Irvine - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Red Onion Marmalade

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Love this recipe. Even though only had sweet onions not red recipe came out delicious. I had enough to take as an appetizer to a party and served with goat cheese and bread slices I brushed with olive oil and toasted till crisp. Everyone raved and asked what was in the recipe. I made enough for three pint jars one of which I gave away. I want to try with purple onions, but right now I am making it again with the white. Great recipe! I did add a little English thyme when I decided I would be serving it with the goat cheese. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Photo by airjewel

American Flag Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
This cake is time consuming but WORTH IT! The presentation is so impressive and a crowd pleaser. I went with other suggestions and left the cake plain white on the outside with simple piping and some white sugar glitter with a few white chocolate chips sprinkled on top and two small American flags that I crossed and had standing in the cake. So when it is sliced... Wow! My tips for baking. I didn't have clear vanilla so I left it out until I divided and colored the batter and used my regular vanilla in the colored batter and I used almond extract in the white portion. Also I freeze the white chocolate chips then toss them in flour before adding them in the blue batter. You will see the stars. Lastly after i bake the layers and they are still hot. Using a pot holder to protect my hand, I press the cake firmly into the pans. This evens out the layers and makes them more dense which makes them easier to slice after they have cooled. They will still be very moist. I used a cream cheese frosting for the middle and I used a whipped cooked buttercream frosting for the outside. Definitely use parchment paper for baking and put your layers cut side down to make frosting easier. The flavor was great and it's a very delicious cake! I have already received requests for next year. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airjewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is probably one of the only recipes that I haven't had to change one thing. It is so easy and so delicious. I use this every time that we have leftover ham (Easter and other 'hammy' holidays). Whenever I make this, I tend to sauté the onions and celery for about a minute before adding the potatoes, ham & water. The first time I made this I added a little touch of salt to it and it made it SO salty. This is why I don't change a thing on this recipe. It's wonderful, homey and just what you need on a cold evening (which is few and far between in So. Cal.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Absolutely delicious! We used deveined shrimp, but left the shells on to protect from over-cooking. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Masukawa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Zoodle Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Fresh flavors and healthy! The dressing has a nice tang to it. I've made this twice now and the leftovers the next day are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Leek Soup III

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I used leftover roasted potatoes...omg...yummy!!! Also added crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Simple and wonderful. I cut potato slices thin--1/8 inch. Instead of onion slices I used dried onion bits and when you want to make an outrageous cheese sauce substitute 1 cup of Beecher's Flag Ship cheese. Make sure to remove foil and slightly brown the top before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCHamma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whoshungry

Healthy Chocolate Mug Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I was looking for a quick sweet treat to have tonight and saw a pic of this on the front page. it's convenient and was enough to calm my chocolate urges. I used a large mug, so I didn't have any trouble with overflowing like others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Lemon Pesto Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made this last night because we felt like having pasta and had all the ingredients on hand. WOW, garlic overload! This recipe definitely has potential, but as is, the garlic is very overpowering. It was even more potent today when I reheated it for lunch. I had a couple of people walk into the lunchroom at work and ask what was in the microwave. Don't get me wrong, this is delicious otherwise. I will definitely make this again but with half the amount of garlic. I really liked the addition of the walnuts. A nice twist on traditional pesto. This would be delicious with chicken or shrimp as an added protein to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I'm giving this 5 stars...but as written it actually deserves only 4 stars. Too much salt. I was nervous when I saw 1 tablespoon salt, but I figured with all the 5 star ratings, it had to be great that way. This was one recipe when I really wish I would have read the reviews first. I usually like to try a recipe as is before doctoring it up and making substitutions. I should have trusted my instincts and used much MUCH less salt. It was delicious, but the salt sort of killed it for me. I could tell that without the extra salt it would be perfection. We all have our own opinions on salt, if I had made this for my mother she probably would have added more to her portion, lol. I did really love this...minus the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pear or Apple Cobbler

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Oh my gosh this is so delicious!!! I used some pears that we received in a gift basket that were perfectly ripe. My husband loved it and asked if I would make it for Christmas. Next time I will definitely cut back on the sugar. The pears are so sweet anyway, so I'll cut back on both the maple syrup and the brown sugar in the topping. It was amazing, though. We topped it off with some french vanilla ice cream. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Miso Salmon

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T. Oh so good! A good way to use up leftover miso when I buy a container of it to make miso soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Energy Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Delicious and nutritious! I saw the photo yesterday in the photo voting and I had all the ingredients and made it right away. I took the other reviewer's advice and made half the recipe. Now I'm thinking I should have made a full recipe! The bars made the whole house smell good! The kids loved these as a snack and hubby brought some to work today. No crumbling issues that a couple people mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made these using ground chicken instead and they were delectable! My guests were highly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Style Chocolate Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe! Brazilian pudding is NOT like pudding as we know it in the US. It's like a cake! If you're going to rate it 1 star, at least educate yourself on what you're making. I do agree that 10-12 was slightly long, but the 2nd time I made it, I cooked it 8-9 mins and it was perfect. FYI, that photo of the "pudding" in the glass dessert dish is NOT what this is supposed to look like. This is like my mother-in-law makes, but much easier than her method! Thanks Fernanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glorious Sponge Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Sponge Cake Noob Help: I’m a sponge cake noob and my first attempt at this fell, so I want to give advice to other noobs out there that may help. This is an awesome cake, and when you nail it you will love it. But if you aren’t certain you know how much to beat the eggs, watch a youtube video on what beating egg whites until they are stiff looks like! My first crack at this I was afraid to over beat the egg whites and the result was disastrous. But I did a rematch last night with a little help from my Super Husband and he beat the stuffing out of the egg white until I was faint with fear that they got so darned fluffy! I thought that couldn’t possibly be right. It was! It was very right! And the cake came out beautifully! AFTER CARE: I baked my cake in an ungreased bunt pan and flipped it upside down over a bottle when I took it out of the oven. After it cooled I righted the cake, ran a skewer around the edges twice and the cake popped out. It's delicious, and it makes a fantastic tea cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Breakfast Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This is a great versatile recipe. I've substituted 2 large bananas for the apples and added 3 1/2 Tbps of sour cream. Sour cream makes it super moist. Next I'm going to try substituting grated Fuyu persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Amazeballs. I just went to put this away and can't stop snacking on it. I don't usually like shrimp, thought it would be fishy and I'd hate it. NOPE. The shrimp melted delicately in my mouth along with all of the other ingredients. Spiciness is on point, this dish is made to have some spice. If you don't like spice, you really shouldn't be eating jambalaya. I'd say overall it's medium spicy. Anyway. The only thing I did different was add raw frozen shrimp at 7 hours on low (turned it off at 8 hrs). Like I said, came out AMAZING (aka, amazeballs.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

Ruby Red Grapefruit Martini

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
So good! I love pink grapefruit juice and this was the perfect refreshing drink on this warm Labor Day weekend. My guests really enjoyed it too, well until we ran out of vodka! I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. By the way, regarding the other review, why on earth would you only give 4 stars because YOU didn't have the necessary ingredients!?!? Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whoshungry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Love Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I actually found this on pinterest first but I checked and the recipes are the same. I gave this a try last weekend for our wine tasting get away trip and it was a big hit! I never modify baking instructions so I followed this pretty precisely. Good balance between cheese, cake, and the whipped pudding frosting. Our crew gave it two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States