Santa Rosa, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crab Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
this was the hit of the party! first appetizer to disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty
Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Light, fluffy, perfectly balanced sweet & spice. My kids LOVED them and so did I. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeaninne Raaberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Batch Kris Kringle Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made as written except I used 6oz of white chips, I always use half of the chips a recipe calls for, just a personal preference. I also only used 1 1/2 c. cranberries, because that's all I had, they are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Cream Cheese Penguins

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
A few tips for a successful penguin assembly. For the penguin body take a jumbo olive and use the small "cross" on one end as a template for cutting. Use a sharp knife with a pointed tip and insert it into the "cross". Use the slot made from the pitting process as a guide for your knife and make your first cut. Follow the next tip of the "cross" to make your second cut. This will give an even 1/4 part to remove. I use a butter knife and regular cream cheese to fill the penguin bodies. Using a small amount on the tip of the knife it slides in quite easily. Use your finger to touch up where needed. For the heads it works best to cut narrow triangles. Insert them through the large hole end and the "beak" will pop out of the smaller hole. Use a toothpick to push through. The rest of the penguin is easy to assemble. Just made sure the carrot is nice and thick to create a sturdy base. A nice variation is to mince smoked salmon, fresh dill and a squeeze of lemon juice into the cream cheese before assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Holiday Pomegranate Mignonette

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
If making this a day or two ahead, don't add the pomegranate seeds until just before serving. The vinegar will dissolve the seeds if you add them too early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Italian Herb Infused Olive Oil

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
A simple recipe, but caution, because the instructions are only good if you are going to use this oil in the 2 days it specifies, otherwise use dried herbs only and a sterilized bottle. The fresh herbs need to be dried with any infusion recipe, or you need to cook the herbs in the oil. I prefer dried, because the dried herbs soak up the oil much faster, and the oils from the herbs blend easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Good recipe, except I added about twice the Cumin, and Garlic, as I like it spicy. Also added Red pepper Flakes. For a twist, I sliced thin strips of Corn Tortilla, and baked them until crispy and used as a topper rather than the crumbled Tortilla Chips on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe because it sounded so good. I used all chicken stock instead of water, and omitted the chicken bouillon. We are a family 50/50 on celery, but love red bell peppers so that was the substitute. It made for a wonderfully colorful and delightful experience. Sprinkled each bowl fresh chopped cilantro, and a side of toasted garlic Ciabatta. Wine pared it with Kenwood Pinot Gris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Restaurant Caesar Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was a treat. I always knew how to make a good Caesar Dressing, but this was better than mine. It was the Dijon Mustard that mine was missing. This is also a great Coleslaw dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sybil's Old Fashioned Lemon Layer Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is my favorite lemon cake recipe. I don't care for the glaze consistency of the frosting, so I use a different frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Piccata Whitefish

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I didn't have any wine on hand so I used a cup of chicken broth instead. It was delicious. I'd like to make it again without so much butter but it really does make the sauce nice and velvety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe has the perfect balance of heat from the horseradish and cool from the sour cream. I make my own prepared horseradish from fresh root so it tends to be extremely hot! It worked perfect in this recipe. I served it with a Cabernet wine jelly so I omitted the chives but other than that the I follow the recipe exact. I also increased the recipe to 50 servings and the ratios held up. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Broccoli with Poppy Seed Butter and Parmesan Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Gazpacho

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Used fresh heirloom tomatoes and the flavor was amazing. I also don't like the texture of dried herbs so only used fresh. Made a couple of substitutions; cilantro instead of parsley and jalapeno instead of bell pepper. I like a kick! A drizzle of high quality olive oil at the end added a nice velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I leave out the powdered garlic and poke fresh garlic into the fat before roasting. The chunks of roasted garlic makes for an amazing roast! I serve it with a creamy horseradish sauce, homemade au jus and cabernet wine jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Delicious, very moist and yummy! Used about half cup more zucchini than called for otherwise followed recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Starburst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir-Fried Shrimp in Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is restaurant quality for sure. I used sugar snap peas, mushrooms, red bell pepper, red onion and water chestnuts, because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Waffles I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very good. I added some bacon pieces to the batter, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Caprese Appetizer

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Using the highest quality ingredients and the peak of season will make this recipe shine. I like drizzling with a balsamic reduction and olive oil or basil pesto if ingredients aren't quite up to par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Breakfast Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Next time I will try it with home made biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States