Santa Rosa, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This recipe did not taste good at all. Here is how I fixed it to make it edible; ~ extra tomato sauce (as others suggested) ~ 2 T chili powder ~ 1 T apple cider vinegar ~ 1/3 cup ketchup ~ extra dash of salt & pepper Also, Add the bell pepper when you add the onions, the bell peppers could use the extra cooking time for a softer result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This recipe did not taste good at all. Here is how I fixed it to make it edible; ~ extra tomato sauce (as others suggested) ~ 2 T chili powder ~ 1 T apple cider vinegar ~ 1/3 cup ketchup ~ extra dash of salt & pepper Also, Add the bell pepper when you add the onions, the bell peppers could use the extra cooking time for a softer result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Tartar Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Love this! Easy and Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Patterson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Slow Cooker Huli Huli Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My daughters favorite recipe. Throw in some cayenne for a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Holiday Pomegranate Mignonette

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
If making this recipe more than a day in advance wait until just before serving to add the pomegranate seeds. The vinegar will dissolve the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramels

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I love these! They are easy to make but be patient, it takes a long time to reach 250 degrees F, but it is worth the wait. I greese a jelly roll pan and poor it in, spreading to make it even. Let it cool for a while and score it with a knife then I use kitchen shears to cut them, let them finish setting and wrap in wax paper. These are always a hit. I add walnuts and a little salt to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARICAM58

Butterscotch Pudding I

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe has a lot of potential but it's not one I'll be making as a stand-alone dessert in the future. It is far too rich and sweet to eat by itself except in very small amounts. For that reason I think it would be a good filling for a small tartlet, the kind one sees at tea parties. I'd garnish it with toasted coconut or perhaps slivered almonds. It would make a perfect little bite. Now, having said all that, the reason this recipe is getting 4 stars from me is the consistency. It's not as smooth as pudding made only with cornstarch. I imagine the eggs are added for richness and color but the final texture is slightly grainy. I used a whisk when cooking. Once the pudding began to thicken it turned briefly into a very lumpy mass. I reduced the heat and whisked vigorously until I achieved my desired consistency, added the vanilla and butter, continued whisking, and the pudding became smooth. The slight graininess is not unappetizing but it's not really creamy like a pudding made from cornstarch alone. Finally, the color is a lovely pale caramel color, not the bright "pumpkin" color I'm used to in commercial butterscotch pudding but I only mention this for those who might care about color and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARICAM58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARICAM58

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made this recipe as written with no substitutions or alterations and it came out just fine. The flavor and creamy consistency of the pudding is worth a solid four-plus stars but I gave it five stars overall because of the simplicity of the recipe, and I value simplicity especially when the results are this good. I used a whisk first to combine the dry ingredients and then to incorporate the milk until the mixture came to a boil. I finished cooking the pudding with a metal spoon so I could see how it coated the spoon, then used the whisk again to blend in the butter and vanilla. I used Hershey's "Special Dark" cocoa and while it was quite delicious, I agree with another reviewer who said this pudding is only as good as the cocoa. While I like Special Dark for making brownies, I'm eager to try this recipe again using a better quality cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARICAM58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Hawaii Five-O

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My husband loved this recipe as written but it was a little strong for me. I added a couple extra ounces of pineapple juice to dilute the alcohol. I also added a few drops of grenadine for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
My husband doesn't like ANYTHING! He loved these!!!! I'm making them again tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Bisquick™ Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Absolutely the easiest recipe for a delicious, quick cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Followed directions exactly, just did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orecchiette with Pancetta, Peas and Fresh Herbs

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is delicious! I did use a little more cheese and used half asiago and half Pecorino Romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake)

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Oh, I forgot to rate this, it's delish! Made as stated, no changes. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Salmon Cakes II

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Super easy and delicious. Family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Won Ton Wrapper Appetizers

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Delicious, easy and a hit! I tripled the recipe for a cookie exchange party. They smelled yummy as they were cooking and were even better when eating them. No dipping sauce needed, but we used a honey mustard sauce and it was good. I'm sure any sauce combo would work if you so desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Spiced Cranberry Cider

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Super easy and aromatic. I do recommend using thinly sliced oranges and adding them just before serving. Everyone at our cookie exchange loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
this was the hit of the party! first appetizer to disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty
Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Light, fluffy, perfectly balanced sweet & spice. My kids LOVED them and so did I. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeaninne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Batch Kris Kringle Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made as written except I used 6oz of white chips, I always use half of the chips a recipe calls for, just a personal preference. I also only used 1 1/2 c. cranberries, because that's all I had, they are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States