Chico, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe as is and changed out veggies depending on what I had on hand. My favorite addition so far is 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper. It freezes so well that I love that it makes such a huge batch!!! It's amazing, you won't regret making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I found this a couple years ago and we have loved it every time! My kids can barely wait for it to cool down enough to eat it! I always triple the recipe and put it in the crockpot on high for 3-4 hours. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Ham and Split Pea Soup Recipe - A Great Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
As always chef johns recipe is the best. I've made mine similar to this for years, but I loved the addition of the garlic, and I add shredded carrot. It's a winner everytime, since I eat this soup way more often then I have ham bones left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Great versital recipe. If anyone has made soup before without recipes they would know leaving out the tomato base does not make it minestrone. It makes it chicken soup.. Cracks me up how people change things so much and then rate. I have my own version of minestrone I made up long ago. I had everything on hand left over from a winter garden for this one so gave it a go. Yes, I changed vegetables for our liking. But the base was the same. Yummy it was. Similar to mine only instead of tomato sauce I use half chicken and half pasta sauce. I do think the pasta sauce makes it thicker and packs more flavor but this way is just as good and will be put in my rotation. Minestrone is my favorite soup and I make it more then others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I changed it up slightly. I added potatoes as well and basil, rosemary and thyme to the sauce, and I made more sauce than it called for by about half. My family devoured this thing. Seriously yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristiane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Taco Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
A huge hut with my kids and visiting grandparents! Only change was to put a can of enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan and stirred in the 8oz of salsa into the meat mixture instead of the taco seasoning (I didn't realize I was out). But the mix up was so good that I'm leaving it like that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Chicken and Stuffing Skillet

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I cube the chicken so I don't have to cut it up for small kids later. I add garlic and onion, then too with Frenches Fried Onions and there is always empty plates! This is a favorite of the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Easy Cream of Chicken Rice Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used 1 cup heavy cream and a little more seasoning, it was wonderful! The kids and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Vegan Split Pea Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This has been my go to split pea soup recipe for a couple of years. I use vegetable broth instead of water and usually end up using at least 4 cups more broth as the peas, barley and potatoes take on moisture and thicken. This soup is a winner and it's incredibly nutritious as well as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicoGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chicken Enchilada Slow-Cooker Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I halved it, added dried onion, garlic, and cumin. I also used fat free soup, and extra sharp cheese. I put it in th oven for 35-40 min because of time. It was great and kids loved it. It's just 3 of us, so I have the perfect amount left for 2 lunches for me this week. Next time I'll try the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Cranberry Orange Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Excellent and very easy to make. I subbed the zest of a navel orange plus the juice of half of it for the can of mandarins. The berries are tart but it's great with the sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Killer Crackers

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Impossible dough to handle. Extremely sticky, even stuck to the parchment paper. The end result was doughy/chewy and revolting. The taste was cloying. I ended up tearing up the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Dunkly
Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I've made it several times, only things I've ever changed was to add some green onions and garlic. But it's amazing with to without those add-ins! Try this, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Klimper
Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I did sweet potato instead of potato. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Dunkly
Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Baked Egg Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These are delicious. I made two batches. The first with toasted English muffins, ham and Kraft American singles. I seasoned the eggs with salt, pepper and a sprinkle of garlic powder. To toast the English muffins I split a dozen of them and toasted them under the broiler on a baking sheet. I thought they turned out excellent, though I did have to cook the eggs for about 16-18 minutes and not 8-10 minutes as indicated in the recipe. For the 2nd batch I used Pillsbury home-style biscuits and to the raw eggs I added a pound of browned, drained and cooled Jimmy Dean sage sausage and then baked the egg/sausage mix for about 15 minutes. Then I assembled them with a square of sausagy egg, a Kraft American single and the biscuit. Also delicious! I prefer the English muffin version, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Shuk Shuka

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I made this for breakfast with a couple pieces of wheat bread as I didn't have pita bread. Not only delicious and healthy but an excellent way to use up the abundance of our summer garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Even easier, if you are grilling outside, such as steak, chicken, pork, etc, just take whole pods and grill them along side the main dish. They come out slightly chewy (dry) with a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Boats on the Grill

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
How can people say this is time consuming? I make grilled zucchini al the time and time consuming it is not. Throw it in the microwave for 5 minutes when done scoop out very little. Then throw it on the grill. Baste it with butter and garlic. When done flip over add bacon bread crumbs and cheese. Close the grill and in 2 more minutes you have heaven. Ok, now onto this recipe. I made it exactly as written. It was good and different. The only reason I give 4 stars is because I hate soggy bacon. Next time I will put it on the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkeygirlzcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
The only pancakes we eat :) love, love, love this recipe. It's easy and delicious and we always have the ingredients needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Awesome!! Doubled the butter because everyone else said they did, too, not sure if it was necessary. My husband prefers Bisquick dumplings but loved these! He said they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States