Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lemon-Marinated London Broil

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I had some Meyer lemons to use up, I also found London broil on red tag sale. I looked up a recipe and this is what I found! I marinated them over night and fired up the grill. I made it exactly as written and boy was this just the Best!! I boiled the marinade and slathered it all over the steak. I cooked it perfectly medium well! This ROCKED :):):) Thank you Skunkee! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I'm a first timer too and this recipe turned out great! I did test the yeast and it was fine and then it took almost ten hours for the bread to rise. Seriously. And it still could have gone longer, but I couldn't wait. I had to go to sleep. I don't know if our house is too cold or what, but I'm glad other reviewers mentioned that it won't hurt the bread to just let it rise as long as needed. I'm looking forward to summer when, perhaps, the process won't take a whole day! Oh and also, I made rolls too, froze them, and they baked up pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Tastes great! I used applesauce for butter and added some cinnamon but otherwise kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Suki's Spinach and Feta Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was easy and DELICIOUS! I used thick spaghetti and cherry tomatoes cut in half. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. Oh, I also added a few tablespoons of pasta water to sauce so it would coat the pasta a little better. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandel L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Chinese Chicken Salad III

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I need to stop listening to reviews and just try the recipe as written first. I added a little mandarin orange juice to the dressing and now it tastes diluted. It basically ruined the salad which makes me upset because I only have a limited amount of time to cook and I want my efforts to amount to something edible. Reviews can be helpful, but unfortunately I've been led astray by a few bad ones in recent weeks. Try the recipe as written! It was wonderful before I decided to take some bad advice. Perhaps a little less hoisin sauce, but that's because I'm watching my sodium intake. Very good recipe. Make your own adjustments instead of listening to other people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Body Butter

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
10 stars!! I am in LOVE with this beauty butter:))) I use it every day, my skin is soft and I smell divine, thanks to the Gardenia essential oil I added. THANK YOU Manella! !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Beef and Guinness® Stew

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Sorry, I used the advice of some of the others and used beef stock, instead of chicken. This was so absolutely delish!! I was looking forward to leftovers this morning but my husband beat me to them and took it to work! him!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Add a dash of nutmeg and this recipe is good to go! Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hae Yeon Kang

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The chicken was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! Instead of baking the chicken in the oven, I cooked the chicken over the stove, and added some olive oil and garlic, for about fifteen to twenty minutes, until the chicken was golden brown. I served it with Caesar's Salad and I LOVE this recipe!!!! I will definitely make this dish again!!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivy

Bacon Wrapped Pork Medallions

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Beautiful presentation! Takes a bit of work but worth every bit when you want to impress your guests. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Ecellent, reminded me of the rollin hills of Ireland. Na, I've never been there but this sure was good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Original Irish Cream

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Awesome. The almond makes it taste a tad different than Bailey's, which I like. Great for gifts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes

Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I would give this 10 stars if I could!! I added some Mazola Heart Healthy oil to the pan and dropped in my seasoned salmon and waited. . . 5 minutes later I flipped and served. My hubby almost did a back flip for this fish dish with the wonderful salsa! It's a Warm Saturday evening and this hit the spot:) Thank You Mazola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I put the potatoes on the bottom, along with celery carrots two cloves of garlic and the corned beef on top. I then use beef stock to cover the beef. Put on low for 8 hours, comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was a TNT recipe! I used Mazola Heart Healthy oil to fry up those seasoned cubes of yummieness and boy was it DELISH! ! SO many ways to use the meat: tacos burritos, enchiladas, sammies! ! New family favorite! Thank you Mazola :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Calabacitas con Elote (Mexican-Style Zucchini with Corn)

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was OK. My Mexican hubby gave it a 60% compared to his Moms. She has passed away and I can't ask her for the other 40%:( I think I did something wrong, since I added the buttermilk and it separated, was that supposed to happen? HHMM. I'm sorry Muy Bueno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

A Homemade San Francisco Treat: Chicken Vermicelli Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Hubby and I are so HAPPY, I am done buying Rice O Foni ! ! I used basmati rice & tumeric, Excellent! Perfect seasonings. SO EASY:) Thank you SHORECOOK! Can't wait to try it with Spanish rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Captain Stern

Slow Cooker Texas Smoked Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Extremely easy recipe. It was very good. I used a 2.85 Lb brisket, but there was enough rub in the origial recipe to cover it. I upped the onion to a whole one, because we like cooked onion. And i put it under the brisket, instead of on top. However, I don't think I'm a cumin person. So next time, I'll either reduce, or remove it from the rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Stern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Incredibly moist! I sub'd half of the butter for unsweetened applesauce and only had cook and serve pudding. Added baking powder and used 2 teas vanilla also. Not very sweet but I really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Oat Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The bread was fine. Nothing special to the flavor but it was a fine bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States