Santa Rosa, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I add a squirt of honey, 1/4 cup white sugar, and a 1/4 cup flour as I live in Colorado at 7200 feet. Everyone raved about how great this dish was. Thanks for the recipe! I use a large 9x13 dish and it fills it out nicely. Be sure it is cooked all the way through before you remove it. It should bounce back lightly at the touch and come clean with a toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosettes

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ableskivevers/ Pan Puffs

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is DELISH for box cake :) Will make again, simple and good, how can you go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Loved this, I did add more cilantro. Used it on grilled torta bread with grilled chicken breasts and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I thought this was great because I love balsamic. Since I have two small children I add a bit of honey to cut out the tang that was a little to intense for them the first time I made this. I also add mushrooms, bell peppers, garlic and fresh herbs from my garden. If we want some kick a squirt of rooster sauce is perfect. I brown the chicken in my Dutch oven and then add all the other ingredients and pop it in the oven at 350. I leave the skin on the chicken except for my husbands piece because it grosses him out. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onions and Bacon

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was delicious - even my kids gobbled it up. I used a bit less cheese and used parmesan instead of asiago,then I added shredded carrots and chopped leftover ham to the mix and skipped the bacon just because that is what I had. Also thought I had panko and didn't so I just used bread crumbs I made in the food processor from a couple heels of whole grain bread. The topping was great even without the bacon. I will definitely be making this again, but not too often, I'll eat too much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded French Dip

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
So good! I don't have a slow cooker so I browned the roast in a pot added the liquid ingredients except for the onion soup, I added extra beef stock instead. Put a lid on and baked it in the oven for 3 hours at 350. Toasted a roll, sliced the roast added some swiss cheese and dipped it in the au jus. YUM! UPDATE: I brown the pot roast in my dutch oven, add 2 cans beef broth, 1 can beef consomme and simmer on the stove top for 4 1/2 hours. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Jalapeno Corn Bread

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
UPDATE: I have made this with the oil, and with melted butter. We liked it best with the melted butter. I add the melted butter to room temp buttermilk. DH and I loved this rustic jalapeno corn bread recipe. I cooked mine in a 9" round. Will definitely make again, I will add more jalapenos and maybe some fresh corn off the cobb :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
These are great! I use regular thin cut bacon, pre cooked some, because I grilled them on a grill pan. For the seasoning I used Bacon Salt with some brown sugar mixed in. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Strawberry Dream Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was fabulous! The frosting tasted like strawberry ice cream, the cake was good, but a little dense. I have another cake recipe I will use next time, but I will add the strawberry milk to it. That said I will make this cake again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
O.M.G! Extremely tasty, not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cream Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've made these cupcakes at least 50 times and taken either to a party or to work and everyone has loved them! The only problem I've had is that once out of the oven, they would shrink up. Still, great flavor! This time I doubled the baking powder and baking soda and they turned out perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas Suizas

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Am I the only one who had trouble figuring out what to do with the chicken after it was cooked? Shredded it, and then ended up chopping it a little finer in the food processor. If using 1 chicken breast/person, breast should be small. I had major leftover filling (not necessarily a bad thing). Also, I always forget to spray the aluminum foil so the cheese doesn't stick. Wrote it on my recipe to remember next time. Like others, I doubled the sauce and substituted 8 oz. cream cheese for 1C whipping cream. Served w/sour cream on the side at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly Halibut

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I would "lightly dust" the fish with this sauce. It was way too rich when spread over the entire filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Slightly dense, great crumb, very moist and delicious! Will make again and again. Very simple too :) Thanks Marsha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Shredded French Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
So good! I don't have a slow cooker so I browned the roast in a pot added the liquid ingredients except for the onion soup, I added extra beef stock instead. Put a lid on and baked it in the oven for 3 hours at 350. Toasted a roll, sliced the roast added some swiss cheese and dipped it in the au jus. YUM! UPDATE: I brown the pot roast in my dutch oven, add 2 cans beef broth, 1 can beef consomme and simmer on the stove top for 4 1/2 hours. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Mini Cheesecakes III

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These turned out great! I substituted extra vanilla in the place of the lemon juice so the total vanilla was 1 3/4 tsp and I didn't add any lemon. I wanted the traditional cheesecake flavor which was perfect. I did substitute butter for margarine. I also used a mini muffin pan size so I made about 22 mini size. I didn't use wrappers so it was tricky getting them out. Next time I will use the wrappers. Mini size was a perfect bite size. Took about 10-11 mins but I used a convection oven at 300 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
The ingredients are the same as the old microwave brittle recipe I'd lost. I'm glad I found it again! One big caveat, though--if you put the peanuts in at the beginning, you will very likely burn the nuts. I (and others, too, I see) recommend cooking the sugar/syrup/salt mixture for about five minutes before adding the peanuts. Let the whole thing cook about another 3-5 minutes before putting in the vanilla and butter. Also, I like to use sea salt or, at the least, kosher salt. Other than that, I think this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is an excellent enchilada recipe! The cheese mix is superb, the mix on ingredients is great as it stands. I always add my own spin on things, and this was no exception. I put in one small bunch cilantro and added it during the taco seasoning addition/cook. I also did pepper jack inside each enchilada, and used a 12 oz. block of Monterey for the shredded cheese that went over each layer of enchiladas (I did two 8" x 8" baking pans so the in-laws could have some) and covered the bottom layer with sauce and cheese, and the top as well. Where I really went off track was in adding some hominy. I fried it to get some color and texture, scraped the burnt pieces from the cast iron pan and mixed them in (awesome!) and added it to the taco seasoning cook also. The mix settled nicely as I heated the tortillas and then I plopped on a pile to each of TWENTY (instead of 12, since there was more filling... could have used twenty four) 6" tortillas. Each layer of five was covered with sauce and cheese, two layers per pan. This recipe is golden! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaitiura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Granada, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States