Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Sweet and Sour Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Overall very good. Was labor intensive though, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Oh, my GOSH!! This recipe screams controversy in the most scandalous way and scrumptious way. Everything looks so GOOD that my mouth is watering!! I also like the fact that the ingredients are portioned. I can make two for myself and my sister, and this recipe will hopefully satisfy my sweet tooth. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Easy and excellent. I doubled all of the spices except the salt and used 1 tsp of lowrys seasoning instead of sage and added 1 tsp of pepper.Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Wow!! My first time ever making toffee and it turned out perfectly! I made it to go in my favor bags for my Mother's Day brunch and man...these things are amazing! I followed the recipe to a 'T' with the exception of adding a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. The process of the butter/sugar mixture turning dark amber took longer than expected but it was worth the wait. I bought my Taylor brand candy thermometer at Target and it says 'cracked hard' 300 degrees so I let the mixture get to that temp. The mixture was super easy to spread with a silicon spatula. While the butter/sugar mixture did it's thing, I melted the chocolate chips in a double boiler (so the chocolate isn't on direct heat). I poured the chocolate on the toffee and spread that with a different silicon spatula. Placed the concoction in the refrigerator for about 30-40 minutes and Voila...awesomeness!!! No nuts this time but I'll make them again and again and again!!! Holidays, homemade birthday presents, just because. This is now my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

Sweet Corn Bread

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Great recipe, not too sweet which is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary HitMan®

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Peruvian Lomo Saltado

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Very easy to make and very tasty! Family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary HitMan®

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Made this recipe and it was a hit very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary HitMan®

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by chefjenna

Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This was really easy and really quick to make AND it was delicious! I used blackberries instead of raspberries because that is what I had in the freezer. Also, I did two layers of chocolate glaze. I microwaved the cream and chocolate chips for 25 seconds and then stirred until it was smooth rather than using the stove top method. The first layer of glaze went on as a crumb coating and then I made a second batch of the glaze which I spread on after the first layer cooled (about 30 minutes). Spread the glaze on when it it is between 90-95 degrees for a perfect finish. The only thing I might do different next time is add more ReaLemon as I like a very lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup)

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was a very easy, healthy and delicious soup. My family loved it. I did add more of the vegetables to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Ely Zielbauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Lemon Curd

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Wow! Great recipe followed it exactly. Used wire whisk to stir between intervals came out perfect. Served over puff pastry topped with whipped cream. This was gone before the chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie McLeod Boord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This has become my go-to. I LOVE this pie...and so does anyone else who tastes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
My daughter has made this so many times she's memorized the recipe. Many of her friends keep asking for it. This is probably the best brownie recipe I've ever made, no changes necessary AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Great! didn't use capers, added sun dried tomatoes and mushrooms instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken With Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Loved this recipe. Being it is just the wife and myself, and we are on a budget I took one breast and pounded it to make two. I took the mushrooms and put them in a pan with butter and garlic for 2 minutes. Lined the bottom with the mushrooms, put the chicken in the egg wash and seasoned bread crumbs to brown. Put the breast on the mushrooms topped with the other we sautéed and put Campbell's golden mushroom soup with half a can of white wine and shredded mozzarella cheese. Came out so moist, it is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Broiled Parmesan Fish

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Quick and easy. My husband is always saying any white fish has no taste. This one changed his mind. He asked for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNASCOMET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Easiest Way To Cook Bacon

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Easy clean up. Bacon taste better when baked instead of lying in its own grease. Will try the brown sugar next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Stuffed Shells III

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deep South Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I've been making fried chicken for years with all the mess of eggs and sticky floured fingers. This is the easiest and tastiest chicken I've ever made. I did add 1/2 a teaspoon each of garlic and onion powder and a teaspoon of paprika. Follow the directions, it's all in her technique and it is delish! Thank you Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Loved it the first time I made it, but we could hardly taste the curry. The second time I made it, I added 3/4 tsp curry and it was just right! Next time I'm going to use red seedless grapes instead of white grapes. It looks lovely in the picture with the red grapes and they are yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Chef John's Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was VERY GOOD! In my opinion some of the reviewers are right in that it tastes too sweet so I just added a twist of the wrist extra splash of Worcestershire Sauce to the pan because the brown sugar & ketchup were all I could taste when I sampled it, once I added more Worcestershire you could taste all the ingredients rather than only brown sugar & ketchup. I doubt my family would enjoy this without the adjustment. What's great about this recipe is most of the ingredients will be on hand and you can substitute bread for pasta and put this on top of buttered noodles (that's always a good next day leftover recipe to change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States