Carlsbad, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Great recipe. Pick the salsa depending on how spicy you want it. When I've been out of salsa I have used fire roasted tomatoes instead with just a few spices include a little red pepper. This is my go-to recipe for Spanish rice on taco night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Croutons

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I couldn't believe something simple came out so good!! Crispy with great flavor. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sicilian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Soooo good! I omitted the fennel seeds and celery just because I don't care for the flavor. I used fire roasted tomatoes for extra flavor. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I will definitely make this again. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Salmon in Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
UH-MAZING!!! This made the salmon filets so moist and juic, which I have found a problem with other recipes. I didn't change a thing! Would definitely make again!! Even the kids thought it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
i loved the way the chicken came out. Super moist and melt in your mouth!! I did not use the cumin or chili powder because I feel it gives it that processed " taco seasoning" flavor. Instead of tomato sauce used salsa. Before I added the chicken I sautéed chopped garlic and half an onion. I also used onion powder and garlic powder to taste. I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Brown Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The dough was very sweet as well pretty gooey and on the thinner side. I refrigerated it for about 45 minutes until viscous enough to roll and hold together. I was concerned that they were too rich, but once they baked the flavor evened out nicely. I Baked them for 9 minutes on a light cookie sheet with wax paper and one darker cookie sheet with wax paper. The lighter cookie sheet cookies were super soft on the bottom. I had to flip them over and bake for an additional 6 minutes at 2 minute intervals to insure they didn't burn. The darker cookie sheet cookies came out better, slightly golden brown on the bottom. Flavor was good but I didn't love the texture. These were a little too light and "airy". Think I'll look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Sauteed Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Good flavor, but not convincing enough for my kids to love it. I personally would make these again. I did steam them x5 minutes. They were a little too soft. I will definitely steam them for a little less time, as aldente is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Whoopie Pies

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very disappointed with the recipe. I grew up in Pennsylvania eating whoopie pies (or gobs, as we called them on my end of the state), but had never actually made one. These tasted nothing like the ones I was used to. The filling was not good. I should have known better. Marshmallow cream? Ew. You are probably better off Googling "Pennsylvania Dutch Whoopie Pie" and getting a real recipe. I should have done this in the first place, but with a 5-star rating (allrecipes.com never failed me before), I gave it a shot. Definitely not what I was hoping for. Maybe if I find a good recipe, I'll post it on here. (Side note: I doubled the filling as suggested--it was wayyyy too much! If you do use this recipe, use the suggested amount.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bringuier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I didn't change this much. 2 onions instead of 1; 1/2 pound of sliced mushrooms; 2 pods fresh garlic instead of garlic powder - sauteed with chicken; 1/8 C. white wine added to the sauce; a couple shakes of italian seasoning; a bit extra salt; twice the pasta; I thickened the sauce with a little flour mixed with water then I just spooned the sauce over the pasta - I didn't not mix it together. It was very good. I would make it again. There still seems to be something missing. I think next time I may cut some cherry tomatoes in half and add them at the end, heating just enought to warm through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altheimer, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Apricot Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This comes together so quick and is absolutely delicious. I've served to company and it is elegant, but also great for a weeknight family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The first time I made them by the exact recipe. I will give 3 stars for the consistency and because many of us had to tweak the recipe for some simple ingredient measurements that cause big production problems.. Much too wet. Had to keep adding flour and knead it into the dough as well as frequently dusting the rolling pin. It stuck to the rolling pin as well as my cutting board. They were difficult to scrape off the surface to transfer to the cookie sheet. They tasted pretty good, but not very sweet. The second time around I followed the advice to up the sugar (I only added half cup), and I added another half cup of flour as well. The dough feels firmer & less sticky. Waiting for them to chill overnight......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Breakfast

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I saw this recipe last night and made it this morning. We are a SCD family so I used almond bread which I make and it was delicious! The avocados came from a friends tree, Yum. The bread was the only thing I changed, We LOVED it and will make it again. Thanks for posting Britty . Shay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Great recipe. Family loved the freshness of the dish. I do agree with some reviews to add white wine and use a thin pasta like angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leucadialady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Knowing our taste, added some carrots, celery and mushrooms. I can't say this was my favorite. However, I do think it would make the good filling for a pot pie, but as a casserole I wasn't thrilled. Just left some of my tastebuds unfulfilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altheimer, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe was fantastic they tasted amazing. A little tip make sure there are no cracks in the cookie because the jam spilled out of the cracks while it was baking but some of them were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Waffles I

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I judged the waffles by the picture, big mistake. Sure when I made them they looked and smelled fantastic but when you try them....not so appetizing. The waffle tasted strange, it was sweet but in a bad way. So I rated this recipe 2 stars because they tasted like a bad chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fiesta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Yummo!!!! I took one persons idea, cutting the chicken breast into strips and marinated it in 1/2 the fajita seasoning and about 1 tablespoon olive oil. As the chicken cooked, I doused it with a little lime juice. To the salad, I added cilantro and chopped green bell pepper. I used thinly sliced purple onion. Everything else stayed the same. I served it with cheese quesadillas. To make these, I spread a thin layer of mayonnaise on one side of a tortilla put the tortilla in a non-stick frying pan - mayo side down, spread tortilla with shredded cheese, and cover with another tortilla with mayo spread on the outside. I toasted on both sides and cut into slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altheimer, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
these were ok... not fantastic the cookies itself was dry and almost flavorless But awesome idea to put mint chocolate on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crumble Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
FREAKING AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ugh..but my parents thought it was a tad sweet but everyone else liked it I made this for a party they had and it was a hit! it was all gone by the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This one I made for Mother's Day. It turned out OK... But make sure you put the right amount of eggs and baking soda and baking powder! I know I;m someone who just likes to guesstimate and put like a dash or something. THAT DID NOT WORK WELL it didn't rise high enough for me to cut it into layers. The frosting was too sweet I only added 4 cups of powdered sugar and it was still pretty sweet. Its best to use another recipe for the frosting. But If you follow the directions and make good changes to the frosting it will probably turn out way better than mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States