry sauce before, honestly the sight of the canned cranberry was never appealing to me. So when I saw this recipe I thought, it's just to beautiful not to give it a try and I am so glad I did. My husband is an exceptional cook and he couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Veronica

Perfect Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My husband is the cook in the house and was a bit unsure about me introducing this new turkey recipe. Let me tell you, it was just as the other reviewers said it would be, juicy and tasty! The whole family enjoyed it but the veggies around the turkey were covered in grease so they went to waste, uneaten, so I will do without them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Veronica

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was my first time making a pumpkin pie and thankfully it was easy to do. My daughter is a big fan of this pie, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Veronica

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Just the right amount of sweetness, way better than any store bought pie. I'm new to cooking and baking so I was a bit nervous making this but it was easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

Classic Stuffed Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I gave a 3 for 'as is". This is a base for the way I do mine. I use sage, poultry seasoning, celery salt, and salt and pepper in mine, along with an egg. I usually toast my own bread for this. I always find that I need way more liquid. I use all chicken broth rather than water because I find that it dilutes the flavor. I like this recipe bc it reminded me of my mom's stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes from PHILADELPHIA®

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I did these in regular cupcake size...it didn't last very long. I'll be Definately making these throughout my holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Vera Cruz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe, sometimes when I rush myself...I tend to pickup thee wrong ingredients. Lesson learned!!! This recipe called for phylo dough...well I bought lumpia wraps...Hello! Didn't want to go back to the store, I went ahead an used the wraps...yeah, it didn't turn out to my liking. Phylo has a flakier texture n lumpia is well, made for lumpia! Will redo with the phylo dough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Vera Cruz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

4H Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Its a simple n delicious recipe...I used half white sugar n half brown sugar...it didn't last long!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Vera Cruz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April Vera Cruz

Anna's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made the mini chicken pot pie n chocolate chip walnut cookies...not bad for my first time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Vera Cruz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dakinegrindz

Spicy and Creamy Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
We made some changes based on what we had in the house. Didn't have whipping cream or celery but we did have cream of celery. Doubled the amount of kale because we love it and added garbanzo beans for some added protein and iron. Very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakinegrindz
Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made this r cite but for 2 servings only. Used maple syrup and only 1 tbsp of butter. Fantastic! My boys (5 & 11) gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Sour Spareribs Hawaiian Style

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
A HAWAIIAN DELIGHT MADE WITH TENDER SHORT RIBS COOKED WITH SOY SAUCE, BROWN SUGAR, VINEGAR, GINGER AND CHUNK OF PINEAPPLES. SERVE WITH JASMINE RICE TOPPED WITH DICED GREEN ONIONS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Waimea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake XI

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I don't leave reviews often, but had to leave one for this recipe. It is simple, quick, and DELICIOUS! Someone bought it to an event and after tasting it, me and other moms were hounding the person who made it for the recipe and I made it as soon as I got home that day. Only thing she did differently was reduce the sugar to 1 3/4 cup and omit walnuts. I personally think it's good even without a cream cheese topping. Recipe is for a 9x13 pan, I used a 8x8 then used the remaining batter for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica

Asian Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was a hit for the family! Love love loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States