Long Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by bd.weld

Pico de Gallo with Cabbage (Mexican Coleslaw)

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Wow, I could eat the entire bowl. This is that good. Such a versatile recipe that heat can be adjusted to your liking. Definitely a keeper! Thank you mommy for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Spicy Turkey Tacos

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Easily a 5 star recipe. A perfect way to use up leftover turkey. This review is short because I'm going back for more. Filed this under my TNT recipe folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Homemade Taco Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
A great tasting sauce without having a prominent vinegar flavor as some major brands do. The sauce wow factor can be changed by adding or subtracting the amount of cayenne. This has a mild spiciness as per ingredients so next time I will double the cayenne. This has a good consistency that will hold well on your tacos or even as a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Homemade Adobo All-Purpose Seasoning

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
A good versatile seasoning that can be adjusted to lower the sodium. You can put this on just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Antipasto Kabobs Recipe

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Holla! These are a must for any party! Yummy, yummy, for my tummy! Thank you xray barb for making these for our allrecipes round-up! Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Bacon-Wrapped Dates Stuffed with Manchego Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
These are sooo good! I swear I want some more RIGHT NOW!!! I consumed these (many of them!) at an ALLRECIPES party last night. Bacon with that sweet date and the asiago cheese (subbed by MauiGirl), let me tell you again how much I loved them! I am so gunna make these for another holiday party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Shrimp Gazpacho

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I've made this twice now. I put jalapeno and hot sauce on the side for those that like it spicy. A fresh squeeze lemon juice is also nice on the side. If you use avocados that aren't too ripe they will stay fresh in the soup the entire time! Make great leftovers! Everyone that has tried it LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
A really quick and easy taco recipe. I'm still trying to wrap my head around biting into a taco and getting the smoked sausage flavor but I could get used to this. For those on the go this is another good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Caliente Christmas Salsa

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
A pleasant change from the normal salsas. Now all I have to do is convince the kids and grand kids that we are going to have a taco bar at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Another simple, quick and easy recipe for those with limited time. This took all of 20 minutes yet it's packed full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is such an easy recipe that packs a bunch of flavor. This chili will disappear in no time. No tweaking necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
What do you do with leftover turkey? Make this, Obviously; ) I grabbed the bag of tortilla chips and layered the whole shabang. Cream cheese, hatch chilies, gr.onion & cilantro went in the blender. Salt n pepper and Lots of cheese brought this to an Excellent result! Love these !! Thank you Olga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Irish Potato Farls

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I make these, but never used a recipe; a friend showed me how to make them 18 years ago when we first moved to Ireland. They are bland, they are intended as a food carrier, not as a food by themselves and are usually eaten with breakfast or another meal. In Northern Ireland they are sometimes deep fried after cooking as part of the "Ulster Fry" they are good that way too, but I prefer just the griddle version. To reheat just place under a grill, in a toaster/toaster oven or use the griddle again. You can also stick between two damp paper towels in the microwave for about 20 seconds but any longer may make the tough. They are very good with canned beans also with jam, honey, melted cheese or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodi Grundy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Cauliflower Popcorn

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I can honestly say that I have tried a few roasted cauliflower recipes on this site and this one is the easiest and tastiest. Thank you laqop for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Bake Sale Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
1st of all, when life or friends hand me lemons, what do I do?? Make lemon bars of Course! 2nd of all these were FAB U LOUS! !! I made no changes food wise other then doubling the filling, adding the zest of three Meyer lemons and juicing them. I read to drop the temp to 350, I really think this was the Right call, if you cook those eggs too fast, you might get a rubbery texture and that was something I was Loathe to have hapoen. I did add some salt, just a pinch, to the crust n lemon. Also, not sure why all the fuss about the crust. I made it exactly and just pressed it in the pan. It wasn't sticky either, just crumbled fine. My pan was an aluminum one that was about 9-11 maybe, perfect bar size. So GLAD I doubled that filling too cuz there would have been basically more crust then filling, that would NOT have been good eats! I took the time to line that pan with foil and sprayed it with grapeseed oil. The bars slid right off the foil, no trouble. My hubby n DS really loved them too. Heck even the Dog liked em! Lol These are a keeper for sure! Thank Elaine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Salted Caramel Pecan Sticky Buns

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
So good, so sweet. This was a great recipe. I added a sprinkle of salt on top of the sticky buns to cut the sweetness a bit but it was a great Sunday treat. Really good hot, so microwave if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Crunchy French Onion Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I have always wanted to try this recipe and just got around to it. Figuring that the coating would be very delicate I floured the chicken before dipping in the egg and french fried onions. I also placed the chicken on a cooling rack, sprayed with non stick spray, above a cookie sheet so I wouldn't have to turn the chicken during baking and chancing damaging the coating. If you don't have a cooling rack try using sliced raw onion rings to place the chicken on. The results were favorable however I may add seasoning the flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

KISS: Keep it Simple (Brussels) Sprouts

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Sometimes a KISS is all you Need! Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Banana Bread from Mott's®

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was a little dense for me and I guess I prefer a sweeter banana bread, but it went over well with my house guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Spicy Cauliflower Bites

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This turned out good and baking them in muffin tins worked great. I did add a little more than the 1/8 teaspoon of red pepper flakes knowing that wouldn't be enough. Next time I make this I will mix in cheese to the mashed cauliflower prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States