San Jose - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
When I add spices to any broth like recipe I put the spices is a large loose tea strainer, that way you can pull it out without a mess. I also use this when I cook corn beef, no spices mixed in the corn beef just all the flavor. I also use a chinois strainer to strain the broth because it is so very fine and really helps to take all the fine particles out. Sorta like having a reusable cheese cloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Easy and quick to make. I used the advice of others and halved the recipe. Then I added coconut and used less marshmallows. I also used frozen pineapple (thawed) since that's what I had on hand. I drained all fruit well and the salad wasn't soupy at all. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Healthier Chicken Cordon Bleu I

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Delicious.. love the combo of flavors. My only tweak was brining the breasts first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Wow! This is my favorite recipe for "Pineapple Upside-down Cake"... I'm surprised at some of the low reviews or those that said dry. I admit I used canned and maybe that's where the extra moisture came from but I'm wondering if some with problems with this recipe were from pineapple that wasn't ripe/juicy enough. I haven't had the "rum" since I don't usually have alcohol on hand but I've used rum extract (1/2 tsp) along with enough pineapple juice to equal a tablespoon... The brown butter flavor is what really sets this off along with the cardommon... I'm an experienced baker who know's what she likes so I used maraschino cherries in mine as well.. :) Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

North Carolina Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Easy delicious. Loved the vinegar tang and that there wasn't a lot of tomato taste - different than most pulled pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Slightly Spicy Roasted Red Pepper Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Easy, delicious.. I had this on some scrambled eggs with cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Simple Sweet and Spicy Chicken Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
These were fantastic! One of my teens deemed them "the bomb!" I made them as stated in the recipe and everyone had seconds at dinner. I couldn't make them fast enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Garlic and Tomato Tilapia

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a great, easy, delicious dinner. I am rating it 5 stars, however I did add some italian seasoning and some cayenne pepper to it for a little boost. But it would even be delicious just how its written. Even my picky 10 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Finnish Carrot Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These were really tasty. Will try this recipe again and maybe some other shredded veggie... good base.. can add most any shredded veggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Spicy Mango-Basil Paletas

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Loved these.. made per recipe.. pureed whole thing. Cayenne was delish in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Thai Chicken Slaw Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I enjoyed this. was easy to make. For my taste there was not enough spice to balance the sweet in the chicken and slaw. I am going to add a few shakes of red pepper flakes to leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Stuffed Zucchini I

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I didn't boil mine first but consequently it took almost an hour in the oven to bake. But the flavor was great! Kind of like stuffing. I used some Panko crumbs mixed in with the bread crumbs (1 c. total) . I added garlic and some meatballs. Tasty one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This must be the best chili I've ever made. I took notes from Elfman 42 and made his changes with the red & green bell peppers. It made for a colorful chili! And I only had an expensive beer so that worked fine. The only heat I used was the chili powder and ONE teaspoon of chili flakes. And then used 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb ground turkey. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Wendy T

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
So amazing! It has a very nicely balanced flavor of cream cheese, and light as a cloud. I also used 1 3/4 cup of powdered sugar as others have mentioned. Powdered sugar has a hint of corn starch, which in turn stabilizes the whipped cream more. As you can see in the photo I posted, it piped beautifully! I even topped each cupcake with a whole strawberry! The strawberry did not fall off, or droop to the side. It stayed put - even through a 20 minute car ride on my lap! I also used the frosting to fill each cupcake... Used a small round cookie cutter to pop out the center of each, diced up strawberries, fold berries into the frosting to "thin it out" some, bagged it, piped it in the center, covered it with the cake cutout, piped on frosting (without the chopped strawberries), and topped with a whole strawberry. The end result - a lot of "ooohs and ahhhs" and many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Fat city here I come, but WHAT a way to go! I can't wait to show these to my friends! I did find that a bread knife worked really well at slicing them, and a finger licking job it was! My Grandkids will LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Well, today's the last day before I break down my kitchen & pack it for my move to Chesapeake Beach, Md. Having lived in Arizona for the last 6 years, what a culture shock THAT will be !!! So, I looked at my poor dwindled cupboards & said hmmm, I wonder what I can scrounge up. Small amount of taco seasoning - A/R recipe, salsa & canned chillies, corn, olives, corn meal, pkg. bread sticks, can of tuna, some grated Cheddar, spices, an onion, and a few others that said "childhood favorite - Tamale Pie!!! A/R recipe says "Sweet Tamale pie" & I was in business!!! SO, here I sit, replete, (I can't believe I ate the whole thing!), having enjoyed the INCREDIBLE dinner this was!! The recipe didn't call for olives, like my Mother used to do, & since they weren't on the recipe, I didn't add them in. Next time I will, but when I intend to review a recipe, I try to be a purist the first go around. However, if they weren't a "part of the memory" addition, I wouldn't bother! Very few times in my experience, is a recipe exactly like I love it, & totally without need for changes, but THIS one IS!!! VERY nice work "bcummings221"!!!!!! And, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Danish Kringle

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This pastry recipe worked out really well. It was easy to work with, and so crisp and flakey once baked. Delicious! I used a different filling and divided the dough in half to make two pastries. Thanks for sharing this, I will definately make this again. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was very good and easy to make; as always I add a bit more seasoning. I used a little garlic and thyme to my gravy and add a tiny dash of hot pepper to my beef. Served over pasta. I love Salisbury Steak, it's a nice comfort dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Gumbo Style Chicken Creole

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight without reading any reviews first. That's something I don't usually do, but I was running late, and it looked good and easy enough. It was delicious! I did use butter instead of oil with the flour. I think it makes for a tastier dish, and I also added a couple of cups of chicken broth because it was way too thick. After simmering for about a half hour, covered, it was perfect. Will definitely make again when I have more time, add some sausage and shrimp and more spice for a company-worthy main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Our favorite! I do like to add chopped pecans to mine. These are the best cookies, the recipe makes a ton, and they go very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States