Oakland, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Black & Blueberry Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is good but not my favorite smoothy. It's great if you are trying out healthy ideas. The coconut butter is only necessary if you are exercising a lot and need something to keep your appetite down, it also thickens and has that slight coconut flavor that I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

Chocolate Croissant Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Super chocolatey, my daughters love it that way like moist gooey chocolate chip cake. I'd prefer without the extra chocolate chips but that depends on the chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

Catfish Cakes

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
My daughters loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

Cucumber Chicken & Avocado Bites

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is super light great if your eating healthy at work and don't want to feel that heavy lethargic feeling after lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Bacon Quiche Tarts

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Based on the exact recipe, I give it a 4 star. The recipe works perfectly as is but is just lacking a little zing. After I made some adjustments for more flavoring, I give it 5 stars for sure! I added 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/8 tsp. sage along with the green onions (which I doubled) and 1 tbs. minced garlic because I put garlic in anything I possibly can. :-)Instead of adding bacon into the mix, I like to stuff a small piece of sausage in the middle after they come out of the oven. (see my picture) I also used crescent dough in place of biscuit dough, I found the big fluffy biscuit dough to be a little too doughy by the time the eggs were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mozzarella-Stuffed Pesto Turkey Meatballs

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made the recipe EXACTLY as stated above. The meatballs held together well, but I felt they were a bit bland. Great recipe otherwise! The second time I made them, I adjusted them slightly for stronger flavor. I add about 1 tbs. Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp. salt. I also like to double the pesto and garlic cloves for a stronger flavor. I fry the meatballs until brown and crisp on all sides in a pan with the olive oil instead of baking them, I like a more browned exterior per my preference. I finish the meatballs off by simmering them in my home made tomato sauce for longer than 2 mins, I like simmering them for 30 mins - 1 hour, this helps them get tender and flavorful. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious and Easy Corn on the Cob

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My dad taught me this years ago and has never failed me once! You can even use a lil sugar with canned corn too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Healthier Basic Crepes

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
It's a good basic recipe to use, I added a tsp good vanilla, 2 tbsp of cane sugar and some dried lemon zest to add flavor since I don't like syrup. Tastes great with fresh fruit. It really does make 8 crepes exactly. My daughters enjoyed them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

Healthier Basic Crepes

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
It's a good basic recipe to use, I added a tsp good vanilla, 2 tbsp of cane sugar and some dried lemon zest to add flavor since I don't like syrup. Tastes great with fresh fruit. It really does make 8 crepes exactly. My daughters enjoyed them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Excellent biscuits. I used 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter because I don't buy shortening. I also added 1tbs. lemon juice to my milk, for a buttermilk tang. I always let the dough sit in the fridge for a few hours before baking and make sure to handle the dough as little as possible. I also grate the cold butter into the flour mixture instead of cutting it, this gives it a yummy crumbly result. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teriyaki Marinade and Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Very delicious, full of authentic flavor. I didn't have rice vinegar, so I substituted apple cider vinegar. I also added extra garlic as that's my preference :-) Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
The recipe came out beautifully! I basically followed the recipe except substituted butter-flavored cooking spray for the butter, but looking at the ingredients, felt it might be a bit bland. So, I took some suggestions from others and added some rosemary, onions and about half of a Serrano pepper. Also threw in some garlic powder (about 1 tsp), and about a tsp of baking powder to make it fluffier (which someone else had advised). Even with all those strong flavors, the final product had a very subtle co-mingling of the flavors. It definitely needs some type of topping -- we used the sour cream, salsa and sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osowoofy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Peanut-Ginger Chickpea Curry

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe was yummy! I used half the amount of tomatoes and light coconut milk. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Nabeyaki Udon Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was delicious! Very flexible recipe. I used veggie stock and added some bonito flakes to it. I had no other veggies but kale, and the soup was quite yummy with just noodles and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Cookies III

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe made some super tasty cookies! I didn't have the chocolate chips but they were kind of perfect that way. My partner was craving cookies and these hit the spot. I baked a batch at 9 mins and also at 10. I think the 10 min were perfect, still chewy and soft but held together better but I bet it depends on your oven, I think mine runs slightly cool/uneven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemony Mediterranean Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Didn't change a thing..Awesome addition to our Super Bowl 48 meal..added Bilo Walter's Roasted Potatoes, Chili Beans, Balsamic veggie skewers and macaroni salad...Super delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bilo Walter's Easy Herb Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Used baby russet potatoes instead of red potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Crepes

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Chocolate ice cream + whipped cream inside; dusted with cinnamon and powder sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meringue Teasers

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Adjusted to 3 egg whites - separated the prepared merengue into 3 dishes for the following flavors: mint chocolate, Bubble gum and Cotton candy..super delicious + taped a note to oven "DO NOT OPEN" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These were amazing. I used green enchilada sauce as others suggested and omitted the onions as I just wasn't feeling them. I couldn't stop eating the filling as I was making them. They tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States