Carlsbad, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This was just fabulous! I did add some white wine. I peeled and chopped potatoes and put them around the edges. My family all gave it five stars, and my youngest son was disappointed the star system only went up to five, as he deemed it a ten star recipe! :) It was really great served with steamed rainbow carrots and a can of pears, actually, as I couldn't find any applesauce. Wonderful! Highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surferess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Surferess

Easy No-Bake Butterfinger® and Peanut Butter Pretzel Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This was delicious. I did make a couple of changes. I didn't have butterfingers, but I remembered they were made with Captain Crunch Cereal, so I added Capt. Crunch instead of the cereal and candy bars. I also bumped up the peanut butter to 1/2 cup and the pretzels up to 2 cups (since I was taking out the Chex) to make it more nutritious, and sent them with my hubby on an eight day bike ride. All his friends thought I was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surferess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Pick the barbecue sauce that you like, it makes a big difference to the flavor. The pork cooked up tender and juicy.?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by popHayes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pernil Pork

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I was worried that so few ingredients would equal minimal flavor, but I was wrong. Tons of flavor, and I skipped the ancho chile. I used a pork loin roast because that's what I had. I should have used a shoulder or something fattier, because my meat was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by New to cooking

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Turned a regular Sunday afternoon hotdog into a fun foodies meal! I used bread flower (cause it's all I had) and it very rich full buns! Also brushed it with egg and dusted with sesame seeds to put it really over the top! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New to cooking

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Great recipe. Pick the salsa depending on how spicy you want it. When I've been out of salsa I have used fire roasted tomatoes instead with just a few spices include a little red pepper. This is my go-to recipe for Spanish rice on taco night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Croutons

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I couldn't believe something simple came out so good!! Crispy with great flavor. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sicilian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Soooo good! I omitted the fennel seeds and celery just because I don't care for the flavor. I used fire roasted tomatoes for extra flavor. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I will definitely make this again. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
i loved the way the chicken came out. Super moist and melt in your mouth!! I did not use the cumin or chili powder because I feel it gives it that processed " taco seasoning" flavor. Instead of tomato sauce used salsa. Before I added the chicken I sautéed chopped garlic and half an onion. I also used onion powder and garlic powder to taste. I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Brown Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The dough was very sweet as well pretty gooey and on the thinner side. I refrigerated it for about 45 minutes until viscous enough to roll and hold together. I was concerned that they were too rich, but once they baked the flavor evened out nicely. I Baked them for 9 minutes on a light cookie sheet with wax paper and one darker cookie sheet with wax paper. The lighter cookie sheet cookies were super soft on the bottom. I had to flip them over and bake for an additional 6 minutes at 2 minute intervals to insure they didn't burn. The darker cookie sheet cookies came out better, slightly golden brown on the bottom. Flavor was good but I didn't love the texture. These were a little too light and "airy". Think I'll look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Sauteed Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Good flavor, but not convincing enough for my kids to love it. I personally would make these again. I did steam them x5 minutes. They were a little too soft. I will definitely steam them for a little less time, as aldente is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mama's Whoopie Pies

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very disappointed. These tasted nothing like the ones I was used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bringuier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I didn't change this much. 2 onions instead of 1; 1/2 pound of sliced mushrooms; 2 pods fresh garlic instead of garlic powder - sauteed with chicken; 1/8 C. white wine added to the sauce; a couple shakes of italian seasoning; a bit extra salt; twice the pasta; I thickened the sauce with a little flour mixed with water then I just spooned the sauce over the pasta - I didn't not mix it together. It was very good. I would make it again. There still seems to be something missing. I think next time I may cut some cherry tomatoes in half and add them at the end, heating just enought to warm through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altheimer, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Apricot Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This comes together so quick and is absolutely delicious. I've served to company and it is elegant, but also great for a weeknight family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The first time I made them by the exact recipe. I will give 3 stars for the consistency and because many of us had to tweak the recipe for some simple ingredient measurements that cause big production problems.. Much too wet. Had to keep adding flour and knead it into the dough as well as frequently dusting the rolling pin. It stuck to the rolling pin as well as my cutting board. They were difficult to scrape off the surface to transfer to the cookie sheet. They tasted pretty good, but not very sweet. The second time around I followed the advice to up the sugar (I only added half cup), and I added another half cup of flour as well. The dough feels firmer & less sticky. Waiting for them to chill overnight......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Reinhold-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
So tasty! Only had a bag of frozen veggies (peas, carrots, corn etc) which I added about 5 minutes into boiling the potatos. Also had no jalapenos (would have been much better, I know), and STILL turned out AMAZING! New family favorite for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Marrs Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Breakfast

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I saw this recipe last night and made it this morning. We are a SCD family so I used almond bread which I make and it was delicious! The avocados came from a friends tree, Yum. The bread was the only thing I changed, We LOVED it and will make it again. Thanks for posting Britty . Shay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Great recipe. Family loved the freshness of the dish. I do agree with some reviews to add white wine and use a thin pasta like angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leucadialady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Knowing our taste, added some carrots, celery and mushrooms. I can't say this was my favorite. However, I do think it would make the good filling for a pot pie, but as a casserole I wasn't thrilled. Just left some of my tastebuds unfulfilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altheimer, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe was fantastic they tasted amazing. A little tip make sure there are no cracks in the cookie because the jam spilled out of the cracks while it was baking but some of them were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States