Fresno - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Notes: Sauteed the mushrooms with some marsala and white wine and garlic. Used a can of white sauce and milk for the sauce base. Added shredded parmesan to the cheese mix. And used whole wheat penne pasta. In oven now. Review and rating update to come. Update: YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane's Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This is a great side dish with any meat. Instead of mashing the potatoes, I par boil them and add to the pan with the cabbage and onion. It may not be original Irish, but one less step for me and I can get dinner on the table that much sooner. I also sauteed the onions slightly before adding the potatoes and cabbage. You won't be using the milk, but be sure to add the butter to the pan just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puttanesca My Way

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very good recipe. I used only 1/3 cup evoo, used diced tomatoes I didn't sieve, used all anchovies, & garnished with marinated artichoke hearts. Came out oh so delish. Easy recipe to impress guests. Served with Italian style boneless chicken breast. I love it when a plan comes together!!! Try it...you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puttanesca I

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Very good recipe. I used only 1/3 cup evoo, used diced tomatoes I didn't sieve, used all anchovies, & garnished with marinated artichoke hearts. Came out oh so delish. Easy recipe to impress guests. Served with Italian style boneless chicken breast. I love it when a plan comes together!!! Try it...you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is a great change from using protein powder all the time. I have oats already made into oat flour on hand since I make my own dog biscuits, just put oats into a food processor and work until fine. This makes it very smooth that way. I also use coconut or almond milk instead of soy milk. Adding any flavor yogurt or Greek yogurt is also a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Just Like Wendy's® Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I've been trying different chili recipes searching for that one that will be our go to favorite. For us, the search is over. This recipe was perfect for our tastes. The only minor adjustment I had to make for personal preferences was to cut the onion and green bell pepper to 1/2 each. Unlike other recipes, the outcome wasn't a decision to use it for a base recipe next time but try to make it better by substituting all sorts of ingredients. We loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
These turned out very tender and did not dry out at all. I need to remember to season them a little heavier than what I am inclined to when it says "season to taste".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Photo by Ashley Hayward

Emergency Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Pretty good and quick. I added 1/4 teaspoon of additional butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Good. Next time make 1/2 in an 8 x 8 pan and double the lemon/lime stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Cranberry Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made this yesterday and it was delicious. Tart and sweet at the same time. I substituted 1/2 Splenda for 1/2 sugar. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Edmonds Rodgers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country-Style Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was pretty good. I'll make it again. The meat came out so tender we didn't even need to use a knife. I might consider doubling the gravy. I appreciate the simple, uncomplicated ingredients to get a nice dinner on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was really flavorful but it did resemble the flavor of pasta sauce because of the oregano. We added an extra can of beans drained, only used one white onion, and added some cayenne pepper to give it a kick. We'll try this again but back the oregano off quite a bit to maybe only 1/2 teaspoon at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Everyone loved this. I used boneless skinless breasts and spooned the extra sauce over rice. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macaroni Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is now my go to recipe for banana bread. I chose to add the cup of nuts. Like others, I baked in 2 larger loaf pans and upped the temp to 325. After 1 hour they were nice and brown but yet not done in the center. I turned the temp down slightly and placed a piece of foil across the top to keep them from burning on top. Total bake time ended up at 1 hour 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Candied Carrots

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Yummy and so simple. I used baby carrots and they were cooked through in less than 15 minutes. Hubby didn't care for as much, but this is simple enough to make as a side just for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Artichoke Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Delish and soooo easy! 3 T mayo, bit less onion, cheese on top, toasted bread slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Master Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
loved this, it was very easy to put together. I doubled it and baked on pizza in the oven and the other on the presto pizzaz pizza cooker and the presto one was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macaroni Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly including the deep frying and glad I did. They were a wonderful treat. Not something I will make often, but nice to know I can when the craving strikes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This has always been a good soup and very good for you. I found this over 20 years ago when it was a craze to lose weight with. It should be made exactly like the recipe. One reviewer added 2 packages of the soup mix. That is way too much sodium and reduces the effect of the soup. Chili flakes and hot peppers or other spices can be added, but I would not recommend adding them to the full pot of soup. Add them to individual servings, that way everyone eating some can make their own spin on it. It is the new year and once all this crazy food is gone, I will make it again. Who couldn't stand to lose a few pounds, other than my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gsbstanley

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Perfect just as it is. I just always add extra Cinnamon and an egg wash on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States