Bakersfield - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hidden Valley Oyster Crackers

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Have used this recipe for years though I do add a smidgen of onion powder and occasionally will add parmesan cheese as they come out of the oven. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puppy Chow

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Just like my aunt used to make at Christmas! I added enough butter to make the chocolate liquidy as it melted, then I used a grocery bag to shake w/powdered sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Fudge with Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
It is AMAZING. It is more like cheesecake candy. Very sweet, very rich cheesecake candy. Would be really yummy with dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizclemetson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Raisin French Toast Strata

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Served with apple cider syrup from this site and it was wonderful! Used a local cinnamon raisin bread and had them slice it thick which makes all the difference. Added vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and then spread it onto the bread slices as another reviewer suggested. Added a 1/4 cup more of raisins and apples for extra goodness! Oh my, this was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wallaby-Darned

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
PERFECT brunch cocktail! Loved it and didn't need to change a thing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Depending on what is in the freezer, I vary between a sirloin tip as it easily slices easier than other cuts, and a chuck roast which imparts more flavor. I season my roast the evening before with a mix of garlic and onion powder, fresh ground black pepper and kosher salt letting it absorb the flavors. Add to the crockpot in the morning, along with the other ingredients and darkest syrup beer you can find and you're in business! As other reviewers have noted, slicing the beef and adding back to the crockpot WITH the juices allows it to absorb more flavor. You just can't go wrong with this recipe! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Carrots and Parsnips with Chives

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Looking for a new side dish to serve with a pork roast based on what was in the fridge. Used fresh squeezed lemon and orange juice as I didn't have concentrate available and glad I didn't as I believe it kept the flavors more simplistic. This recipe was a refreshing change from other root vegetables! Sweet, savory, and very pleasing to the eye. Great complement and one that will make it's way to our table from time to time.... Thanks Taddo1965!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Loved this recipe! Able to stand on it's own with no changes.... Very nice indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skewered Grilled Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Perfect way to cook potatoes on the grill, but prefer to skip the marinating portion of one hour in the fridge as I couldn't detect a difference between it and brushing it on while cooking. Light flavor without overpowering the potatoes makes this a perfect side dish. 4 stars for ease and originality. Thank you kimberlyj for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Cashew Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Lovely recipe but WAY too much butter. I usually make this recipe camping, which is a rather unconventional side dish for under the stars but so easy. In place of the vegetable broth, I use home made chicken stock from a recipe on this site, "Chicken Stock in a Slow Cooker" which allows you to control the sodium content and is fabulous. Freeze the chicken stock and take with you in your ice chest which acts as a freezing component/ ice. Cooked the asparagus on the grill until al dente, which retained the beautiful green color and toasted the cashews before leaving home. Yes, I know it's very similar to the Rice a Roni recipe which would probably be much easier to pack camping, but this recipe tastes SO much better. Little extra work than the boxed variety, but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Broth in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Easy, peasy! Can be made with chicken, beef or turkey for different variations plus it makes your home smell wonderful. Much like other reviewers, parsley, pepper, bay leaf, etc., all enhance whatever stock I choose to make. 5 stars for ease, clean up, preparation, but most of all for the flavor. Thank you Micki for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good spice mix for Mexican foods without the extreme salt content that many packaged mixes have. To make it as convenient as the envelope mixes, I make enough to fill an empty spice jar leaving out the beef granules as they too increase the salt content using low sodium beef broth in place of water while cooking the meat. NOTE: Corn flour is corn masa and helps bind the spices to the meat which is an integral part of this recipe. Hope that helped answer the question that others had. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlicky Summer Squash and Fresh Corn

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
2 of my very favorite summer vegetables, so how could I not try it? The recipe is not meant to "stand alone", though it surely could for a vegetarian, but is a perfect side dish to pair with spicy ribs or chicken for a family friendly BBQ. Nice meld of flavors and easy enough to dress up with basil, oregano, or cherry tomatoes fresh from the garden. NOTE: I bbq'd my corn on the cob and then added to the squash right before serving. The smokiness of the corn from the bbq added another layer of flavor to this dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
5 star! Didn't change a thing and the recipe didn't need it. Thank you Pam for the submission ~ the smell of these alone took me back to my Grandmas kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good. Recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese, but needed significantly more for 2 pounds of potatoes. NOTE: Ensure you coat the bottom of your pan with enough oil to prevent the potatoes from sticking or you will lose the crusty goodness of this dish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

GA Peach Pound Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Wow....this is a great recipe:)) All I did was use half brown and half white sugar and half wheat and half all purpose flour of the required amount. I put a thin slab of dark chocolate 85% as my husband loves surprises as we cut the cake?this recipe is a keeper ..forever:) thank you for sharing this excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
With fairly thin, boneless chops, I thought 6 hours on low was a little much. I may try going 5 hours on low next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is the first pumpkin pie I made as my husband loves pumpkin pie and we had guest over ,Everyone liked it:) I thought it was ok,don't know what was missing but maybe it's something I did wrong.did take other suggestions and baked my pie crust for 15 mins at 375 degrees F before adding the filling and I baked the pie at 375 for 40 mins and lowered it to 325 for the next 15 minutes and the last 12 minutes I put the pies on the lowest rack and it definitely helped to give the crust a nice golden brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Chocolate Pound Cake I

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Recipe is perfect, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Butter Pound Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great recipe,only thing I did different was a cup of pistachios,finely chopped on the cake as I put it in for baking and five minutes before I took it out of the oven I put ten ferrero rocher chocolates on top...well cannot put a picture as there is just a small piece remaining!! Thank you,gor this perfect recipe:) we love it:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States