Chico, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Excellent! We have topped these with blood oranges from a neighbor's tree and it sooo worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Almond Cookies I

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
My husband and I loved these cookies. I used 1 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 3/4 cup ground almonds and 3 Tbsp of Chocolate Amaretto Liqueur (that's what I had). And as others suggested I rolled dough into balls sprinkled tops with a bit of sugar and pressed with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I have made a similar recipe for years; however, I've gotten where I don't even both with the milk. The sour cream is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A couple of minor changes, roasted a head of garlic with the cauliflower. Sauteed the onion in canola oil rather than butter. I didn't have any sherry so I added a bit of white wine (Riesling) instead. Delicious, the whole family enjoyed it. *********************************************************************** I made this again last night. This time I roasted half of a large red pepper (cut in strips) with the cauliflower and 3 heads of garlic. I thought adding the red pepper would give a little bit of flavor but more importantly a little more color so the finished soup did not look like oatmeal as other readers complained. It was also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Mini Meatball Subs

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I thought they were really good. Next time I think I will make the meatballs bitesize, add more salt and maybe italian seasoning. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We loved it! I I roasted the squash first along with a couple of whole garlic heads. (Cut the squash and scooped out seeds, cut the garlic in half then brushed olive oil across tops of squash and garlic, sprinkled a bit of salt and pepper, put cut side down in a pan and baked at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes). The roasting of garlic and squash was from a different recipe. I had them roasting when I found this recipe. I only used one 8 oz package of reduced fat cream cheese. I added a little bit of non fat sour cream when serving and then enjoyed! Oh so good! Husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The batter was very thick and didn't spread into a nice cicular pancake but the flavor was great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I loved this. It was so simple to make and delicious. I ommitted the celery because my husband doesnt like and next time I think I will try to add mushrooms. The gravy was thin more like the consistancy of au jus so next time I will try two packets. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple the Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Groan!!! Oh so good! If you don't at least REALLY like ginger, don't bother making them :) I chop the crystallized ginger pretty finely, but even the occasional bigger chunk is still lovely and delicious to me. My boyfriend is not a huge gingersnap fan, but I couldn't keep his hand out of the cookie jar after making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flecka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Amazing!! I used frozen meatballs. It couldn't be easier or tastier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gouda and Spinach Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I ommitted the horseradish/mustard because my husband doesn't like it and instead used an egg wash before coating with panko crumbs. I baked on a cooling rack atop a cookie sheet and turned half way through baking so the panko was crispy on both sides. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stefani

Chocolate Cream Pie II

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe many times, and it always turns out great!! It is super easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Super moist and delicious. We really enjoyed this cake and found that it was rather quick to whip up. I added an extra cup of shredded carrots and left out the nuts, coconut and raisins. For the frosting, I used 1 1/2 bricks of cream cheese and about 1 pound of powdered sugar, plus a couple teaspoons vanilla. Extremely yummy and we'll definitely make this again. I think next time I'll add the nuts though. I also baked in 2 8" round cake pans for exactly 30 minutes which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Persimmon Bread I

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Tasted good! Didn't have much persimmon flavor, which is my preference - I have a persimmon tree so I was trying to be good and use them up even though I don't particularly care for the flavor of the fruit. This was very easy to make. I added about a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and subbed dried cranberries for raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Slow Cooker Turkey Legs

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
What a great way to cook Thanksgiving style turkey on any night of the week. I cooked 3 legs, which ranged from sorta small to pretty darn big, for 6 hours. They were all tender and moist. The skin was gross though, so you definitely want to remove it before serving these for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I toss the ingredients into the crock pot for a couple hours & it comes out nice, thick, & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarinErin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Speedy Oven Fudge

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
It's very good, and easy. I recommend sifting the powdered sugar, since you end up with lumps if you don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
The PERFECT snickerdoodle recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie.tack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colfax, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese, Garlic, and Chive Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was pretty good but the meat was a bit bland. If I make it again I would marinate the chicken first in some garlic with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States