Chico, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Awesome! Great flavor,moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leftover Ham -n- Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was a very tasty and hearty meal!! I was looking for a recipe to use for leftover ham and this one is a keeper! It's quick and easy and my fiance loved it. The only thing I changed was that I added about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and some green beans. Thanks for the recipe! *Update* I had this next day and added salt to it and it was PERFECT! I thought the ham would be salty enough and didn't want to oversalt it...I was wrong. Add extra salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikishep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Eggs II

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
These were fantastic! Although I did make a few adjustments after reading the reviews. I used only 3 cups confectioners sugar and 1/2 cup butter. I also used Hershey's Milk Chocolate chips instead, because the semi-sweet is far too bitter for my liking as a candy coating. By using the milk chocolate they came out very similar to Reese's peanut butter eggs! For the adults I drizzled white chocolate on top for decoration, and I wrote names on the other eggs for the kids with frosting. *Frosting tip if you DON'T have pastry bags* Place colored frosting in a Ziploc, remove excess air and seal. Carefully cut the bottom corner off and you'll end up with a small hole for the frosting to flow through for decorating. Also, make sure you use Ziploc brand bags as cheaper bags tend to rip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikishep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corned Beef Hash

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent & so simple! Husband thought he didn't like corned beef hash, until I made this for breakfast! I added a dash of worsteshire and a sprinkle of garlic powder. Crisped up the hash in a little olive oil and served with poached eggs and sour rye bread. Wish we had more leftover corned beef to make this with. Thank you sharing this simple, easy, and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Basic Pound Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Tasty, but there's no way this serves 24. Now I have to find a new recipe and start baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori GloryToGod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Apple Crumble

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
One of the reviewers mentioned having this for breakfast, so this morning I made this for brunch. I served it hot out of the oven with non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt and it was terrific. I only had three small Granny Smith apples, so I halved the recipe. I tossed the apples with cinnamon and two packets of Splenda. I didn't halve the topping recipe and in fact added 1/4 cup rolled oats to wheat flour. I also added 2 tablespoons oat bran, since I didn't have any nuts, and used brown sugar-blend Splenda. I increased the margarine to 2 tablespoons to compensate for the lack of almonds, but used spray (liquid) margarine. I didn't have coconut, so I sprinkled 2 tablespoons of Craisins over the apples before I added the topping. I baked it for 45 minutes with the cover on, 15 minutes with the cover off. I loved this dish and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaynneuter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My family LOVED these! They were the best I have ever tasted!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thaddea

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good! This made easily 6 servings. I added sauteed mushrooms and frozen broccoli to the pasta water. Easy to make this your own with endless options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We loved this! I used granulated garlic. The leftovers were great on top of salads and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Chicken Parmigiana

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Easy and wonderful! I threw out my previous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Mushroom Onion Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was great! I added 8 oz fresh mushrooms to the onion, plus a clove of crushed garlic and sauteed before adding to the 9x13 dish. Also forgot the marjoram. Thanks for sharing this JMD! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Valentine's Day Steak Rub

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Perfect timing!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was awesome! Everyone raved about it. Definitely will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili con Carne II

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Awesome! I've made this many times, always great! Tonight I used red onion and yellow and orange bell peppers, since I had them on hand. We went for seconds! Thanks for sharing Hank's Mom!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Super easy, delicious and nutritious! Perfect for a rainy Sunday afternoon. I served with cornbread and it was wonderful. I followed directions exactly (except I had extra cup of dried lentils so I tossed them in too. Next time I'll experiment with adding other vegetables as suggested by others. Soup was great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Never Fail Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These turned out pretty good. I doubled the recipe, and in place of 4 coups of white flower, I used 2 cups of whole wheat flower and 2 cups white. It needs some extra salt, so be mindful of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
OMG!!! This was awesome! I followed the advice of previous reviewers and dredged the chicken in flour and started the sauce before the chicken to thicken and added after searing. The flour soaked up a lot of sauce, so next time I may double it. Thank you kate for sharing this, I will make this many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Friday Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. We had no green beans or green bean casserole left over. Instead I used leftover roasted vegetables and also leftover sliced cooked carrots. I followed other suggestions and reversed the potatoes and stuffing positions. I also put cranberry sauce on half the pie, as suggested. I liked the cranberry but my husband did not. Finally I sprinkled some shredded cheddar cheese on top. Delicious way to serve leftovers without a lot of different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Quinoa-Cranberry Salad with Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I added feta cheese to give this recipe a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdbrannan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States