Oakland, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
The sauce is amazing! Definitely a labor of love since it's time consuming to reduce the wine mixture and then emulsify all the butter, but the end result is worth it served over a high-quality piece of medium-rare seared tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Horchata de Arroz (Rice Drink)

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
It was really good but not the best horchata I've had. I didn't have evaporated milk so used 2% milk and accidently a teaspoon of cinnamon instead of half. Next time I will do as instructed to see if there was a diffrence. But still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Photo by aleban

Camarones al Ajillo (Garlic Shrimp)

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My favorite Shrimp dish, makes you want to lick your fingers. Love the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Turkey Ragu with Fontina and Parmesan

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is one of the best pasta dishes I've done. My family loves it. I know it's hard to find the fontina cheese but it is well worth it. I've dont it both ways, with and without it and love it more with it. I can only speak for myself cause I did see there are bad review about it, but I'm sure its because they didn't do it as instructed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Ground Turkey Noodle Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
When I read about not having much spices, I decided to add my own to the meat. 1 tsp of mustard, 1 tsp of worcester sauce, 2 cloves of garlic, half onion chopped, and add salt and pepper to taste. First put the chopped onion with oil on sauce pan, when golden add the ground turkey. than add the salt and pepper, garlic, mustard and sauce and still add the italian seasoning. cook till no longer pink. and voila! Awesome...I give my recipe 5 stars. Hope u enjoy also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I love the dressing! I usually make a spinach, goat cheese, toasted almond, and strawberry or roasted beet salad using this dressing. It's fantastic! My husband loves it, and we don't really even use store-bought anymore. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This recipe is delicious and I will be making it again and again. I omitted the oil for I think chicken thighs are fatty enough without, worked fine. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aleban

Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I think I messed up so much and yet it came out delish. First, didnt have shiitake mushrooms so used regular packaged mushrooms. Didnt have rosemary so used parsley. and didnt have regular heavy cream so used heavy whipped cream. lol. You would think wow how bad it must of came out but was delish. Next time will do as instructed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Photo by aleban

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Awesome! but I love them more fluffier. The mashed potatoes was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Easy Curried Cauliflower

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Super-easy to prepare and my guests loved it. It was gone in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I added the extra egg white to the meringue as well as a little sugar. To the crust, I used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 unsalted butter, instead of all one type of fat. I also added 1/4 tsp salt to the crust. The combination, as well as the original "lemon custard" recipe, made the pie a little more shortbread like. That suits my sweet tooth and came out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuAnne Connell Wood Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Spice Turkey Cheeseburgers

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Overall, delicious and tender. I added whole egg, not just the egg white. I grilled fresh pineapple. Don't use Gouda cheese- it does not melt. Use Gruyere or a good melting cheese like Havarti or cheddar. Have yum yum fun eating these turkey burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aleban

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Just made this and I'm very impressed...Crunchy in the outside juicy in the inside. My #1 fried chicken so far. I even posted a pic of the chicken on here and it looks awesome. Only thing I would suggest is that u make sure its drenched in the flour cause I kept seeing peeling on the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Always made this recipe but always changed something about it and I always thought there was something missing. So last week made it exactly as instructed and presto! awesome! not chaging anything again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Really good but the potatoes are suppost to be cooked for longer. I did it for 20 mins, I say cook them for 30 mins and I used non sweet pickle relish. I dont like my potato salad sweet and did half the sugar they recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Looked great, sounded good, but even keeping the ingredients separate until the get together, it looked awful and didn't taste that great. Hardly anyone tried it! Sad face!!!! Maybe making it on individual plates would be better! I probably won't try it again though. Sorry! My taste is strange- so says my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuAnne Connell Wood Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Perfect as is! Make extra sauce, my husband and kids loved this recipe, even my picky daughter who is singling out and despising all foods that are not from a drive thru, she asked me to make more. I will be making this a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Pear Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is easy to make, especially if you have silicon or easy-release baking forms. It would be a shame if this stuck or got torn - the fruit on top is very pretty. As another person recommended, I used honey instead of corn syrup, since I don't stock that. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Everybody loves these when I bake them. I also give them as gifts in the layered, jar form. I personally prefer walnuts instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is wonderful, delicious, and economical. A very nice pairing with the schwienebraten pork roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States