Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Patty Cakes

Pistachio and Pecan Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This of COURSE was A W E S O M E !!!! I had walnuts in the freezer so I beat then up with a hammer and tossed them in the pudding pool. I was out of milk so I used about 1/4 of vanilla creamer. To be honest with you,1 cup of milk would have made this too soupy. JMO;) I liked the addition of cream cheese, it gave the salad a creamier texture, a little something special! Thank you SusieQ, this is a keeper that I'll be making again!;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

White Cake Frosting II

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is Very close to Wiltons 'secret' frosting, but they add meringue powder. You Must start this frosting off by whipping the shortening, water, flavoring/coloring till it has the consistency of lotion, THEN add the sugar. If you don't NEEDED white frosting, you could use butter. Almond flavoring is a nice change as well.I love this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I'm a vegetarian who modified this recipe. It was SO good! I eat cheese (obviously) so I only omitted the chicken. I reduced the taco seasoning to half (because of the lack of chicken), & just threw everything in a bowl & mixed, made into enchiladas, topped with sauce & cheese & it was amazing! Even my carnivorous husband liked them! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Craig's Cocktail Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I really liked this cocktail sauce. I minced up some extra shrimp and put it in the sauce, just to kick up the shrimp notch and it was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Steak on a Stick

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is a fun one and delish, too!! My son asked for a finger food night and I threw these on the grill. They were a bit salty but I read back and saw that people were using low sodium soy sauce. That would probably fix that tiny little issue. Couldn't take a star off for that, though, they're just too good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Italian Sausage Gravy and Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was delish! I added some sage, giving my gravy a darker color but really yummy none the less! Thanks Duboo; ):
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Sunshine Muffins (with whole orange)

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
10 stsrs! Moist with good orange flavor. Add a couple drops of yellow n red food color to amp up the pretty factor. Thank you Smitty! I don't know Why the He!! these never got published::((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Lemon Glazed Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The one star is for the glaze. It was way too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Upside Down Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I'm not a baker, so imagine my surprise when this came out great!! This was a lovely little cake that solved the problem my sweet tooth was having. I sprinkled some powdered sugar and slapped a scoop of homemade whipped cream next to it to complete the picture. Had I really been thinkin, I would've stuck a little mint leaf on top, like the pros do. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I adjusted to taste and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Easy Creamy Caesar Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly but added a tablespoon of lemon juice and and 2 eggs instead of egg beaters.It was fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These were really good. I too used a muffin pan and sprayed it with canola cooking spray. They came out so moist and yummy. I added garlic and onion powder to them for a little extra flavor and i only made six mini loaves. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Pinwheels

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
These things were so good. My kids absolutely loved them. They were so simple to make. I followed the recipe as it is and served them for lunch. Great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good for You Greek Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
An excellent salad, quickly put together. I recommend seeding the cucumber after peeling (scoop out the seeds with a spoon after cutting in half length-wise). Also, I used my immersible blender on the dressing, worked beautifully in keeping the dressing from separating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes

Hard Cider Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This was Awesome! Full of flavor, easy peasy too! Made a great sandwich! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Buffalo Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These were so good. My husband and i both love spicy food so i love trying out spic recipes. i came across this recipe after searching for shrimp recipes and i had to try it. i did the recipe exactly as said and it was delicious! will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I am not a big fish fan, but I do like white fish that is not fish smelly. This was wonderful, I put salt and pepper on the fish after dredging in butter then Town House buttery crackers on top. Baked in oven for 20 minutes, came out wonderful. Will do this again, since it was on sale for $5.00 at Vons for 16oz. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Crunchy Berry Parfait

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
What a better way to start your day! I eat this at least 2-3 times a week at school! The combinations are endless;) Thank you Paula! ! Love this too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Chili Colorado

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I am giving this 4 stars only for the fact that I don't use the tomato sauce. Instead I add red chili sauce along with chipotle powder, oregano, a couple bay leaves. This is the recipe my DH has been searching for! My MIL used to add potatoes so that's what I do as well! I serve the whole thing over rice. 10 stars!! Thank you Ron, please forgive me for taking liberties with your recipe! It was so very close to mine, you might as well benefit since you got something published! ;)(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Wild Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I had some wild rice I had cooked up last week. I can not Imagine why this recipe doe not have a face after 62 reviews! Well, I'm 63 with a Face for it! This was good, I dug through the fridge and completed this dish in 15 minutes flat! I by passed the cream of mushroom soup and just added flour to my sausage, onion & Fresh mushroom saute along with a bit of water, add the rice, heated it up and dinner was Done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States