Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Bound to be a new family favorite. Simple, without being bland. Flavorful, without being spicy. Just perfect. Went with the two 9 x 7 pans option, so they had to cook a bit longer before the toothpick came out clean, but everything else was by the book. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Texas Cowboy Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I'm happy I read the reviews and only made half... kinda. The leftovers would've been great, tho!! Everyone loved it and my daughter put dibs on the leftovers before anyone even finished their meal. High praise, let me tell you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Creamy Cucumber Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Added a bit of dill, and replaced regular salt with garlic salt. A bit runny but still tasty. I would suggest removing seeds from the cucumber and blotting it with a paper towel first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thee_TSM
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Borscht

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Being from Ukraine, I've had my share of borscht variations. This is a hearty, perfect for fall recipe. I used only one potato and still had so much and my slow cooker was full. I went lighter in vinegar, but I would stick to recipe. I think it adds to sodium taste, and it works for me since I don't add salt. I used fresh dill. Served it with fresh dill, and Mexican cream. It was effortless and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marina Royter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
1/2 oil, 1/2 unsweetened applesauce. Decreased sugar to 1 1/2 cups, could probably go down to 1 1/4 cups next time. Incredibly delicious! Used Fuji apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Delicious as written! I only used Seasoned salt instead of regular salt. Big hit with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Carol's Baked Ziti Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
THIS ROCKED! ! I added Hot Italian link sausage, that I broke up a bit to act like little meatballs. I used cottage cheese instead of the ricotta, along with a tablespoon of Herb de Provance. The shredded smoked Gouda sprinkled throughout sent this to Heaven! Thank you Carol;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Great chili!! I served it to my family and everyone loved it... so there's 4 reviews!! lol This recipe is great for people that wanna develop their own style with chili, it's a wonderful base. Not to say it doesn't stand on it's own, it does perfectly. I'd added a little chocolate into mine and it gave a richness in the background that was nice. Next time I'd like to used my own canned products. I made speghetti to go under it and a moist cornbread to go with it. It was all a chili-licious great time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Jalapeno Corn Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is 20 star worthy but I am a professed tweeker. I used Jiffy cornbread mix, only 1 egg,1 tsp. of sugar, sour cream in place of the buttermilk and added 1/2 cup of French Fried Onions in and on the top of the bread. WOW!!! Most excellent! Thank you Shelia this is a keeper;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Fajita Marinade

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Love this one!! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by JOCONNELL

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is a really good recipe, and I'm not even a huge crepe fan. Just had a craving, so decided to try my hand at a basic recipe. I found Christine Anderson's suggestion of adding a 1/4 cup of sugar to the batter did the trick-- Lovely, light, with just a touch of sweetness--and oh, so quick! I made some sweet, and some savory. The savory ones I filled with sauteed mushrooms, Kale, and mozzarella cheese. The sweet ones I filled with Mixed Berry Jam and Bananas. I actually liked the savory ones better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCONNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Cut it in 1/2 and sub'd applesauce and 1/2 Greek yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Transformed50

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I cooked the onions and garlic with the sausage and used real bacon bits, added the potatoes, cooked for 10 minutes and added kale to cook 10 minutes longer. Finished with the cream. Super delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Transformed50

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Garlic Brussels Sprouts with Crispy Bacon

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
If you love bs, you will love this! I did use chicken boullion and skipped the water as well as the extra salt. The steam alone was enough to add moisture but not drowned the sprouts. EXCELLENT! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Soft Mahi Mahi Tacos with Ginger-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
First time ever trying Mahi Mahi, these tacos were REALLY good! But, Hubby hated the dressing! He said it took away from the taste of the fish. I kind of agreed with him. I am not a mango fan, but son is, so I went with it and quite frankly couldn't tell it was in there, Super fresh n Quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Baked Salmon Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I was concerned about what looked like an excessive amount of salt, so I substituted onion powder for the onion salt, and omitted the plain salt altogether, just using the 1 tbsp of garlic salt. It was absolutely perfect. My husband has always said he was not a fan of fish, but he loved this and asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thee_TSM
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lite Coconut Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Added half a cup coconut flakes to the cake mix. Also some fresh lime zest to the frosting. It was yummy, but not mind blowing. It never got finished, and I live with a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Black Bean Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I had 8 ounces of already taco seasoned ground beef. I through that and some chopped onion in a big skillet. When it was cooked, I added Mexican flavored stewed tomatoes that I had chopped/squished up, almost a can of black beans, some corn, and a bit of water (not the whole amount). No other seasonings. I let it come to a boil, then covered and let it simmer for a while (40 min?) It was SO good. Topped it with cheese and ate it with cornbread. My dad liked his over potatoes. So easy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey, Mustard, and Yogurt Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very good. Family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thee_TSM
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States