San Francisco - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Brittany Young

Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used all butter and added a little more milk. Super yummy and great on the birthday cake I made! Only thing is that I barely had enough frosting for my entire 9 in cake. I think doubling the recipe would've given me way too much, but maybe adding half more would've been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Young

Heavenly White Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used 1 1/2 cups of milk like most people suggested as well as only using vanilla extract. Flavor turned out great. Cake is definitely more on the DENSE side rather than fluffy and airy...even after sifting all dry ingredients three times. Easy to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker Ropa Vieja

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Delicious. I added red pepper flakes to give it more heat (I like food that requires a fire extinguisher be at the ready).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dabba

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent moist chocolatey zucchini cake. I made it in a bundt pan and it came out perfect! I love a fresh homemade cake that turns out well in high altitude and this one does. Making it again with a yellow zucchini. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Sactown_Baker

Doggie Birthday Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe for dogs! I did make a few changes to it though that are not drastic and really don't require any extra work. I changed the flour to rice flour as it is easier to digest for dogs and I cut the amount of carrot in half and instead added in half of a mashed banana. I also baked them in a cupcake pan so it would be a small cake for my dog because she has a sensitive stomach. I also added a frosting made of fat free Greek yogurt and peanut butter. with a tiny bit of honey. She devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fabulous! So simple as well. I used butter, as I always do. I think shortening is disgusting. I think some of the people that review these recipes don't know how to cook. I read that one person forgot the baking powder but "didn't think that would have made enough difference to not make them turn out well" (DUH)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Fig Compote

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is so delicious. However I didn't have whiskey so I used coconut rum. Great with cheese and very addictive. It also tastes better and better as days go by. Thanks for sharing @JSchubert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedubb01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Wow! Fast & easy. This was a fantastic last minute find to satisfy my 3 little ones. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Galbadores

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
HELLO! This was amazing!!! I made it exactly as specified, and I wouldn't change a thing! This recipe will be a keeper in my recipe box. AS a vegetarian, I was pleased as punch (spiked!) to find such a delicious and KILLER RECIPE. The feta on top really makes it by adding a nice tangy zing. Absolutely delicious!!! Thank you so much for such a delicious meal!!! YUM YUM YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pinto Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Quick soaked the beans then put in crock pot with bullion. Didn't have bacon so subbed sausage. Used plenty of garlic and cumin. Very tasty. Will make again following overnight soak and bacon. You know, the recipe. This will go into rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Zurie's Fresh Fig Compote Over Cream Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this with some fresh figs that I got in my Bountiful Basket. It was the first time I have ever had fresh fig and we LOVED it! I didn't have any good buttery crackers, so we ended up putting it over vanilla ice cream and it was so good. I only had a few figs so had to halve the recipe. I will definitely make this again (when I can get some fresh figs)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Hermit Bar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These were OK. Not the best cookie ever, but not the worst. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and I felt they lacked something. They were not super sweet or super flavorful, just kind of average. So I made the "Vanilla Glaze" from this website and drizzled it over the top of the cookies. This fixed them and made them really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab-Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These were ok. Now I am on the site looking for a recipe to use up the bag of imitation crab. If you make these, think about a way to punch it up, hot sauce or parm might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
One word for this: AWESOME! We had some smoked chicken breasts that I needed to use and this was the perfect recipe for them! Everyone loved it and I followed it as written, except I added extra garlic when I sautéed the onions and garlic in butter. So rich and yummy! Will definitely be making this again, for company next time, because it is that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Potato Chips

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These are fantastic chips! My mandoline sliced a little thicker than most on the thin setting, but I loved the thick homestyle chips that it made. Mine took longer in the microwave, which is very high powered. It may have been because I used huge Idaho baking potatoes. They still turned out great! I realized toward the end of my batches that if I put less chips on my glass platter they took way shorter. Next time I'll try that as I think it would balance out the timeframe. You'll either have 12-13 minutes for big batches or 6-8 minutes for smaller batches. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. I sprinkled garlic salt on mine and look forward to trying different spices in future batches. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Incredible Red Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I followed this recipe only I halved it for just my husband and me. He LOVED them and asked for more. They did turn out a little runnier than I like, but probably because I estimated the amount of potatoes. Next time I'll make sure to use the full amount. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I too am from Hawai'i. This is the recipe that we always use and it rocks. I serve it with coconut rice and either stewed cabbage or collard greens. I will post those recipies, very simple ones soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Real Homemade Tamales

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was great and made me feel accomplished at my first attempt at tamales. The masa-lard-chicken stock (didn't have pork) mixture turned out really well. The chicken in the chili sauce was so awesome. I will keep working at the recipe and by the time my kid comes home, i can try it out on him, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pico De Gallo

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I really liked this but had to modify due to not having garlic powder/salt & jalapeños. I used a garlic clove that I had and a different type of pepper that I had that is green but not a jalapeño. I also added lime juice for a kick but you were right, once you have this with Mexican food, you won't want to be without it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice and Lentil Pilaf

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I increased the broth and cooked it for a little longer (used brown rice instead of white). I also added some curry powder, chili powder, and salt to give it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States