San Francisco - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great! I usually use the joy of cooking's recipe for apple crisp, and for some reason it never occurred to me to search the web for a good recipe... Well, I'm happy to report that this one is much better! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, maybe a little less sugar on the apples. When it comes to the "extra water" debate, I think that it really depends on the apples you are using. If they are juicy, they will bubble up and be delicious, but if they are dry, it is not going to work. I usually peek into the oven about halfway through the cooking time, and if the apples look like there's not enough juice, then adding a little water works magic. Some people I know use orange juice. It really doesn't matter, but you want a little sauce to make the dish really work. So for me, I don't add any water, and then check on it halfway through and decide if it could use some. I am so glad I have a new apple crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaquino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Oh my! This was AMAZING! Apart from the Spicy Chili Beans (used 4 regular and added half a can of chopped jalapenos instead), I followed the recipe exactly and it was DELICIOUS! Even better the next day. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pasta Primavera with Italian Turkey Sausage

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! I made a few tweaks but nothing major. I used hot Italian pork sausage instead of turkey and added some chicken, as well. I also added a little bit (less than 1/4 cup) of half and half to create some creaminess and some Italian seasoning to round it all out. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I did follow some other reviewers suggestions and doubled the filling ingredients and added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dough itself. I will absolutely be making this again-- it looks so pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I found it to be dryer than I like. Next time I will leave off the breadcrumbs and top with more grated cheese. If this were made with gluten free pasta and no crumbs, it would be perfect for those with gluten intolerance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun-Style Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This Egg Benedict is soulful in Flavor! Reminds Me of my 2nd Home New Orleans, LA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipe4Teeda2c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Miso Braised Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the garlic and ginger in the recipe. All other things pretty much as written. I can't wait for leftovers tonight. I have made this in the past and it is better the next day. It is a very good dish for a rainy day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
These are so easy and fast. Usually, I make them large and end up with a dozen...11 or 12 minutes at 350 degrees in my oven. They are rich and filling, chewy and crispy this way. A bit less sugar than called for is good for me...3/4 cup or less. They have to cool a little while before you can pick them up and have them stay together well, but they do just fine after some cooling. They get soggy the next day, so I just rebake them for a few minutes and I think they're even better. Tonight I made them small and put jumbo chocolate chips in them...I had sixteen cookies and probably close to half the batter left in the fridge. They're quite good, but I like the other way best. I still ended up baking them 11 to 12 minutes. But they do cool more quickly when they're small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burmese Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a brilliant recipe. Easy and delicious. I used 6 large whole thighs, skin removed. I added just a splash of water. It took a bit longer to cook using the whole thigh but I feel it was worth the wait. I did have to pay close attention while it was cooking to keep them from sticking and burning. I think this was due to the fact that I only added the tiniest amount of water. I added extra cayenne to make it extra spicy. I can't wait for leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I would make this again in a heartbeat. I made some changes based on what I had on hand but mostly followed the recipe as written. It was amazingly moist and flavorful. I had a scoop of pumpkin ice cream on top. Whoa! Knock my socks off. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Basmati Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
The family accepted the dish without issue in conjunction with Baked Salmon with Mustard-Dill sauce. The lemon complimented the Salmon graciously. I made this recipe in the rice cooker adding rice, lemon, ginger to chicken broth instead of water. I used both juice and zest of fresh lemon (recipe is a bit ambiguous on this point) and must have got too much pulp from squeezed juice in the mix as the rice was a bit sticky. I cooked a little longer to reduce the water content and firm up the rice. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wintertime French Style Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was a really tasty pea soup. I had a ham bone and some leftover slices to use up and I am really glad I found this recipe. I did add extra veggies to it (celery) and used better than bullion chicken instead of vegetable broth (I didn't have any vegetable broth on hand). It was very flavorful. Best split pea soup I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I used 1 cup of chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon. I cooked it in a cast iron pan and just transferred it straight to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used all butter and added a little more milk. Super yummy and great on the birthday cake I made! Only thing is that I barely had enough frosting for my entire 9 in cake. I think doubling the recipe would've given me way too much, but maybe adding half more would've been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Young

Heavenly White Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used 1 1/2 cups of milk like most people suggested as well as only using vanilla extract. Flavor turned out great. Cake is definitely more on the DENSE side rather than fluffy and airy...even after sifting all dry ingredients three times. Easy to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker Ropa Vieja

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Delicious. I added red pepper flakes to give it more heat (I like food that requires a fire extinguisher be at the ready).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dabba

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent moist chocolatey zucchini cake. I made it in a bundt pan and it came out perfect! I love a fresh homemade cake that turns out well in high altitude and this one does. Making it again with a yellow zucchini. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Sactown_Baker

Doggie Birthday Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe for dogs! I did make a few changes to it though that are not drastic and really don't require any extra work. I changed the flour to rice flour as it is easier to digest for dogs and I cut the amount of carrot in half and instead added in half of a mashed banana. I also baked them in a cupcake pan so it would be a small cake for my dog because she has a sensitive stomach. I also added a frosting made of fat free Greek yogurt and peanut butter. with a tiny bit of honey. She devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fabulous! So simple as well. I used butter, as I always do. I think shortening is disgusting. I think some of the people that review these recipes don't know how to cook. I read that one person forgot the baking powder but "didn't think that would have made enough difference to not make them turn out well" (DUH)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Fig Compote

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is so delicious. However I didn't have whiskey so I used coconut rum. Great with cheese and very addictive. It also tastes better and better as days go by. Thanks for sharing @JSchubert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedubb01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States