San Francisco - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Chef Jombus

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This recipe was so wonderful I cant wait to make it again. The contrast of textures and flavors were to die for. The only change I made was I added about 1 cup of vegetable broth to the pot to make it more juicy. Served it with brown jasmine rice. My house smells like a morrocan market now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange-Ginger Tofu Triangles

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very enjoyable. Made it with brown rice and sauteed kale with tamari and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smashed Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Gets thicker as it cools. It became like cheesy polenta! I hate cauliflower but liked it like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I like spicy food but this was too hot. I wii try again but without cayenne and use winter savory in place of thyme and oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Cookies III

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe made some super tasty cookies! I didn't have the chocolate chips but they were kind of perfect that way. My partner was craving cookies and these hit the spot. I baked a batch at 9 mins and also at 10. I think the 10 min were perfect, still chewy and soft but held together better but I bet it depends on your oven, I think mine runs slightly cool/uneven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Excellent flavor profile!!! Will definitely make again. I did make one mistake however; I used hot madras curry powder on top of adding the 1 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. Super duper hot! I still loved it, but next time I am just going to use yellow curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasteful Tahini Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
The BOMB!! Awesome dressing. The only change I made was i added 1 teaspoon of agave nectar to sweeten the savoriness a little. This is a keeper folks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garam Masala

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Excellent substitute. Why pay 8 bucks for a bottle that has been sitting on a grocers shelf for over a year. This works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wonderfully delicious! As a vegan, this hit the spot! On a side note, this soup needs more liquid to be considered a "soup". I added a 12 oz can of light coconut milk, a diced and peeled granny smith apple, and a small serano chille with seeds removed and minced instead of the red pepper flakes. IT was out of this world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scubies Dad

Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Once again, a good base for an amazing soup! Make it your own. I added quite a few flavors. I placed a whole diced onion, 3 carrots,4 slices of bacon and I was very generous on the Cumin, Cayenne, and pepper. To really smooth it out, I brought in my hand blender after 4 hours to make it much more creamy. I also cheated and added some cream cheese, half a package. Dress it with some Cilantro and a great Zinfandel and WOW...a great soup. Don't forget, season to you and your families tastes. We like it spicy at my house! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubies Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Easy and extreemly good. My friends loved it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffy's Refried Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made for friends and the pot was emptied! Used bacon grease instead of lard. It's all I had from the morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made this for my 12 friends winter trip they all didn't stop talking about how good it was.kept eating all though they were stuffed. Wouldnt change a thing very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
As a vegetarian who has converted this New Year to vegan, I have tried to find good recipes to utilize this nutritious grain. I found one here! Such a great treat. I love southwestwern flavors and couldn't get enough of this stuff. It truly does get better the next day after the flavors marry..What a healthful treat! Thanks a million for this wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato-Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It was really yummy. I followed other reviewers advice and only added half the mustard/bbq sauce to the meat mixture, and put the other half on top. It worked out perfectly. I also microwaved the potato instead of boiling and I think that helped with the "wetness" other reviewers mentioned. Really good taste. The sauce on top was sort of sweet which complimented the savory meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Roasted Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very tasty, a nice change from most recipes that use brown sugar. I used Kraft Parmesan (the kind that is almost like powder), not the fancy grated kind, and it turned out perfectly. I only had to bake it for 23 minutes. I also rubbed the cheese/oil/spice mixture on the slices, as it didn't make a lot of "sauce" and it was easier to just rub it onto the squash than to "toss" it. Next time I might make 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 times the sauce, as this just barely covered it. But it was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe as written and very good. A sure to make and freeze for future easy meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I made this marinade with my classes (Children from ages 5-11) and they LOVED it!. It has all the elements for teaching points (acid, oil, salt etc.). The kids learned so much and had fun skewering the shrimp. Not a single one left! The staff ate them up too! Delicious and amazingly simple. Thanks Robbie! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Sea Bass

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This turned out to be some of the best fish I've ever made or eaten! Thanks so much for posting this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pickled Padron Peppers

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
The Best, the Best, the Best EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States