Modesto, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Monkey Bread I

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I also made some changes. I used frozen dinner roll dough instead of biscuits (16 balls of dough, thawed and cut into quarters & let rise for 30 min in warm oven. Then I used half the sugar & cinnamon, and half the brown sugar, but used a full cube of butter. I also used chopped pecans and no raisins - don't like raisins! It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Turner Granat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carlyn Wise

Creamy Limoncello

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
My friends all make Lemonchello, but now I'm the first one to make creamy style. Very good! Maybe next time I'll add some food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn Wise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Son and niece liked the cookies. My husband said there's an aftertaste. I could taste it too; like a grease flavor. I won't make these again. The oil/grease flavor is just a turn off. I'm still searching for the best chocolate chip cookie recipe for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Very good. Definitely takes the prep time it says. It was too sweet for three out of four of us, and I could distinctly taste the ketchup. I'll likely make it again, but will have to make some tweaks such as less sugar, less ketchup, and make the sauce thicker. The pork by itself was delicious; I snuck a few of the pieces while making the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Great recipe which I will definitely remake. Did not add the sugar. I increased the half and half. Didn't have enough flavor, so added some garlic salt, regular salt, and pepper to taste. Didn't use a mixer. Next time I will try milk instead, along with other changes. Really easy to prepare and directions are well written. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was a good base recipe. It needed a bit more flavor for us. I'm sure it's wonderful for introducing to kids, and it was truly simple to prepare. Thank you Alyson for a good base recipe I can use to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Unbelievable! Worked like a charm. You gotta have faith and not open that oven door to check as much as you might want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is by far the best honey mustard dressing I ever tasted. Awesome. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Fantastic. I did increase the chicken broth to about 2 1/4 cups so it wouldn't be so thick, per other reviews. I'll go to 2 1/2 next time, as it was still pretty thick. I also added more turkey and salt. Truly wonderful flavor. My husband, who didn't think he'd like it, went back for seconds. Definitely a new favorite, and a must for leftover Thanksgiving turkey (which I'd previously frozen).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Finally! I can make mashed potatoes that everyone raves about! It was great to not bring out or clean up a mixer. I needed to watch the video also, as the technique shown make a big difference. I also warmed my milk (used part 1% and part half and half). Loved the white pepper in there. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Photo by KnitChick

Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yummm! The only red velvet cake I'd made before was from a box, so I was not looking forward to making another red velvet cake when our Thanksgiving guest requested one. This cake was DIVINE! He, and everyone else, LOVES it! It's the next morning as I'm writing this and I've already had 3 slices of it. It won't last through the night ;) I followed top reviewer Kristen's suggestions and that really helped me out. The frosting definitely reminds me and my husband of cool whip, just a smidge bit more dense. I want to try a cream cheese frosting next, but this is really great as is. I will make this again and recommend the recipe to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitChick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was delicious! Family says this is a keeper. I had medium to large size red potatoes and decided to do my best with this subjective quantity; I think this is why the reviews vary so much on taste. Here's what I did: I used about 8 med to large reds (3 lbs), chopped in 1/4" to 1/2" cubes. These filled a 4 quart oval crock pot to just about 1" from the top. After adding remaining ingredients, there was still about 3/4" from the top. I changed ingredients to: 6 tbsp flour, 1 c crumbled real bacon, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1 oz. packet ranch dressing mix, 4 tsp parsley, 2 tsp seasoned salt, 1 tsp black pepper, 5 c water and 2 c half and half. Kept rest of ingredients same as original 4 serving recipe. This combination was not too salty for any of us. Only thing I added was more black pepper on top to serve, then topped with shredded cheddar, a dollop of sour cream (made huge difference) and green onion. This was perfect for 5 persons and was served with rolls. No leftovers! Prep time was a exactly 30 minutes; I cooked on low for about 10 hours (time away for work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
The best chocolate cake I have ever tasted! I made this for my son's second birthday and we gobbled it all up in a few days. So rich! I am going to make this again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitChick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving 2013 and can't wait to do it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineservando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It was actually very delicious.On my part I cooked the chicken to long and it made it very hard.Instead of using fresh ginger root we used a tube one and it tasted the same.Thanks for this idea and we will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bear Day-Arellano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

Grilled Pineapple Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was very good my grandmother and I enjoyed it very much.The only thing we noticed was the chicken took longer then the recipe said.Anyways it was a very enjoyable meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bear Day-Arellano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

Crispy Fish Fillets

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This came out great. Never thought of instant potatoes for a breading. What a difference. Browns up very nicely with a great flavor. I'll be using this one for a while to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Low calorie and easy! Great for those cold days and a diet. Add a little more spice and really zing it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My husband loved this! The provolone was a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn Wise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Made this on game day. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn Wise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States