Oakland, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Gingerbread Pear Cake

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is easy to make, especially if you have silicon or easy-release baking forms. It would be a shame if this stuck or got torn - the fruit on top is very pretty. As another person recommended, I used honey instead of corn syrup, since I don't stock that. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Everybody loves these when I bake them. I also give them as gifts in the layered, jar form. I personally prefer walnuts instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is wonderful, delicious, and economical. A very nice pairing with the schwienebraten pork roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Schweinebraten Pork Roast

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Oops! I doubled the spices because I thought that would be a good idea, but then realized my roast was half the size the recipe called for - so I had quadrupled! My husband enjoyed it, but I thought it was a bit over-spiced, but still edible. A wonderfully easy thing to throw together while working at home. I put it in the slow cooker on low, made it a theme dinner with the German red cabbage and gingerbread pear upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Asparagus

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Your seasonings are just right! As my wife will not eat asparagas, I make this for myself. When I am not grilling, I place a single serving in a non stick jellyroll pan and roast it in the oven at 400 degrees for 8 to 10 mnutes. It is amazing what olive oil, salt and pepper will do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

Tilapia Scaloppine

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Made it tonight. What a winner!! I followed the recipe exactly - no need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

Caesar Salad I

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This Caesar dressing was a hit. I would have given it three and a half stars if I could because it was a bit too tangy for me (vinegary) but my dining companions insisted on four. As for ease of making compared to the result: simply superb. Best with Romaine hearts. Just be sure they are crisp and dry. Also (for ease) you can use anchovy paste or omit anchovies altogether. (The original Caesar dressing apparently did not use anchovies.) I like them, though. Anyway, try this recipe. It's easy. It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
These were some of the best pancakes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simonefeliz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Although the consistency and crumble topping was nice, I found these muffins to not be sweet enough at all. I would bite into one and think "oh yeah this is going to be good", but as I continued chewing and swallowing, it was missing that sweetness you expect from muffins. The only sweet part was the topping, which was fantastic, but not something you got with every bite. I ended up throwing away nine out of the twelve I made and will not follow this recipe again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgfaison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Sweet Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I have been addicted to this soup ever since I first made it a few months ago. The sweetness of the sweet potatoes and the peanut butter balanced with the lime is soooo good. I use parts of this recipe and parts of a similar one that adds black beans and doesn't blend the soup, which I prefer. I also use chunky peanut butter. If you like this recipe, also check out some of the other variations on it--there's another recipe from All Recipes that I make which uses diced tomatoes, bell pepper, rice, and peanut butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Yogurt Cheese Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was great! I had some non-fat vanilla yogurt I wanted to use up, and this was the perfect recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amylou

Candied Kielbasa

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
1 Pack of Kielbasa, 1/4 cup light brown sugar, 1/2 cup ketchup, 1/2 cup horseradish cream, couple splashes of tabasco and a teaspoon of cayenne red pepper. Mix all in a baking pan uncovered. Pop in the oven for 1 hour at 350 degrees. Stir 3-4 times during cooking. It will caramelized & brown once done cooking. First time cooking kielbasa like this and was a great change. It's so tasty and has the right amount of sweetness. Do not put in more than 1/2 or 1 cup of sugar, unless you like it very sweet. Can't wait to bring this as a potluck or appetizer dish. Thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylou
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This dish was so tasty that there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Great tasting, but it's a good idea to let it cool a lot longer before transferring it to the wire rack. First attempt kind of melted through the wires. Wasn't pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Bavarian Cream Tart

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I replaced the light cream and the milk with reduced-fat buttermilk. I am still amazed by how fast this was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Spice Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Moist and delish! I added a pinch of ground cloves and used unbleached flour as is my preference. I also substituted currants for raisins because I happened to have them in the house and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pinwheel Italian Calzones

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These are very easy to make, and are ready in almost no time. I would recommend doubling the salt. Also if you like your pepperoni crispy like me, throw them in a pan for a few minutes on medium-high heat for a few minutes. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junkion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Pipestone, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut-Raisin Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Just finished my first bowl of this. I'm not a rice pudding fan in general, so was apprehensive...but this was delicious. I usually find it far too sweet, so in preparation halved the amount of sugar (and used dark brown). I upped the coconut and used cinnamon and cloves instead of nutmeg. It's quite runny even after making sure the temperature was at 160 as directed, and sitting for 15 minutes before serving, so I'm hoping it firms up further as it cools. Overall...simple to make with ingredients on hand and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tarte aux Moutarde (French Tomato and Mustard Pie)

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is super delicious. I've made tomato tarts from similar recipes before, but the thing that this recipe taught me was to put a layer of cheese on the bottom of the crust--that really improves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is very good. I make a simplified version of it every week (using just sugar and apple cider for the dressing). I like to saute the corn in olive oil with the garlic and chili powder before I add it to the beans. It's also quite good with some diced tomatoes added in. If you use dried beans the dish becomes much cheaper to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States