San Jose - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by LindaT

Garden-Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I really liked this... fresh and delicious. I'm going to also try this w/o the milk and sub stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Justin's Honey Buffalo Chicken Wraps

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was delicious. Didn't have honey flavored whiskey so I added 1T of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Best Ever Bruschetta!

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I had occasion to spend some months in Florence, Italy at my Daughter's home last year, & loved the times I spent with her Italian cook! She gave me a "boatload" of recipes as well as showing me how to make them easily. Even tho they have "super-markets" there, most natives use an area under one roof, with butchers, breadmakers, cheese makers, the works, in fairly large cubicals, nested with-in. Almost like a little town within the big town. It seemed like it was at least a full square block containing little streets. It was fascinating, & she goes daily, except Sunday. She makes her bruschetta almost, sorta, the same. She uses fresh basil, ("why would anyone use dried?"). Marinara sauce (once in a while) no honey, but the biggest difference is she always mixed in Basalmic vinegar. A REALLY good wooden cask aged one. And oh is there a difference! She used Romano cheese and asiago something or other cheese. She says parmesan is too strong for this, & one "needs a melt-able, shredded cheese." She sometimes served cold with or without cheese. She taught me that it was pronounced "Brusketta". Oh, but she didn't use "English muffins" but did use sliced (toasted) Italian breads as well as sliced, toasted chiabatta bread, in addition to the long, thinly sliced baguette. HTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Turkey Nuggets (or Chicken)

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I tried this as written, did some baked and some with the outside dipped in panko. The panko added a much needed crunch to these.. The ones without the panko, even fried ones never got crunchy. Make sure you add lots of salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Roasted Garlic Walnut Pesto for Freezing

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Yummy.. roasted garlic and toasted walnuts really nice touches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Unfried Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Quite yummy. Easy. I added the cayenne and some Srachia to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
In one word, AMAZING. I doubled the recipe, as we were having company over. The only thing I did differently was halve the amount of meat to two, 2 pound roasts (that's a lot of meat that the original recipe calls for!), sauteed a little over 3 cups of sliced mushrooms, only used 1 tsp. of crushed red pepper, and didn't use yellow mustard (didn't have any on hand). The hardest, most tiring, part was the cutting and preparation of the two roasts. The rest was easy, peasy, lemon squeezy! The dinner table was quiet, as we all just inhaled the food (not the awkward kind of quiet -- the loud, fast, munching kind of quiet lol)! Everyone had seconds, and we still had enough left overs for lunch, enough for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have to agree with Sunflower. Just by looking at the recipe you can see it's not low fat, but comfort food. If you want low fat then you'll have change the recipe. I'm making this recipe tonight and I know my family will love it. I'll make a salad for myself as my main meal and a small scoop of this as a "side."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living4Him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Made this salad for Father's Day and I improvised. No sesame seeds this time in the dressing but I used half the sugar, added salt, balsamic vinegar instead plus doubled Worcestershire. I also added fresh blueberries. Everyone loved it!!! Even my super picky son in law who NEVER eats spinach ate a whole bowl!!! I consider this a victory for me! It's the second time I made it and it got rave reviews first time also. Only one thing, only make enough for the meal, leftovers don't do well at all. Next time I will add some other add ins mentioned in the reviews. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Round Steak and Gravy II

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
What a terrific flavor this has!!! This is almost dead on the same way my Mom &I used to make "Swiss Steak" although most folks make that with a tomato base. I use a thin cut of " round", but I have the butcher run it through the tenderizer. If he can't, I tenderize it myself. Then, I flour & spice it, before I sear it. The flour helps to thicken the gravy, & searing it brings out the " cooked meat " flavor. Deglaze the pan, & pour that in too. Then, I add the soup & water, & one package of Lipton (Registered Trademark) onion soup & continue with Capco's directions. Thank you Capco for sharing this recipe. So nice to see this recipe already printed, because it was a favorite of my family, & I'm working on a "Family Favorites" cookbook, so my girls will have them in one place instead of loose in this cookbook or that. HTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this also, but, unlike Baking Nana, didn't even realize ( Duh ! ) that it didn't have baking powder OR soda. Oh well, it turned out great, but like BakingNana said, was a little on the sweet side. AND, me with a sweet tooth. Think I'll try to cut the sugar down a half or third of a cup. Otherwise, had a great flavor. Better than my "old" cobbler recipe. I plan to try it again, with a little less sugar. I'll post again, either way. HTH !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ven8zia

Brownie Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this cheesecake in a Dutch oven on a campout (see photo). It was a complete hit. The only changes I made were: using a different brand of brownie mix, mixing the mini chips with a little flour as suggested by another reviewer, and adding a topping of sour cream mixed with a little vanilla and sugar. For anyone interested, here's what I did: I mixed the cheesecake batter at home because I wasn't going to have a mixer at the campground. At camp I made the brownie mix and poured it in the bottom of a 12" Dutch oven (with feet - important!) lined with a parchment paper liner trimmed to fit the oven. I baked the brownie part for about 45 minutes with 7 coals on EACH the bottom and the top. I then let the brownie cool for a little bit while I mixed the flour-coated chips into the cheesecake batter and got some more coals going. I poured the cheesecake batter over the brownie crust and baked that for about an hour (started checking it at about 50 min.), this time with 6 coals on the bottom and 8 or 9 on top. At about 40 minutes I had to add a few more coals to the top (but none to the bottom, as I didn't want the brownie to burn). When the cheesecake was set I removed it from the coals and set it aside to cool with the lid slightly ajar, for about 45 minutes. At that point I put on the sour cream topping, sprinkled the top with more mini chips, and placed the whole (now cool) Dutch oven in a cooler with ice. I let it chill in there for a couple of hours before serving. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ven8zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Farfalle and Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I mixed the sundried tomatoes & Italian seasoning in a magic bullet and added button mushrooms that had been sautéed with garlic, lemon & some white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Just to let Baking Nana know...lemon pepper comes both with & without salt. The "plain" is called "lemon & pepper". HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Tandoori Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I thought these were very tasty. I found a recipe for tandoori powder online so I used that in this recipe. It wasn't very spicy so next time I make these, I will add more. I served this on naan bread and used some mango chutney on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Tomato Barley Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have been making this soup for YEARS, and love it every time. If you're doing it for other than diet purposes, & want it thicker, just cook biscuits or fluffy dumplings on it before you serve! The little starch makes the broth a little thicker, and nothing says comfort food like dumplings or biscuits served on a soup as great as this!!! HTH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
We liked it but the order you add ingredients seems off to me. I've made other pilafs and always start with the onion because that takes longest to cook. After the onion softens then I added the rice and orzo and when those were almost done toasting I added the garlic for a couple minutes, then the broth. But the proportions were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garlicmakesitgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vicki515

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Love this easy nutritious,beautiful summer salad. I only use One TBS of sugar, and added Feta cheese on top. Other than that, followed simple directions for delicious salad. Will be making this one a lot! The entire family loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

Mock Angel Food Cake

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Made this tonight. Was a little weirded out reading the recipe, but read the reviews and gave it a whirl. This will now be my go to cake for strawberry shortcake! A few tips: 1. split the eggs and ingredients in half before whisking. I've got the big kitchenaid stand mixer and once they started whipping up quickly overfilled my bowl. 2. Don't leave the tea towel under too long. Sticky. 3. Sift the full three times. You'll understand after the third sift, even while your hand is cramping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I found this "recipe" just before memorial day, 1980. Good Seasons suggested it, & although I've used a TON of different ready mades, the mix it yourself from Good Season's" always garners the most "hmmm, just great"'s around my neck of the woods. HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States