Chico, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
The PERFECT snickerdoodle recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie.tack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colfax, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese, Garlic, and Chive Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was pretty good but the meat was a bit bland. If I make it again I would marinate the chicken first in some garlic with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Apple Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I added the spices as suggested, used chicken broth instead of water ad doubled the liquids. Absolutely awesome meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cold Green Bean Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I have been making this dish for a very long time. I usually make my own dressing, which I think is tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fierro Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Excellent! Will make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple, Cranberry, and Pear Crisp

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Delicious. I used all pears since we have an abundance of pears from our tree. Since they were ripe and sweet, I skipped the honey and used about half the brown sugar. I also used only 1/4 stick of butter. We all enjoyed this with some ice cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Quick Sunshine Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is my all time favorite cake. It is so moist, but it is light and overly sweet. I hate traditional frosting and will wipe it off, but this one will have you going back for more. Hands down the best cake recipe ever! My mom has added toasted coconut to the frosting a few times, but other than that no alterations are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Southern Fried Chicken Gizzards

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious, crispy, oniony flavored goodness. My husband and I have really crossed over to the dark side :) We were vegetarians (he for 11 years, me for 5) and now here we are eating deepfried chicken gizzards for dinner! :) Very tasty, boiling them for 2 1/2 hours sure felt like a long time. I cooked ours for 1 1/2 hours, then fried in batches at 375. Made a spicy dipping sauce of mayo, ketchup, hot sauce, garlic and onion powder and lemon juice. It was totally delicious. I served it with a green salad lightly dressed with a homemade mustard vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by JasBradley

Rainbow Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I didn't make all the jello at one time, I made 2 at a time, just like other reviewers suggested. Turned out pretty good and people really liked it. I added coolwhip to the top with sliced kiwis and quartered strawberries. Used it at a birthday cake type dessert for my husband's grandmother's 86th birthday :) I also mixed it up and used different flavors: berry blue, mango, fruit punch, lemon, lime and cherry lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
So delicious!! Was one of the first things to go at a BBQ recently :) This is my husband's favorite side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Loosemeat Sandwiches III

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
These were tasty. I hadn't ever had one before, so I have no frame of reference. Ever since Roseanne I've wanted to try these. Glad I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Pretty good - I thought it was an OK, quick meal that I wouldn't mind making again. My husband thought it was awesome, so this will go on the "cowboy approved" list of meals. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Ricotta Stuffed Squash

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Very tasty! I used home-canned marinara instead of canned tomato sauce and used only one egg instead of two. Other than that, I added all the other ingredients as written. I thought this was super flavorful and was a quick weeknight dinner. Next time I may melt some mozzarella or provolone on top. Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Becel® Cheddar Broccoli Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was OK; I liked the addition of the dijon but it just wasn't cheesy enough and needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Excellent flavor! I marinated the chicken overnight and used Greek yogurt. The meat wasn't tough as all, as other's mentioned, maybe it's the different type of yogurt. Next time I'll just grill whole breasts instead of kebabs and will also puree the marinade as other's suggested. Lastly, I will try setting aside some of the blended marinade (before adding the chicken) to save for dipping. Thanks for sharing, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Broccoli-Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was OK, a little tough and needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I made cupcakes with this recipe yesterday to test out for my sons first b-day next month, they were really tasty but did come out a little dry even though I onled baked for 12minutes and added an extra 1/4 cup of milk. Overall they were yummy and I would like to make a 2 layer 9in cake with it but not sure if I should double or triple the recipe. any advice? also anyone think buttermilk would be better in this recipe and might help with the dryness? I know nothing about baking and just started recently to make baked good without a box so Im I always reading advice on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Point Mugu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Burgers

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Awesome! This and a small salad is for than enough for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Delicious. Crock pot all day and great meal tonight. Servedwith Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I adjusted a bit to make them a bit more healthy and they were still delicious. Substituted whole wheat pastry flour. Used dry buttermilk and added water, used 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup applesauce instead of vegetable oil, and added 2 Tbsp flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States