Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Patty Cakes

Ham Loaf II

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was pretty good! I found some ground pork in the freezer and went searching for a recipe. Well, I got lucky, I had most everything, Plus it was FACELESS! I did add onion & fresh rosemary to the ham as I pulsed it up in the FP. Added some garlic salt / pepper. I loved the glaze too! Never thought of That combo;) The sweet n salty of this loaf is just terrific! Thank you Penny;) Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this and will make it again, really loved it, I used fresh shrimp, Thanks for this Amazing dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Great recipe! I did sautee diced onion with hamburger while browning. I add 1 cup crushed saltines to the beef mixture because my husband doesn't like rice. Mixed 1 8oz can tomato sauce and a couple tablespoons of catsup in beef and added 1/2 cup each parmesan and shredded cheddar. I didn't blanch the peppers.Cover 1/2 way through cooking.Huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Tie Pasta with Sausage and Sweet Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This recipe was yummy as is but I kicked it up a notch by adding a teaspoon of curry powder. Delish! My family loved it! You could definitely add in more vegetable if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Homemade Buttermilk Pancake Mix

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My kids don't get breakfast at Breakfast, they are off to work way too early! I have always loved making it for them for dinner even when they were in school. So I did it for them again and dug through the pantry. While I was gathering P-cake ingreds. I found the pumpkin puree and Knew I had sliced peaches in the freezer! TA DA!! I added some pumpkin spice & sugar along with a can each of evaporated milk and water. These were to DIE FOR!!! Please forgive me Tamara for the 4 stars, I belong to Tweakers R US!! LOL Plus I saw your variations and went crazy;) Your recipe is a solid 10 stars! Thank you for a twist on an old favorite dinner time tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Not bad, and very easy in a pinch. I used beef broth, since I didn't have chicken. Turned out just as good. If you want to get creative with it you can add diced mushrooms, olives, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thee_TSM
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes

Rum Butter

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Your knows those times when you look in the fridge and are crestfallen to discover you only have the SAME fruit spread for your toast you had yesterday, last Month? Well, NOT ANY MORE! This rum butter will liven up your toast, bagel, muffin, pancakes, etc in no time flat!! I only made a small amount, since it lasts a while in my house. I also used Turbinado sugar, b/c I was out of br. sugar. This is AWESOME! It reminds me of the Hot buttered Rum batter I was gifted at Christmas;) Now I don't have to wait till the holidays to enjoy a special treat! Thank you Very much Phoebe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Beef and Brew

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I'm sorry, but I gave to get something off my chest. For those reviewers that find this bland or tasteless, here's a tip: Try using this thing we call S & P!! Just because a recipe doesn't have it in there, doesn't Mean you Can't use it! OMG! My apologies Jill;)) Well, with that being said, I liked this dish a Lot! I was out of most of the veggies so decided to make it basically a stroganoff. I added some steak sauce with the beef bullion and simmered it about an hour, after which I added some sour cream. There was no noodles in the pantry so I made a wild rice to go under this yummy beef. DELISH! Thank you Jill Keeper;;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by clarkgilmer

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
For me, it was way too rich. Aside from the mass amount of butter, the actual taste was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkgilmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg (And I Mean Perfect)

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I wish i knew to add vinegar a long time ago. It only took two peels to get the shell off my eggs. Literally! The top came off then the bottom and done! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Far to much sodium! If you have high blood pressure, stay away from this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Easy Peach Cobbler Recipe | Southern Living Magazine

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Added an extra cup of fresh peaches. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes

Red, White and Blue Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
These deserve 10 stars but I could not tweak it if my life depended on it. First, I needed more hamburger then I had, so I added a pound of spicy Bratwurst to the mixture along with some steak sauce, a package of Lipton onion soup mix too, just for good measure. I love onions too much to simply put them inside, so slices on the bun seems ideal! Not everybody in my family likes blue cheese, it went on individual burgers. If this burger wasn't big enough, I placed Hatch chilies on them as well!! These were EXCELLENT! ! THANK YOU from one Patty to another;;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Tropical Delight Punch

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Coconut rum & pineapple, what's not to LOVE? ? I used the 1/2 can of pineapple-banana juice I had from another adult summer sipper and this was just as Yummy! Thank you redheartz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Summer Delight

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I am not sure Why this drink doesn't have like a BAZZILION 5 star reviews and just as many photos!! OMGOSHHHHHH this drink is DA BOMB! Looks stunning, lol at least I Hope this is what it's supposed to look like. BUT, BEWARE, fruity flavored and you can't taste the rum. Although you could add more I suppose.;) Over all very good for hot days ANY time of the year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Gram Miller's Bread and Butter Pickles

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I don't can, so I just made them refrigerator pickles instead. I forgot about the onions, mey no worries bout that. The brine tasted pretty yummy, so I hold out hope these are gonna Rock when I finally am able to dive into them! Ooohhh, can't WAIT! I will keep you posted. Thank you Mad Moose! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have never made FM's before. I had time, took my time to read the reviews n tricks. If I'm gonna take the time to make these, that seem really technical, I don't want to screw em up! So, I went and bought my first digital scale. Measure, measure, measure!! I ran the almond flour through the FP and Still had a heck of a time sifting it! I was making these for the family so I just dumped the rest of the flour (2 tbls) that still had tiny pebbles in the bowl. Mey;) Gives texture and didn't seem to make a difference to me. I gave them some color, let them sit by an open window on a hot summer day and popped them in the oven. There is a vast difference of temps, I setitled on 375 then down to 325 once the pan went in, turned after 5 minutes. My cookies didn't rise as much as I thought and the lost a bit of color, the higher temp might be the reason. I will correct this next time. I GOT FEET!! No cracks, I used both silpat & parchment paper with no spray, nothing stuck. I made a mocha filling with Hershey/hazelnut coco spread & 1 tbls. Instant coffee crystals along with a little coffee creamer to thin it out. The family thought they were very good! Well, now I know I Can make them;) Thank you very much Elle. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Mustard Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Pretty Good Recipe. I skipped the msg but other than that i followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty good. Not a strong mustard taste which is what i was hoping for. i fried them a bit longer than the recipe says, i like my chicken extra crispy. good recipe over all though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I just made this recipe this morning; did not care for it at all. I knew instantly that my family would not like it, soooooo I doctored it up a bit; I added a dash of granulated garlic powder; onion powder; black pepper and finely grated some Parmesan cheese, Voila, IT WAS THEN VERY DELICIOUS... Hope this helps out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this for my husband and brother yesterday with the modifications from Jillybean14 and it turned out delicious. My husband said it tasted as if I had spent a lot of time preparing, which I did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BPEREZBMW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States