Oakland, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I guess this is a recipe where the meat is essential. I made it without the sausage and didn't care too much for it. I had to add a lot of spices to combat the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pastitsio III

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This dish is aromatic and flavorful. Romas didn't look that good so I substituted a large can of petite diced tomato instead. I also doubled the recipe and froze half to be baked later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My husband and I loved this. I may have been doing something wrong but I ended up needing a bit more butter than the recipe called for... also, I substituted buttermilk for the cream and used a lot more garlic and tarragon. Rich and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dough Joe Cups

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a quick and easy entree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARDMORE1949

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and my husband and I LOVED it. Will make many many more times :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My husband and I loved it. There were a few differences we made, however. We used quinoa that we pre-cooked in vegetable broth, which made adding any more salt unnecessary. Also, I'm allergic to pecans, so we used crushed almonds--and it was fantastic! Will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I put the cayenne down just a touch, because it was a pretty definitive flavor the first time. Once I lessened that a little, it was PERFECT. I'll never use another pizza sauce again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Yummy! This will be a regular recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakinmary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel-Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was so good for company last night, I'm making it for my family tomorrow night! Delicous & easy, my favorite combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakinmary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe as exactly as stated except for leaving out fennel seeds because I strongly dislike the taste of fennel, and the lasagne turned out delicious! The reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it was slightly too salty (like many of the other reviewers wrote, I will leave out the 1 tablespoon of salt in the meat sauce next time), it was missing a green element (I will add a row of spinach to each of the two layers the recipe has us create, probably adding it on top of the ricotta layers), and it was an expensive dish ($25-30 for the casserole). Otherwise very tasty, cheesy, and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgfaison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

High Protein Peanut Butter Balls

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Most likely, 2 scoops of PP is two servings of whatever kind of PP you are using. Look on our container. I used a chocolate egg white protein powder and since I didn't have the scoop anymore, I used my food scale, and measured it out in grams. If you don't have pp in the house, substitute with dry milk powder; as this is also usually high in protein as well. Just be careful mixing it in, if the milk powder is not instant, it could clump up on you. I halved the recipe and since I only had 3/4 banana (64g), I added some raw honey (93g), I also added 2 oz of chopped walnuts, 2 oz of salted pistachios and one chopped Chocoperfection dark chocolate bar to the mix. And instead of adding the flax seed to the mixture, I rolled the balls in ground, black chia seeds, because I wanted to use them up. Chia, like flax seed needs to be ground up for maximum utilization. From what I've read on line, Chia is even better than Flax seed, but at more than 4x the cost of Flax seed, it's unlikely that I will get more. Despite, my given changes and the adding of honey to my batch, the nutrition information is similar to what is given here. My yield was 25 balls. I used a 2T. ice cream scoop as well, so much more uniform. You can buy different size scoops in restaurant supply stores, like Cash&Carry. Even with all that extra honey, my nutritional information on this recipe came very similar to what is stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was incredible... I tweaked the recipe a little though. I took a head of garlic and cut it in half. drizzled some olive oil on it and wrapped it in foil. I baked this in the oven for 30 min at 400 degrees. I then took this out and used the olive oil from the foil to cook the chicken in. I removed the cloves of garlic and mashed them up (after roasting they are tender and easily mash). i put about 3 cloves with the chicken instead of any garlic powder. I used about 1/3 - 1/2 of the remaining garlic mush in the garlic and chicken broth sauce (made extra of the sauce). didnt use any garlic powder at all. after making the pasta i added the asperagus and chicken on it without adding the sauce. I then let family decide how much sauce they wanted on it (some like heavier sauce than others). Also added sauted mushrooms to top it off with. Overall an amazing meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was incredibly good... I took out the beans and corn because I don't like them... switched spinach in for cabbage, added two cans V8 juice, and cooked the macaroni seperately- adding it at the end. It was amazing, especially with French bread. Definitely will make again. Easy and perfect for freezing in small lunch containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was my first time making gumbo and it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly (I thought) until my roux didn't come out, but I got it right the second time - just needed higher heat! Originally I just threw some chicken in the slow cooker but realized I had all the ingredients for this recipe (I used Tony Chachere's spice) SO happy I tried it, will be a regular dish now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My first, and this far only, bbq sauce I've made. Love it!!! I can eat this stuff on its own with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This recipe was delish, I made it for Dinner a few days ago. I'ts simple and the mixture of Bellpepper, Onions and Tomato brings great flavor to this meal. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Baked Risotto

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Ok, so, I loved the end results BUT I recommend using either a non-stick pan/dish, or LOTS of oil/butter/non-stick spray.... I loved teh tastebut left more than half stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashtaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Great recipe! I varied some of the ingredients like adding more sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashtaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe deserves 4.5 stars. The cookie dough is delicious, and i especially love that it included walnuts! Yummy! I took the advice of one reviewer and made two cookies in 9" cake pans. I simply followed the recipe exactly as it stated, then divided the dough evenly amongst 2 cake pans, pressed it down all the way to the edges of the pans, and baked them for about 19 minutes. I didn't know if the cookies would turn out okay since I am in a high altitude city and there wasn't a high altitude variation, but the consistency of the giant cookies were great! I froze the cookies, then stacked them on top of each other, adding a thick layer of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream between them for a friend's birthday. While the flavor was incredible, freezing the cookies did make them rather hard/difficult to cut through. I thawed it outside of the freezer for 35 minutes before serving, and it was still a difficult eating it with a fork. If you want to make the giant cookie-ice cream-cake like I did, I would recommend making only half the cookie dough to divide among the two cake pans, so that the cookies are less thick and therefore easier to cut through when frozen. Also, be sure to let the ice cream soften before spreading it between the layers to make assembling it easier and less time consuming. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgfaison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is the best scone recipe I have ever tried. They are simple to make and delicious enough to make you want to devour the entire batch in a sitting! These scones have the most incredible flavor, perfect consistency/texture, and look cafe bought professional. My husband even told his friend that we had bought them from a bakery, and he believed it easily! The only thing I changed from the original recipe was using blueberry flavored cranberries (Craisins) instead of raisins because I do not like raisins. I also added slightly more than the 1/2 cup that the recipe calls for to be sure that there was plenty of the sweet berry in each scone. You must try this recipe!!! It will not disappoint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgfaison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States