San Jose - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
Very tasty! I think there is more topping than filling so next time I would increase the filling ratio by a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem

Simple Feese (Vegan Fake Cheese)

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This was different and I am glad I tried it. It really just tasted like almond butter with cheese... rather than cheese. Maybe more nutritional yeast? It wasn't bad.. just a little odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Sriracha Cheese Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
So delicious.. thank you Christine for the recipe... and your friendship. You will be missed by many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Rose Water Turkish Delight

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
The flavor was very nice and it was easy to cook, but this stuck.. terribly. I sprayed with cooking spray as directed and used foil but this method was a failure. It is possible I have defective cooking spray or defective foil..I couldn't get the foil peeled away with out it flaking off in teeny tiny pieces... if at all. The few bites I was able to salvage tasted very good though. If I ever try this again, I will use my Silpat mat to line the pan. Editing my review.. I left the candy out for a bit and once it warmed up I was able to peel the foil off better. It still wasn't easy but it did improve. Possibly need to use non stick foil as well...this might improve the recipe. It still tastes good, but beware of the sticking issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Caribbean Potato Curry

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This was tasty. For me I would have preferred more veggies, less potato.. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Cottage Cheese Croquettes

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
These were tasty. I am not a gravy person so I topped these with a little mozzarella and had some spiced tomato sauce on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Shrimp and Pasta Shell Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Surprised that several questioned the addition of catsup to the mix, since it immediatey made me think of "Louis Dressing" when I read the recipe prior to shopping/making it. I think dill is one of my favorite herbs of all, so the combo REALLY rocked. However, I had to laugh since again, it was either too much or too little lemon. THIS is when I make my FIRST taste adjustment. Squeeze lemon juice into ramekin, & add a little at a time, taste, add or quit, & so on. On ANY recipe with lemon, & hot spices it is imperitive you add slow, & taste, taste, taste! You can always add more, but it's next to impossible to correct, at least not without a lot of hassle. HTH!!! Blessings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Bacon Jam

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Wow. just made this and had some with dinner. YUM. Why did I wait so long to try this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Olive Oil Orange Cornmeal Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I liked this. I was taking this to a church potluck so I baked into mini muffins so it would be less mess and easier to handle. This recipe is not sweet. not at all. I personally liked it but I thought it would go over better with a little orange glaze on top. That added a little more sweetness . I liked the texture with the cornmeal but I think some nuts would be awesome in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Miso Oatmeal Bowl

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I saw this and since I like to try very unusual dishes, this was on my list. I didn't have high hopes as I have tried savory oatmeal before and never have liked it. Surprise.. this was very good. I too don't like sweet foods for breakfast.. well except my coffee, so this is a nice option. I thought I had seaweed but turns out I was out so I added a pinch of salt to the dish. My stomach is very confused right now, but my tastebuds are happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Peanut Butter and Jelly Burger

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I made this on a dare and I liked it. I didn't have a kaiser onion roll so I used a regular crusty roll. It was a little too sweet for me but I think that could be corrected with using a lower sugar jam. Next time, a little spice in the burger would be excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Posolequeso Burrito

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I liked the combo of pork and hominy.. a different burrito. I do think this needed a lot more seasoning and I also think it needs something tomato.. any posole I have had has contained tomatoes of some sort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

White Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
The best white sauce recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem

Fried Rice with Marmite®

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I had never had Marmite before, but picked up a jar last month and was looking for a recipe to try it in before I tried it on toast. This was excellent. It added a nice yeasty tang to the dish that I really liked..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Slow Cooker Risotto

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This was delicious. Mine was a bit overcooked. I would suggest checking it prior to the 2 hours to see if this is done. I am sure the cooking time varies a bit depending upon your device
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Doreen's Superbowl Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I liked these.. pretty easy to make and they reheat well. Even though I seasoned the filling well, the blandness of the dough affected the recipe. I would suggest when you are rolling out the dough to sprinkle the dough with some seasoning so when you roll it out, it gets embedded in the dough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
yum..quick and easy. I added some herbs to the crust and used a flavored olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Spaghetti Squash Mediterranean-Style

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was very good. My only change was using spicy chicken Italian sausage and probably more seasoning. I am a salt freak. :) Oh yeah.. I also cooked the squash in the microwave because I did not want to heat up the kitchen on a very hot day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Linda Trem

Slow Cooker Quinoa Sweet Potato Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I like all of these ingredients, but this just didn't do it for me. I am really not sure why. Nothing was horrible about it but for some reason the flavors just didn't meld into what I was hoping for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Sriracha Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
My first pickled egg.. loved it. Want to try these in egg salad sandwiches.. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States