Santa Rosa, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Really nice spices and sweetness. I did need to add more flour and a bit of cornstarch for my juicy peaches tho. I uploaded a pic but they didn't let me leave a comment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Ham and Pineapple Kabobs

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These were a huge hit at my Hawaiian themed party this weekend. I used fresh cut pineapple, Black Forest ham and used whole grain mustard in the sauce. They were best when hot and fresh off the grill. Mahalo for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fisherman's Wharf Cioppino

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I highly recommend breaking down your own crab for the stew. It's easier than you think and you can save all the yummy juices and "butter" for the broth. Add the crab when you add the other shell fish. I make a few variations to the recipe - I add 3-4 minced anchovy fillets when I add in the garlic. I also add the tomato paste and cook for a couple of minutes, until nice and caramelized. I then add in the crab juices and "butter" along with a bottle of clam juice to deglaze the pan. On separate occasions I've used dry red & white wine as well as beer. They've all been great so I recommend using whatever your drinking to pair with the recipe. Also, you only need one large pot for the recipe. You can sauté everything right in the pot, no need for a separate sauté pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Nutella®-Coconut Fudge Pops

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These are a great homemade version of coconut bliss bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado, Tomato and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Outstanding mango salsa! I did half the onion, but made as written otherwise. Thanks for the recipe FHIVESHOT a definite keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is on the sweet side, but I used it in another recipe so it worked fine. There is another recipe on AR that is more tart that if you want a more tart curd, other than that it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Erin

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I left out the cilantro and jalapeño. It was an excellent, tangy mild salsa! Great with my home-grown tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Malibu Bay Breeze

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Delicious. The name says Malibu Bay but the flavors are more like Hawaii! I've instantly been transported to a luau at Napili Bay. Mahalo! Also, I floated the cranberry juice on top for a prettier presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Oven Roasted Stuffed Squash Blossoms

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I love cooking these so much I end up with very few full grow zucchini because. I can't stop picking the blossoms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Grilled Pineapple Habanero Salsa

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Addictive! I can't stop eating this stuff. Its a must on fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Pantry Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is as good as the ingredients in your cupboard. I made it with penne pasta, sun dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts and olives from the pantry. I threw in some arugula and basil from the garden. Tossed it with homemade Italian vinaigrette and topped it with 1/2 cup feta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ

Amazing Salmon Marinade

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is OK. It's missing something. I followed the recipe for the marinade exactly and found the honey dominated the flavors. I would decrease the honey to 1-2 Tablespoons if I make it again. Also, the recipe didn't say how to handle the basil so I put all the ingredients in the food processor and mixed until well blended. I had to look this up--->one lemon juiced = 3 Tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Ranch

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
We loved this Ranch dressing, delish! Thanks Semigourmet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Venison Gyros

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Fabulous! We did us lamb instead of venison because that is what we had on hand. The flavors were perfect and replicated the sandwich we usually buy at a local Greek restaurant. This has become one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Iced Tea

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Wasn't what we were expecting. Did not have the traditional Thai Iced Tea flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

REVISED: Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Our new favorite ccc recipe, for now anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Grilled Vegetable Salad with Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Hello, I'm the submitter of this recipe. You can substitute fresh chopped basil for the cilantro in the vinaigrette if you choose :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Superb! We are a soup family. We love soups!! This is an awesome recipe. Very delicious and easy to make. I will definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Noodle Bowl

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Oh my goodness, this was exactly what I was looking for. Great flavor combinations. I have used this recipe so many times because my family loves it so much. I have to make larger batches because they insist upon left-overs. I tend to add more vegetables than suggested and upon serving I add some bean sprouts and lettuce to the bowl (on top) and then sprinkle with a sweet chili sauce. This is a super recipe and very easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This recipe is a great template. You can add almost any ingredients you'd like to suit your taste. We added corn, tomatoes, diced chilies and olives. We also prefer a homemade cornbread topping, therefore we did not use the boxed option. It really doesn't take much more time to make it homemade. Thanks for this recipe. We loved it and will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States