Bakersfield - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Used these for my baby shower almost 2 years ago. Delicious, but best while still warm. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I only changed it by adding only 2 cups shredded cheddar/jack cheese (it was what I had on hand). Delicious!!! This will be a new household staple, fo shizzle. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Awesome, versatile recipe! Makes more than enough filling, but you can use the filling for other stuff so it's awesome. The next day we had tomato soup with tortillas spread with this filling. Mmmmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Need it even quicker? Melt butter in microwave then add garlic and microwave about 1 min more (70-80% power). Pour butter mixture into baking pan add chicken and toss to coat. Mix other ingredients in gallon plastic bag. I used a combination of shredded cheddar, grated parmesan, and shredded parmesan. Pour half of breadcrumb and cheese mixture over chicken. Press in. Turn chicken over and pour remaining crumb cheese mixture on top. Pat down and bake. May need additional 5 minutes of cooking time but cleanup is a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falconemomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I'm a vegetarian who modified this recipe. It was SO good! I eat cheese (obviously) so I only omitted the chicken. I reduced the taco seasoning to half (because of the lack of chicken), & just threw everything in a bowl & mixed, made into enchiladas, topped with sauce & cheese & it was amazing! Even my carnivorous husband liked them! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kick'N Chicken with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Mango salsa complements the chicken perfectly adding a lively sweet and spicy flavor that would appeal to many. If you like a little more heat, simply add a jalapeno! Thumbs up approval by 4 households in our neighborhood whom we rotate weekend barbequing with! Thanks so much for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Loved the variety this recipe offers to easily customize to your individual tastes. For the family, I add extra garlic for a little more flavor and have since started marinating my chicken in Chakka's Mmmm Mmmm sauce prior to cooking it. Have added different veggies depending on what needs to be used in the fridge, along with a pinch of cayenne from time to time. Peppers, mushrooms, broccoli, asparagus, etc., all have found a home in this dish at one time or another. Delightfully easy! Thank you MinerFamily for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn, Sweet Onion, and Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Light, colorful salad with a zippy dressing perfect for a summer barbeque! I used tomatoes from my own garden and lightly grilled corn on the cob leftover from dinner the evening before. I found the amount of onions to be somewhat overwhelming on the taste buds, but if you are an onion lover this is the recipe for you. Personally, I will reduce the amount next time I make this recipe as it was quite good. Thank you for the submission Twila, my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
What a unique way to cook broccoli! Wonderful crispness, great flavor and so easy to prepare! Added fresh minced garlic the last 3 minutes of cooking so the garlic wouldn't burn and turn bitter. A new family favorite and definitely 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolute Best Pancake Syrup

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Luscious! I made the exact ingredients called for. The only cooking method I changed was I let it cook a little longer than 10 seconds hoping it would darken the color (it did not and mine was very pale almost looked turkey gravy) and I added the vanilla after I took it off the heat. It was fantastic and a nice change from the traditional maple syrup. I won't replace it but will add it to the line up :) I did make it ahead to let it cool & thicken prior to using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Quivering Tenderloins

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We absolutely love this recipe. I marinade overnight in all the marinade liquid, and boil it all down with the chicken stock before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Oklahoma Cheese Grits

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Really good, but a little too rich. Next time I'll add a little less butter. But it did pass the test...it's definitely good enough to make again! Especially with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Steak

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Best recipe ever I marinade them for 2 days and less oregano hmmm 5th time doing the recipe everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was a huge hit at my wine and cheese party! I serve it with baguette slices drizzled with evoo and toasted. Will definitely be making this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Chicken Enchiladas II

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love these. They aren't super "traditional" but they are rich & yummy. I substitute plain (NOT vanilla) yogurt for sour cream & can't taste a difference! Also add squash & broccoli. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
These are easy & awesome. I only had a little over half a cup of butter, so I added a tad bit of veg. oil & they still turned out amazing. Can't wait to try them exactly as the recipe says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Rice and Lentils (Majadara)

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I loved the flavor. I think the recipe assumed that the lentils were soaked, and thus full of water, because the 2.5 cups is only enough for the rice. With the adjustment, I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dawn's Candied Walnuts

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Burnt the nuts the first time around. Follow your nose more than the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEBarnard

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

The Best Pound Cake

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Though I made a few changes the cake has turned out excellent,I used brown sugar instead of white and used butter, I never use margarine.I had no lemon extract .I added t tablespoon of hot water to the evaporated milk and no self raising flour so added 1/2tsp of baking soda and the cake turned out great,delicious ,it's really yum. Thank you for sharing this recipe it's a keeper for sure and super simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Grandmother's Muffins

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Excellent excellent recipe,I made these for a friend had to keep two aside as they smelled delicious. I added 1/4 cup coarsely ground pistachios and a small Easter egg shaped chocolate on the too of each muffin.thank you ...will be making tons of these:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States