San Francisco - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cajun-Style Eggs Benedict

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This Egg Benedict is soulful in Flavor! Reminds Me of my 2nd Home New Orleans, LA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipe4Teeda2c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Miso Braised Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Fantastic! I doubled the garlic and ginger in the recipe. All other things pretty much as written. I can't wait for leftovers tonight. I have made this in the past and it is better the next day. It is a very good dish for a rainy day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
These are so easy and fast. Usually, I make them large and end up with a dozen...11 or 12 minutes at 350 degrees in my oven. They are rich and filling, chewy and crispy this way. A bit less sugar than called for is good for me...3/4 cup or less. They have to cool a little while before you can pick them up and have them stay together well, but they do just fine after some cooling. They get soggy the next day, so I just rebake them for a few minutes and I think they're even better. Tonight I made them small and put jumbo chocolate chips in them...I had sixteen cookies and probably close to half the batter left in the fridge. They're quite good, but I like the other way best. I still ended up baking them 11 to 12 minutes. But they do cool more quickly when they're small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burmese Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a brilliant recipe. Easy and delicious. I used 6 large whole thighs, skin removed. I added just a splash of water. It took a bit longer to cook using the whole thigh but I feel it was worth the wait. I did have to pay close attention while it was cooking to keep them from sticking and burning. I think this was due to the fact that I only added the tiniest amount of water. I added extra cayenne to make it extra spicy. I can't wait for leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cake with Orange Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I would make this again in a heartbeat. I made some changes based on what I had on hand but mostly followed the recipe as written. It was amazingly moist and flavorful. I had a scoop of pumpkin ice cream on top. Whoa! Knock my socks off. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Basmati Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
The family accepted the dish without issue in conjunction with Baked Salmon with Mustard-Dill sauce. The lemon complimented the Salmon graciously. I made this recipe in the rice cooker adding rice, lemon, ginger to chicken broth instead of water. I used both juice and zest of fresh lemon (recipe is a bit ambiguous on this point) and must have got too much pulp from squeezed juice in the mix as the rice was a bit sticky. I cooked a little longer to reduce the water content and firm up the rice. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wintertime French Style Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was a really tasty pea soup. I had a ham bone and some leftover slices to use up and I am really glad I found this recipe. I did add extra veggies to it (celery) and used better than bullion chicken instead of vegetable broth (I didn't have any vegetable broth on hand). It was very flavorful. Best split pea soup I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I used 1 cup of chicken broth instead of the water and bouillon. I cooked it in a cast iron pan and just transferred it straight to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used all butter and added a little more milk. Super yummy and great on the birthday cake I made! Only thing is that I barely had enough frosting for my entire 9 in cake. I think doubling the recipe would've given me way too much, but maybe adding half more would've been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Young

Heavenly White Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used 1 1/2 cups of milk like most people suggested as well as only using vanilla extract. Flavor turned out great. Cake is definitely more on the DENSE side rather than fluffy and airy...even after sifting all dry ingredients three times. Easy to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker Ropa Vieja

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Delicious. I added red pepper flakes to give it more heat (I like food that requires a fire extinguisher be at the ready).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dabba

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent moist chocolatey zucchini cake. I made it in a bundt pan and it came out perfect! I love a fresh homemade cake that turns out well in high altitude and this one does. Making it again with a yellow zucchini. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Sactown_Baker

Doggie Birthday Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe for dogs! I did make a few changes to it though that are not drastic and really don't require any extra work. I changed the flour to rice flour as it is easier to digest for dogs and I cut the amount of carrot in half and instead added in half of a mashed banana. I also baked them in a cupcake pan so it would be a small cake for my dog because she has a sensitive stomach. I also added a frosting made of fat free Greek yogurt and peanut butter. with a tiny bit of honey. She devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fabulous! So simple as well. I used butter, as I always do. I think shortening is disgusting. I think some of the people that review these recipes don't know how to cook. I read that one person forgot the baking powder but "didn't think that would have made enough difference to not make them turn out well" (DUH)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Fig Compote

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This is so delicious. However I didn't have whiskey so I used coconut rum. Great with cheese and very addictive. It also tastes better and better as days go by. Thanks for sharing @JSchubert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedubb01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Wow! Fast & easy. This was a fantastic last minute find to satisfy my 3 little ones. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Galbadores

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
HELLO! This was amazing!!! I made it exactly as specified, and I wouldn't change a thing! This recipe will be a keeper in my recipe box. AS a vegetarian, I was pleased as punch (spiked!) to find such a delicious and KILLER RECIPE. The feta on top really makes it by adding a nice tangy zing. Absolutely delicious!!! Thank you so much for such a delicious meal!!! YUM YUM YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pinto Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Quick soaked the beans then put in crock pot with bullion. Didn't have bacon so subbed sausage. Used plenty of garlic and cumin. Very tasty. Will make again following overnight soak and bacon. You know, the recipe. This will go into rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Zurie's Fresh Fig Compote Over Cream Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I made this with some fresh figs that I got in my Bountiful Basket. It was the first time I have ever had fresh fig and we LOVED it! I didn't have any good buttery crackers, so we ended up putting it over vanilla ice cream and it was so good. I only had a few figs so had to halve the recipe. I will definitely make this again (when I can get some fresh figs)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueHoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyman, Wyoming, USA

Hermit Bar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
These were OK. Not the best cookie ever, but not the worst. I made it exactly as the recipe states, and I felt they lacked something. They were not super sweet or super flavorful, just kind of average. So I made the "Vanilla Glaze" from this website and drizzled it over the top of the cookies. This fixed them and made them really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States