Oakland, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Curry Cheddar Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Ok, I was a little skeptical when eyeballing this recipe, because we all know how a little curry powder goes a long way.....but wow! I really liked it a lot. The key is the proportion of the ingredients (duh!). I basically doubled the recipe but was pretty careful about using less curry powder and less cheese. The cheese part was difficult, since I'm a cheese freak, but you don't want them to be too greasy, with both the butter and cheese. The result was a really nice, subtle mix of flavors. I made these for my ex, and although he did the huge eye roll when I first told him about the recipe, his eyes got huge when he tasted them and was pleasantly shocked. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osowoofy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Herb Baked Catfish

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I was looking for a quick, easy, low-carb recipe and this seemed to fit the bill. Flavor was decent, but I think I would have enjoyed this better with fresh rather than dried herbs. I may try this in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was very easy to make and far superior to any brand of bottled ranch I've ever tried. I used 1/2 cup of regular mayo, 1/2 cup of low-fat buttermilk, and 1/2 cup of sour cream. As a matter of personal preference, I also reduced the dill slightly. I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
So this recipe did work... BUT I gotta admit I was kinda terrified the whole time it was in the oven. The batter was thick, and heavy, and seemed like I was going to end up with little cupcake flavored hockey pucks.... BUT they came out 20min later just perfect! I modified the icing because I fundamentally am against buttercream frosting that doesn't have cream in it - but the addition of the fruit jam was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreannaDrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Amazing and Easy Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Super easy to make and delicious! A big hit with my party guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiebee700

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This recipe is a staple (albeit monthly) in our home. I follow her instructions to a 'T' except, I use; garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, "a lil" poultry seasoning, salt and pepper(both regular in flour and egg mixtures and lemon on the chicken),and I use those seasonings in my flour and bread crumb mixture, on my chicken breasts (both sides), and my egg and milk mixture. De-freakin-lightful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taniap1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Rosemary Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious. Granted, I used this recipe more as a general guide than hard-coded instructions; it turned out great, and I love the fact that this can be used loosely with leftovers. I had the better part of a rosemary potato loaf left over and used that along with some herbed cheese that had gone untouched for quite some time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailyanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I used fresh grated nutmeg and used real butter for dipping the cinnamon sugar topping for the recipe. I cold barely even swallow without gagging. I could taste the margarine in the batter and along with the overwhelming taste of nutmeg made it unbearable. I am not a novice baker and I like nutmeg. This recipe just called for too much of a good thing. I guess it could be very different with the pre-ground nutmeg, but I don't purchase nutmeg that way. Even if I used real butter in the batter and less nutmeg, I just don't think it would be worth the ingredients to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Beet Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Bummer! This recipe evidently doesn't work well with vegetarian "bacon," which is what I used. Maybe you really do need the bacon fat to add flavor. Veggie bacon doesn't leave grease behind, and I found the dish to be pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fall Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This one didn't quite hit the mark for me. The dressing is quite sweet, and I found that the combo of that with the pears was just too much. I used rice vinegar as others suggested. Dressing was good, but next time I'll omit the pears and add more savory ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Springtime Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
After reading through the recipe and the reviews, I was expecting to love this salad. However, the reaction from myself and two guests was "meh." We all agreed that we liked each individual ingredient, but they didn't seem to meld together very well. And leftovers were enjoyed more with bottled ranch dressing than with the homemade dressing. I'm rating this a 3, but it was actually more of a 2 1/2. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado, Tomato and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was excellent. My husband only likes Mexican food made by madre and me... this got his approval. I included all the seeds with the whole diced jalapeño and used multi-colored cherry tomatoes because that's what I had. YUM. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Wonderful way to cook salmon. I cut down on the garlic, otherwise followed recipe exactly. We loved it! Next time, per some of the other reviews, I'll try broiling the salmon for the last few minutes to caramelize the sugars and thickening the drippings left in the dish and pouring it over the fillets. Served with swedishmilk's "Oven-Roasted Asparagus" and the sweet and savory flavors complimented one another very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmount, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Delish! The picture doesn't do it justice. This is a beautiful, tasty, easy way to cook asparagus. I left the garlic out, since my husband doesn't like it, and it was still out of this world!! Served it with Starflower's "Maple Salmon" and the contrast of the savory asparagus with the sweet lemony tang of the salmon was fabulous! This is something I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmount, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flat Dumplings

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I haven't made it yet, but going to store to get added ingredients. Looks close to How My Mom made them.. YUMMY .. Can't wait to get it going..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthieEB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amylou

Pork Steaks

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I altered it a bit and was very tasty. Yum! I marinade 2 pork steaks with our favorite pork rub for 30 minutes in fridge. Minced 2 cloves of garlic. Chopped up some red onions, red bell peppers and green onions. Turn stove on to medium-high heat. Put olive oil in oven proof frying pan and cook the garlic until fragrant and browned. Put the pork steaks in and add the soy sauce. Seared a couple minutes on each side. Preheat the oven to about 400 degrees. When it reaches 400 degrees, throw the red onions, red bell peppers into the pan and about 2 tablespoons of butter. Put in oven for about 3-4 minutes. During the last minute, throw in the green onions and turn the pork steaks over. Take out frying pan from oven and served right away. I like it with brown rice and hot siracha sauce. It was moist, juicy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylou
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Mushroom Quiche

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I substituted spinach for the mushrooms, used 1/2 cup 2% milk and 1/2 cup whipping cream and asiago cheese. The end result was heaven in my mouth. Received rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiebee700

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thousand Island Dressing II

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
OMG, I had no idea Thousand Island dressing could be this simple! This is so easy to make and while maybe it doesn't rival a $5 bottle from the store, it's so much better than the cheap $1.50 bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great recipe, but recipe should include the following information: Cook your meatballs in the oven first before adding to your sauce and use the Heinz chili sauce. I bought Asian garlic chili sauce at first. Luckily I tested a small sample and figured out I had the wrong chili sauce. Finally, the meatballs need to cook for about 3 hours in the sauce so that the flavor will be absorbed into the meatballs. The end result was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixiebee700

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dark and Sweet Rye Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made 1/2 the recipe and made one large round. I didn't use my bread maker. Just used my stand mixer. This is a bread that we used to make in the bakery. Very good taste. If you don't like the taste of raisins, soak the raisins before you grind them. Awesome bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cake Ace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States