Long Beach - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Fish Tacos with Creamy Avocado Topping

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Who doesn't love fish tacos? We have never had halibut before, I found some chunk pieces at the market and dinner rolled itself together! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Peanut Noodles

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I was jonesing for peanut noodles, this was just the RIGHT ONE! I I actually made about 4 x's the amount, 2 boxes if linguine since I was taking the bulk of it to potluck @ work. My kids & the Co workers LOVED this! I added shredded chicken and chopped broccoli to make it a main dish. A couple teaspoons of 5 Spice powder was a Fab idea too! Of course I used Xtra chunky peanutbutter;) Maureen, this was a WINNER WINNER peanut butter chicken Dinner!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Kung Pao Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe!!! only thing is I doubled up on the sauce, new favorite! Can compete with restaurant versions in quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook4fam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe, although being half black I felt I had to cook the collards much longer than 10 mins, more like 40. Next time i might use less pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Sour Cream Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
These enchiladas come together in a New York minute with the help of, what I used, was a roasted chicken from the deli. And the fact that it also uses tortilla chips is a bonus that I have been doing for Years! I mean who doesn't have an open bag of chips that are quickly sliding toward the trash can? Why not repurpose them before pitching them? And if you have leftover chicken, this casserole is a dream for cleaning out that fridge! The only thing that would make this better is having a fried egg on top of each serving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Mexican Gump

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was just totally yummy!! Super quick and great for a busy weeknight dinner. I thought it would be fun to serve it with Doritos, they stand up to the dish just fine! Next time I would like to add some chorizo for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Grilled Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I am a BS Fanatic! Started sipping Limoncello while I was grilling and forgot to cut them in half, hee hee. Drizzled a little grapeseed oil instead of the butter, lol blame adult sippy cup again;)// So I grilled them a bit then nuked them for about 5 minutes. They were very good, snacked on them with fish tacos. Thank you Chef Clay:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Ditalini Salad with Black Beans, Corn, Lime, Cotija Cheese and Avocado

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This salad was Awesome! ! Didn't change a thing cuz if it ain't broke, don't fix it! Instead of canned corn, I used a leftover corn on the cob. I served it with Mexican beef tacos. Thank you Barilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Chipotle Roast for Tacos and Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My kids loved this beef, I made tacos and they inhaled them! I added a whole can of Chipotle and pickled onions to balance out the flavors. I'm off for the summer so I let the meat go low n slow in the oven from frozen stew meat. This is gonna make Great Machaca to tomorrow morning for sure! Thank you Karie, you have a winner here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Quick and Easy Summer Limoncello Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Too bad I can only give this cake 5 stars, it deserves 10!! First of all, I got to buy my first bottle of Limoncello, YEAH! Second, this cake is LIGHT as a feather and oh SOOO YUMMY!! Third, this makes a Perfect dessert after even the heaviest of dinners. This would be a Lovely cake for an afternoon tea. The crumb is Very tender and moist. The title is missing one word and that word is, FABULOUS!! I added a few teaspoons of limoncello after it came out of the oven and added some yellow food color to the glaze. LOVE LOVE this new summer time treat:::))) THANK YOU ALLIGREEKPI, THIS ROCKSSSSS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Jimmy's Clam and Corn Fritters

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Today: 7-16-14 is National Fritter Day, according to the folks on the Buzz. I liked this Way better then 4 stars but I cheated and used that 'little blue box' of cornbread mix. There was a corn on the cob in the fridge that tasted like candy corn, that got added. The clams were a bargain bin find, to which I used the juice and made a cocktail sauce with. Very good! These fritters basically had everything one would want, sweet, salty & crispy fried yumminess. Thank you Lisa01, next time I find those discount clams, I'll know exactly what to do with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Broccoli Cheese Squares

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
These make a great lunch for my toddler. I used 24oz of broccoli because I had two 12oz bags. I also added 8oz of cheese and decided another 8oz would be overkill - I can't imagine it with 16oz! Gut bomb! Sprinkled it with onion powder. I would cut back on the butter next time as the oil from the cheese is enough. After baking it at least 45 mins and letting it cool, I cut it to find the bottom mushy and eggy. Yuck. I inverted the whole thing onto a flat pan and browned the bottom as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Cucumber and Apple Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
A great summertime recipe. This easy to make recipe is spot on for those summer picnics. The raspberry vinaigrette adds the perfect touch. I recommend to only add the raspberry vinaigrette when ready to eat the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

Skewered Cantaloupe

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Wasn't quite sure what to think about this after reading the ingredients. Tasted pretty good I might say. Call me weird but I prefer just salt on my cantaloupe. Nevertheless it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Polenta Fries

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
My kids were not a fan of this one. NOT the fault of the recipe, I liked it well enough. I served them with pasta sauce. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Bekki's Mexican Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Only 4 stars simple because I used skirt steak strips, Mexican cheese & chopped roasted poblano peppers. I also just wet my fingers with water and these were Fast n Easy! I heated up a bit of lard, these were done in no time at all. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes

Roasted Corn and Poblanos

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Denny, this side dish was Killer!! I happen to have the SWEETEST corn and pretty hot poblano's in the fridge today. So glad I found your recipe. Grilling this was the way to Go! My corn was not quite done after grilling, so I popped it in the nuker for about 3 minutes to get it a bit more tender. I served this next to Mexican Egg rolls & Spanish rice. THANK YOU Denny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

3 Cheese Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These wee pretty good! I used the enchilada sauce I had on hand instead of the salsa, and used minced red onions as well as the green. But everyone was happy with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Cherry Tomatoes, Marinated Chicken Breast and Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I always have Barilla Whole Grain Spaghetti on hand and thought I would give this a try. The grilled chicken was perfect but the rest of the meal was just OK. Not sure I will try to make this again with tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld

White Fiber Mini Shells with Cherry Tomatoes, Basil and Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
With the weather here in triple digits I thought this recipe would be great cold and I was right. I cooked the onions in garlic infused olive oil and didn't cook the tomatoes nor did I add the cooking liquid. For added flavor I used garlic salt to season the water I cooked the mini shells in. This is an easy recipe and will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States