Fresno - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

French Beef Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great, Ive never had stew with dijon in it before, but it does add a nice tang. I ended up letting it simmer for about 3hours, only because I had the time and it was cold. I also subbed baby carrots because I had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jescalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Baked French Fries

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
These are very good, they get nice and crispy, dont miss that they arent fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jescalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Quick & easy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Banana Bread Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great quick recipe as written. I added cinnamon, vanilla, and cinnamon chips and these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have to tell you, this was amazing. I shared this with my family and they all loved it, now you know I love Mexican foods. So I had to spice it up the second time I made it and I added beans and jalapenos peppers, of course I had to add another box of jeff corn bread mix. I love this recipe the first time and the second time, try it you will enjoy this and your family will love this…. God bless you and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
So much better then manwhich (sp?)from the can! The whole family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jescalynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Fish Fillets

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yes I have tried this Recipe, you would think that using mustard that it would overwhelm the flavor of the fish. Not at all, surprisingly the potato flakes and all of ingredients caught me off guard, it was a great combination that was very tasty. I enjoyed this breading and would recommend it to all, if you need more seasonings, go by your taste. Rev. Thomas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Good straight ahead recipe. Try subbing granulated garlic for garlic salt. I don't even have it in my spice drawer. Also to get a good coat and hence crust, liberally smear mustard (any kind, Dijon or yellow) on roast then sprinkle dry rub (go ahead, experiment with the drawer, you can't hurt it) liberally all over the roast. You'll love it! Great on a covered grill too. RESPECT THE PIG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Did pretty much as directed - strong (garlic) cause did not let set long enough. Had mellowed out by next day. Used only 1/2 of butter. Used mainly as a spread on crackers. Also great on sandwiches (meat ball subs - yummo!) and grilled chicken - instead of mayo. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halibut with Rice Wine

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Wow! It's a wow! I bought fresh Monchong (in Hawaii), used this Asian glaze recipe -- it's as good as they serve at Roy Yamaguchi's! Of course, right off the grill by the beach doesn't hurt, either......Simple ingrediants that I can leave on the shelf, simple preparation, great balance of flavors that compliment whatever firm firsh you are grilling. It's going in my book of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Blueberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I have used my grandma's wonderful, but very time consuming recipe for years, this was so good. My husband who swears he "hates" Blueberry Cobbler, couldn't keep out of it! The only thing I did diffrent was change the 1 1/2 cups of white sugar in the filling to 1 cup white, 1/2 brown and put some butter pats on the top when it baked.... yummy stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kinley's Granny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was not very good... I'm not sure what other people found so appealing about it, unless of course, they did not make the actual recipe and instead made a ton of changes and then gave their own recipe 5 stars! The flavor was ok, but it was so thin and watery, and too much basil for my husband's tatses. If you're going to go ahead and make it, use way less broth and maybe some extra tomatoes perhaps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red-Neck Turtle Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is all of the favorite flavor of the 4th of July big bang all together, as soon as I seen this I could not wait to try this. And guess wait? We all absolutely loved this burger, thank you and God bless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I have tried several recipes for teriyaki chicken and this one is my favorite. It tastes like it does in Japanese restaurants.Not to sweet and the perfect thickness so it stays on the chicken while it is baking. Super flavorful and moist. I line my baking pan with foil for easy clean up. Left overs make a great teriyaki chicken bowl the next day. I add rice and broccoli and some sauce- yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
great starter recipe! you can tweak it for your level of spice very easly. Add olives on top, mix in a little cumin, use cobly jack or any other favorite cheese. The possibilities for the tastebuds are endless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Spice Rub

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Good. I would omit chix base and add rosemary, lemon-pepper and as Aunt Julie said, mint. Also consider using granulated garlic and onion. I think they are more flavorful. Opa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Naan

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
So I used all the same ingredients with a bread machine and came out good! After the bread machine dough cycle was done, I separated them into individual balls and left them to rise. They rose a little bit, but not too much--but still ended up baking and tasting fine. I made mine on a george foreman grill, worked better than on a pan on the stove. I made some regular ones, and also cinnamon sugar ones. I personally preferred the cinnamon sugar ones. For those--I put the rolled dough on the grill, put melted butter, then a mixture of cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top and closed the GF grill. After a couple mins I flipped it, and did the same by adding the butter and cinammon sugar; I closed the GF grill, waited a couple minutes, and done. Tasted kinda like a cinammon sugar flat yummy pretzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vani166

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

Best Lemonade Ever

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Would have given 4.5 if allowed. Try Meyer lemons and less sugar if you can find them. Less sour, more fruity and complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Happy Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Wow!!!! This chicken was so moist and tasty. My husband and son loved it. We are garlic lovers, so next time I will probably rub the skin with the garlic before putting it into the cavity. The Dijon gave a wonderful flavor boost. We will be doing this next time we have company for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Good groceries. Little to much bacon grease for my tastes. Modern bacon is too salty for me. I used EVOO and added flour making a reux with milk. Also added fresh garlic and lemon instead of vinegar (vinegar is great too). Some caraway seeds and some fresh ginger wouldn't hurt either. Bravo the cruciferous vegetable family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States