Chico, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Make-Ahead Baked Egg Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These are delicious. I made two batches. The first with toasted English muffins, ham and Kraft American singles. I seasoned the eggs with salt, pepper and a sprinkle of garlic powder. To toast the English muffins I split a dozen of them and toasted them under the broiler on a baking sheet. I thought they turned out excellent, though I did have to cook the eggs for about 16-18 minutes and not 8-10 minutes as indicated in the recipe. For the 2nd batch I used Pillsbury home-style biscuits and to the raw eggs I added a pound of browned, drained and cooled Jimmy Dean sage sausage and then baked the egg/sausage mix for about 15 minutes. Then I assembled them with a square of sausagy egg, a Kraft American single and the biscuit. Also delicious! I prefer the English muffin version, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Shuk Shuka

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I made this for breakfast with a couple pieces of wheat bread as I didn't have pita bread. Not only delicious and healthy but an excellent way to use up the abundance of our summer garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Even easier, if you are grilling outside, such as steak, chicken, pork, etc, just take whole pods and grill them along side the main dish. They come out slightly chewy (dry) with a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Boats on the Grill

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
How can people say this is time consuming? I make grilled zucchini al the time and time consuming it is not. Throw it in the microwave for 5 minutes when done scoop out very little. Then throw it on the grill. Baste it with butter and garlic. When done flip over add bacon bread crumbs and cheese. Close the grill and in 2 more minutes you have heaven. Ok, now onto this recipe. I made it exactly as written. It was good and different. The only reason I give 4 stars is because I hate soggy bacon. Next time I will put it on the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
The only pancakes we eat :) love, love, love this recipe. It's easy and delicious and we always have the ingredients needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Awesome!! Doubled the butter because everyone else said they did, too, not sure if it was necessary. My husband prefers Bisquick dumplings but loved these! He said they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Easy Corn Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

French Onion Soup Gratinee

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Oh wow!! One of the first recipes I did not change a thing.. And followed the exact directions.. So Amazing!! served with TriTip sandwiches and the meal was out of this world! Yes, it's full of salt but I am one of those few that would rather live and eat instead of being miserable with bland foods..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I only rate recipes I love and this is one of them. My hubby seeks out Tortilla Soup at restaurants and is never happy with the outcome. I happened to come across this recipe and now its a staple in our house. Its such a versatile recipe. I have made it by the directions exactly the first time and then the second I added more cumin, cayenne pepper and green chills. It made the recipe even better. I always boil my chicken, shred it and add it to the onions with garlic, celery and carrots. Then season them with the cumin chili powder and garlic powder. Then I add the broth green chills rice and corn, Thank you so much for an easy changeable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Fresh Asparagus Soup II

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Excellent! Perfect soup for Ash Wednesday when asparagus is on sale. And using my immersion blender makes it so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Wow, you nailed it! My mom made this all the time while growing up. And we always begged for it. Meredith has it spot on. Except a few things. Double it, add 1 tbs of ginger. No salt! Soy sauce has enough. Here is the key. Grab your party wings and marinate them all day. Then use the remaining marinade to baste the chicken. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I love these for when I'm looking for something simple and mild. I love spicy but the kids don't. Add 1 cup salsa, pepper jack cheese, or spicy green chilies instead of the mild. We all love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this recipe first exactly as written on a busy weeknight, and it was good. We all liked it, and the left overs were all eaten. I did use a few less noodles because we like it saucy. The second time I made I sautéed green peppers, celery, onions, and mushrooms in the beef, added some garlic and Italian seasoning to the meat and veggie mixture, then deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine. I then added the jar of spaghetti sauce. I would only do this for company or on weekend when I have more time, but it was EXCELLENT! It turned it from good, to amazing. I was trying to use up the veggies so they wouldn't go bad, and it made a world of difference. My kids said it was the best spaghetti they'd ever had. They are 4 and 6 year old boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I make this all the time but add carrots and broccoli. I usually make it for lunches for the entire week by having 2 zip locks, and a bottle for the dressing. Put all "crunchy" items in a bad, ramen, almonds, sesame seeds. Then put all veggies in a separate bag that way nothing looses it's crunch. Bring the dressing along and toss before eating! If I add chicken I can easily get a weeks worth of healthy salads out of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this exactly as is and have some stored so it's very handy! I also do a lot of freezer cooking so I cut up my chicken and steak strips, put in 2 heaping TBSP of seasoning, juice of 1 lime, and 1/8 cup corn oil and froze it in its own marinade. The results are wonderful and can thaw in the fridge if you take it out the night before, no need to add any kind of oil to sauté the onions and peppers in because there is enough left over from doing the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Tasted pretty good and was easy to make. I used neufchatel cheese which is the lower fat cream cheese and I wouldn't recommend that because it created a texture that was a bit grainy. This also could use some salt. I think anyway, I'm pregnant and I think my taste buds changed a bit. I definitely added a lot of salt :) I will still make this because, as the title indicates, it is quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I was looking for a recipe to use leftover ham. This caught my eye and with all ingredients on hand, except for peas it was worth a try. Delicious. I did substitute almond milk for regular milk. My husband loved them and is looking forward to leftovers tomorrow - he says Scalloped Potatoes are always better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Chilaquiles II

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I appreciated the recipe. I ended up doing a little tweaking of my own based on other reviews. I sprayed with butter flavored spray three whole wheat flour tortillas (that's what I had on hand)and baked them in oven until crispy. Sprayed a pan and cooked a whole chopped onion until soft and golden. Then added the eggs and the tortillas cut in strips. Next was some enchilada sauce I had left over and some salsa with it. When eggs were mostly finished, I added chopped leftover cooked chicken breasts and the shredded cheese over the top and covered to finish cooking. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Delicious tasting as is, but is way too thick. I added about a 1/2-2/3 cup milk to thin it out enough to pour and it was still very thick. Also added about a tablespoon of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Candy Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delish!!! Followed suggestions in the reviews- made sure the whites were really stiff and I baked them about 30 minutes. I tried adding cocoa powder to the mix, and wow!! I also found stirring them right out of the oven and sprinkling more sugar/cocoa while there was still a tiny bit of moisture gave them a tasty powdery coating. For future baking I want to try cinnamon and also a second coating and round of baking for a candy coating. Will probably rotate through the options just for tasty variety as the powdery finish was fabulous too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flecka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States