San Francisco - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I left out the roux and added a potato for thickness (am trying to cut down on dairy and wheat) and left out the sugar as it didn't need it, and it was delicious! I made it for my boo and then froze the rest and gave some to my mother who loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Cucumber Sunomono

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was amazing! My family loved it. I varied the recipe a bit for what I had in the pantry. I used red enchilada sauce instead of taco sauce, and did not add the tomatoes. It turned out wonderfully and was a hit. I'd like to add cilantro next time. This is a definite addition to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Picetti-Grosjean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Total comfort food. My family loved it. I used lean ground turkey and reduced sodium mushroom soup. To make it a bit more convenient, I used already frozen diced onions. Was a bit healthier, super fast to whip up and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Picetti-Grosjean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Bannock

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was very tasty. I only had raisins so that's what I used. Very good teatime scone recipe delicious warm out of the oven with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Finally, a recipe with just the right amount of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Galbadores

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Restaurant Caesar Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This recipe is identical to the one I've been using since the 1980s. Both my partner and I love it. I use a few more anchovies and make my own croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCarrizosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Arizona, USA

Tofu Peanut Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I took Darter02's advice and used Best Thai Peanut Sauce (which was AWESOME!), used fresh veggies (green and red bell peppers, snow peas), and just fried the tofu in peanut oil rather than egg batter it. It was pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I followed this receipt exactly how it was written and then added it to a fried tofu Thai dish I made. My guinea pig (boyfriend), who has traveled extensively in Thailand, said it was the best peanut sauce he's had stateside. Oh, and it's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Vegan Red Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very tasty dish. I added 1 teaspoon cumin, and 1 teaspoon garam masala, and added a whole quart of vegetable broth instead of two cups water per the instruction (per other comments saying it got too thick). Turned out great. I also added some soyrizo (vegetarian chorizo). Great stuff!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scandinavian Almond Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Easy to make. I divided it into three batches so they were thicker (although I also ate a lot of the dough). These are very elegant and much easier to make than appears. I left off the icing, as I found they were sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Delicious! The lemon juice and parmesan cheese give a nice twist on a simple way to prepare asparagus. I added the salt by eye, since some reviewers commented on the recipe being too salty. I also baked them at 400 degrees, since I put them in with some salmon, and found that 12 minutes was just about perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Perlman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
We absolutely loved it! My fiancé said it was the best salmon he'd ever had, and went back for seconds. He ate so much salmon that he didn't have room for ice cream, which is a first! This will become a staple in our house, since it was not only delicious but was so easy to prepare. I actually added salt & pepper to the bread crumb mixture, which worked well. The honey mustard sauce has a nice tang (I only spread a thin layer on the top so it wasn't overpowering), and the bread crumbs gave the fish a good crunch. The pecans were an interesting addition (and one I never would have thought of; might also try with almonds or macadamia nuts sometime), and the fresh parsley was great (although in a pinch, dried parsley would probably work too). I served it with wild rice and oven-roasted asparagus, and voilá - a gourmet meal on a Tuesday night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Perlman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chili with Ground Turkey

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I used half the chicken stock but otherwise followed the recipe and it was great! The cinnamon really added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Waaaaay too much bread crumbs--even more than meatloaf! It made the burger mushy and and inedible: all bread crumbs and no meat. I followed the exact recipe. It improved a lot, however, when I microwaved the burgers to dry out the mushy bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Black Bean Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
OUTSTANDING DISH!!! As a vegan, I left out the Ham and chorizo and used meatless chorizo (soy-based) from Whole Foods, and used coconut oil instead of canola. This is a keeper!!!! Was wonderful on a chilly 30 degree night like tonight...served with crusty garlic bread...To die for!!!! Thank you for this outstanding dish. Will be saved in perpetuity in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Good, tweaking to meet our tastes. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raw Chef Siegren Johnson

Cooking Level: Professional

Mexican Posole Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Hubs and I love this recipe! I haven't made it with the chicarones and feet yet though. So good and savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mona

Chef John's Cioppino

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great recipe. Had unexpected dinner guest and a leftover crab so made this. Everyone loved it and it was easy to make. Added a pinch more spices. Didn't have cod so used salmon. Decreased amount of mussels and shrimp and added octopus and clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Eh. I wanted to love it, but just didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raw Chef Siegren Johnson

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States