Hawaii - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by mauigirl

Erika's "Frango" Mints

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I am the submitter of this recipe. A couple of things here....this is a very soft chocolate so it needs to be kept cool or it can melt very quickly. The original recipe called for two eggs but I switched to egg substitute (to avoid salmonella poisoning potential in raw eggs) and it still works great. Hope you enjoy this smooth and creamy chocolate treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Salted Nut Roll Squares

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Loved this! This recipe taste very much like the famous P@y D@y bar...only fresh and yummier. The asembly couldn't have been easier but it did stick to the pan. Next time I will line the pan with wax paper. I will also double the amount of salted dry roasted peanuts to have good coverage of the yummy center. Any peanuts that don't stick to the mixture could easily be kept for a future use. This makes alot so it was great for my holiday trays! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this today on the stovetop...It was yummy...I just suggest you pick out your favorite dried fruits...I forgot last night to get a pear but I didn't really miss it...It makes a lot so make sure you have a large enough pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salted Caramel and Toasted Pecan Truffles

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
FABULOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe.I cooked mine 15 minutes longer covered because I used the precooked noodles or no boil.Remember a recipe is just a guide.If your new at cooking taste as you go..Don't add spices you don't like...I made a white sauce for mine no tomatoes..I used the Italian sausage and also sliced butternut squash that I roasted before adding to the lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I added a few changes just for personal taste as I was craving a more Hawaiian style corn chowder, but seriously this recipe would be amazing as is.. all I did was use 2 cups creamed corn and subbed the last cup for cream of mushroom soup and added 1 can of sweet corn drained. I also added half a can of diced pan fried spam or u can use Portuguese sausage and since I love a thick chowder, I simmered for 15 minutes longer after adding the half and half with 1/4 cup flour. . Delicious and not a serving left for a family of 6.. we indulged with a loaf of home made garlic bread.. this is a keeper for sure!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Mangus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Simple and quick if you assemble/prep all the ingredients early in the day.I made this exacly as directed and we both thought it was very good. I kicked it up a bit when I reheated the leftovers by adding some of my preserved lemons to it. That made it divine. I might add some sundried tomatoes next time around too. Thanks for another winner Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Chocolate Cake in a Mug

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is the first cake in a mug that I have seen without any leavening so I was worried about it raising. Turned out fine. It was dense but not that spongy texture so many of these have. Just a tad too sweet for our taste but that could be adjusted. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Sweet Potato-Cashew Bake

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Five stars without the marshmallow from the non marshamallow camp. Five stars from the Marshmallow camp. (I made two separate pans) That should be a ten! Really good recipe and not overly sweet w/o mm :) I usually use pecans but the cashews were a terrific addition. Will be making both again at Thanksgiving.Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Fruit Cocktail Drop Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This cookie reminds me of the kind my grandother made. She didn't have fancy ingredients or even the time to decorate her creations artfully but she made wonderful treats like this to make memories. My hubby is a diabetic so I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and substituted the rest of the sugar with Truvia baking blend. No other changes. They turned out perfect in spite of me. Thanks for sharing this old fashioned recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Warm Hug

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Used your ingredients and topped the hot chocolate with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Absolutely decadent! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful winter cocktail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Pumpkin Butter

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very nice! Many reviewers thought that the original recipe was too sweet, so I cut the sugar in half, and used brown sugar instead of white. I also cooked it in the slow cooker, which kept the splatter down quite a bit. However, I thought the spice level was perfect, contrary to some reviews. I would point out that using the freshest spices possible will bring out the best results. If possible, buy your spices from a local spice merchant in small amounts. Grocery store spices tend to have been on the shelves for a LONG time, which dulls the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

Universal Brining Formula

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I used this for my Thanksgiving turkey and it couldn't have been simpler and so delicious. Put a nice golden touch to the skin too. Thanks for my new go to recipe for brining meats duboo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Honey Maid Holiday Cheesecake Presents

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Five stars for ease of prep! I made these for our neighbors' Hanukkah party and they loved them. I crushed and mixed the crumb layer in my food processor. Rinsed the bowl and blade and mixed the cream cheese mixture in the same bowl. I did have a bit of a time cutting these until I started using a knife/cutter heated in hot water. The hot cutters left a nice clean cut. Next time I make these, I think I will add some lemon or lime zest to add a punch of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Ginger Pear Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I was a little hesitant upon finishing the batter because it was very thin compared to most the muffins I make. They turned out fine though. Next time I would probably double or even triple the sugar because they needed a little boost of sugar to fit our taste. I did not have any oat bran so I topped the muffins with finely chopped candied ginger and that seemed to work well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Antipasto Kabobs Recipe

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I attended an Allrecipes roundup this weekend and gammaray AKA xray barb brought this FABULOUS appetizer. I had to control myself cuz I could have been a pig and ate everyone of them. These will be on my party menu from now on! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mauigirl

Bacon-Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Manchego Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
We love these and so do my guests. I took them to an Allrecipes party yesterday and they inhaled them. Actually, I will have to make them again today just to put a pic on this great recipe. I used Asiago cheese because that is what my local Costco had. I wrapped them in a half slice of Costco precooked bacon and baked as directed which makes it even easier. Watch them for burning though :)I also bought the big tub of pitted dates at Costco to make a bunch for the holidays. Thanks for sharing this much appreciated and simple appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Laura's Unbelievable Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Excellent. It's a little bland though so I added some Garlic pepper and salt to give it a little more flavor. Otherwise a very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Steenburgh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cwmom98

Super Duper Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Hello everyone! I couldn't figure out any other way to respond but i wish to thank all of you for your kind reviews. I get so excited every time a new one is posted. Again, thank you very much! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwmom98

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waimanalo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Amissville, Virginia, USA

Sparkling Punch

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Huge hit! Next time I need to make a double batch. It went too fast. We kept a bottle of brut nearby for those who wanted it spiked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States