Berkeley, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cherry Rhubarb Crunch

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Fantastic! Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe. I'm always looking for something new with rhubarb in it. Next time I make it, I will take another reviewer's advice of making more (at least 50% more) of the crumble mixture - I also appreciate another reviewer's recommendation to use the "extra fruit" version of the cherry pie filling. Maybe more rhubarb as well, although it's selling for $5/lb this year (thank you climate change), and this recipe cost over $10 to make. Still, in a 9 x 13 pan, it's a lot of yumminess for the price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanstalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
With two Granny Smith apples sitting around and no idea what to make for dessert, this recipe was perfect! Nice and sweet, but the apple chunks give a hint of tartness and the cake itself was tender and moist. Not having sour cream I used all Vanilla yogurt and it turned out delicious. Very nice recipe, will make again and again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Pizza

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Amazing pizza! Indescribably tasty! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Kidane
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Absolutely Amazing! Im sold! Best tuna salad EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Kidane
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

Cornbread Muffins I

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Too dense and floury for my tastes, frozen corn doesn't taste as good as canned or fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Cracker Crust I

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
If you grind the crumbs super fine, they absorb the butter better, so it will be less wet. Works awesomely for pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy and Thick Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Yummy! Added 3 Serrano peppers, garnish with homemade guacamole, sour cream, sharp cheddar, tomato, cilantro, and lime. Big hit with the roomie and boyfriend, saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA
Photo by Ashley

B's Cordon Bleu Bundles

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good base recipe but needs extra love. Seasoning added, and finished with a bernaise sauce modified with whole grain dijon mustard and white wine. Used ham and swiss, turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This recipe was awesome even though I tweaked it just a bit. I used Apple-wood Smoked Gruyere cheese with a little Parmesan which added a great scent and flavor to it. I also added a quarter stick of cream cheese as well and the results were phenomenal! I will use this recipe for the rest of my days and never buy store sauce ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpirantGull138

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sheryl's Corn and Crab Chowder

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent. I reduced the fat and calories by using all half and half and omitting the heavy cream and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adoralhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cream Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was amazing! I loved that it as all from scratch. It was easy to make and came out beautifully. I did follow someone else's advice by adding a couple teaspoons cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abanana
Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beanstalker

Swiss Cheese Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I wanted to add a couple of things. This recipe was related to me over 20 years ago by a friend I met when we were both VERY pregnant with our first children in a childbirth class (Hi Nancy!). One day, while on a walk with our new babies, we started talking about holiday meals and decided to share our favorite recipes. I don't remember what I offered up, but I'm sure I got the better end of that deal. Those babies are all grown up now, but my family still looks forward to this casserole every holiday (and sometimes just because I couldn't resist some nice-looking green beans at the market). Doubtless, this recipe had been around for a long time before I knew about it, yet I wanted to share it as it had been shared with me. Next, blanching the beans will result in a crisper bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanstalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
We followed the recipe exactly and we got mediocre cookies. They hardly expanded/fluffed out which, I think, would've made them more aesthetically pleasing. The taste was decent at best. Still looking for that 5 star shortbread cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cakegarten

Biscotti

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I can't stop eating them! Ridiculously easy -- WHY have I been buying them all these years? Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cakegarten
Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved these! I think this recipe has just the right balance of tartness and sweetness. I can't imagine adding any more sugar to this- the crust or the lemon part- it would overpower the senses. I didn't think it would be lemony enough- but the lemon, as stated in the amounts in the recipe- really comes through well. I used the juice from two small to medium sized lemons. Perhaps people who feel this recipe is not lemony enough did not include the LEMON ZEST. That also makes a difference. My family is pleased I have added this to my repetoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawerner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
So easy and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Hoehn
Home Town: Clayton, New York, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cybele66

Naan

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe tasted great but needed tweaking to make it work. First I did not even come close to needing 4.5 cups of flour I barely used even 3 for the dough also as I tend to use the bread for mini pizzas or sandwiches the golf ball size was way too tiny and did mine more like tennis to base ball size which made a much more useful size for something other than finger food bread. I used no butter only oil. I tried the grilling method but found it very hazardous and difficult to really shape the bread. So instead I took a pizza stone and put it in my oven which I heated to 400 then I removed the stone spread a thin layer of oil on it and shaped the dough balls on it and baked it about 3-4 minutes for each side. Came out a bit lighter in color but tasted great. It took less time as I could cook more at one time than the stovetop grill method. Next time I think I will grab a plastic mat covered in plastic and try shaping the dough on that first then baking them. this made close to 11 pieces even with less flour and larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cybele66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very easy, delicious, and great as a leftover! I sprinkled some season salt on my chicken since others said it was bland, it came out a tad too salty. Next time I'll go easy on the season. The chicken was very moist, I used eight breasts, it was perfect, not too much cream. Kids loved it! I served it over white rice, adding to my staple dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
*Really good*, especially considering the simplicity of the recipe. The flavors all come together to create something that is really tasty, and quite kid-friendly (all my kids loved it, from the 2 year old to the 6 year old). Very easy to make, and I almost always have the ingredients on hand. Also, a one pot dish! The only substitution I make is I switch out the frozen corn with TJs soycattash frozen veggie blend, only because I rarely have straight up frozen corn on hand. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

S'more Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great recipe and it's super easy. Instead of putting the toppings on with 15 minutes left, I remove the Brownies when they are supposed to finish on the box, and then add the crackers and marshmallows. I broil it for 30-60 seconds and then immediatley add the chocalate pieces. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States