Santa Rosa, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Holiday Pomegranate Mignonette

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
If making this a day or two ahead, don't add the pomegranate seeds until just before serving. The vinegar will dissolve the seeds if you add them too early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sybil's Old Fashioned Lemon Layer Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is my favorite lemon cake recipe. I don't care for the glaze consistency of the frosting, so I use a different frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Piccata Whitefish

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I didn't have any wine on hand so I used a cup of chicken broth instead. It was delicious. I'd like to make it again without so much butter but it really does make the sauce nice and velvety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe has the perfect balance of heat from the horseradish and cool from the sour cream. I make my own prepared horseradish from fresh root so it tends to be extremely hot! It worked perfect in this recipe. I served it with a Cabernet wine jelly so I omitted the chives but other than that the I follow the recipe exact. I also increased the recipe to 50 servings and the ratios held up. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli with Poppy Seed Butter and Parmesan Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Gazpacho

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Used fresh heirloom tomatoes and the flavor was amazing. I also don't like the texture of dried herbs so only used fresh. Made a couple of substitutions; cilantro instead of parsley and jalapeno instead of bell pepper. I like a kick! A drizzle of high quality olive oil at the end added a nice velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I leave out the powdered garlic and poke fresh garlic into the fat before roasting. The chunks of roasted garlic makes for an amazing roast! I serve it with a creamy horseradish sauce, homemade au jus and cabernet wine jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Delicious, very moist and yummy! Used about half cup more zucchini than called for otherwise followed recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Starburst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir-Fried Shrimp in Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is restaurant quality for sure. I used sugar snap peas, mushrooms, red bell pepper, red onion and water chestnuts, because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Waffles I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very good. I added some bacon pieces to the batter, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Caprese Appetizer

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Using the highest quality ingredients and the peak of season will make this recipe shine. I like drizzling with a balsamic reduction and olive oil or basil pesto if ingredients aren't quite up to par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New York Times Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
LOVE these cookies!!! Keep them pre scooped in the freezer, defrost and bake for fresh cookies anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Oven-Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This has been a favorite of ours since we started. In the summer when it's too hot to fire up the oven, we grill them on the BBQ using a non-stick grill topper. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Great recipe, I did use less cayenne, but other than that no changes. Tender pork with a nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Delish! Didn't have dark brown sugar, so I used light brown sugar and added a little molasses. Next time, and there will be a next time, I'm adding a little red pepper flakes to give it some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Great recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Did not like. Too dry. Would have to make some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Very easy. We used this recipe for a 5 year old birthday party bash. We had lots of kids and parents too! It was a hit for both. The kids wanted more and the parents wanted the recipe. I had two -pots full and there was no left-overs. The parents were amazed about how little ingredients were used. They all thought it was a lot more involved than it actually was. A BIG HIT! One note: You do not have to use Root Beer, you can use coke/pepsi too. Just do not use a diet version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
A very good recipe. I tend to add more zucchini which makes it a more pudding like and it sneaks in more veggies for the kids. Our family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is wonderful! I have made it into cupcakes a couple times. I made some adjustments as I live in Colorado at 7200 ft. So if you live at high elevation here is my adjustment: Butter: 1/2 Cup + 2 TBSPN, Sugar: 2 Cups, Flour: 3 1/2 Cups, Baking Soda: 1 tsp, and all other ingredients remain the same. Be careful to only fill muffin cups no more than 3/4 full or they will overflow as high elevation tends to make baked goods rise more than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States