San Jose - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by LindaT

Spicy Chicken Broccoli Casserole with Fresh Arugula

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This was delicious. I used oil for the roux and cut back on that a bit.. an used a jalapeno pepper because I am a wimp. Tios doesn't make much sauce so if you like it saucy... make more. For me it was fine..a very light coating of sauce that is pretty much absorbed into the broccoli. Next time I will use panko crumbs on top.. was out this time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Seitan Philly Cheese Steak Sandwiches

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I just had this and boy was it GOOD! I used homemade seitan and added a little garlic when I was sauteing the seitan up. I am wishing I had more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
The flavor was excellent (!), but it was a little softer than I'd like it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamra Scott-Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Farro Salad with Sweet Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Thx for that lovely picture LilSnoo, I'm so glad you enjoyed this recipe; yes the vinaigrette makes plenty so add what you need and there's extra if you are wanting to make it a day ahead, it tends to absorb some. ~ One thing was left out of the directions, after mixing the vinaigrette, you want to put it in the fridge to chill. Also in my notes is says you can switch the apples for celery, but I prefer it with both added. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Almond Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Very tasty, but the amount of mustard makes it very spicy (very!). I cut the mustard in half and thought that made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Wickham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's French Toast

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Best French Toast I've ever had and the family loved it, too. It was crisp on the outside and fluffy, creamy tender on the inside; perfect! I used only the vanilla for flavoring because I served it with cinnamon sugar apples sautéed in a little butter, which was flavor enough. I rarely ate French toast in the past because I didn't care for the flavor or texture; it was just like bread dipped in raw scrambled egg mixture and fried. Blah, yuck! Will definitely make this one again and recommend this recipe to family and friends. Thank you, Chef John, your recipes have never failed me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Italian Style Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
WOW!! This was a huge hit at my house! I doubled the recipe to make sure we had leftovers and I also put on spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce (I just wanted to make sure it had enough flavor). And even though it wasn't part of the recipe, I had some leftover heavy cream that I drizzled over the spaghetti sauce before baking. That just made it over the top! I know peole hate when you review a recipe that you made changes to but the basic recipe I did follow to a T but just added a few personal touches to make it my own. I will forever be using this meatloaf recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Photo by LindaT

Heavenly Lemon Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made these into mini cupcakes... batter tasted great Baked @ 350 for 15 minutes. Perfect. Then I glazed them. WOW. The glaze was very strong.. not in a good way either. I let them sit overnight and they did tone down quite a bit. I like them now. I dusted the tops with a bit of powdered sugar and next time, I think I will add some chopped almonds as I like that flavor combo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Chef John's Panzanella

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very tasty salad! I've had it before YEARS ago (maybe 30?), & it was, as Chef John says, a little less pleasant because of the sogginess of the bread. I wonder though, if you could use a high quality basalmic vinager instead of red wine vinegar? I purchased some from Italy when I visited my Daughter. It's a 5 year, wooden cask cured Basalmic (which I use ONLY on something that it "really" matters on, like this salad (the longer it's cured, especially in a wooden cask, makes it FAR superior to what you get at the grocers. It's expensive, but what Heavenly flavor!!! I do confess though, I've made croutons this way since I was a girl, & my Dad would make his favorite noodle dish, croutons, parm., cottage cheese and noodles. I have the recipe for "that" dish in my A/R Recipe box, again, thanks to my friends the "Buzzers" on the A/R site (The Buzz). It's a great resource for all of us on A/R. It's complimentary with membership, AND there are a boatload of nice folks on there who can answer almost any question or recipe request you can imagine and seem to love doing so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Carb Fauxtato Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was just amazing really. I love raw cauliflower, but not a huge fan of cooked. However, I tried it, since I had a head, and then, after seeing the recipe, a "craving" for potatoe salad. It was pretty darned good, took care of the "gotta have its", and I felt I could indulge with another small serving since it was low carb. Remember to make ahead & chill for several hours before serving, so the favors meld. I used bread & butter pickles tho, since I like "sweet", they were all I had in the pantry AND, we're snowed in. HTH!!! Blessings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Jules' Balsalmic Chicken with Peppers

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was one tasty meal. Full of flavor and just a touch sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
VERY intriguing flavor! However, I seldom use short ribs because of the fat, however, I prefer to fix exactly first time to review, then I try with any changes I want to incorporate. This was spicier than we like, as a rule, but the next time I used less. I also had to deal with too much fat, prior to thickening. To avoid this, I used an in-bone chuck roast (small) the second time I made this, & it was perfect. A little sweetish (which was what really intrigued me in the first place), as well as spicy too! I felt the sauce really complimented the meat. Served with mashed potatoes (was thinking of Garlic Mashed, but was afraid favors wouldn't mesh, & acorn squash (from A/R site). I was proud to have served such an "over the top" appearing comfort food meal!!! HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Cheesy Polenta Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Wonderful. Only change was using more marinara and more garlic. The combo of these three cheeses is what makes this so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Healthier Monkey Bread I

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Really tasty. I only had one roll of whole wheat pizza dough, so I made this in a loaf pan.. baked for about 25 minutes. added the nuts, but no raisins..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Auntie Mae's Irish Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is excellent, with no changes! I'm going through a "bread baking" stage lately, much to my friends & neighbors delight! Please keep in mind that your soda & baking powder loose potency after about a year after opening. If you have any problems with bread (or baked goods of ANY kind), check the dates on the containers. I use markers to put date opened on bottom of can or bottle of powder or baking soda, & throw away after a year. Most professional food service do this. HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Just as a mention, this is traditionally a soup in & out of Mexico (& Spain), which is why many have commented it is very "soupy" in texture. I really like this recipe, in fact have been using another (A/R site) almost exactly the same (except no avocados). In a pinch, I've used "Mrs. T's Bloody Mary Mix" which I drink by the gallon, so it's always in my pantry. I serve it in Margarita glasses, with a soup tureen on table for those who want more! Since I don't care for salad shrimp (too fishy, even when rinsed), I use larger uncooked shrimp, then peel, devein, remove tail & steam lightly. (Why ANYONE leaves the tails on in any dish is my personal bug, cause I hate to have to have to put my fingers in my dinner !!!). I then slice into one or two pieces. But, that's just me, because this dish is one I use only when I entertain, since shrimp are high in cholesterol, & somewhat beyond my regular budget. BTW, the very tail is the tastiest part of the shrimp. My DH (late) taught me to pinch JUST below the tail and pull. It takes a little (muy poco) practice, but I never fail any more, so it will work for you too, I hope. HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Mexican Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
First time I tried this, I followed recipe to a "T" as usual. A little too spicy for this old mouth, but oh! Goodness! It had such fabulous flavor! Next try, I forgot to list the tomato/clam juice cocktail on my shopping list, so I substituted "Mrs. T's Bloody Mary Mix" (which I drink by the gallon!) and cut back the horseradish & hot sauce to taste. I loved it too, & my adult kids (after adding more hot sauce) did too! I think I liked them both just exactly, so at least this substitution will work if you need it. I love the mix plain, & so good for me, with low calorie count. Oh, & I served it to my kids in Margarita glasses with a small spoon! Nice presentation, I thought. HTH! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hard-Steamed Eggs

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Oh Bd.Weld! You are my HERO! The pan set I bought recently has a steamer unit, & boy is it going to get a workout from now on! I put 3 farm fresh eggs, 3 new from store, 3 older than a week, plus 3 random and they ALL came through it perfectly! I made a new folder for my recipe box called A-Plus Methods and there went this "recipe" for easy access! Thank you for letting us all know about this! I like to keep boiled eggs on hand, since they make such good snacks, & sandwiches, plus I like to use "farm fresh" eggs, & they just don't compute with my "old" method. I just may start cackling pretty soon! !!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Baguettes

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
The best way I've found to get "crunch" is to spray with water every so often while baking the loaves. If you want soft (us oldsters sometimes need softer crust), brush tops with melted butter when you take them from the oven. HTH!!! Blessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States