Fresno - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Poor Man's Pecan Pie

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Turned out great. Instead of using any corn syrup, I substituted wildflower honey 1:1, and baked it for 1 hour. My kids loved it, and so did I. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Perfect Easy Mix! I was out of butter so I substituted 2 1/2 T. oil and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANKNOTTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Loved this hearty vegetable-filled soup! I agree with the other reviewers who suggest that it needs more seasoning. I always make as-is the first time, but I added some extra seasoning at the end to suit our families' taste, including about 3 T. Worchestershire Sauce. I think next time I would either do it all in the crockpot (low 10 hours?) or all in the soup pot. But it is wonderful enough to make it into my "I Love to Cook Book"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Francesca

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was, as suggested, very quick & easy -- and, in fact, I had all the ingredients on hand already. Hubby raved over it. I think it will be a good company dish, as it preps like a casserole, but the finished product does not suggest that it is. This one goes in my "I love to Cook Book"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Great meatloaf, I cook for 50 minutes then add the ketchup mixture on top for 10 more minutes instead of the 1hr 10 minutes so it doesn't dry out it was great the second time I did it with less time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juanita
Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Very moist & flavorful, lots of flavor bang for very little prep time. Fresh herbs are the key, otherwise don't bother! I added sliced carrots just because I didn't want to prepare a separate veggie dish, otherwise made exactly as written. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Chowder

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for a different way of cooking salmon to make it stretch further, and decided to try this recipe. It was really really good, and we're even going to make it for company. I used fresh garlic and salmon as suggested, and added the salmon at the end and simmered it for 5 minutes. Then, after the fish was cooked, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the cheese until it melted (I estimated and probably used about 2 cups, and it didn't taste too cheesy to me at all). I also thickened it with about 1-2 T flour. Since I used homemade chicken stock, I waited to add the salt, and probably used about 1/2 tsp or less. Definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
simple and easy and great for people who are doing WW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branbran77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coalinga, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Farro Salad with Asparagus and Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was a real hit at a dinner party. I did not soak the Farro for 12 hrs. as the recipe stated. Just boiled according to package directions. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Wine Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I was attracted to this recipe because of all the great fresh veggies it calls for.....but it seemed to be lacking something for me in the end ~ some depth, some flavor note. It turned out fine, but did not give us the wow we were hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Laura's Lemon Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I have made this recipe frequently throughout the last few years. I love it. I don't make any changes (unless I need to based on something I don't have on hand. Adding Sage works nicely too!) Great side dish recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dark Chocolate Chipotle Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I'm going to bake these this weekend when the Kids are Home. I'll add raisins (pasas) and pumpkin seeds (pepinos). This reads like a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Shrimp and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was so easy. Tasty low carb meals are always appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fairy1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Loved it! Double the sauce, tho, and at least double the capers - maybe more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Love these pancakes. These are the only ones we mkae now. I also double the batch and make these to freeze for my sons during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

Creme Brulee French Toast

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
All I can say is WOW! This was sooo delicious. I made it this morning for Valentines Day - and I'll certainly be making this again. I made it exactly as written - with just a bit more bread (whatever would fit in the dish). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Edmonds Rodgers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Val's Hungarian Jewish Chopped Liver

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This tastes just like the Chopped Liver at the Deli. I enjoyed it on Jewish Rye bread... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Edmonds Rodgers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Armenian Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Same basic recipe that has been in MY Armenian family for 3 generations (in The USA) and my little ones are starting the 4th generation now. The old timers would sometimes top it off with plain yogurt or diced tomatoes as do I. I also use sea salt and fresh, finely cracked white pepper and maybe a bit less butter. I strongly recommend using converted/parboiled rice as it doesn't clump though basmati and jasmine are pretty darn good too as is large milled cracked wheat (bulgur). BTW: I too prefer orzo. You can pre-brown this (the trick always is to get it only GOLDEN brown)in a slow/moderate oven layed out thin on a backing pan stirring several times. Put it in a jar, then mix ALL other ingredients in a rice cooker and sit back and have a drink. FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer702

Fried Asparagus with Bacon

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly. Only adjustment I made was use 5 Slices of Bacon, 1.5 Table Spoons of Margarine, drizzled just a tad of EVOO, and used Shaved Parmesan. Definitely doing this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer702

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vintage Lemonade

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was absolutely the best lemonade ever. For those who complained of bitterness, you probably used the entire peel. It might be better to say to use the zest, the white is very bitter. I even substituted half the sugar for Splenda (added after it was all mixed together, I only used sugar with the zest). Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe. Tested and true through the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States