Citrus Heights - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tater Tot Casserole III

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
just made this, it's really good but I gave it 4 stars because of the things I changed. I left out all the butter, only had about 8oz of sour cream on hand and a cup of grated cheese. I was surprised that there was no actual meat in the recipe so I boiled 2 large chicken breasts and shredded them up to add with the tots. I also sauteed the onion and added cayenne instead of paprika since my husband likes things spicy. He loves it, and the spice is not too bad for me (I'm a wimp). I topped it off with more grated cheese that hubby brought home, threw it under the broiler, and huzzah! Totally making this again. It's really good, I like it with a bit of ketchup, and I would probably add some bacon and call it a breakfast casserole :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
So, this is going to sound a little weird, but I just made this into a casserole. My kitchen is almost bare, but I had chicken breasts and my husband loves chicken cordon bleu, so I decided to try and cobble something together. Hubby gave it a "very good" so I thought I'd share! I followed the directions, for the most part, but I only had Buddig ham sandwich meat and some Irish cheddar or something (the wrapper is gone, so I'm not sure. It was just a very sharp cheese!). I doubled the recipe and used panko bread crumbs with the butter as a base in a 7x11 glass pan, chopped chicken next, and then my crazy ham & cheese mixture. As I said, I followed the directions, but didn't have Dijon so I mixed some yellow mustard with a bit of dry mustard. I poured/spooned the mix over the chicken and topped it off with another layer of panko, and in the oven it went! I like it fairly well myself, but I have a low spice tolerance so I'd probably do a little less mustard next time, and I admittedly went a little crazy with the panko XD but overall it's a success, more than just edible, and I definitely want to have it with french bread and "real" ham sometime!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Batter White Bread

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I was so glad to find this recipe, it is such a blessing! I have no mixer, no bread machine, and needed to work with very limited ingredients. This fit the bill perfectly. I followed the recipe, but I think I rushed it a bit and it could have risen a touch longer. As some other reviewers mentioned, my bread browned very quickly and I actually turned the oven off for the last ten minutes. I cut into a warm loaf and had a couple slices with butter and honey: awesome! I want to try using oil and less salt, as some reviews mentioned, and I might try wheat flour too. Overall I'm thinking this will replace store-bought bread for my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Michelle's Marvelous Mini Meat Loaves

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Just made this! I made a few changes: I sauteed the onion, and and added some minced garlic too. I put a couple dashes of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce, and put the loaves in a muffin tin :) I'm really, really happy with the results! The only problem I had was that I put a little too much of the sauce on top of the first tin load, so there wasn't enough for all of them. But they taste amaaaaaazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crepes with Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Filling

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is a good general recipe for crepes, allowing for a variety of substitutions in the filling. The bechemel brought the filling together wonderfully, but the sauce... I'm not sure how that was supposed to work. I followed the directions exactly and got a thin, runny, much too lemony liquid. It took about 10 minutes of constant whisking on medium heat to acheive enough thickening to call it a sauce. It wasn't terrible, but the lemon was overpowering and it had a slightly grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I went to get the ingredients for this recipe at the store, and when I got home I realized that I had forgotten the onion soup mix. OOps. So, instead, I used crushed red peppers just to give a little heat. NOT A LOT. It was really good. I would cook the chicken for an hour and a half to get the chicken more tender. I will cook it again with the onion soup mix next time and see how that goes. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April Fear

Cranberry or Pineapple Caramels

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The cranberry caramels are a little softer than the pineapple ones. Roll the cooled cranberry caramels into balls and chocolate dip them. They make a wonderful soft center chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Pizza Puffs

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
incrediblly fluffy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAdams1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My first try at making scones, and it went great! I used the beckygentile variation because I had chocolate chips, and more sour cream and sugar sounded good to me! I doubled the batch and just used a whole bag of regular chips instead of minis. I didn't need to flour the surface I put the dough on, and actually had a little pile of flour left over in the bowl, so I'll probably do scant cups next time. The texture was amazing with the extra sour cream and I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg and Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This recipe is awesome, especially when you use maple sausage. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was a super easy recipe for the 4 apples I had. I actually used 1/4 cup orange juice (from a fresh orange) and instead of the sugar I added a half cup of dried cranberries (sweetened). Turned out amazing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Great banana flavor without being over powering and super moist. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chip Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
These are the BEST cookies I've ever had. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Amazing! Super easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
very yummy, I made a double batch and got 4 dozen muffins. only problem I had was running out of the streusel about halfway through, but that usually happens with me and streusel :) the only thing I changed was that I added some quick oats to the streusel (about 1/2 cup, more or less). this was an attempt to make it go further, but it also made a yummy little crunch! oh, and I added a few dashes of cinnamon into the batter, too :) om nom nom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My husband really loved this sauce. He likes bold flavors but doesn't like heavy sauces...this was perfect for him. Easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I made this before going to class one night and when I got home it was gone! I'm assuming it's awesome since the family ate it all. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Potato Bites

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was a big hit with the fam!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferrcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee

Praline-Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe was relativly easy and so delicious. I made 10 of them so doubles the mousse recipe..My family loved eating the leftovers..and so did I. hehe I had some homemade caramel left from Halloween...so melted that, added pecans and a little caramel syrup. It worked awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States