Citrus Heights - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
We just made these for our neighborhood firefighters. They came out bland, nothing special about them at all. My 6-year-old said these are the "least good cookies" he has ever had. I guess the 3 cups of flour overpowers the brown sugar and vanilla, those don't come through at all. I know different ingredients, mixing time, and ovens can create a different result, so I'm sure others who rate this so high are not coming out with the same flavor. Didn't work for us, and we're about to go back to our old recipe to bring to the fire station.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread Rolls to Die For

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Absolutely excellent and very multi-purpose!!! I've been trying to figure out a way to be able to make just enough rolls for my husband and I, since we never eat the leftovers of a fully batch. I had an idea from frozen rolls my father-in-law had used, but I still wanted the from-scratch rolls I knew I could make. OH. MY. GOODNESS. These are exactly what I've been looking for! I decided to just risk it the first time and made a double batch, and it made about 30 rolls. I shaped all the dough, put two trays of a dozen each in the freezer and cooked the rest right away. We had the fresh ones with baked potatoes and turkey loaf, then the next day I thawed a few more to eat with soup and they came out perfectly (thawed for about an hour, I put them in the oven on warm and they rise nicely). As delicious as they are plain, the one that completely sold me was this morning when I decided to try a version of monkey bread in a muffin tin. I need to tweak the cooking time and portions per muffin, but it is SO YUMMY! and I'm ecstatic that I can make monkey bread in small amounts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was fantastic. Only thing I did different was I added 2 strips of bacon to the top prior to putting the brown sugar mixture on. It came out soooo good!!!! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Kollhopp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole III

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
just made this, it's really good but I gave it 4 stars because of the things I changed. I left out all the butter, only had about 8oz of sour cream on hand and a cup of grated cheese. I was surprised that there was no actual meat in the recipe so I boiled 2 large chicken breasts and shredded them up to add with the tots. I also sauteed the onion and added cayenne instead of paprika since my husband likes things spicy. He loves it, and the spice is not too bad for me (I'm a wimp). I topped it off with more grated cheese that hubby brought home, threw it under the broiler, and huzzah! Totally making this again. It's really good, I like it with a bit of ketchup, and I would probably add some bacon and call it a breakfast casserole :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
So, this is going to sound a little weird, but I just made this into a casserole. My kitchen is almost bare, but I had chicken breasts and my husband loves chicken cordon bleu, so I decided to try and cobble something together. Hubby gave it a "very good" so I thought I'd share! I followed the directions, for the most part, but I only had Buddig ham sandwich meat and some Irish cheddar or something (the wrapper is gone, so I'm not sure. It was just a very sharp cheese!). I doubled the recipe and used panko bread crumbs with the butter as a base in a 7x11 glass pan, chopped chicken next, and then my crazy ham & cheese mixture. As I said, I followed the directions, but didn't have Dijon so I mixed some yellow mustard with a bit of dry mustard. I poured/spooned the mix over the chicken and topped it off with another layer of panko, and in the oven it went! I like it fairly well myself, but I have a low spice tolerance so I'd probably do a little less mustard next time, and I admittedly went a little crazy with the panko XD but overall it's a success, more than just edible, and I definitely want to have it with french bread and "real" ham sometime!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Batter White Bread

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I was so glad to find this recipe, it is such a blessing! I have no mixer, no bread machine, and needed to work with very limited ingredients. This fit the bill perfectly. I followed the recipe, but I think I rushed it a bit and it could have risen a touch longer. As some other reviewers mentioned, my bread browned very quickly and I actually turned the oven off for the last ten minutes. I cut into a warm loaf and had a couple slices with butter and honey: awesome! I want to try using oil and less salt, as some reviews mentioned, and I might try wheat flour too. Overall I'm thinking this will replace store-bought bread for my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Michelle's Marvelous Mini Meat Loaves

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Just made this! I made a few changes: I sauteed the onion, and and added some minced garlic too. I put a couple dashes of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce, and put the loaves in a muffin tin :) I'm really, really happy with the results! The only problem I had was that I put a little too much of the sauce on top of the first tin load, so there wasn't enough for all of them. But they taste amaaaaaazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crepes with Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Filling

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is a good general recipe for crepes, allowing for a variety of substitutions in the filling. The bechemel brought the filling together wonderfully, but the sauce... I'm not sure how that was supposed to work. I followed the directions exactly and got a thin, runny, much too lemony liquid. It took about 10 minutes of constant whisking on medium heat to acheive enough thickening to call it a sauce. It wasn't terrible, but the lemon was overpowering and it had a slightly grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I went to get the ingredients for this recipe at the store, and when I got home I realized that I had forgotten the onion soup mix. OOps. So, instead, I used crushed red peppers just to give a little heat. NOT A LOT. It was really good. I would cook the chicken for an hour and a half to get the chicken more tender. I will cook it again with the onion soup mix next time and see how that goes. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April Fear

Cranberry or Pineapple Caramels

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The cranberry caramels are a little softer than the pineapple ones. Roll the cooled cranberry caramels into balls and chocolate dip them. They make a wonderful soft center chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Pizza Puffs

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
incrediblly fluffy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAdams1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My first try at making scones, and it went great! I used the beckygentile variation because I had chocolate chips, and more sour cream and sugar sounded good to me! I doubled the batch and just used a whole bag of regular chips instead of minis. I didn't need to flour the surface I put the dough on, and actually had a little pile of flour left over in the bowl, so I'll probably do scant cups next time. The texture was amazing with the extra sour cream and I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg and Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This recipe is awesome, especially when you use maple sausage. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was a super easy recipe for the 4 apples I had. I actually used 1/4 cup orange juice (from a fresh orange) and instead of the sugar I added a half cup of dried cranberries (sweetened). Turned out amazing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruxandra Niculescu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Great banana flavor without being over powering and super moist. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chip Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
These are the BEST cookies I've ever had. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Amazing! Super easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
very yummy, I made a double batch and got 4 dozen muffins. only problem I had was running out of the streusel about halfway through, but that usually happens with me and streusel :) the only thing I changed was that I added some quick oats to the streusel (about 1/2 cup, more or less). this was an attempt to make it go further, but it also made a yummy little crunch! oh, and I added a few dashes of cinnamon into the batter, too :) om nom nom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My husband really loved this sauce. He likes bold flavors but doesn't like heavy sauces...this was perfect for him. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States