Chico, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Holy moly! These are GOOOD! Everyone at work raved about these! I did as some of the reviews suggested: ~ Definitely double the recipe & use a 13x9 pan. These WILL disappear quickly! ~ I melted the butter in a pan over the stove, allowed it to cool a few minutes, & then mixed everything in by hand with a wooden spoon. Mix as little as possible in order to get nice, gooey brownies! ~ I melted the butter for the frosting, too, & also used only 1/2 c. powdered sugar. I didn't have any honey, so I substituted light corn syrup instead. It was easy to drizzle on, & never fully hardened, again giving us the yummy delicious melt-in-your-mouth brownies. It's so easy, & SOOO delicious, that I don't think I'll do boxed brownies ever again. DEFINITELY keeping this recipe! THANK YOU! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarinErin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Football Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was good but really, really salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Asiago Toasted Cheese Puffs

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is super easy and would be great if you need an app in under ten minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Easy Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I just made the recipe and loved them the way they are. Am taking them to a pinochle party of 12 and will share the recipe with the women. Betty F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty
Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I doubled my recipe for a huge BBQ, and it was oh so yummy!!!! I used red onions instead of white, and apple cider vinegar, accidentally put too much vinegar, but I still love it. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Wonderful!! This is a refreshing way to gussy up quinoa for all vegans and food lovers alike. Wouldn't change a thing....maybe I'd double the recipe so there'd be more leftovers for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicoGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fries

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Turned out delish - used olive oil, garlic salt, sugar, and pepper and turned down the heat to 425.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Scramble

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I have made a similar recipe (my own) many times. Depending on what I have available, I use any and/or all the listed ingredients, and sometimes add sliced ripe olives, mushrooms, chopped bell pepper (any color). I refer to it as a Garbaqe Fritatta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I've made this recipe many times, as-is, and it turns out a very moist, heavy loaf. I've been told by guests that it was the best banana bread they ever had. No complaints here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Cranberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Excellent! We have topped these with blood oranges from a neighbor's tree and it sooo worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Almond Cookies I

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
My husband and I loved these cookies. I used 1 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 3/4 cup ground almonds and 3 Tbsp of Chocolate Amaretto Liqueur (that's what I had). And as others suggested I rolled dough into balls sprinkled tops with a bit of sugar and pressed with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I have made a similar recipe for years; however, I've gotten where I don't even both with the milk. The sour cream is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A couple of minor changes, roasted a head of garlic with the cauliflower. Sauteed the onion in canola oil rather than butter. I didn't have any sherry so I added a bit of white wine (Riesling) instead. Delicious, the whole family enjoyed it. *********************************************************************** I made this again last night. This time I roasted half of a large red pepper (cut in strips) with the cauliflower and 3 heads of garlic. I thought adding the red pepper would give a little bit of flavor but more importantly a little more color so the finished soup did not look like oatmeal as other readers complained. It was also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Mini Meatball Subs

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I thought they were really good. Next time I think I will make the meatballs bitesize, add more salt and maybe italian seasoning. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We loved it! I I roasted the squash first along with a couple of whole garlic heads. (Cut the squash and scooped out seeds, cut the garlic in half then brushed olive oil across tops of squash and garlic, sprinkled a bit of salt and pepper, put cut side down in a pan and baked at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes). The roasting of garlic and squash was from a different recipe. I had them roasting when I found this recipe. I only used one 8 oz package of reduced fat cream cheese. I added a little bit of non fat sour cream when serving and then enjoyed! Oh so good! Husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The batter was very thick and didn't spread into a nice cicular pancake but the flavor was great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I loved this. It was so simple to make and delicious. I ommitted the celery because my husband doesnt like and next time I think I will try to add mushrooms. The gravy was thin more like the consistancy of au jus so next time I will try two packets. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple the Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Groan!!! Oh so good! If you don't at least REALLY like ginger, don't bother making them :) I chop the crystallized ginger pretty finely, but even the occasional bigger chunk is still lovely and delicious to me. My boyfriend is not a huge gingersnap fan, but I couldn't keep his hand out of the cookie jar after making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flecka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Amazing!! I used frozen meatballs. It couldn't be easier or tastier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gouda and Spinach Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was delicious! I ommitted the horseradish/mustard because my husband doesn't like it and instead used an egg wash before coating with panko crumbs. I baked on a cooling rack atop a cookie sheet and turned half way through baking so the panko was crispy on both sides. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States