Ventura, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cranberry Orange Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Excellent and very easy to make. I subbed the zest of a navel orange plus the juice of half of it for the can of mandarins. The berries are tart but it's great with the sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by andrea

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I have been using this exact recipe for years now. It is hands down my most favorite meal. I make at least 3 times a month. I rarely leave comments, but this recipe is so good, that I needed to share it with others. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
So good, a lot like my italian grandmothers ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Busy Day Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My 6-qt. cooked this chicken to mush in 8 hours. The bones can deteriorate, splinter and become dangerous for young children to deal with. I will have to play with timing on this recipe and will use some boneless skinless thighs and breasts combined in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Asian Burger Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Quick and easy dish for the kids! Be sure to cut firm veggies small enough to cook in 3 minutes, or precook a bit. I think this would also work well with ground turkey and chicken broth. I ditched the peppers because of young ones, and put the onions in with the sprouts to mellow them. I just realized, I might have left out the water, which might account for enough flavor. Could be an idea to leave the water until last and add to your own desired concentration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Yum! I stuck to the original flavor profile, using 1/3 of a large red onion and had a handful of carrot to a standard 15.5 oz. can of garbanzos. I gave a fine chop to the veggies in the blender and mashed the chick peas with a potato masher. This was a hit with my husband and I was pretty darn impressed. It's one of those "sum is greater than the parts" things. Although it looked a teensy dry, it tasted moist and I was glad I left well enough alone. I made sandwiches on whole wheat bread and my meat lovin' man stated he could eat these for lunch on a regular basis! I will use only 2-3 Tbsp. pulverized onion when I make this for my 3,6 & 7 year old grand kids, and will definately be cooking up my own dry beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

No Roll Pie Crust II

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I've made this wonderful recipe for 40 years as a quick alternative to a rolled crust. Wisk the oil and milk together in the measuring cup before adding to the flour mixture in the pie plate for even blending of the ingredients. I think it works best prebaked (I bake at 425 degrees F.)with a cooked filling such as in lemon meringue pie. However, I was surprised to find that this even works, unbaked, as a quiche crust without getting soggy. When used unbaked, it stays crisper if the pie is baked for 10 minutes at 425 degrees F and then reduced to your pie recipe temp to finish baking. Expect this crust to be tender and crumbly rather than flaky like a shortening rolled crust...different, but good in its own way. I've come to use this more frequently out of laziness, and because I don't want to use hydrogenated fats. I've tried to reduce the ratio of oil, but all my efforts have been less tender. Corn oil and mixed vegetable oils workd just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Old-Fashioned Lemonade

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great standard lemonade, calling for equal measure of lemon juice and sugar. For those who read only the ingredient list, the recipe actually does call for one cup of juice to the cup of sugar. Although I like mine a touch less sweet, it is probably a five for most lemonade lovers. If you like extra tart, hold back on some of sugar and give it a taste, then add to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Triple Berry Crisp

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is extremely sweet, gooey and unpleasant to eat. I believe it needs only about half the brown sugar and butter. It also needs a good pinch of salt if using unsalted butter. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Pinto Beans With Mexican-Style Seasonings

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The beans came out so wonderful my fiance said he needed more and wanted to make bean burritos all week! I didn't have any bacon on hand, so I used pork chorizo instead and wow it worked magically! Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofrielly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Juicy, cooked to 160 degrees F.; I stuck an instant read thermometer in from the side of a burger. I just realized that I altered the recipe by using a whole egg to only 1 1/2 lbs. of turkey, and totally omitted the salt, garlic and crumbs. Sorry...hurried dinner tonight, but it was perfect that way for adults and children here. That made eight burgers for us, with hubby eating two. My 12-month old granddaughter gobbled down half a burger that her mom cut up for her...tender enough for only 4 little teeth. It seemed to have more color to it than the photos with the egg white only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Make-Ahead Baked Egg Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These are delicious. I made two batches. The first with toasted English muffins, ham and Kraft American singles. I seasoned the eggs with salt, pepper and a sprinkle of garlic powder. To toast the English muffins I split a dozen of them and toasted them under the broiler on a baking sheet. I thought they turned out excellent, though I did have to cook the eggs for about 16-18 minutes and not 8-10 minutes as indicated in the recipe. For the 2nd batch I used Pillsbury home-style biscuits and to the raw eggs I added a pound of browned, drained and cooled Jimmy Dean sage sausage and then baked the egg/sausage mix for about 15 minutes. Then I assembled them with a square of sausagy egg, a Kraft American single and the biscuit. Also delicious! I prefer the English muffin version, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Shuk Shuka

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I made this for breakfast with a couple pieces of wheat bread as I didn't have pita bread. Not only delicious and healthy but an excellent way to use up the abundance of our summer garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This recipe was great! I followed the recipe very closely and everything turned out perfect. I served the chicken on top of thick spaghetti. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stovetopgoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Enchiladas I

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Yum! I used flour tortillas and miled green chile sauce and lottsa cheddar cheese! Delicious! Great for freezing individual serving to heat later too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbehaving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Fantastic! I considered using ground beef since it's a bit easier to find, but that would have been a big mistake. This recipe is absolutely perfect and the directions were very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stovetopgoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Cracker Crust I

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This came out densely chewy, sicky sweet and difficult to cut with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Easy and so good. Nice combo of soft and chewy. Taste just as good after freezing; just put on the serving plate and they're ready to eat in under five minutes. Actually, they're great while they're still frozen. While they are still icy cold, they have a nice snap to them. I used a 2 tsp. disher, which made 78 perfect 2 1/2 inch cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Home-style Tacos al Pastor (Chile and Pineapple Pork Tacos)

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Awesome! Did a 24 hour marinade and will make these again soon!! I got 33 street taco sized out of my batch. They were a hit with everyone even though I added an extra chile and adobo sauce. I use crushed pineapples & blended 1/2 into the sauce. I was eating the sauce w/ a spoon right out of the pot.. it was so good! Serve w/ onions, radish & cilantro. Some of my guests wanted cheese to I used finely shredded monterrey jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCarter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Italian Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very simple and easy slow cooker meal. Served ours over some jasmine rice. Don't use store bought Italian seasoning mix WAY too salty, make your own or use a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch mix. I added maybe 2/3 of the package but I did use 6oz of cream cheese in the sauce. Served it with some steamed fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCarter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States