Santa Rosa, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Delish! Didn't have dark brown sugar, so I used light brown sugar and added a little molasses. Next time, and there will be a next time, I'm adding a little red pepper flakes to give it some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Great recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Did not like. Too dry. Would have to make some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Very easy. We used this recipe for a 5 year old birthday party bash. We had lots of kids and parents too! It was a hit for both. The kids wanted more and the parents wanted the recipe. I had two -pots full and there was no left-overs. The parents were amazed about how little ingredients were used. They all thought it was a lot more involved than it actually was. A BIG HIT! One note: You do not have to use Root Beer, you can use coke/pepsi too. Just do not use a diet version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
A very good recipe. I tend to add more zucchini which makes it a more pudding like and it sneaks in more veggies for the kids. Our family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is wonderful! I have made it into cupcakes a couple times. I made some adjustments as I live in Colorado at 7200 ft. So if you live at high elevation here is my adjustment: Butter: 1/2 Cup + 2 TBSPN, Sugar: 2 Cups, Flour: 3 1/2 Cups, Baking Soda: 1 tsp, and all other ingredients remain the same. Be careful to only fill muffin cups no more than 3/4 full or they will overflow as high elevation tends to make baked goods rise more than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I add a squirt of honey, 1/4 cup white sugar, and a 1/4 cup flour as I live in Colorado at 7200 feet. Everyone raved about how great this dish was. Thanks for the recipe! I use a large 9x13 dish and it fills it out nicely. Be sure it is cooked all the way through before you remove it. It should bounce back lightly at the touch and come clean with a toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosettes

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ableskivevers/ Pan Puffs

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is DELISH for box cake :) Will make again, simple and good, how can you go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Loved this, I did add more cilantro. Used it on grilled torta bread with grilled chicken breasts and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I thought this was great because I love balsamic. Since I have two small children I add a bit of honey to cut out the tang that was a little to intense for them the first time I made this. I also add mushrooms, bell peppers, garlic and fresh herbs from my garden. If we want some kick a squirt of rooster sauce is perfect. I brown the chicken in my Dutch oven and then add all the other ingredients and pop it in the oven at 350. I leave the skin on the chicken except for my husbands piece because it grosses him out. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was delicious - even my kids gobbled it up. I used a bit less cheese and used parmesan instead of asiago,then I added shredded carrots and chopped leftover ham to the mix and skipped the bacon just because that is what I had. Also thought I had panko and didn't so I just used bread crumbs I made in the food processor from a couple heels of whole grain bread. The topping was great even without the bacon. I will definitely be making this again, but not too often, I'll eat too much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded French Dip

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
So good! I don't have a slow cooker so I browned the roast in a pot added the liquid ingredients except for the onion soup, I added extra beef stock instead. Put a lid on and baked it in the oven for 3 hours at 350. Toasted a roll, sliced the roast added some swiss cheese and dipped it in the au jus. YUM! UPDATE: I brown the pot roast in my dutch oven, add 2 cans beef broth, 1 can beef consomme and simmer on the stove top for 4 1/2 hours. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Jalapeno Corn Bread

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
UPDATE: I have made this with the oil, and with melted butter. We liked it best with the melted butter. I add the melted butter to room temp buttermilk. DH and I loved this rustic jalapeno corn bread recipe. I cooked mine in a 9" round. Will definitely make again, I will add more jalapenos and maybe some fresh corn off the cobb :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
These are great! I use regular thin cut bacon, pre cooked some, because I grilled them on a grill pan. For the seasoning I used Bacon Salt with some brown sugar mixed in. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Strawberry Dream Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was fabulous! The frosting tasted like strawberry ice cream, the cake was good, but a little dense. I have another cake recipe I will use next time, but I will add the strawberry milk to it. That said I will make this cake again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
O.M.G! Extremely tasty, not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cream Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've made these cupcakes at least 50 times and taken either to a party or to work and everyone has loved them! The only problem I've had is that once out of the oven, they would shrink up. Still, great flavor! This time I doubled the baking powder and baking soda and they turned out perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas Suizas

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Am I the only one who had trouble figuring out what to do with the chicken after it was cooked? Shredded it, and then ended up chopping it a little finer in the food processor. If using 1 chicken breast/person, breast should be small. I had major leftover filling (not necessarily a bad thing). Also, I always forget to spray the aluminum foil so the cheese doesn't stick. Wrote it on my recipe to remember next time. Like others, I doubled the sauce and substituted 8 oz. cream cheese for 1C whipping cream. Served w/sour cream on the side at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States