Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sauteed Scallops

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My "foodie" husband who is mega picky absolutely raved about this dish! I'm all for any delicious recipe that is ready in less than 10 minutes and has no more than 4 ingredients, bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Venice Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Miller

Egg and Hash Brown Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious. Added one extra egg, salt and pepper, and baked for an extra 20 minutes until it was set. Sliced and served at a family brunch. My guests loved it, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Fish Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Slow Cooker Green Chile Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Nummy stuff!! I'm gonna try a couple of the things that the others did the next times around. And yes, there will be many more times of making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Just Like Wendy's® Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Wow, you nailed it! I've always loved Wendy's chili and this is spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

KISS Salmon

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Great title!! I LOVE the taste of salmon, you do not need too much to make it taste FAB, this sauce is all that is required! I only had orange marmalade so that's what I used, along with a few tablespoons of Sriracha sauce. Excellent 10 stars, I served it with cottage fries. Thank you Cookntaste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

French Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Excellent, doubled the salt as suggested and added a tablespoon of sugar and it was perfect. Thank You!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Vinaigrette Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Quite tasty. I substituted olive oil for the avocado oil, and used garlic-infused rice vinegar in addition to the one fresh clove. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thee_TSM
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
It was delicious using sharp cheddar cheese which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I don't usually rate recipes if there are already plenty of reviews, but this banana cake screams for just one more! Simply put, the best banana cake I've ever tasted! I creamed the butter & sugar for 5 minutes...it's important to get the best texture, in my humble opinion. I used a jelly roll pan and cooked it just a bit over an hour--it was perfect! I can't add a photo because we're eating too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Photo by Andrea Kinman

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I have been using this exact recipe for years now. It is hands down my most favorite meal. I make at least 3 times a month. I rarely leave comments, but this recipe is so good, that I needed to share it with others. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kinman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

World's Best Honey Garlic Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
How do you turn plain ol pork chops into something SPECIAL on a Sunday afternoon? You make THIS!! MY OH MY! I didn't have enough honey so I added a squirt of maple syrup and a few dashes of Chipotle hot sauce and about 5 garlic cloves! Out to the grill I go..... Seasoned the chops with salt n pepper, grill for 4-5 minutes, slather with sauce, turn over, 2-3 more minutes and slather again. Watch them like a Hawk, they will burn in a HOT MINUTE! This sauce CRAZY GOOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by cobugi

Chef John's Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Really good. I followed the recipe to a tee except I added mozzarella to the top at the end (if you can see my picture, yay!) I think the italian sausage adds something special to the filling, which is basically like a meat loaf. Next time I think I will add even more italian sausage and cut down on the ground beef. This recipe makes enough filling to overstuff the peppers, it makes pretty generous portions. After stuffing the peppers I had one scoop of filling left over and I made a patty and fried it. That practically knocked my socks off, it was SO GOOD! The stuffed peppers were really good too but not as good lol, so I may even try to modify this recipe and make fried patties. YUM! The braising liquid is very delicious and next time I will try making more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cobugi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steak and Ale Pie with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Very tasty. Will definitely make again but without thyme. There was a bitter background taste that I didn't care. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Quick Poached Salmon with Dill Mustard Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I was actually searching for a dill sauce for grilled salmon. After reading reviews I decided to try my first attempt at poaching salmon. I rated the recipes three stars because my husband and son both enjoyed the dish however I thought it was just ok...bit overrated for taste. The dill sauce was ok -- a bit tart, not as tasty as I hoped. However, it was so easy to poach the salmon so I will make again but try another dill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Cream Cheese and Ricotta Cheesecake

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is the only cheesecake I make, everyone loves it immensely. Very easy 1 bowl cake, for hundreds of praises!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe but waaay to much salt. I think the recipe calls for "unsalted butter" otherwise turned out great as listed. I would omit the salt if you are using salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlesOchoa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Scalloped Potatoes II

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These taters are awesome! I added some garlic and onion powder and topped with some shredded cheddar towards the end of cooking. I also used half and half for creamier potatoes, and if you just let liquid get to room temp, no need to adjust cooking time...my guests loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by googirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alabama Fire Crackers

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and lessened the oil to 1 cup and 1/3 with 2 bags of oyster crackers and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I made these for snacks for our camping trip and everyone gobbled them down with the same kind of surprise that I had. These little crackers with a weird mix of ingredients were actually really this good. I wasnt a believer and now I am for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Momma Moots' Pork and Pierogies Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I didnt really care for this dish, my BF thought it was just ok as well. We both wanted more spice or something to brighten the flavors. I used thyme instead of rosemary because I like it better and thought meh its just ok. We have a lot left over and I'm hoping it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States