Buena Park - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Picadillo (Cuban Beef Hash)

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! I cut back the olive brine to 1/4 cup and used crushed tomatoes in place of tomato sauce and it turned out absolutely delicious. Served with white rice and black beans. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

Roasted Parmesan Rosemary Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Super easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

Chicken Pineapple Fajitas

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
A nice variation to traditional fajitas. I used red, yellow and orange bell peppers and sweet onions along with the pineapple. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Always looking for different recipes for super ripe bananas besides banana bread. My banana bread is a favourite with family and friends but I wanted something new to try. These cookies are delicious! I did take hints from other reviews and used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I added a bit more banana as well, we really like banana in I our house. I split the batter in thirds, some plain, some with chocolate chips and added blueberry flavoured dried cranberries to the rest. Everyone in the house loves them! They are like a cross between a cookie, a muffin and banana bread. Excited to experiment with different additions. My teenage son suggested adding crushed pineapple for half the banana. Thinking I will be making lots of different takes on this yummy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Wonderful flavor, tender and juicy. I substituted kariyaki sauce for the soy sauce to give it an asian kick. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Baker Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautifully! Served them Christmas morning and my husband said he liked mine BETTER than the ones at Cafe du Monde! These are going to be an annual tradition in our family for Christmas from now on. The recipe as written makes a LOT of dough- I divided it into four balls and froze three and baked one into the beignets. The next week I thawed another ball of dough and rolled it out and made more beignets and they were as good as the first ones! The dough freezes beautifully. Just thaw for a few hours at room temperature in the plastic bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Baker Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Macaroons III

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
They turned out more like sawdust balls and I followed the recipe to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Photo by Andrea CA

Monterey Chicken Tortilla Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now and absolutely love it. I use one pound boneless, skinless chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. I added 1-15 ounce can black beans, I use one cup cheddar cheese and I added one green onion chopped up. These are the only changes I have made to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Photo by Andrea CA

Creamy Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I enjoyed this meal very much. I did make some changes, I added 1 tablespoon minced garlic when I was frying the chicken. I cut the peppers into 4th's, added them, the spinach, salt and pepper and the cooking creme all at the same time to the chicken, mixed it well and covered it. Simmered it on low while I started cooking the pasta. I drained the pasta when it was done and added it to the chicken mixture and served. There was plenty of juice even the second day. I served it with a salad and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Photo by Andrea CA

Santa Fe Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I have made this several times and my husband really loves it. I have made a few changes. I use 1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. I pan fry until its no longer pink. Add first 4 ingredients to chicken, plus one(4 oz) can diced green chili's and 1/4 cup chopped cilantro. I also use 8 inch tortillas and 1 cup of cheese. I use a deep dish pie plate and follow directions spreading one and 1/2 cups chicken mixture 3 times and 1/3 cup cheese 3 times. (The last time I made this, I tried it in the microwave for 25 minutes covered at 30% temperature. It came out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Pretty good, but all the cheddar melted out into the pan, and the cream cheese was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNN16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea CA

Basil Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Great tasting recipe. I changed a few things. The ingredients are the same but I used 1-teaspoon pepper, 4-teaspoons dried basil, 2 cups half and half and 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. I also added chopped broccoli. My husband who is very picky, loves this meal. I serve it with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

Master Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I used this recipe for calzones and it turned out awesome!!! I was a bit sceptical at first but so glad I went with it. So super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Photo by Andrea CA

Cilantro Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
My husband loves this recipe, he likes me to make it often. I did make some changes. I cut up 2 lbs of chicken breast into bite size pieces, put into a crock pot along with the diced onion, red bell pepper, garlic, one 15oz can chicken broth, one 15oz can stewed tomatoes, pinto beans, black beans, corn and chile peppers (I didn't drain any of them). One bunch cilantro chopped, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper. I cooked it on high for 4 hours. I made my own spanish rice. Brown 2 cups of long grain rice in a frying pan on high with oil. After the rice is brown, add 5 cups of water, 4 tablespoons ketchup, 1/4 onion diced, 2 tablespoons parsley, add salt to taste. Bring to a boil, cover and lower heat. Simmer for 25 to 30 minutes until all the water is gone. Put the rice on a plate and add the chicken mixture on top. Excellent meal and soooo easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Photo by Andrea CA

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
My family and I love this recipe. I make two 7 1/2 x 9 1/2 baking dishes. We eat one and freeze the other for the future. The only change I make to this dish is I use 1 pound boneless, skinless, chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. After I pan fry the chicken, I mix the chicken, spinach, ricotta cheese, 2 cups mozzarella cheese and 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese together in a large bowl. It made everything a lot easier. I spread 1 cup sauce on bottom, layer with noodles, 2 cups chicken mixture, noodles, 1 cup sauce, 2 cups chicken mixture, noodles, last cup sauce. Sprinkle with parsley and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Photo by Andrea CA

Mom's Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I have made this before and it was good, but this time I made a few changes. I added one can of corn instead of green beans. I added 1/2 tablespoon chili powder, 1 tablespoon minced onions 1 and 1/2 cups of mild cheddar cheese. I mixed 1 cup of the cheese with all ingredients and 1/2 cup of cheese with the mash potatoes. It came of GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

Green Beans With Walnuts

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Made the original recipe for a family dinner. Big hit. Made it again using leftover blanched green beans originally intended as a cruditie. Followed the recipe, but heated them a shorter time. Awesome again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daryl Stokes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Lemon Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this exactly as stated in the recipe (no modifications) and didn't love it. The consistency was that of a pound cake (no problem there) but the flavor was bland. I probably wouldn't make it again unless I did some major changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Lemon Pie I

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is so yummy and easy to make. How would it not get five stars?! You could just as easily pass this off as lemon cloud mousse to your family if you didn't want to wait for it to firm up...just throw it in cute bowls instead! If you CAN wait, it's really good once it's been in the freezer all day. It doesn't actually freeze solid and so it is quite easy to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Armenian Lentils

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
These make a nice vegetarian dinner. It needs the yogurt topping to cool your mouth a bit, so don't skip it! It's pretty peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 81) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States