Santa Rosa, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Snack Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I like the concept, it's a good idea for a light lunch/snack. But...they are bland! It's best to add a bit of seasoning to the cream cheese to give more flavour. Or use ranch or different types of mustard as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Really nice spices and sweetness. I did need to add more flour and a bit of cornstarch for my juicy peaches tho. I uploaded a pic but they didn't let me leave a comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natb

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Came out perfect! I used both brown and white sugar, added some vanilla extract and used 2 eggs along with butter instead of shortening. Can't wait to have it with my coffee in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Best soup I've ever made! I added spinach, mushrooms & white kidney beans. I substituted tomatoes with a regular can of diced tomatoes, and still used a small can of can of sauce. And I used hot Italian sausage to give it some kick and It was simply amazing! Tons of left overs. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Syrup

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used a pyrex bowl in the mircowave, added 5 mint leaves and 3 tablespoons organic 100% lemon juice to it, for a great iced tea sweetener
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natb

Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe as instructed and it was SO good! Next time I might omit the carrots for mushrooms and slice the onions vs chopping. Either way I thoroughly enjoyed this! I will def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Pineapple Kabobs

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These were a huge hit at my Hawaiian themed party this weekend. I used fresh cut pineapple, Black Forest ham and used whole grain mustard in the sauce. They were best when hot and fresh off the grill. Mahalo for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Fisherman's Wharf Cioppino

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I highly recommend breaking down your own crab for the stew. It's easier than you think and you can save all the yummy juices and "butter" for the broth. Add the crab when you add the other shell fish. I make a few variations to the recipe - I add 3-4 minced anchovy fillets when I add in the garlic. I also add the tomato paste and cook for a couple of minutes, until nice and caramelized. I then add in the crab juices and "butter" along with a bottle of clam juice to deglaze the pan. On separate occasions I've used dry red & white wine as well as beer. They've all been great so I recommend using whatever your drinking to pair with the recipe. Also, you only need one large pot for the recipe. You can sauté everything right in the pot, no need for a separate sauté pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this yesterday and followed the suggestion of another to make my own taco seasoning (found on this site) and everything else I followed. I do agree that it was very salty which is weird coming from me because I normally enjoy to much salt! I should have left it out of the taco seasoning. Other then that it was really easy and you can def work at it and make it to your liking. It's a good base recipe to tweak as you go. The 2nd night we made enchiladas with the chicken and omg it was so much better the 2nd night. It was restaurant quality! We even have enough for tomorrow night and we will make fajitas. It makes a ton! Next time I will use 3 or 4 breast. 3lbs came to 6 breasts. Unless you freeze it or have a big family i would scale back on just the chicken portion. Oh and I used Pace salsa because that's all I had and it was still good. I'm not sure a better brand would really make a big difference but to each his own. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Nutella®-Coconut Fudge Pops

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These are a great homemade version of coconut bliss bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Avocado, Tomato and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Outstanding mango salsa! I did half the onion, but made as written otherwise. Thanks for the recipe FHIVESHOT a definite keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is on the sweet side, but I used it in another recipe so it worked fine. There is another recipe on AR that is more tart that if you want a more tart curd, other than that it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Kim's Summer Cucumber Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I did not care for this recipe as written. I had to tweak it, because I didn't want to waste organic cucumbers. I added ½ cup of mayo, and ½ cup of Crumbled Feta Cheese. I would also advise to cut the sugar and water by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I left out the cilantro and jalapeño. It was an excellent, tangy mild salsa! Great with my home-grown tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Grilled Lamb Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I thought the marinating time was a little off to start with. If I try this again, I will marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Malibu Bay Breeze

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Delicious. The name says Malibu Bay but the flavors are more like Hawaii! I've instantly been transported to a luau at Napili Bay. Mahalo! Also, I floated the cranberry juice on top for a prettier presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Oven Roasted Stuffed Squash Blossoms

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I love cooking these so much I end up with very few full grow zucchini because. I can't stop picking the blossoms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Grilled Pineapple Habanero Salsa

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Addictive! I can't stop eating this stuff. Its a must on fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Pantry Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is as good as the ingredients in your cupboard. I made it with penne pasta, sun dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts and olives from the pantry. I threw in some arugula and basil from the garden. Tossed it with homemade Italian vinaigrette and topped it with 1/2 cup feta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by CJ

Amazing Salmon Marinade

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is OK. It's missing something. I followed the recipe for the marinade exactly and found the honey dominated the flavors. I would decrease the honey to 1-2 Tablespoons if I make it again. Also, the recipe didn't say how to handle the basil so I put all the ingredients in the food processor and mixed until well blended. I had to look this up--->one lemon juiced = 3 Tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States