Sacramento - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Louisiana Crawfish Boil

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is an AWESOME recipe. I started with a pile of live crayfish that I was not sure what to do with--never cooked 'em before. Found this recipe, threw it all in a pot as described with just a coupla changes (thanks reviewers for some helpful hints) and it was AMAZING!My guests who have been to Louisiana for the real deal said mine was BETTER! Dang I'm good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummyindetummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I had to try this because of all the rave reviews. Plus, I had a ton of fresh rosemary I wanted to use up. Right off the bat, 1/2 cup of oil is way too much. I used two tablespoons and it was plenty. To me, the flavor is lacking; which really surprised me given the ranch dressing and Worcestershire, not to mention the vinegar, lemon and sugar. It grilled up nice and moist but it wasn't nearly as good as I had hoped. I doubt I'll try it again but only because I honestly can't think of a thing I would add that could make it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I tried it with Italian seasoning instead of oregano and left out the white wine, it still came out wowing the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefhubby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homesteader Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I made this a week ago with some chili it was PREFECT I SWEAR i love a sweet buttery cb, so i added a bit more butter n suger n a bit more baking power and it looked like a cake with the perfect cornbread taste my best ever and i make pretty good cb but i love trying others take on things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is the only way I cook chicken ever since I found this recipe. It's super easy and the taste is fantastic. My husband and 4 kids want it over rotisserie chicken every time! I drizzle a little olive oil on top (instead of using butter in and around the chicken) then sprinkle on the seasonings and salt. I like to experiment with different spices. It always comes out great. I also cook mine for about 2 hours. My oven takes a little longer to cook. Always a winner of a meal. Thank you ROBINROCKINGBIRD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is hands down the best Sausage Gravy recipe I've made. It works great with sage sausage, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jtms

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Phenomenal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaityMaple
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CaityMaple

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaityMaple
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Love it. Watch it while it's cooking. Can get over-done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Heintz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Easy Beer Bread Mix

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Heintz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The gravy is amazing! Left off the flour (by accident). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple-Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I make this pie every rhubarb season. It has the best flavor and my hubby loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I'm vegan, so I made some small changes in this recipe. I used ener-g egg replacer instead of egg, earth balance buttery sticks instead of butter, and unsweetened oat milk for the milk. I used slightly more than one cup of fresh blueberries. These were fantastic! If you're looking for a slightly less sweet muffin with that cornbread crunch on the edges, this is it. We ate them all in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Scampi II

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Reading a pile of reviews I followed several suggestions. Cooking for two, we have basil and oregano in our garden and chives and used out of the garden fresh, a little labor intense! My husband is not a fan of garlic so I didn’t add a pile of garlic (cooking for myself I’d added A LOT of garlic!) When chicken was cooking added onions and various peppers (what I had on hand) and a little white wine, cooked whole wheat angel hair boiled suggested 4 minutes (somehow my husband either didn’t notice whole wheat, or it tasted so good he didn’t complain!) Added angel hair to chicken etc. THEN tasting it (mild mild mild) I added a couple of tablespoons of the great garlic butter on this site allrecipes.com/recipe/garlic-butter/detail.aspx cooked another 2 minutes getting garlic butter melted through – with the added garlic butter, this turned out SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I love this recipe, but I'm a BBQ kind of guy. So I cook these bone side down, and I add a 1/4 C to a 1/2 C of Apple Juice. I have a friend who like to add a fruit juice (think he uses Pinapple) into the BBQ sauce and mixes it well. From there I follow the recipe to the letter. FYI, ALWAYS REMOVE THE MEMBRANE. The membrane does not allow seasoning to pass through, and can be tough and chewy in the bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Espresso Bark

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
really easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Fudge

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
not an easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Turkey Meatballs

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! Only thing I changed was using dried parsley, rosemary and oregano. Other than that, it was great. Ill put a little less parsley in it next time, but that's it. This one is a keeper!!!Someone else said their husband thought it was regular beef. Mine did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Clover

Excellent and Healthy Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I actually really like this recipe; the way I made it turned out not so dry at all but very moist and flavorful. I had to alter it a bit after reading the reviews and also because I didn't have all the ingredients. I had only a 6 oz fat free vanilla flavored yogurt so I added on a small container of apple sauce (Mott's all natural) with it. Keep in mind, this is 3.9 oz of apple sauce so total was about 10 oz of flavored "liquid." I also added a tablespoon of maple/agave syrup. For dry ingredients, I used 1/2 tsp salt and switched white sugar for coconut sugar but kept everything else the same. First, I mixed the dry ingredients very, very well. Then I mixed the wet ingredients very, very well but separately. Then I made a hole in the dry ingredients and poured the wet ingredients in, mixing only enough for the dry to get a little wet. ;) This took about 15 seconds total; definitely do not over mix! Then, I spread it in an 8x8 pre-buttered baking dish (batter will be thick) and baked at 385 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 minutes. At the 15 minutes mark, I took it out and brushed a little melted butter/maple syrup mixture on top, put it back into the oven, and BROIL it on high for about 1-2 minutes. Took it out, took a bite, and oh my... it was very moist, lightly sweet, and yummy! I would make this again, exactly as I've done above. Froze the leftovers after they've cooled and now I can just bake a piece in a toaster oven whenever I want cornbread. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States