Sacramento - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Pasta e Fagioli III

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I love this recipe! Great vegan dish. I made two substitutions based on 12 servings. I used two heads of Kale instead of Escarole because I couldn't find organic Escarole at my store and I used (1 lb. dry) homemade organic Kidney Beans instead of canned Cannellini Beans. I cooked the beans the day before. Awesome recipe! Next time I'll use half the Ditalini Pasta stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Pork Cutlets

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
Made this recipe twice...family loves it, so do I. Didn't need to pound the meat, bought thin pork slices. Will make again, thanks Chef John. Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Blossoms

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Best blossoms ever! I chose this recipe because of the amount of peanut butter. It was more than the other recipes I found. If I'm going thru the trouble of making this type cookie I want it to taste like it! I had to substitute the peanut butter for almond butter (because I have two children with peanut allergies) and I used a 1/2 cup of butter instead a full cup of shortening - but everything else was the same. My DH ate half a sheet which is saying something. He is very lean and fit and has amazing self control when it comes to eating. He made a point to tell me to remember this recipe because it's one of the best cookies he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Chicken in Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I just made this recipe tonight for the first time. My teen son inhaled 2 plates. I'd call out a success! I didn't add any wine in mine but it turned out well without it. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Moore-Stillman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Onion Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This is a great party dip. Super easy to make with a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Picetti-Grosjean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
love this recipe! wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Granola Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
These taste great, but I have to keep them in the fridge or they fall apart. So, they're not really portable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ramen Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
This is an easy tasty salad to use for a party. Everyone loves it. I only gave it 4 stars because as written, it's not enough dressing for my taste. I doubled the dressing and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Plum Buckle

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I have a ton of plums from my tree and have been searching for recipes to use them up. Well, this one's a keeper! I prepared it exactly as written and it was absolutely delish! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
A little too sweet for me as written. I only used half the amount of sugar and it turned out great! The family raved and ate it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Added 1tbs cumin. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylethecook
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by BaillysMom

Cornbread Salad I

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I used black beans instead of Pintos and I used a Spicy Ranch packet instead of regular. To accommodate a family member that's gluten intolerant, I made my cornbread with tapioca flour instead of regular flour. It made the cornbread crisp/brown and I liked that it kept it's texture. It didn't get soggy/mushy at all! It was a HUGE hit! Everyone had 2nd helpings! Some said they could eat this as a meal itself. I thought maybe the recipe made more than I needed but 8 of us DEVOURED the entire punch bowl full and this wasn't the only salad there! I posted a pic. :) It was super pretty, fresh and I will be making this again soon!!! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaillysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: S Coffeyville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sombrero Chicken

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Tried this recipe without the bacon, used canned diced tomatoes with peppers, my family loved it! It is one of the best recipes I've tried so far. Bravo.--Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
My family loved these cookies! Only changes I did was use half cup shortening and half cup butter rather than 1 cup butter. Plus 1ts vanilla extract rather than using 1/2ts of almond extract. (Listened to prior reviews)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Pot Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I just have one comment for all the reviewers who couldn't resist adding a bunch of extra ingredients: "It's tuna casserole." If you feel like you need to power up the taste, then you obviously don't care for tuna casserole. No hard feelings, I'm just putting that out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winamoe

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Pie II

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
One of the best pies I have ever made. The only thing I changed was that I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. It was amazing! It looks super fancy but so easy too. New family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agziller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Murgh Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have made this wonderful dish four times. Not the most low-cal thing in my recipe book, but the flavors are fantastic. I didn't change anything. All ingredients are available at the local Indian market. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Galvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Best cinnamon rolls I've ever had! I prepped these the night before (formed the rolls and put in a greased 9x13" pan), covered and put in the frige until morning. Took them out 30 minutes before baking and topped with cream cheese frosting post-bake. Very sweet, but paired them with some fresh fruit! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika

4H Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Delicious! Just added one teaspoon of ground cinnamon and instead of all white sugar, I did half white and half brown sugar! Other than those minor changes, followed the recipe exact and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Good flavor. I added more of the spices and added allspice. I agree with other reviews that the molasses is a very strong flavor. Next time I will use 1/2 molasses and 1/2 corn syrup. I scooped mine with a small ice cream scoop, sprinkled with sugar and flattened with the bottom of a glass. They turned out very flat with a crispy edge and a chewey center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Reed-Shoemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States