San Francisco - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Crispy Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Terrific! I used chicken tenderloins and thought my dish was too crowded but the chicken was very good, tasted delicious and the crust stayed on. Will make many many many times! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fsilverwing

Cheesy Chilada Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was delicious--next time, I will cook the ground beef separately--pain in the rear to drain--didn't have tomato sauce so I used enchilada sauce--will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fsilverwing

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I love Chef John! I have always made my mom's meatloaf but (sorry Mom) this is the one I will always make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Chef John rocks!! Oh so good. ! Have made my mother's meat loaf for years (Sorry Mom) but this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was really really delicious with a scoop of butter pecan ice cream. I followed it exactly. I might add a bit of cinnamon next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz

Absolutely Best Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Made these into little graves with marshmallow headstones for Halloween. I enjoyed these save for not being able to get the same texture from the outside to the middle. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginger Snaps

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The overall flavor of the brownie was good and I did not think it was too sweet. The problem was the consistency - it was way too cakey and crumbly, and it was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great! I usually use the joy of cooking's recipe for apple crisp, and for some reason it never occurred to me to search the web for a good recipe... Well, I'm happy to report that this one is much better! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, maybe a little less sugar on the apples. When it comes to the "extra water" debate, I think that it really depends on the apples you are using. If they are juicy, they will bubble up and be delicious, but if they are dry, it is not going to work. I usually peek into the oven about halfway through the cooking time, and if the apples look like there's not enough juice, then adding a little water works magic. Some people I know use orange juice. It really doesn't matter, but you want a little sauce to make the dish really work. So for me, I don't add any water, and then check on it halfway through and decide if it could use some. I am so glad I have a new apple crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaquino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Delicious and Easy! I confess I had to tweak. This is what I did: added mushrooms with the onions (hubby has to have shrooms on everything); thickened sauce with cornstarche water; added turmeric powder when adding pepper and garlic powder to chicken before browning. Turned out fabulous! Will make again! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ragu No-Frying Eggplant Parmesan

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is great! I did add a pinch of crushed red pepper for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Averitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Oh my! This was AMAZING! Apart from the Spicy Chili Beans (used 4 regular and added half a can of chopped jalapenos instead), I followed the recipe exactly and it was DELICIOUS! Even better the next day. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pasta Primavera with Italian Turkey Sausage

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! I made a few tweaks but nothing major. I used hot Italian pork sausage instead of turkey and added some chicken, as well. I also added a little bit (less than 1/4 cup) of half and half to create some creaminess and some Italian seasoning to round it all out. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I did follow some other reviewers suggestions and doubled the filling ingredients and added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dough itself. I will absolutely be making this again-- it looks so pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I found it to be dryer than I like. Next time I will leave off the breadcrumbs and top with more grated cheese. If this were made with gluten free pasta and no crumbs, it would be perfect for those with gluten intolerance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Cauliflower

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Roasted cauliflower is one of our favorites. We loved this more than the recipe with Balsamic vinegar. I left out the salt as the lemon juice gives plenty of flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I am not a great cook and I was looking for something that would make me look like a star cooking dinner for my boyfriend. I have made roasts a few times using various means, slow cooker, in the bakers dish w/ the little bag w/ the mix, etc., and this one by far came out the best. I doubled the vegetables and I'm glad that I did, b/c the veggies are definitely the best part of the dish and it would really not be enough if I had not doubled it. For the carrots, I used 1 cup diced carrots and 1 cup whole baby carrots so that there were some bigger veggies you could actually sink your teeth into. I'm normally not a fan of celery but the celery all gooeyed up in the sauce was scrumptious and gave the dish a lot of flavor. The roast itself was tender and came out nice, but it was definitely pouring the carmelized veggies on top after it cooked that made it a winner. One thing I would disagree about is the claim that this pot roast is "easy". I admit that I'm not a great chef, but with all of the slicing and dicing of vegetables and the required searing before putting it in the oven, this is definitely not a quick prep/throw it together thing. I spent around 45 mins doing the prep including the veggies, the searing etc. "Easy" pot roast is either throwing it all in the crock pot with some onion soup or putting it in the bakers dish with the plastic and the bag of premade seasoning. This is true homemade pot roast, but given that I definitely had a feeling of accomplishment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun-Style Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This Egg Benedict is soulful in Flavor! Reminds Me of my 2nd Home New Orleans, LA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipe4Teeda2c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Miso Braised Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the garlic and ginger in the recipe. All other things pretty much as written. I can't wait for leftovers tonight. I have made this in the past and it is better the next day. It is a very good dish for a rainy day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
These are so easy and fast. Usually, I make them large and end up with a dozen...11 or 12 minutes at 350 degrees in my oven. They are rich and filling, chewy and crispy this way. A bit less sugar than called for is good for me...3/4 cup or less. They have to cool a little while before you can pick them up and have them stay together well, but they do just fine after some cooling. They get soggy the next day, so I just rebake them for a few minutes and I think they're even better. Tonight I made them small and put jumbo chocolate chips in them...I had sixteen cookies and probably close to half the batter left in the fridge. They're quite good, but I like the other way best. I still ended up baking them 11 to 12 minutes. But they do cool more quickly when they're small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatiest Vegetarian Chili From Your Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I've made this a couple of times now and absolutely love it. Everyone who has shared it with us is amazed at how tasty and how much it doesn't seem like a vegetarian meal. Only comment I have is that the first step will never take ten minutes, if you do it right. There's way too much water in the onions, veggies, and tofu to be able soften onions, combine others, and then brown. Always takes me at least a half-hour to do it right. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaunakakai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States