Ventura, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Carrot Salad with Ginger

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I made this recipe frequently, both with and without the ginger, when my kids were small and we loved it! Somehow, it got lost in my memory and I specifically searched for it to serve to my grandkids tonight, not that it really requires a recipe. The orange juice and raisins are the perfect sweetener for the carrots. My husband and I like this as much as the children do, and it is so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
So it's not authentic, but five stars because this is so yummy, easy and used ingredients on hand when I didn't have cream. This also has fewer calories than a full cream version, especially if neufchatel is used. I have made three times now, once subbing Pecorino Romano for the Parmesan, and a disastrous substitute of Provalone on the third time. The Provalone clumped and I had to spoon out disgusting clumps with a large ladle. I managed to salvage the rest by stirring in 2 tablespoons of roux (2 Tbsp. butter & flour cooked together) which dissolved the remaining clumps, and I added a few ounces of Parm at the end. Learn from my goof and don't sub a slicing cheese for the Parm. My picky grandkids, 4, 6 & 7, lapped this up each time, even with canned clams added to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Very tasty. The sour cream gives it a eat creamy taste. As far as spaghetti sauce, I used Newman's Own Marinara sauce and instead of the provolone cheese, I used an Italian 4 cheese blend which includes provolone, mozzarella, parmesan and asiago romano. Came out perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aglittlefoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I tried this recipe last week. It was absolutely delicious. My husband and daughter both loved it. Pretty darn close to the House Special recipe from Pick Up Stix. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aglittlefoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Coconut Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
So Delicious!! Didn't have enough eggs so I found through a google search to sub 1/3 cup mayo per egg, so I used 2/3 cup mayo and 2 eggs, and then I added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder to help leaven since the mayo wasn't going to do that like an egg. It worked great. I made one 9x5, one 8x4 and two 2 1/2 x 4 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Authentic Pepper Pot Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was pretty darn good and super healthy. Like other reviewers, I used some chicken sausage in place of the tripe and canadian bacon instead of regular bacon. I would definitley make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Ginger Catfish

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was so good! The only thing I changed was that I added some onions and sesame oil to the broth as other reviewers suggested. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Convery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a great recipe! I was looking for something basic to start with and modify to my own tastes and this was it. I wasn't feeling well and wanted to make some chicken soup but obviously wasn't feeling like slaving over the stove all day. It went together quickly and easily and I saved time by using pre-cut carrot chips. The only thing I did spend time on was deboning the rotisserie chicken I used instead of canned chicken - and I'm glad that I did, it was more flavorful than canned would have been. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This was a great recipe! I was looking for something basic to start with and modify to my own tastes and this was it. I wasn't feeling well and wanted to make some chicken soup but obviously wasn't feeling like slaving over the stove all day. It went together quickly and easily and I saved time by using pre-cut carrot chips. The only thing I did spend time on was deboning the rotisserie chicken I used instead of canned chicken - and I'm glad that I did, it was more flavorful than canned would have been. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Hot and Spicy Pecans

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I concur with other cooks who advise to lower temp. Consider a test run with small batch first. If you have unsatisfactory results at 300 degrees, reduce temp to 275 on successive batch, and watch carefully between the 20 minute -30 minute cooking time so as not to over bake. It may seem as though nuts are not finished because coating seems moist, but as nuts cool, the coating congeals and coats well. Stir nuts frequently as they cool out of oven so they do not adhear to baking sheet. You can make this recipe work with practice. Try honey or brown sugar if you want sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I was surprised to like such a simple pie, as I usually make one with half & half and brandy that is my family's fave. I Took off one star due to too much time at 425F, causing the crust to over brown. It was totally dark with 22 minutes left to bake. I did double the ginger and halve the salt. Children and adults all enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Garbanzo Bean Patties

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I left a slight visible "grit" while processing. I doubled the recipe, and having only enough fine dry crumbs for the original, I processed a wide piece of whole wheat bread to make up the difference. I finely processed one celery stalk and stirred it in. Four adults and four children ages 4-11 liked these. I will be cooking up dried garbanzos to make these again and stock my freezer. Be sure to rinse canned garbanzos in all recipes, if using, to avoid an off taste. I would like to do these as sticks to dip in marinara sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Mozzarella-Stuffed Pesto Turkey Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Tasty, loved the pesto in the meat mix. Texture was a good, soft type meatball. Minus a star because the balls became little volcanos of mozzarella. I baked them 30 minutes and they were done; more and there might not have been any cheese left inside. I made 44 large balls, and would limit the cheese cubes to 1/2" next time. The amount of pepper is okay, but very noticeable; my grandkids had mixed reaction to these. My husband & I liked them well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I thought the topping was too sweet, and the loaf was a bit crumbly, but my criticism is of the texture. My grandkids, ages 4,6 & 7, did not care for this fresh baked. However, they thought it was edible the second day sliced thin on a sandwich with ketchup. Chilled, it held together solidly. I might try again without the sugary top and with herbs instead of hot sauce, using Drew's hint of an extra egg and baking it flat to aid in holding it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Cyn D

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made for New Year's Eve...Delicious!!! Followed recipe except a bit more cayenne & Parmesan. We like it spicy & cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The pesto is very greasy with lots of olive oil. I did not find it creamy at all, in fact it was very strong. It smelled much better than it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stevens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The recipe came out pasty and not as chocolaty and way to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Bacon and Date Appetizer

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
For my son's wedding, I made them with cream cheese and some with gruyere. The ones with the cream cheese actually tasted best, imo! (This would give it 5 stars, but I am rating the original recipe.) To make them, I slit the dates and stuffed the cheese. I cut the bacon into thirds and wrapped around each date. I then skewered five or six of them on wooden skewers that I'd soaked in water. They were baked in a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes. Because they were on skewers, it was easy to turn them over half-way thru and brown the bacon on the opposite side. I transfered them to wire racks to cool a bit before serving. To serve, push them off the skewers and serve with or without toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Roasted Greek Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Kids and adults at my house all loved this flavorful and juicy recipe! Wait, I'm back to say that 4 tsp. salt can't be correct for 4 servings! I think I used about 1 tsp. salt. I have to remove a point, but this is otherwise a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by JAYLF67

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Just wow, so easy and so hearty. I love garlic so I used 5 cloves, haha. I followed the directions to the letter for the rest, all fresh veggies, and I bought sweet Italian sausage from the deli counter. I forgot to buy it, but I think garnishing with fresh parmesan cheese would be delightful :-) I plan to make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYLF67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States