San Diego - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Crock-Pot® Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This is a good and easy recipe. I made this without a crockpot and it Was better and thicker. I used all the ingredients as stated without any additional salt but with a 3 pepper mix fresh ground. I sautéed the onions and I added garlic until just a little bit browned, cut the chicken into small chunks and added into the onions and garlic with double the cumin ,dried oregano and sautéed until chicken was cooked thru. Then I added the green chili and tomatoes and let simmer. Then I added the beans and corn, salsa verde and chicken broth. Brought to a boil on medium high then turned to med low and let simmer for 4-5 hours. In the last 30 minutes I added 1/2 cup queso quesadilla this added a nice creaminess to it, server it with sliced fresh avocado and tortilla chips. If you have the time I recommend this as an alternative to the crock pot. I got a lot more flavor and the house smelled amazing All day!!????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Cornbread

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I made this some time this past February for work. We were having a chili cook off and someone asked if I can make cornbread. Since it was for a big group, I multiplied the recipe twice. It was a hit! perfect crumble and moisture. No left overs and people kept stopping by my office to tell me how great it was. I also saw a few people take a plate home. =) Im going to make this again tomorrow for a bonfire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I made these as directed with the exception of using beer instead of water. I put them in the crock pot for 7 1/2 hours on low and the ribs were so overcooked I couldn't finish baking them in the oven. Instead I broiled them for just a few minutes with the bbq sauce. The flavor was nice, but this isn't a crock pot meal you can put on and forget until you get home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat R

Turkey a la Oscar

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Made with chicken thighs, and it's pretty darned good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I rounded up on rating as it's more of a 3.5 for me. Probably more my mistake than anything, but it was a little too salty for our taste buds and herby. Will probably use again as a base and tweak to more of our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Talena

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
You know a recipe is good when your 9 year old son asks for this instead of French fries! It goes great with most meals and there are never any left-overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I'm not a big pork fan, but my daughter enjoys a pork chop every now and then, so I made these for her. I must admit, they were quite tasty and she loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebb328

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I've made this cake twice. The first time my family said it tasted like cornbread, the second time it was a little better. I'm following the instructions exactly, so I don't know why I can't get it right! I'm trying to learn to bake cakes, and this recipe seems simple enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebb328

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Muffins II

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Perfect for a not so great baker like myself! We love them with a little butter and a big glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebb328

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Broccoli Salad with Raisins and Sunflower Seeds

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Very good. I had a similar salad @ Green Tomatoes restaurant in Florida and decided to try to make it myself. This was delish. I had to serve the sesame seeds on the side since hubby can't have seeds or nuts but all the flavors were there. One issue I had...I wish the recipe gave cups of broccoli. I bought a bag. Started with 1/2# trimmed but had to add some more after adding dressing. I would recommend 1# of trimmed broccoli flowerets. I think I would even like to try adding some diced chicken. The recipe is very versatile. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Biscuits

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This is an excellent recipe! Since most shortening contains soy (which I can't have), I substituted a stick of butter, plus a tablespoon of coconut oil. I accidentally put in a teaspoon of salt instead of half, but they tasted great! The biscuits turned out light and fluffy, and my family loved them! This is a "keeper recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Bakken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil

Mom's Peach Crisp

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
First time in almost 10 years we've had home grown peaches to cook with so I made my favorite fresh fruit dessert. Followed another reviewer's advice and added corn starch (1 1/2 tablespoons) and extra cinnamon to peaches, also 1/2 tsp almond extract=love that with peaches. Topping is so crisp and delish!! Hubby was in heaven on a gloomy, rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made this for family dinner. Planned for 5 people, had 9 so I added extra veggies and a whole bag of small golden yellow potatoes as suggested by another reviewer. I added ketchup and worchestershire (didn't have A1). I had to add more liquid due to the added veggies. Everyone loved it! I served with Kentucky Biscuits from this site. They are fool proof. Note- Definitely add the A1 or more worchestershire and up the seasonings a little, just saying. BTW there were no leftovers. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Our absolute favorite Cheesecake! This delicious cake never lasts more than 1 day. Make the recipe as directed, you won't be disappointed :-) Tips: bake in a water bath-I cover the outside of the springform pan with foil and place it on a cookie sheet that I fill partially with water. Once the cake is done, turn off the oven but don't remove the cake for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I made these for breakfast this morning. My husband loves them and he's a biscuit snob??. They are very tender. I grated the frozen butter and used buttermilk substitute. I would bake them a little longer next time. I will be making them with Beef Stew tomorrow for family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garbanzo Bean and Veggie Burritos

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
These sound really delicious. Since my husband, the complete vegetarian in the household, doesn't care too much for squash, I think I'll include some mushrooms, maybe some diced potato, or other vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots?) in lieu of one of the squashes. Otherwise, sounds great. I'll be trying them soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Ritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lena

Buttermilk Chocolate Cake with Fudge Icing

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I baked in a bundt pan and did use 1/4 cup of cocoa powder. The cake was moist and yummy! Not too sweet or 'rich', which was what I was looking for. The batter is 'runny'. I thought maybe I didn't put enough flour (my son had distracted me for a minute and I lost count of how much flour I had already scooped in). However, a quick read of the reviews and I read the batter is runny. I made it for someone's birthday at work. Everyone loved it. Only thing I didn't do was beat the frosting with a mixer. And I cooked it on medium instead of letting it boil. For these reasons, my frosting was somewhat grainy (from sugar crystals). Not a super big deal but next time I'll make sure it breaks down. Also, I used buttermilk in the frosting since I didn't have regular milk. YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Red Thai Curry

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I find that all the pre-made curry pastes are excellent for flavor and a mild spicyness. Since my husband likes mild, I don't use any extra chilies, but, since I like real spicy I add Chili/garlic sauce to my plate. I also find that cooking the curry paste briefly before adding the coconut milk does enhance the flavor. Excellent starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Mitchell

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasties II

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Simple recipe template with a lot of room to improvise! I actually omitted the butter and used some left-over cheese broccoli soup I had made a couple of days previous instead of the butter. Because I was short on time I used Trader Joe's crescent rolls found in the refrigerator section instead of the homemade pastry. Obviously homemade is better, but mine turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Simple and delicious. Mine was extra simple because I used left over prime rib that was already diced and ready for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States