Bakersfield - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tangy Dill Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Refreshing change from the regular mayo based recipes. I took a tip from another reviewer and added the dressing while still warm. Delicious! The flavors were straight forward, nice, and had a good finish without one flavor overpowering the other ingredients. Definitely use the Dijon mustard as it complements the salad. Thanks Lukeysmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steve's Famous Garlic Home Fries

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
These were really good, but they didn't crisp up as I had expected. Served with Chicken sandwiches with caramelized onions and chutney from AR. Thank you BachelorSteve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Focaccia Sandwiches with Chutney and Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
RECIPE GROUP: Actually quite good, but perhaps a roll of some type would have been more appropriate than the Focaccia which made for a lot of bread. Would definitely make again. Thanks for sharing Pam Anderson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jerk Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Somewhat labor intensive, but the flavor was well worth waiting for. Served these at a "Jamaican Me Jerk" party, with Cocomojito's also from AR. Fun trying to do the limbo after a couple of those.... AND as Chef John's says, don't leave a single thing out of this recipe as the finished product is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocojito (Frozen Mojito)

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Very refreshing on a hot summers day though the flavor of the coconut was almost non-existent. Added Malibu Rum the second time and that was the missing element! Thanks AngS for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana and Nutella® French Toast

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Different twist on French toast that our family loves. I usually use a Brioche loaf which is a pastry of French origin usually reserved for tea, dessert or breakfast. Gives this recipe that little extra ommph! I was skeptical of using chocolate milk, but the flavor is so mild against the Nutella you almost don't even need it. Served with 'real' maple syrup (not the imitation heavy imposter stuff) and pecans for a wonderful breakfast! Thank you Nico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Berry Parfaits

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This is a standard starter for our 4th of July weekend when it's usually 100 degrees plus! Light, refreshing and color coordinated to the holiday when using blueberries and strawberries! Used granola in the layers and crumbled cinnamon graham crackers on top for a little extra goodness! Whole family loves this one! Thank you Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wild River Bloody Mary Mix

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This is a good base recipe for the hubby who does love his Bloody Mary's! Though after experimenting a little, we did find that we liked using V8 as a base better than plain tomato juice. Added fresh grated horseradish (so much better tasting than the bottled kind) and lightly dusted the rim of our glasses with Old Bay Seasoning. Hubs asked that this be kept in the 'go to file' and I agree. Served with a mix of olives and celery sticks! Thanks paniece for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro-Lime Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This is downright tasty and definitely a winner in our house! I love the ability to add or subtract ingredients to influence the type of main dish you are serving, ie., Mexican or Asian. Served this with Slow Cooker Carnitas and Refried Beans w/o the Refry both from AR. Recipes such as this make it fun to try new things. Thanks 'Mom' for a great little recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prosciutto e Melone (Italian Ham and Melon)

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I do believe the Italians got this right as this is traditionally a light summer meal that can be found on any table in the country! Wonderful, easy and colorful presentation. Served this as a starter to the Caprese Salad with Grilled Flank Steak also on AR and an Italian Chardonnay from Castello Monsanto which is one of the few Italian white wines that can stand up against prosciutto and hold it's own. Thank you Sunflower for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koriekiss

Chocolate Chip Monster Pops

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
i made a half recipe which produced 8 cookies. Baking a cookie for 25 minutes did produce a pretty cookie that will stand up to being on a stick but the cookie itself was a bit dry and crumbly when eaten. Not my favorite chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Caprese Salad with Grilled Flank Steak

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Wonderful easy dinner for the health conscience (flank steak has little fat). I was marinating my flank steak (mixture of Paul Newman's lite balsamic and Wishbone's Italian dressing) when I saw this recipe and changed directions. I used the first batch of cherry tomatoes (red and gold) from the garden and boy were they ever so good! Served over whole leaf romaine as it holds up better instead of the butter lettuce and added croutons for a little crunch. HELPFUL HINT: To kick up the flavor, try adding and reducing balsamic vinegar. To reduce your vinegar, pour into a small saucepan; bring to a boil over medium-high heat constantly stirring to prevent scorching the vinegar. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until the vinegar has reduced by half. Set aside, and cool to room temperature. When ready to serve, drizzle over the greens in place of the olive oil and balsamic vinegar the recipe calls for. NOTE: the vinegar will naturally sweeten as it reduces and will keep for months properly stored. Served with Prosciutto e Melone from AR as a starter. Thank you cookinmama, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Croutons

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Such an explosion of surprise in your mouth when expecting another old boring crouton. Absolutely ingenious idea to add to salads with fruit. I served these with Super Seven Spinach Salad, also from AR, for a dinner party of 8 and all requested the recipe which is a nod to the submitter of the sheer goodness of these croutons! Thank you jenrogers03.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was very good and a nice substitute to the taco seasoning packets that have a power punch of sodium. The only thing I did differently was to use a can of Rotel as I didn't have tomatoes on hand. BTW - this was better the second day as it gave the flavors a chance to meld. Goodbye taco packets! Thanks Pam for a healthier alternative!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Made this for dinner as it looked filling enough to serve alone. As it was just the hubby and myself tonight, I dressed only half of the salad and saved half which I rarely do. The dressing was a tad too sharp and the mustard was somewhat overwhelming. Second day I had the other half as a lettuce wrap for lunch and lo and behold, the dressing was GREAT. Apparently it needed a day for the flavors to marry. Thank you Linda W for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Insalata Tricolore

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Very nice salad served as a starter on a hot summer's day. I used a tomato straight from the garden that was so flavorful and juicy it tasted like a little bit of summer sunshine. Using the avocado was a nice alternative and a welcome change to a traditional Caprese salad. The only difference is I used a balsamic vinegar that I had reduced down to a syrup consistency. Very nice change of pace devilsdancefloor. Thank you for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruity Fun Skewers

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Such a simple idea for such a marvelous presentation. We serve these on the boat with friends, sunny afternoon's poolside and as appetizers for barbeques. They are wonderful easy finger foods that are a cool and refreshing treat, especially on a hot day. HELPFUL HINT: If your fruit hasn't reached it's full potential try serving these with Carla's fruit dip from AR; 1 container frozen whipped topping such as cool whip, 1 jar marshmallow creme, 8 ounces cream cheese, and a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. It helps to overcome the tartness on fruit that hasn't quite peaked yet. Thanks Anaj930 for the sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Italiano

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Very good, easy to make and presents nicely. I did use bone in chops so they didn't dry out and added red wine in place of the water for a tad more flavor. Wine for the sauce and wine for the cook. Doesn't get much better than that! Served over polenta and with a simple side salad. Thank you lutzflcat for the recipe. Will go into my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Early Morning Oven Roasted New Potatoes

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Very oily was my first reaction when making these. Don't get me wrong, I love butter, but this was just too much and did nothing to complement the dish. I will try, try again using less butter. Thank you for the recipe djfoodie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir Fried Snow Peas and Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Solid side dish recipe with sugar or snap peas working equally well. Flavor changers for those that like to mix it up: Try oyster sauce vs teriyaki from time to time. Same dish with an altogether different taste. Served with Steamed Fish with Ginger also from AR. Nice dinner for those watching weight. Thank you Bdeger for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States