Hawaii - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This was a hit with my parents!! They loved the flavor and lightness of the sauce, found it to be a perfect quick, light meal to make during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

Super Simple Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Very good! I followed the directions - only change I made was to use 1/2 butter and 1/2 coconut oil. I added a couple of slices of the lemon to cook with the salmon the last 2 minutes. Served with jasmine rice, asparagus, and tomato/avocado salad. Drizzled the buttery/lemony mixture over everything after cooking the salmon. This Florida girl will be using this recipe regularly through the summer, for sure, it was Heaven on a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Shaffer LaMania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl

Inside Out Oreos®

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I made this one out of curiosity. I am not sure why one would mess with the perfect Oreo but this did nothing for the product. I used six double stuff for the experiment. Melting in the microwave took almost a minute to liquify the filling. The melted filling only covered 6 halves leaving me with 6 plain halves and no coating. I like the saltiness of the Oreo with the sweet filling. Putting the filling on the outside made them seem really sweet. freezing them was a slight improvement and actually if they were not frozen they would be difficult to eat. Guess this experiment is just not our cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Baked Cranberry Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
We really enjoyed this because it was not too sweet. Perfect blend of spices. I subbed pecans for the walnuts because that is all I had. In the future I will add two beaten eggs to up the protein. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Cindy's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
my family loved this but we also used 1/2 a jar of Cajun seasoning... this is flavorless without cajun seasoning.. Grant Michel's Easy Cajun Jambalaya was much better..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Panang Curry with Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Amazing! I love this dish, always order it at my favorite thai restaurant! Now I can make it at home and it's just as tasty :) You can add practically any veggies you like to this for a heartier meal, peas, water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, baby corn, literally anything! YUM!!! Topped with chopped peanuts is even better :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pad Thai

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Come on he's the Culinary Ambassador of Thai Cuisine!!! You know it's good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Delicious. One of my pet peeves on this site is the amount of people who give the recipe a lower rating after they've taken it apart and and tried to "better" it themselves with less than perfect results. Don't rate a recipe u less you've made it exactly as written first.. still don't like it? Then play with it till u do. It's inconsiderate to downgrade because of user error
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Mangus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Kohlrabi Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This was an excellent soup. We had never tried kohlrabi and were nervous to try it at first. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable like a few reviewers suggested and added a tsp garlic and used seasoned salt. This recipe is fabulous. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by mauigirl

Slow Cooker Chicken Mole

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Five stars for simplicity. Three stars for overall flavor made as directed. Flavors were a bit bitter and lacked the sweetness of the mole I am accustomed to. After sampling the mole, I added a couple more tablespoons of peanut butter and sugar and a half teaspoon more of the cinnamon and it helped immensely. I also pureed the sauce in my food processor because I did not care for the chunky texture. My crockpot cooks pretty fast so this was done in 4 hours. Any longer and the chicken would have turned to dust. I will try this one again with my changes. BTW his made alot of mole sauce so I think you could either cut it in half or double the amount of chicken to use up the sauce. I froze the leftover mole to use in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Spicy Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
OMG! This was so yummy! I have to admit I cut the heat wayyyyy back cuz we are big wimps when it comes to heat. No habanero and just 1 Tablespoon horseradish. Perfect for a summer meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Traditional Rub for St. Louis Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This was yummy but just a bit too salty for our taste. I did these on indirect heat on my gas grill with perfect results. Next time I will cut the salt by half....and there will be a next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Key Lime Pie Martini

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Yummy martini that doesn't taste like rocket fuel :) This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Slow Cooker Bone Broth

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I used this recipe, but cooked it 48 hours as most bone broth recipes call for. It was very good and "gelled" perfectly when chilled. I'm making it again as I type! May add a few more spices/herbs for extra flavor. But it was very good as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Kurtz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Malaysian Watermelon Salad

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was refreshing and very tasty. Perfect as a side dish for a summer meal. I used a personal sized melon for the two of us but I would use a regular sized watermelon in the future because the pickled rind was too thin and tough.I would also watch the red pepper amount because it did seem a bit hot for our tatse. The recipe looks way more complicated than it is. I pickled the rind the day before. Then assembled the salad the next day. Simple and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Boozy Watermelon

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This was so easy! What a wonderful treat to nibble by the pool on a hot summer day. I froze the leftovers and ate the frozen cubes too. I think I like the frozen better in fact. Thanks for sharing this delightfully refreshing snack Lisa Combest.I will make it all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Too salty for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Luke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill Wood's Juicy Pigs

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This was good but I thought it needed a little bit of sweetener so I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar to add the oomph we needed. Pot roast is $5 a pound here so I would be inclined to make this with all pork shoulder because the beef didn't seem to make a big difference as far as flavor and texture. Very good with my change. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Betty Brown's Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Nice tender sugar cookie and I like the fact that it did not spread after cutting and baking. I did use 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon almond extract due to personal taste. Other than that....no changes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Thanksgiving Muffins

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Perfect muffins and a great way to use up leftover sweet potatoes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States