Fresno - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Jennifer702

Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Loved it! Based on other suggestions (and to make it a lil more heartier of a meal), I did add shredded carrots and mushrooms (about 1/4 cup of each) and added the cornstartch before the eggs (which I used 3 whole eggs). I'm not a fan of ginger, so I used ground white pepper instead with a dash of soy sauce to give it a lil extra flavor. This is already saved for another time...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer702

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Only OK. Used cream cheese frosting - THAT was fantastic on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Instead of pasta we used the Vagetti spiral vegetable slicer and made zucchini 'noodles'. Then we halved the recipe for everything else. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Loved it. Simple ingredients.. Quick prep time. What else could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Slow Cook Thai Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I really wanted to like it. But it was just not right. I ended up putting honey in it to make it more like satay sauce, and then it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Incredible!! Like some others, I swapped butter for the shortening and used 1/2 cup of wheat flour...but man-o-man these are tasty and fluffy with just a touch of crisp on the outside as you bite in! DO only use as much milk as needed (I ended up with a few tablespoons left over) DO NOT mess with the dough too much -- that will ruin even the best recipe! Thank you John for a wonderful recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Garlic Green Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I liked this, as did the 14 other people at the Valentine's dinner I just came home from. Steamed the beans to the desired degree of crunch, washed under cold water, then put into the pan with the topping. Didn't have lemon pepper so used a bit of lime zest and lime juice. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I enjoy its versatility. If I have the time I make my own biscuits; if not the tube things work ok. Love the comment about wrapping in parchment and serving to a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Used way too many cashews (yep, too much of a good thing is NOT always called for!). Extra sauce IS needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe the first time I made it. Even my husband, who doesn't care for sweets, liked it. I made muffins out of it the next time, but not having enough banana, I added some well drained canned fruit cocktail. Hubby LOVED it. Next time I added mini-chocolate chips to the muffins. Did not go over at all. It lost the banana flavor and the chocolate flavor was like raw chocolate. This time I have enough ripe bananas, and I won't put anything else in the muffins. Waiting for a very good banana flavor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs II

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Really good, even tho I waaaaay overcooked them. Sauteed the onion + some garlic til translucent, used extra Worcestershire, +some A1 sauce. Baked the meatballs in oven for about 20 minutes then on stove top w/ sauce for too long. Next time I'm going to try w/ apricot jam since I always have that (and never have grape jelly) - should be just as good, yes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Satay

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Not a lot of depth of flavor but good. Definitely add ginger. Use half as much brown sugar as called for in the dipping sauce (this is a bit too sweet for peanut sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Very good. Next time I'll try chopping the bacon and cooking in a pan with 2 onions and more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macaroni Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Quick, easy and tasty . . . good combo! Added cayenne to the flour for a bit more pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cristina

Best Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I am not generally a fan of butter cream frosting, however it was necessary for this particular batch of holiday cupcakes. After reading the reviews I was curious as to how this would end up. I used buttermilk with the flour instead of milk because I had some left over from another project and needed to use it before it went bad. I cooked over low-medium heat and stirred it almost continuously with a small whisk. When it got a little thicker than gravy, I took it off the heat and continued to stir. I creamed the butter and sugar while cooking the milk and flour. When everything was about room temp it all went in the mixer. I want the milk mixture to soften the butter a little so I put it in not completely cooled but definitely not hot. I followed other reviews and let the mixer go for it. After about 15 min I taste tested and it was smooth. I should have let it go a little longer because even though I scraped the sides several times there were still one or two gritty spots. Clearly I was taste testing all the way through. I could not believe how good it was. I must say it was a success. Everyone commented on how good the frosting was. It had an almost complex cream cheese type flavor. I used vanilla extract so I assume it was the buttermilk that really punched up the flavor. It was formed enough to pipe unto cupcakes, but probably not stiff enough to do some serious creative cake decor like flowers etc. I bet that can be remedied with some tweaking here or there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made these many many times over the last few years and they are SOOO good. My advice(I'm sure this has been said already!) make sure you use real butter! Margarine just won't work right, I found that out the hard way. Don't count your three minutes until it STARTS boiling. Don't use too big of a pan! I have a set of three cookie sheets and the middle one is the best by experience. Don't leave them in the oven too long!! I have scorched them and though they were still yummy, they had a distinct burnt flavor. There CAN be too much chocolate so stick with the two cups, don't be tempted to add too many. Ok, I think that's it, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is abysmal. What a waste. Barbaric. A ruined rib roast and a ruined pot roast (use chuck next time). I gave it one star because I couldn't give it 0.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hershey's® Chocolate Pie with Chocolate Petal Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a great chocolate pie. Good taste, good texture, easy to make. We have this at the holidays because my family loves it. I agree the crust really makes the pie. I have also used store bought chocolate cookie crust and its good too just not as good. Either way it will be a hit at any gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Sun Valley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Cocktail Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Vidrio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calistoga, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw II

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A bit bland - but excellent dressing! Really good w/ pulled pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States