Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Polenta Fries

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
My kids were not a fan of this one. NOT the fault of the recipe, I liked it well enough. I served them with pasta sauce. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Bekki's Mexican Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Only 4 stars simple because I used skirt steak strips, Mexican cheese & chopped roasted poblano peppers. I also just wet my fingers with water and these were Fast n Easy! I heated up a bit of lard, these were done in no time at all. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Roasted Corn and Poblanos

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Denny, this side dish was Killer!! I happen to have the SWEETEST corn and pretty hot poblano's in the fridge today. So glad I found your recipe. Grilling this was the way to Go! My corn was not quite done after grilling, so I popped it in the nuker for about 3 minutes to get it a bit more tender. I served this next to Mexican Egg rolls & Spanish rice. THANK YOU Denny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Corn On The Cob (Easy Cleaning and Shucking)

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is so easy and fast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELBE

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was fantastic. My boys loved it. Quick and easy to make. Doubled the batch for jumbo muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes

Slow Baked Beef Brisket with Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I had leftover brisket I had cooked over the weekend. This was just the ticket to get a hot meal on the table in a hurry! I really liked the flavors. My DS is not a fan of mushrooms so I left those out. I had a brain fart and forgot to add the Italian dressing but I used a couple bay leaves & 1 teaspoon of rosemary which gave the gravy a pleasant earthy fragrance/taste! As you can see, I served it over my homemade mashed taters. Very YummO!! Thank you gagirl90.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Very good recipe. I added twice as many mushrooms, since my family loves them. I also used a nice quality dry Marasala which made a difference in the taste as well. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I am a Cheater, there, I said it! Needed to use up some chicken I bought last week. I used Costco's shredded rotisserie chicken & Sriracha sauce. The kids thought it was HOT MOM, but Still ate it! LOL I served it on cheese rolls. Thank you Divinesolace21 ! Very good indeed:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Asparagus Casserole I

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Canned asparagus? NOT in my lifetime! Fresh is Best especially in this Yummy dish! Ksbeeson, so sorry its taken SO LONG for your Wonderful recipe to get a face! I made this as written and my kids n I ate it UP! I steamed the fresh spears 2 minutes in the nuker and added a handful of sliced green onion. Back I the nuker for 8 minutes and it was on the table:)Thank You Ksbeeson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Montreal Smoked Meat Flat Wrap

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I smoked my own brisket. This wrap made itself as I always have tortilla's around. I did add bbq sauce & sliced jalapeno jack cheese. Delish! Next time, I will add creamy slices of avocado. Add some chips or pasta/potato/fruit salad and you have a perfect lunch or dinner! Thank You K_Lynn. Winner::)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Drunken Collard Greens

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Greens are one of my favorite vegetables! Borrowed a beer from my sweety pie and these came together in a heart beat! I was having smoked meat with them so I left out the pig parts, but did saute them in bacon fat. Thank you JAVONNES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Joy Boston

Apple Cider Stew

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I was looking for an apple cider pork stew recipe for my thermo cooker when I found this. This is a good recipe and easy to make. Instead of beef stew meat, I used pork stew meat. I also used Granny Smith apples instead of Fiji apples, 1 can of chicken broth, added basil, coriander, tarragon, bay leaves, and used a thermo cooker to make this. Hubby approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Boston

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becca H.

Roux-Based Authentic Seafood Gumbo with Okra

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this almost exactly as written and it was just as good as any gumbo I've had down south (and that's a lot). Only slight variation is I used the Seafood Gumbo Stock also featured on this site in place of the water. And no file on hand (or in the grocery store out here in Cali) so I substituted with crab boil. And I added some crab claw meat to the mix at the very end. So so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes

Romulan Margarita

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
LOLOL My Wonderfully hard working hubby THOROUGHLY enjoyed this drink!! When I went shopping for the curacao, the guy told me the mixer was better unless I Really wanted a lot of booze in my drink. I said, 'Oh No!'LOL! Hubby Jokingly told his friends that he was drinking radiator fluid! I didn't have any fresh limes and I had a partial bottle of Rose's sweet lime juice, hahaha. I guess it had been in the cabinet for a While since it was kinda brown, still tasted fine, so I added a wee bit to the glass and it actually turned this drink a pretty aqua color. Tom, I didn't figure this was what you were think when you submitted it so I left the other batch w/o the lime. As you can See, Carlos Really enjoyed it! Thanks a Bunch Tom, this was a Great start to Summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Made it as written, divine!! Next time I'll persuade my 13 yo son (who made this) to add fresh garlic and hopefully mushrooms to the butter as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tenderloins with Mushroom-Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
We had to substitute a few things for budget reasons. We found a less expensive steak, used regular mushrooms instead of portobellas, and used cream of mushroom soup instead of the package sauce. It still turned out incredible! I think my daughter added a little more wine to help thin the sauce a little (yes, my 16 yo made this).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Grain Breakfast Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I couldn't get my fingers out of the almond butter mix. It is THAT good. I did, however, make some subtle changes. Instead of Canola Oil, I used 2 tbsp of softened virgin coconut oil. I used almost 3/4 cup of semi-sweet choc chip morsels, used honey instead of agave nectar, and didn't have any dried cherries on hand, so i used Craisins (reduced sugar). I am not crazy about putting Craisins in this recipe! I will use dried cherries in the next batch that I definitely plan on baking. I give this recipe five stars all the way !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teeags

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I made these this morning and I have the say the milk to vinegar ratio is waaay off! I followed this recipe exactly, and the pancakes were sour. I'm not sure how this recipe, as is, won't produce sour pancakes. Unless I missed something.....this wasn't a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanessaM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Really liked this recipe. I actually cooked my chicken opposite of what the recipe says because it was still slightly frozen. I baked it in the oven first then in a skillet. The chicken came out nice and juicy! Good Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Preserves

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I really liked this recipe, the strange part was that the video said 4 1/2 cups of sugar as well as 2 1/2 cups of sugar. Based on other reviews I did the 2 1/2 cups and it was perfect. I would have given this 5 stars but as written the recipe would have been too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States