Hawaii - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apricot Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
It seemed a waste to drain all this flavorful apricot liquid into the sink, so I added some sugar, cornstarch, and a tiny splash of almond extract, simmered it, and reduced it down into a fresh jam to serve with the muffins - a perfect complement! As for the recipe itself, I agree with another reviewer - these make closer to 18 than 12 standard muffins. I added some vanilla, substituted milk+vinegar for buttermilk, and topped them with demerara sugar before baking. I also used California apricots (the darker, larger halves, as opposed to the small whole dried Mediterranean apricots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Pickles

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
THESE ARE AWESOME!!! I've made 4 batches so far this summer(12 pint size jars)and they are so easy to make!! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rkbds7

Ginataang Manok (Chicken Cooked in Coconut Milk)

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It was a simple and delicious meal for one!I used a combination of powdered ginger and ground ginger, chicken pieces and one can of coconut milk and I used fresh spinach. I just used what I had on hand. Poured it over brown rice and had a meal in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkbds7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Cheese Fondue

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Hmmmm... I'm a veteran fondue-maker, but this did not give me good results. It was really similar to my all-Swiss (Gruyere and Emmentaler) fondue that uses wine instead of beer - but this did not behave like my usual fondue. When I added the flour, the cheese did not consolidate like it should, even after stirring and cooking for 8-10 minutes. I whisked in an extra half tablespoon flour, and that helped, so I whisked in the other half. Bingo - perfection. That perfection was short-lived. In the time it took me to bring everything to the table, my fondue had gone from smooth and creamy to grainy to lumpy. I took it back to the stove top, stirred vigorously, and reheated a bit, but it didn't help. My usual recipe uses 8 oz. wine, and if I were to try this recipe again, I would try two things: only a cup of beer, and a beer with a higher alcohol content. It also seemed a bit salty without the fruitiness of wine to offset the salt, so I would probably reduce the salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crepes

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Medium-high heat helps keep them from sticking to a nonstick pan. You won't need any butter or oil. Be patient and let them start to release themselves on the edges, then let them go the rest of the way. They turn out a little more golden that way, but stacking them on a plate keeps them pliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
FANTASTIC! ...and oh man, the aroma is mouth-watering! Made this for my father for Father's Day, he proclaimed this one of the best ever sandwiches! I did use most of the suggestions by the reviewer 'MomSavedbyGrace'. The end result was a moist Italian Beef that tasted restaurant gourmet! Thank you, thank you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Perfect...with a warning. I noticed reviews complaining of too much salt, so I searched three markets for non brined tenderloin to counter the salt problem. I never did find a tenderloin that had not been preserved in salt so I completely left the salt out of this recipe. If you can find fresh without any salt brine in the package, I would use the salt called for in the seasoning. If not....skip the salt addition.Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Hubby said this is awesome.....Did NOT change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by MOMOFSNUGGLEBUG

Soft Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The first time I made these, I ended up with a gooey mess that didn't turn out at all because I had too much water and not enough yeast. The second time I watched the video and prepared it just as the recipe suggested and they came out perfectly. I needed something quick and easy because I was on a deadline. They did not disappoint and I'm glad that I gave them a second try. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

Amish Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe as directed, but, I did not have to reset the bread machine as the bread machine that I own has two rise cycles. I was skeptical that it would rise enough to make a decent loaf of bread because it looked really wimpy after the first rise cycle. I was totally wrong about how it would turn out; it rose and baked beautifully. The texture is soft and dense without the little pockets of air that I get from baking bread in the machine. The flavor is wonderful. I like that it doesn't have eggs or milk in it either. I am excited to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

Honey Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have made this twice and love it. I rated 4/5 because I did modify the recipe slightly after reading some of the reviews. The biggest change is that I mixed the dry ingredients in a bowl and stirred it thoroughly prior to placing it in the bread machine. I used olive oil. I used the rapid wheat setting on my bread machine. The texture was so light and airy and the flavor was wonderful. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is my favorite asparagus recipe. If you have the opportunity, try it with Macademia nut oil. It's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Sweet Buttermilk Corn Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We made this recipe last night to go with some taco soup that I had made in the slow cooker. Normally I would use a Jiffy Cornbread recipe because I've been too scared to try making cornbread "from scratch." I followed the recipe with one small modification: yellow cornmeal. I did not have white cornmeal to use. I didn't have a lot of time to get this made because I was working with it last minute. The recipe was so easy to follow which is a huge factor for me. It had a reasonable amount of ingredients and doesn't require three hours of stirring, kneading and other various baking terms I didn't have time for. It made a HUGE skillet full. Very thick. So delicious and I don't even like cornbread! Hubby loved it and apparently so did the sugar ants. I am adding this to my "kid tested, mother approved" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a nice rice dish to go along with curries or masala dishes. I did not have raisins or cashews so I substituted with dried cranberries and toasted pine nuts. Colorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiaDys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato and Chickpea Masala

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now, with and without the tomatoes. This is a very good side dish with Curry Stand Chicken Masala or just over rice on its own. Very easy. My guest loved it. Last night a added 1 seeded and chopped jalepeno pepper to kick it up. The pepper also added some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiaDys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Made this recipe last night. I doubled the sauce recipe so that I could have sauce to freeze as recommended. I also cut the cayenne pepper in half to be more friendly to those who don't like so much of a kick. Let's just say that there was no leftovers. One of my guest is from East Pakistan, he had seconds and said everything was delicious. So hey, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiaDys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Italian Dressing I

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Awesome. I just decided to try something new. The only thing I would change would be less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexthomas58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very simple. The taco seasoning was a brilliant touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this last night and after following the recipe to the letter, needed to doctor it up at the end. It was quite bland and as others noted, was lacking "something." Even after adding more of the red curry paste, a little more salt, cayenne to spice it up, I couldn't determine what that missing something was. My local favorite Thai restaurant is what inspired me to make this at home and I have decided it needs fresh lime juice and more cayenne. A good basic recipe from which to start though, so thank you! I was the picky eater, everyone else enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Shaffer LaMania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Simple and nutritious, but it left a strange feeling in my mouth. My mouth felt dry/rough/I don't know how to describe it. Maybe it's the dressing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States