Los Angeles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was excellent but next time I will cut the sugar down to 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar (I used 1 tblsp of brown sugar)The fennel adds a little sweetness on it's own and it was a little too sweet for me.On the other hand the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was very good.make sure to season the meat before the breading process
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Miller

Magic Mango Bread

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Good recipe, great way to use ripe mangos. Looked at a few mango bread recipes, liked this one with the coconut. I didn't have raisins, didn't have walnuts, so added chopped pecans instead. substituted nonfat plain Greek yogurt for the butter. My house smelled fabulous. The bread is delicious, tasted it warm. The only thing that is a bit strange is that the bread is a good texture, but the mango pieces are soft....but still delicious. I think I would chop the fruit smaller or run in the blender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TCab13

Simple Roasted Chickpea Snack

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I bought fresh already cooked chickpeas from the Farmer's Market this morning. Then used 1tbsp olive oil and 2 teaspoons of Cajun spice mixed together. Baked at 400 in my toaster oven for 50 minutes, turning every 10-15 minutes. Tasty. Will try again. Maybe bake another 10 to really get them crispy and crunchy. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCab13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Make sure you season the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanayshua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sweet and Sour Chicken

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Overall very good. Was labor intensive though, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Oh, my GOSH!! This recipe screams controversy in the most scandalous way and scrumptious way. Everything looks so GOOD that my mouth is watering!! I also like the fact that the ingredients are portioned. I can make two for myself and my sister, and this recipe will hopefully satisfy my sweet tooth. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdramaqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Easy and excellent. I doubled all of the spices except the salt and used 1 tsp of lowrys seasoning instead of sage and added 1 tsp of pepper.Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Wow!! My first time ever making toffee and it turned out perfectly! I made it to go in my favor bags for my Mother's Day brunch and man...these things are amazing! I followed the recipe to a 'T' with the exception of adding a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. The process of the butter/sugar mixture turning dark amber took longer than expected but it was worth the wait. I bought my Taylor brand candy thermometer at Target and it says 'cracked hard' 300 degrees so I let the mixture get to that temp. The mixture was super easy to spread with a silicon spatula. While the butter/sugar mixture did it's thing, I melted the chocolate chips in a double boiler (so the chocolate isn't on direct heat). I poured the chocolate on the toffee and spread that with a different silicon spatula. Placed the concoction in the refrigerator for about 30-40 minutes and Voila...awesomeness!!! No nuts this time but I'll make them again and again and again!!! Holidays, homemade birthday presents, just because. This is now my go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

Sweet Corn Bread

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Great recipe, not too sweet which is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary HitMan®

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Peruvian Lomo Saltado

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Very easy to make and very tasty! Family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary HitMan®

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Made this recipe and it was a hit very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary HitMan®

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by chefjenna

Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This was really easy and really quick to make AND it was delicious! I used blackberries instead of raspberries because that is what I had in the freezer. Also, I did two layers of chocolate glaze. I microwaved the cream and chocolate chips for 25 seconds and then stirred until it was smooth rather than using the stove top method. The first layer of glaze went on as a crumb coating and then I made a second batch of the glaze which I spread on after the first layer cooled (about 30 minutes). Spread the glaze on when it it is between 90-95 degrees for a perfect finish. The only thing I might do different next time is add more ReaLemon as I like a very lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup)

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was a very easy, healthy and delicious soup. My family loved it. I did add more of the vegetables to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Ely Zielbauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Lemon Curd

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Wow! Great recipe followed it exactly. Used wire whisk to stir between intervals came out perfect. Served over puff pastry topped with whipped cream. This was gone before the chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie McLeod Boord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This has become my go-to. I LOVE this pie...and so does anyone else who tastes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
My daughter has made this so many times she's memorized the recipe. Many of her friends keep asking for it. This is probably the best brownie recipe I've ever made, no changes necessary AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Great! didn't use capers, added sun dried tomatoes and mushrooms instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken With Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Loved this recipe. Being it is just the wife and myself, and we are on a budget I took one breast and pounded it to make two. I took the mushrooms and put them in a pan with butter and garlic for 2 minutes. Lined the bottom with the mushrooms, put the chicken in the egg wash and seasoned bread crumbs to brown. Put the breast on the mushrooms topped with the other we sautéed and put Campbell's golden mushroom soup with half a can of white wine and shredded mozzarella cheese. Came out so moist, it is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Broiled Parmesan Fish

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Quick and easy. My husband is always saying any white fish has no taste. This one changed his mind. He asked for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNASCOMET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States