San Jose - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years, with onion soup, & a "Montreal smokehouse flavoring" I've seen mentioned by several reviewers, & about 3 cups water. We like au jus style gravy. It's just me most of the time now, but I will eat this for days! AND, best of all, I get a large roast, & LOTS of veggies, & make hash with the leftovers. I add fresh white onions (chopped) & mixed in, as well as old bread at the end of the grinding process, to facilitate easier cleaning! HTH!!! Nothing I like better than a meal that re-invents itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly White Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is very dense and more like a pound cake. I did sift my cake flour as directed and followed the recipe exactly except I added 1/4 c. extra milk. The flavor was nice but after two days this cake became so crumbly it was hard to eat. I wouldn't recommend it for a layered cake because it is quite heavy. I was making a layered cake so I ended up making a different white cake recipe that would be light and fluffy. I was disappointed in this recipe and would probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Cherry Tomatoes, Marinated Chicken Breast and Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious.. I had some homemade pesto in the freezer so I used that instead of jarred. No fresh thyme.. so I used fresh basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic, Red Pepper and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
It was tasty, but I felt it needed some salt and more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Fantastic cookie! Used 1/2 t. salt and kept the rest as written. Would work well with a variety of chips. Butterscotch chips was just as good as chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Byrdhouse Blistered Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Well this was a very simple way to use up our cherry tomatoes, fresh off the vines... I did forget the sugar and I think it would have just made these a little better.. Thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Garden-Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I really liked this... fresh and delicious. I'm going to also try this w/o the milk and sub stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Justin's Honey Buffalo Chicken Wraps

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was delicious. Didn't have honey flavored whiskey so I added 1T of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Best Ever Bruschetta!

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I had occasion to spend some months in Florence, Italy at my Daughter's home last year, & loved the times I spent with her Italian cook! She gave me a "boatload" of recipes as well as showing me how to make them easily. Even tho they have "super-markets" there, most natives use an area under one roof, with butchers, breadmakers, cheese makers, the works, in fairly large cubicals, nested with-in. Almost like a little town within the big town. It seemed like it was at least a full square block containing little streets. It was fascinating, & she goes daily, except Sunday. She makes her bruschetta almost, sorta, the same. She uses fresh basil, ("why would anyone use dried?"). Marinara sauce (once in a while) no honey, but the biggest difference is she always mixed in Basalmic vinegar. A REALLY good wooden cask aged one. And oh is there a difference! She used Romano cheese and asiago something or other cheese. She says parmesan is too strong for this, & one "needs a melt-able, shredded cheese." She sometimes served cold with or without cheese. She taught me that it was pronounced "Brusketta". Oh, but she didn't use "English muffins" but did use sliced (toasted) Italian breads as well as sliced, toasted chiabatta bread, in addition to the long, thinly sliced baguette. HTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT

Turkey Nuggets (or Chicken)

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I tried this as written, did some baked and some with the outside dipped in panko. The panko added a much needed crunch to these.. The ones without the panko, even fried ones never got crunchy. Make sure you add lots of salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Roasted Garlic Walnut Pesto for Freezing

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Yummy.. roasted garlic and toasted walnuts really nice touches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LindaT

Unfried Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Quite yummy. Easy. I added the cayenne and some Srachia to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
In one word, AMAZING. I doubled the recipe, as we were having company over. The only thing I did differently was halve the amount of meat to two, 2 pound roasts (that's a lot of meat that the original recipe calls for!), sauteed a little over 3 cups of sliced mushrooms, only used 1 tsp. of crushed red pepper, and didn't use yellow mustard (didn't have any on hand). The hardest, most tiring, part was the cutting and preparation of the two roasts. The rest was easy, peasy, lemon squeezy! The dinner table was quiet, as we all just inhaled the food (not the awkward kind of quiet -- the loud, fast, munching kind of quiet lol)! Everyone had seconds, and we still had enough left overs for lunch, enough for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have to agree with Sunflower. Just by looking at the recipe you can see it's not low fat, but comfort food. If you want low fat then you'll have change the recipe. I'm making this recipe tonight and I know my family will love it. I'll make a salad for myself as my main meal and a small scoop of this as a "side."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living4Him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Made this salad for Father's Day and I improvised. No sesame seeds this time in the dressing but I used half the sugar, added salt, balsamic vinegar instead plus doubled Worcestershire. I also added fresh blueberries. Everyone loved it!!! Even my super picky son in law who NEVER eats spinach ate a whole bowl!!! I consider this a victory for me! It's the second time I made it and it got rave reviews first time also. Only one thing, only make enough for the meal, leftovers don't do well at all. Next time I will add some other add ins mentioned in the reviews. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Round Steak and Gravy II

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
What a terrific flavor this has!!! This is almost dead on the same way my Mom &I used to make "Swiss Steak" although most folks make that with a tomato base. I use a thin cut of " round", but I have the butcher run it through the tenderizer. If he can't, I tenderize it myself. Then, I flour & spice it, before I sear it. The flour helps to thicken the gravy, & searing it brings out the " cooked meat " flavor. Deglaze the pan, & pour that in too. Then, I add the soup & water, & one package of Lipton (Registered Trademark) onion soup & continue with Capco's directions. Thank you Capco for sharing this recipe. So nice to see this recipe already printed, because it was a favorite of my family, & I'm working on a "Family Favorites" cookbook, so my girls will have them in one place instead of loose in this cookbook or that. HTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this also, but, unlike Baking Nana, didn't even realize ( Duh ! ) that it didn't have baking powder OR soda. Oh well, it turned out great, but like BakingNana said, was a little on the sweet side. AND, me with a sweet tooth. Think I'll try to cut the sugar down a half or third of a cup. Otherwise, had a great flavor. Better than my "old" cobbler recipe. I plan to try it again, with a little less sugar. I'll post again, either way. HTH !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ven8zia

Brownie Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this cheesecake in a Dutch oven on a campout (see photo). It was a complete hit. The only changes I made were: using a different brand of brownie mix, mixing the mini chips with a little flour as suggested by another reviewer, and adding a topping of sour cream mixed with a little vanilla and sugar. For anyone interested, here's what I did: I mixed the cheesecake batter at home because I wasn't going to have a mixer at the campground. At camp I made the brownie mix and poured it in the bottom of a 12" Dutch oven (with feet - important!) lined with a parchment paper liner trimmed to fit the oven. I baked the brownie part for about 45 minutes with 7 coals on EACH the bottom and the top. I then let the brownie cool for a little bit while I mixed the flour-coated chips into the cheesecake batter and got some more coals going. I poured the cheesecake batter over the brownie crust and baked that for about an hour (started checking it at about 50 min.), this time with 6 coals on the bottom and 8 or 9 on top. At about 40 minutes I had to add a few more coals to the top (but none to the bottom, as I didn't want the brownie to burn). When the cheesecake was set I removed it from the coals and set it aside to cool with the lid slightly ajar, for about 45 minutes. At that point I put on the sour cream topping, sprinkled the top with more mini chips, and placed the whole (now cool) Dutch oven in a cooler with ice. I let it chill in there for a couple of hours before serving. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ven8zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Farfalle and Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I mixed the sundried tomatoes & Italian seasoning in a magic bullet and added button mushrooms that had been sautéed with garlic, lemon & some white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Just to let Baking Nana know...lemon pepper comes both with & without salt. The "plain" is called "lemon & pepper". HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States