San Diego - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Molasses Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
These were, like most said 5 stars!! My son made them today just as the recipe said and were too good! I'm afraid we can't make these too often. I will eat too many of them. ;-) These would be amazing around Fall with colored sugar as one other reader suggested! Clearly, now one of our absolute favorites. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRISAK

Inka Mama's Aji

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This is very close if not equal to Inca Mama's. I halved the recipe on my own and added a tablespoon of cilantro prior to blending, because I love cilantro. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

S'mores Indoors

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I must give this recipe 5 stars for the use of coconut oil. It gives plain store bought graham crackers more depth. This was a fun recipe to make with my 8 year old daughter! Best indoor s'mores recipe I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Beef and Barley Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Good basic recipe. Definitely one you want to change up! I used 1 full cup of barley, 1 (14 oz) can of chicken stock, and seasoned my meat while cooking it. I also added some chopped cherry tomatoes. Next time I will add a lot more veggies! Chard or kale would be great and I would definitely up the carrots to at least 2 c. (maybe even a full pound) to make it a more complete one pot meal. Serves more than just 4. I also suggest cooking everything in a dutch oven on the stove top so you can just slide it into the oven without dirtying another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a really tasty recipe! Super easy to make, cheaper than store bought, and tastes way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willum070

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Picadillo (Cuban Beef Hash)

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! I cut back the olive brine to 1/4 cup and used crushed tomatoes in place of tomato sauce and it turned out absolutely delicious. Served with white rice and black beans. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made this in the crockpot, it took about 6 hours and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Dairy Princess

Pickled Padron Peppers

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made this yesterday. Added yellow, orange and red peppers with onions to the jalapeños. It reduced the heat and the Big Guy loved that because hot peppers make him perspire. These had just the right amount of heat for both of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Nom nom nom. We used a yellow cake and followed the recommendation to use the Whip Cream Vanilla frosting....take the 8oz of cool whip, fold a package of instant vanilla pudding, 1c milk and 1 tsp of vanilla and it was so perfect. Not just for the 4th....all sorts of fruits can be used....kiwi, blackberry, raspberry, boysenberry - etc. We kept the left over frosting for a dip. Super moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
There was not much taste and I think part of it was because it would be better with the skin on, but I removed it. Maybe I'll make another attempt and add more paprika and some cayenne or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Outstanding. I followed the recommendation of sub the onion for green onions. Instead of 2 cups may...use 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. Added in some sharp cheddar cheese and it was PERFECT. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua

Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free Vanilla Banana Pops

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I didn't find this to be a good consistency and it lacked overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Sesame Parmesan Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This recipe was okay - I ate it but my husband wouldn't because it calls for too much oil. The seasoning is excellent, love the sesame seeds. Make sure you reduce the amount of oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Campfire S'Mores Latte

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
To make the best latte have your milk steamed and ready to go while you brew your espresso so you can quiskly assemble the drink. If you prefer, you can mix the marshmallow, sugar, and cocoa powder together with the steamed milk then pour the brewed espresso in last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by House of Aqua

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe! I tried these out for our Fourth of July dessert and served them warm with ice cream on top. I am planning on using this recipe in a few days to make brownies for a trifle recipe in place of store bought. Keep in mind these are on the thin side - perfectly fudgy without being gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Martha's Clam Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit as I found it to be a little bland. I did add 2 tablespoons more or less of mayo and I also added considerably more Worcestershire sauce as well as the hot pepper sauce. Still needed something else, so I added garlic powder and salt and pepper and that seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma-Mangia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Photo by Dairy Princess

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe twice and both times was amazed by how well these come together. I love that these are homemade-worth the time it takes. If your a new cook don't be afraid to try this, be sure to follow the recipe exactly, you will surprise yourself. Tip - chop walnuts to add to filling instead of raisins for a different flavor. Since there are only two in the household and my husband will eat them in two days if I leave them out, I am freezing these in sections of four to have as a quick breakfast or afternoon snack. I hope they freeze well. Will let you all know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Suzona

Grilled Pork Chops with Fresh Nectarine Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Perfect summer grilling recipe! The nectarine salsa recipe is just right. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Mexican Tinga

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
this was really good and really easy. Note to self though, do not use stewed toms that are in chiles and green peppers. WAYYY to spicy for me. We used this to make tortas and it was so delicious! Will be also using it for sandwiches and salads since it made a lot. Made with a guacamole salad and it was divine! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Parmesan Rosemary Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Super easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States