Ventura, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a great recipe! I was looking for something basic to start with and modify to my own tastes and this was it. I wasn't feeling well and wanted to make some chicken soup but obviously wasn't feeling like slaving over the stove all day. It went together quickly and easily and I saved time by using pre-cut carrot chips. The only thing I did spend time on was deboning the rotisserie chicken I used instead of canned chicken - and I'm glad that I did, it was more flavorful than canned would have been. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a great recipe! I was looking for something basic to start with and modify to my own tastes and this was it. I wasn't feeling well and wanted to make some chicken soup but obviously wasn't feeling like slaving over the stove all day. It went together quickly and easily and I saved time by using pre-cut carrot chips. The only thing I did spend time on was deboning the rotisserie chicken I used instead of canned chicken - and I'm glad that I did, it was more flavorful than canned would have been. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Hot and Spicy Pecans

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I concur with other cooks who advise to lower temp. Consider a test run with small batch first. If you have unsatisfactory results at 300 degrees, reduce temp to 275 on successive batch, and watch carefully between the 20 minute -30 minute cooking time so as not to over bake. It may seem as though nuts are not finished because coating seems moist, but as nuts cool, the coating congeals and coats well. Stir nuts frequently as they cool out of oven so they do not adhear to baking sheet. You can make this recipe work with practice. Try honey or brown sugar if you want sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I was surprised to like such a simple pie, as I usually make one with half & half and brandy that is my family's fave. I Took off one star due to too much time at 425F, causing the crust to over brown. It was totally dark with 22 minutes left to bake. I did double the ginger and halve the salt. Children and adults all enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Garbanzo Bean Patties

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I left a slight visible "grit" while processing. I doubled the recipe, and having only enough fine dry crumbs for the original, I processed a wide piece of whole wheat bread to make up the difference. I finely processed one celery stalk and stirred it in. Four adults and four children ages 4-11 liked these. I will be cooking up dried garbanzos to make these again and stock my freezer. Be sure to rinse canned garbanzos in all recipes, if using, to avoid an off taste. I would like to do these as sticks to dip in marinara sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Mozzarella-Stuffed Pesto Turkey Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Tasty, loved the pesto in the meat mix. Texture was a good, soft type meatball. Minus a star because the balls became little volcanos of mozzarella. I baked them 30 minutes and they were done; more and there might not have been any cheese left inside. I made 44 large balls, and would limit the cheese cubes to 1/2" next time. The amount of pepper is okay, but very noticeable; my grandkids had mixed reaction to these. My husband & I liked them well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I thought the topping was too sweet, and the loaf was a bit crumbly. I did cut way back on the hot sauce, but my criticism is of the texture. My grandkids, ages 4,6 & 7, did not care for this fresh baked. However, they thought it was edible the second day sliced thin on a sandwich with ketchup. Chilled, it held together solidly. I might try again without the sugary top and with herbs instead of hot sauce, using Drew's hint of an extra egg and baking it flat to aid in holding it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

White Chocolate Cherry Fudge

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
For those asking, you get 64 pieces by cutting 8 pieces each way; 8x8=64. If you need to, think in terms of cutting the pan into 4 quarters, then each 4" quarter into 16-1" squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Cyn D

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made for New Year's Eve...Delicious!!! Followed recipe except a bit more cayenne & Parmesan. We like it spicy & cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This dish sounded amazing but was a huge disappointment, and that was a huge bummer since it does take a little time to make. I served it to company and no one could finish it. The pesto is very greasy with lots of olive oil. I did not find it creamy at all, in fact it was very strong. It smelled much better than it tasted. I did not change anything at all, I followed it to the letter. After tasting it, I am quite surprised at the amount of stars because usually recipes with this many stars are really good. I won't be making again. Also, I could not find a jar of pesto that large and had to buy two - it was expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Aaarrgh! So many 5-star reviews from people who changed the recipe!! Cutting the salt in half and doubling the chocolate is not the recipe. The exact recipe came out so pasty, it reminded all here of peanut butter sticking to the roof of your mouth. Not as chocolaty as one would expect from 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips and clumps sticking to the knife made it impossible to cut nicely. It is way too salty. I have a number of brownie recipes that are yummy...this is not one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Bacon and Date Appetizer

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made these with almonds and decided I didn't care for them so much, so I will give the rating a 4. For my son's wedding, I made them with cream cheese and some with gruyere. The ones with the cream cheese actually tasted best, imo! (This would give it 5 stars, but I am rating the original recipe.) To make them, I slit the dates and stuffed the cheese. I cut the bacon into thirds and wrapped around each date. I then skewered five or six of them on wooden skewers that I'd soaked in water. They were baked in a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Because they were on skewers, it was easy to turn them over half-way thru and brown the bacon on the opposite side. I transfered them to wire racks to cool a bit before serving. To serve, push them off the skewers and serve with or without toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Roasted Greek Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Kids and adults all loved this flavorful and juicy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by JAYLF67

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Just wow, so easy and so hearty. I love garlic so I used 5 cloves, haha. I followed the directions to the letter for the rest, all fresh veggies, and I bought sweet Italian sausage from the deli counter. I forgot to buy it, but I think garnishing with fresh parmesan cheese would be delightful :-) I plan to make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYLF67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Really good recipe, but I find canned green beans to be far too mushy, so I thawed two packages of frozen green beans. The microwave step is not really necessary, but may help if you're in a time crunch. I mixed the cheddar cheese in with the soup instead of putting it on top and all I had to do was add about 20 minutes to the cooking time in the oven. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made dinner rolls with this recipe and I will definitely be doing it again! Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Lol. I love this recipe because it is 'word for word' the exact same recipe on the back of the canned pumpkin. Wish there was some sort of variation instead of a copy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kinman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Cyn D

Cake Mix Cookies I

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
German Chocolate cake mix, added 1 extra egg, & did add the extra water. Added 1c shredded coconut, 1/2c chocolate chips, & 1/2c pecan pieces. After cooling, frosted with a dollup of canned Coconut Pecan frosting. Delicious! Everyone raved & plate was empty in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Ratatouille

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipe is perfect. It's a great vegetarian option and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I made a few additions to incorporate some veggies I already had in my refrigerator. I used sweet Italian turkey sausage, added 1/2 an onion, 1 small yellow squash, 1 rib of celery, 1/2 of a turnip - cubed, used 6 cloves of garlic, added in some water (1 broth can ) and a beef bullion cube, and seasoned with onion flakes, garlic flakes, and Italian seasoning in addition to the salt and pepper. I simmered the soup on low for about 5 hours and served it over cooked salad macaroni (ditalini). I'll be making this recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States