Honolulu - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mayonnaise Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I was intrigued by the ingredients of these biscuits so I had to try them. I liked the soft, dinner roll-like texture but they had a bitter aftertaste. Perhaps the brand of mayo used was the culprit, Aldi's. I may try again with another mayo to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This was a hit with my parents!! They loved the flavor and lightness of the sauce, found it to be a perfect quick, light meal to make during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

Super Simple Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Very good! I followed the directions - only change I made was to use 1/2 butter and 1/2 coconut oil. I added a couple of slices of the lemon to cook with the salmon the last 2 minutes. Served with jasmine rice, asparagus, and tomato/avocado salad. Drizzled the buttery/lemony mixture over everything after cooking the salmon. This Florida girl will be using this recipe regularly through the summer, for sure, it was Heaven on a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Shaffer LaMania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Kohlrabi Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This was an excellent soup. We had never tried kohlrabi and were nervous to try it at first. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable like a few reviewers suggested and added a tsp garlic and used seasoned salt. This recipe is fabulous. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
A nice light dish but as another reviewer suggested I cut down the pasta amount and slightly otherwise I would have had too much pasta overwhelming the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Whiskey Marinade

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Really nice marinade. I've tried it with different type of whiskey and every time it came out divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Old-Fashioned Lemonade

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Simple to make, truly old-fashioned as the recipe is called, and absolutely perfect. Nice on a hot summer day. Made exactly as directions state. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This turned out fantastically, I did both steak and chicken in the marinade over night. Both meats had a different flavor, each delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

Spicy Eggplant

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This was a wonderful dish made just as recipe instructed. This is now my go-to dish for Asian eggplant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Nice marinade for shrimp. Made exactly as recipe instructed and came out a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Thanksgiving Beets

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
My husband is a beet lover so I made this recipe. I had never made beets before. I followed eh recipe exactly and this dish was a hit. Will definitely be making this dish again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Afghan Okra

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Excellent recipe for okra. Followed the exact recipe and my dish turned out flavoured to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Sauteed Fiddleheads

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I had never made fiddleheads before and found some fresh at the market and used this recipe. I followed the exact directions and it came out perfect. Perfect way to serve them. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Lime Cilantro Rice

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
This was one of the best rice recipes I've ever made. I made it just as the recipe directed and received raves about it. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Fabulous Fajitas

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
My husband immediately said "Who the hell puts mushrooms in fajitas?" Then reluctantly took a bite as we all stared... What a tasty surprise!! The entire family gobbled them up. Extremely flavorful, the combination of veggies and Italian dressing is perfect for this dish. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raynesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This Hawaiian raised girl LOVES this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Spread

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Best served in a crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Onion Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was GONE super fast! I only did 15 green onions, but it was still FAB! Try it! I may even try making it a dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Lentil Curry

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was delicious and very easy to make! I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I used vegetable stock instead of bouillon cubes and used on three potatoes. My daughter who is not a fan of soups or kale, had seconds. This recipe is a keeper. Will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States