Irvine - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Light Lemon Pesto Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made this last night because we felt like having pasta and had all the ingredients on hand. WOW, garlic overload! This recipe definitely has potential, but as is, the garlic is very overpowering. It was even more potent today when I reheated it for lunch. I had a couple of people walk into the lunchroom at work and ask what was in the microwave. Don't get me wrong, this is delicious otherwise. I will definitely make this again but with half the amount of garlic. I really liked the addition of the walnuts. A nice twist on traditional pesto. This would be delicious with chicken or shrimp as an added protein to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I'm giving this 5 stars...but as written it actually deserves only 4 stars. Too much salt. I was nervous when I saw 1 tablespoon salt, but I figured with all the 5 star ratings, it had to be great that way. This was one recipe when I really wish I would have read the reviews first. I usually like to try a recipe as is before doctoring it up and making substitutions. I should have trusted my instincts and used much MUCH less salt. It was delicious, but the salt sort of killed it for me. I could tell that without the extra salt it would be perfection. We all have our own opinions on salt, if I had made this for my mother she probably would have added more to her portion, lol. I did really love this...minus the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pear or Apple Cobbler

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Oh my gosh this is so delicious!!! I used some pears that we received in a gift basket that were perfectly ripe. My husband loved it and asked if I would make it for Christmas. Next time I will definitely cut back on the sugar. The pears are so sweet anyway, so I'll cut back on both the maple syrup and the brown sugar in the topping. It was amazing, though. We topped it off with some french vanilla ice cream. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Miso Salmon

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T. Oh so good! A good way to use up leftover miso when I buy a container of it to make miso soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Energy Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Delicious and nutritious! I saw the photo yesterday in the photo voting and I had all the ingredients and made it right away. I took the other reviewer's advice and made half the recipe. Now I'm thinking I should have made a full recipe! The bars made the whole house smell good! The kids loved these as a snack and hubby brought some to work today. No crumbling issues that a couple people mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made these using ground chicken instead and they were delectable! My guests were highly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Style Chocolate Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe! Brazilian pudding is NOT like pudding as we know it in the US. It's like a cake! If you're going to rate it 1 star, at least educate yourself on what you're making. I do agree that 10-12 was slightly long, but the 2nd time I made it, I cooked it 8-9 mins and it was perfect. FYI, that photo of the "pudding" in the glass dessert dish is NOT what this is supposed to look like. This is like my mother-in-law makes, but much easier than her method! Thanks Fernanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glorious Sponge Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Sponge Cake Noob Help: I’m a sponge cake noob and my first attempt at this fell, so I want to give advice to other noobs out there that may help. This is an awesome cake, and when you nail it you will love it. But if you aren’t certain you know how much to beat the eggs, watch a youtube video on what beating egg whites until they are stiff looks like! My first crack at this I was afraid to over beat the egg whites and the result was disastrous. But I did a rematch last night with a little help from my Super Husband and he beat the stuffing out of the egg white until I was faint with fear that they got so darned fluffy! I thought that couldn’t possibly be right. It was! It was very right! And the cake came out beautifully! AFTER CARE: I baked my cake in an ungreased bunt pan and flipped it upside down over a bottle when I took it out of the oven. After it cooled I righted the cake, ran a skewer around the edges twice and the cake popped out. It's delicious, and it makes a fantastic tea cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Breakfast Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is a great versatile recipe. I've substituted 2 large bananas for the apples and added 3 1/2 Tbps of sour cream. Sour cream makes it super moist. Next I'm going to try substituting grated Fuyu persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Amazeballs. I just went to put this away and can't stop snacking on it. I don't usually like shrimp, thought it would be fishy and I'd hate it. NOPE. The shrimp melted delicately in my mouth along with all of the other ingredients. Spiciness is on point, this dish is made to have some spice. If you don't like spice, you really shouldn't be eating jambalaya. I'd say overall it's medium spicy. Anyway. The only thing I did different was add raw frozen shrimp at 7 hours on low (turned it off at 8 hrs). Like I said, came out AMAZING (aka, amazeballs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

Ruby Red Grapefruit Martini

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
So good! I love pink grapefruit juice and this was the perfect refreshing drink on this warm Labor Day weekend. My guests really enjoyed it too, well until we ran out of vodka! I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. By the way, regarding the other review, why on earth would you only give 4 stars because YOU didn't have the necessary ingredients!?!? Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Love Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I actually found this on pinterest first but I checked and the recipes are the same. I gave this a try last weekend for our wine tasting get away trip and it was a big hit! I never modify baking instructions so I followed this pretty precisely. Good balance between cheese, cake, and the whipped pudding frosting. Our crew gave it two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant with Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great! I was looking for a recipe like the Garlic Eggplant they make at the beloved Burma Superstar here in San Francisco. This comes really close and is delicious. Happily, it's super easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Mozzarella Bites

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I had these at a pals grand opening and I was blown away! She didn't use the dipping idea though. She just drizzled it with the oil and vinegar and I thought that was a wise choice. The fewer things out in a large party like that the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Basil Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I modified this a bit, but I feel like I kept to the chore flavors and I loved the result. I’m eating the leftovers for lunch today! My mods: I sautéed the garlic and onions until they started to get tender, then I kept cooking them for a bit with cut asparagus. Sadly I didn’t have fresh basil so I used dried. I tossed the finished pasta and the cooked veggies with the cheese, oil, and seasonings, and then added in the tomatoes and it was spectacular! I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This worked out. First Slow cooker dish. I felt it needed something spicier, but you can add that to taste. A great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick. S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Hamburger Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This one is a hit! Easy to make. I served it over elbow noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbellingham
Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Breaded Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe. I'll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbellingham
Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale and Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I chopped the kale in small pieces using a food processor. My family does not like feta cheese, so I omitted it. Also, I substituted the currants for dried pitted tart montmorency cherries from Trader Joe's. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbellingham
Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I'm so glad I came across this recipe. I love Indian food but I'm trying to cut down on eating out. This was better than what I get at restaurants. The only change I made was to go with half cream, half sour cream, plus I added a chopped jalapeno. Outstanding. Sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzisixx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States