Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have tried this recipe twice - once with whipped cream cheese and another time with the standard cream cheese- and I definitely agree that the whipped cream cheese handles better. I also prefer sour cream as opposed to mayo. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
It was a hit. A minor change by a reviewer's suggestion; milk, instead of water. I left out nuts because I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Potatoes and Apples

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Strange flavor. In addition, if I hadn't caught how bland it was before taking it out of the oven, it would have been a waste. Had to add salt and brown sugar before serving. Not going to cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Lemon Rice with Peas

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This was a really nice simple side dish. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut-Free Chocolate Macaroons

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
While this recipe is tasty, the resulting cookies never firm up. After refrigerating them overnight, they were still unable to hold shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barngurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy ReaLemon® Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Goat Cheese Arugula Pizza - No Red Sauce!

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was really good. I basically used all Trader Joe's products and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lasagna II

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was a very easy lasagna and it turned out great. I took some of the other review's advice and used Ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. Next time I'm going to use more meat and a little less cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tofu Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
NOT a replacement for cheesecake, but it IS a healthy alternative. I added 1-2 Cups fresh strawberries, to make strawberry cheesecake. I brought it in to work for a potluck, as many co-workers are vegan. The vegans loved it, and have asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamzie

Authentic Pad Thai

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
It was too vinegary, and it didn't taste like the typical Pad Thai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamzie

Cajun Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I used the chicken tenders and marinated overnight. I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't love or hate as is, but it will be good with salad or sandwich because you'll add dressing and other stuff. It was definitely super easy to make and maybe using more expensive spices might help the flavor (I used those cheapy kinds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamzie

Pineapple Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This didn't wow me but it was very easy to make. I marinated the meat overnight. I simmered and reduced the marinate to make it as the sauce for over 30 min but it was still watery. I think it'll be better with a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamzie

Crispy Pork Cutlets

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This was pretty simple and easy to make. The meat was definitely tender and crispy! I was hoping to taste more jalapenos and pickles. I guess I was imagining the Tartar sauce with jalapeno but it was not, so I ended up putting more pickles and jalapenos. The next time I might just going to make my own usual Tartar sauce and add jalapenos. Now the pork was just like the Japanese pork cutlet, Tonkatsu, and I didn't even have to deep fry it. I give 10 stars for that. I've been making just the crispy pork since and enjoying many tonkatsu recipes. Thank you, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamzie

Wisconsin Bratwurst

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Since one of our church members served us her beer brats at a church BBQ, I've been looking for the recipe because she passed away before I could ask her the recipe. This was not her beer brat recipe but it was tasty and so much better than the other recipes with dark beer. The dark beer flavor was just too strong and I couldn't even eat the onions, but this one was so delicious and I wished I put more onions. It seems like people are divided whether they should grill the brats before or after and I never had a beer brat before the church BBQ, so I did both. I grilled first, put in the beer mixture and grilled again right before I put it on a hot dog bun. My remote town did not have any fancy bread except a regular… And no, I did not break the brats. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamzie

Chicken Pot Pie III

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I wanted to try this because I had a frozen pie crust to use and this recipe only required a very few ingredients. It's not going to blow your mind but it's super easy and basic. I didn't use frozen vegetables or precooked chicken so I sautéed them with thyme, garlic, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper. I didn't measure the meat and vegetables and so I ended up using whole two cans of soup. I'd never used Cream up celery or potato soup cans before and I was imagining to taste celery but I didn't taste it at all. I like celery so the next time I'll add some celery seeds. I'll also try it with cream of chicken and mushroom soups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is insanely good! I added a tbl of honey to marinade. I marinated chicken breasts 6 hours, reserved the marinade, boiled for 3 min to sterilize, brushed it on chicken as the filleted boneless skinless chicken breasts were grilling, and it was insane. I cooked my chicken 4 min each side at 400 grill temp that was plenty. I used the remaining sauce for dipping and over rice and vegetables. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taqueria Style Tacos - Carne Asada

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Love these tacos! The chile pepper sauce made too much for our family, so we froze it and used it the next time I made this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

Beef and Noodle Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is both simple and satisfying. You can gussy it up any way you like, but as is its great for fussy eaters. Just DON'T use processed predigested artificial cheese-like substance, but real cheese. And DON'T bother to layer it, just mix it all up in the pan and pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Mine came out thin and dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
As soon as I saw fresh rhubarb in the market, I knew I had to get baking. These turned out just great! Full disclosure: I used butter instead of oil (don't judge me) and I didn't add walnuts. Also, it turned out that my rhubarb measured at 2 cups instead of 1.5, so I just threw the whole thing in there. It was still wonderful. I especially love how easy it was to make a streusel topping with melted butter. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States