Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simple Time Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I was looking for something I could put together quickly and stick in the oven so I could work on other things while dinner cooked ... I live alone, and this recipe is SO easy to adapt to just one chop, so I tried it. Measurements don't have to be exact, and you could probably use any seasonings you want ... I stuck with the recipe and it was delicious. I did broil it for an extra couple of minutes just to get the cheese a little brown and bubbly. It was delicious ... will go back to this again and again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reecy1009

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love this recipe!! My husband and daughter are from West Africa and I am constantly trying to find recipes that will satisfy their taste as well as my own. This recipe is one of the most delicious meals that I have ever made. I added 1 additional tablespoon of curry powder for extra flavor. I am definitely adding this to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecy1009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I roast it in a corningware Dutch oven, taking the glass lid for the last 20 minutes to brown it, was juicy inside and caramelize the out side, always check the temperature before taking out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonzalezlovetocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Chef John's Dutch Babies

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Been making this recipe for years. But my mother who introduced it to me, she called it a German pancake. Still very good, breakfast or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by CaliGirl

Persimmon Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Wow! I'm so impressed! This turned out so beautifully. I did not poke it every 15 minutes as I did want a cakey finished product and I finished cooking at 52 minutes and gave it time to cool. I also only made half the recipe and used a 9x5 square pan to accomplish the same size and density as I would've with the larger recipe. I'm rating the recipe 5 star without my adjustments as it got everything right. What I changed for myself was making it a bit more "holiday spiced " by adding 1/8 tsp of each: nutmeg, allspice and powdered ginger and 1 full tsp of each: vanilla and cinnamon. Yum yum yum. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Chicken and Vegetables

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I've been making this for about 15 years and we still love it! It is just about my favorite recipe out of the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook my husband had when I married him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Photo by Jean Bean

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
No crack, but highly addictive, nonetheless!! This recipe came up trumps. The extra egg yolks made the pie super velvety/firm and the Chinese five spice gave the pie a little more umph, which I appreciated. I also added a splash of maple syrup which did not hurt the flavour of the pie, not-one-bit! I made this for Thanksgiving. Not being a native to the US I wasn't sure how the pie would go down, but my guests finished their plates, most claiming that "I don't normally like pumpkin pie but this is really delicious!" And I think that my midwestern man's pouty lip was a good indication of it's success when I sent our guests home with a couple of slices. My oven runs a wee bit hot and "darkened" the edge of the pie crust more than I would like but that's my deal... otherwise, Chef John, this is a pie that I will be making for LIFE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Bean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Andrea's Broccoli Slaw

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was delicious. I was worried about the rasins because I don't like sweet slaw or rasins for that matter but it wound up being a perfect balance. So easy to make. This will be a staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RickK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Beans and Greens

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was delicious! I used leftover carrot tops and kale instead of escarole...this is a keeper and will be making regular appearances at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kr4k3n

Peppermint Bark

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Separation anxiety solved. I did a LOT of research on the separation issue and red a TON of reviews. Mine didn't have any issues (lie... I had a couple minor bits that separated). 1) Control your TEMPER. When you melt it, the molecules get all crazy and you need to re-align them to make a bar. Tempering makes the chocolate harder and looks better. It's not hard, but you do need to use a candy thermometer to monitor it. This keeps the cocoa butter in the chocolate from "blooming" which means it moves to the surface creating a oily'ish layer that the white chocolate won't stick to. I probably butchered all that but here is an excellent article on it: http://www.craftybaking.com/howto/chocolate-temper-or-tempering-techniques 2) Build a mint bridge. After reading the reviews about too-hard candy, I used Bob's Sweet Stripes. They are more like a butter mint (not rock hard). I took the time to sift out the small parts and dust so that there wouldn't be a "dust" layer between the chocolates. Also, it looks better IMHO. when you press the candy into the chocolate, it bonds to it and the exposed parts are ready to latch onto the white layer. Guys... it's like rebar! 3) No oil. I'm sure it helps to smooth it but I thought it might not let it harden enough. 4) No refrigeration. Set it aside while you work on the white. When complete, just let it harden. Theory: the cold contracts the layer, let them cure at the same rate=better bond. 5) Score the back before breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kr4k3n

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I am not a fan of slaw, but my husband is. He said it was as good if not better than the slaw at his favorite BBQ place. Based on the reviews, I did cut back on the sugar and I used mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BPEREZBMW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Second time making this recipe. It is easy and delicious. I used a pork butt and the meat was fork tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BPEREZBMW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Liu

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
The first time I made it! Everyone loved it! it was the first dish that had been eaten out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jinan, Shandong Province, China
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
What do you do with leftover turkey? Make this, Obviously; ) I grabbed the bag of tortilla chips and layered the whole shabang. Cream cheese, hatch chilies, gr.onion & cilantro went in the blender. Salt n pepper and Lots of cheese brought this to an Excellent result! Love these !! Thank you Olga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Black Forest Dump Cake II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe and then did as directed by other reviewers with the butter placement. It came out as it was supposed to but I still didnt think it was awesome. I found it too salty based on the betty crocker triple chocolate cake mix I used. I know all cake mix has salt and I understand why but this was too much for me to enjoy. I dont think I would make this again although the guys in my house loved it and thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Lol. I love this recipe because it is 'word for word' the exact same recipe on the back of the canned pumpkin. Wish there was some sort of variation instead of a copy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kinman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Gina Pegues

Boona's Butterscotch Cheesecake Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe as written in a Springform pan. OMG! Delicious! It's like a butterscotch cookie with cheesecake filling. Yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Pegues

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Whipped Cream

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The bourbon flavor is subtle but it's there. And so good on homemade pumpkin pie. Next, I'm going to spoon some into my coffee. Wouldn't you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by foodelicious

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the kind of pie that brings joy to a once-a-year pumpkin pie baker. It's perfectly spiced, with a great texture that's not overly custardly if you know what I mean. So easy, and came out just the way CJ said it would. (Can I call Chef John CJ? Because I feel like he's a real pal in the kitchen.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by katie

Poetic Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Quite delicious. My husband has never been a fan of traditional pie crust, so the graham cracker crust made him happy. Also, we normally use non-dairy whipped topping, so I did add slightly more sugar and vanilla to the whipped cream -- it went over great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States