San Francisco - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great recipe that really pleases a man....chicken and ham rolled with cheese mmmmmboy....the chicken does come out just a tad dry but is still tasty and great. I followed the recipe as stated above and everything came out fine. I made side items of candied carrots and creamed spinach. Made it for my in-laws and they were complimenting me...so go ahead and create this you will please those around you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StirTheRoast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby Spinach Omelet

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I made this for new years day brunch. I changed the recipe a bit but it came out amazing. I sauteed onions, mushrooms and bell pepper, and wilted a bit of the spinach in that mixture. Then I created the egg mixture according to the recipe. I felt there wasn't enough egg mixture to accommodate the full amount of spinach. So I added 3 eggs instead of 2. Added a bit of unsalted butter to the pan and cooked omelette per directions. I added some cherry tomatoes on top and slice avocado. It was the best omelette I have every eaten and made on my own. This recipe has given me the confidence to stop wasting money paying for omelettes. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsamusic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Excellent! The chicken was juicy and the skin crispy plus it tasted wonderful. Made exactly per Chef John but my chicken was a 5.25 lb organic chicken so roasted at 450 for i hour and 20 minutes, then lowered heat to 375 for another 25 minutes. When the legs moved easily I knew it was done. Sauce smelled great and was sooo tasty. Husband loved it saying it was so tender and good.(He had been afraid that my roasting a chicken at 450 would ruin it-haha!)Another home run from our Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love this Chef John! I always find myself out of Tartar sauce when I need it and now I can just make it!! I am from the Northwest but now live in San Francisco. In the Northwest we have this on everything, but down here when I ask for it from the servers and they look at me like I am nuts or a smashed anchovy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gouda and Spinach Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe. I did not have gouda on hand, so I substituted in parmesan cheese, which I felt would go well with spinach and pork. I added a fair amount of cajun seasoning and recommend adding salt and pepper as well. 45 minutes was the perfect amount of time for a crispy crust and juicy interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by AmyllyLace

Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Looking for a new recipe that is ready in minutes? This simple vegetarian meal uses common grocery store ingredients. Don't be intimidated by the tempeh if it's your first time cooking/eating it. It is a great meat substitute that is equally dense & satisfying. I would be really picky with my choice of BBQ sauce because it is definitely the deal breaker. The one I used was too sweet for my taste. If I had known how much sugar was in the Annie's variety, I would've picked something else. It was still a good tasting burger that got me full fast. But it lacked all the classic ingredients of a real American burger like the lettuce, mayo, tomato & cheese, which is why I think this burger is more like a sloppy joe. I used Trader Joe's organic grain tempeh & Annie's organic BBQ sauce (sweet & spicy) on gluten free white bread. I would definitely make this again, but with a different BBQ sauce and additional toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyllyLace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup with Lemon

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
A great starter recipe. I would give it 5 stars but I did use/add a lot of items and spices: 2 spicy sausages skin removed and chopped, several teeny tiny potatoes from Trader Joes, 1 can of top notch canned tomatoes whole (just cut them in the pan as they cooked), a tsp of sugar, 3 10 oz package of Kale plus 1 10 ounce package of spinach, cayenne and Hungarian paprika, extra salt as needed, also used chicken stock cause that's what I had. Super healthy and good. as recipece says use what you have on hand-so sure I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Standing Rib Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I eliminated a lot of prep work on this recipe by coating the roast with Montreal steak seasoning, refrigerating it for one hour, and then placing it in an electric smoker at 220 degrees F. for 5 1/2 hours. I used a mixture of mesquite and pecan chips and smoked the meat for the entire time. It was moist and tender with a very nice browned crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanfromhumboldt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this for New Years Day. Wow! Sooo good even my picky husband said "These are really good!" I made according to Chef Johns recipe only added a Ham Hock. The simmering pot smelled so good too! A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tres Leches Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I just made this and it turned out very well. I am an experienced cook and find that a lot of people that write reviews on this site obviously are not. It might help if recipes were rated as beginning, intermediate or experienced, the way knitting patterns are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is one of rmy favorite recipes. I have even shared it with colleagues at work whom are equally thrilled with this recipe. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Allegany, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Truffled Potato Gratin

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Making for Christmas Dinner. I am such a Chef John aficionado I goggled "incredibly cheap Chinese Mandolin" and got one for ten bucks from Bed Bath and Beyond. Found Truffle Cheese at my near by Mollie Stones. used jar thyme cause though I had the fresh but I just got lazy. 5 Russets made a lot of potatoes so we will have the rest tomorrow morning with sausage for breakfast. Now baking away and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marmalade Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've used this recipe for years and finally decided to give it a long-overdue positive review. I love how simple and tasty this recipe is! Like many other reviewers, I cut down the soy sauce by half. Otherwise this recipe would have been easily a 5-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made it several times now and gotten tons of compliments each time. I did modify it very slightly by decreasing the salt to 1/2 tsp (the first time I made them they were just a bit too salty for our taste) and I use my "secret" ingredient of using only Guittard Milk Chocolate chips. But other than those personal taste substitutions, they are perfect! I also wanted to add my personal tip: chill your cookie dough for an hour if you can, then loosely shape into a balls and flatten them bit with your hand when you put them on the cookie sheet. This will prevent your cookies from flattening out and still give them a substantial "middle" worth biting into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was absolutely moist and delicious! My husband had thirds. Couldn't get enough and kept on saying "wow" with each bite. I followed what the other reviewers did by sautaeeing the onions first and added worcestershire sauce to the mixture. It's one of my favorite seasonings so I judt had to add it. I also didn't have regular breadcrumbs only panko so I pulsed it first in the food processor until fine. Worked really well. I also doubled the glaze on top. Doubled the ketchup, the mustard but the brown sugar still 2 tablespoons as I didn't want it overly sweet and true enough, when I tasted it it was just the right sweetness for me. The entire mixture fit perfectly inside a 9 x 5 pyrex loaf dish. To be sure about cooking temperatures I stuck a meat thermometer right through the middle but not all the way that it woukd be touching the bottom of the dish. I wanted to make sure that it reaches the proper cooking temp of about 160 F. 1 hour at 350 F did just that so the baking time stated was pretty accurate. Next time I make this I will be using a leaner ground beef as grease just pooled at the bottom of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Delicious and simple. Infused olive oils and adding a touch of red pepper flakes would work wonderfully too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janis P.

Chicken Tetrazzini for a Crowd

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is a very good recipe and the quantity is just right for entertaining a dozen people. It freezes well too so if you have a lot of turkey, make a lot and just freeze the rest. I omitted the pimientos and sliced mushrooms as I didn't have any on hand but added broccoli florets. Easy recipe and you can really add anything you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yummy. I added crispy shredded bacon and carrots and a few shrooms but otherwise totally followed recipe. BTW Chef John- how do you get an Art Major off your doorstep? Offer to pay for the Pizarro! Am not a smarty pants, just the mother of a San Francisco Sous Chef. When ever she is here (not very often as I an sure you know) and I yell for help she just walks in and says, "Oh mom just do this, " turns and walks out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Salmon

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
We tried this recipe because it looked good and was highly rated. We were very disappointed. It seemed to lack enough soy sauce and brown sugar. The sesame oil was too strong. Also the sauce was far too oily to put over the salmon or the rice. We will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCarrizosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Arizona, USA

Chef John's Chicken and Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Heaven!! Made exactly but with just a pinch of Cayenne cause husband doesn't like hot. BTW- a pinch of Cayenne marries all the other spices perfectly and does not add Hot. (Husband will never know Ha-ha). This is another keeper from Chef John! Chef John rocks and is my Hero!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States