Bakersfield - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made it half with green chilies, half with jalapenos. We liked the green chilies much better. They were bigger and less spicy. Hubby likes spicy food, that wasn't his problem, but the canned jalapenos were so small, he felt like the casserole just fell apart. Green Enchilada sauce was yummy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Cherry Tomatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Found this to be too sweet for our taste buds as written. The second time I served this I cut back the sugar to one teaspoon and let the natural sweetness of a good garden sweet cherry tomato finish off the sauce. Wonderful way to use summer's bounty of fresh produce. Thank you for the recipe starnetsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Garlic Artichokes

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Living in the produce capital of America we have access to many fresh fruits and vegetables picked straight from the fields with artichokes among them. Easy preparation, though readers should take note that the submitter forgot to mention to remove the "choke" prior to grilling. This recipe had too much lemon in it for my taste buds, but that's a quick and easy adjustment. Thanks so much for the submission rosiella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Butter Pork Loin

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Very good fall recipe. We live close to an area called Apple Hill, which is aptly named for the variety of apples the region produces. The ability to buy fresh pressed juice or cider just enhanced this recipe beautifully. I did note that many reviewers used a pork tenderloin, though the recipe actually calls for a pork "loin", which definitely makes a difference in the cooking time. Made a slurry and added it to the juice from the finished pork loin for a thicker "gravy" and served it with an apple chutney on the side. PLEASE NOTE: For those of you partial to a crock pot, this recipe is just as good in a slow cooker as the oven. Thank you UMich97 for a nice addition to my fall recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Apple Butter

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is an easy way to make apple butter. I used a variety of apples and cut the sugar in half. I also added ginger. My two little boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
My family pronounced this chicken "fabulous" and could you please make it again.... vs. this is "interesting" which is synonymous for it's just okay but please don't bother in the future. I did leave out the salt as the teriyaki sauce, Worcestershire, liquid smoke and soy sauce (use the low sodium variety) already had enough in it. Found this marinade to be a pleasant mix of sweet, salty and smoky which is difficult to achieve, but you, Wilemon, found the secret mix! Served this with Fried Broccoli and Onion Rice both from AR which complemented this marinade beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Tofu Keema

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Left out some of the tomato sauce (2C) and hot sauce sense some people in my house don't like spice. It was great. I served it with both a side of naan and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Carbonara I

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
The only thing I did different was to scramble the eggs in the hot bacon fat, bacon, and spaghetti all at once. Only used two eggs. we love this dish. Easy, economical, and now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe, i took 1/2 a cup of oatmeal and 1- cup flour , added 1/2 cup dried blueberries and topped the muffins with a few dried blueberries each and they turned out excellent:) thank you for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Used these for my baby shower almost 2 years ago. Delicious, but best while still warm. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I only changed it by adding only 2 cups shredded cheddar/jack cheese (it was what I had on hand). Delicious!!! This will be a new household staple, fo shizzle. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Awesome, versatile recipe! Makes more than enough filling, but you can use the filling for other stuff so it's awesome. The next day we had tomato soup with tortillas spread with this filling. Mmmmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Need it even quicker? Melt butter in microwave then add garlic and microwave about 1 min more (70-80% power). Pour butter mixture into baking pan add chicken and toss to coat. Mix other ingredients in gallon plastic bag. I used a combination of shredded cheddar, grated parmesan, and shredded parmesan. Pour half of breadcrumb and cheese mixture over chicken. Press in. Turn chicken over and pour remaining crumb cheese mixture on top. Pat down and bake. May need additional 5 minutes of cooking time but cleanup is a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falconemomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cottage Cheese Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I'm a vegetarian who modified this recipe. It was SO good! I eat cheese (obviously) so I only omitted the chicken. I reduced the taco seasoning to half (because of the lack of chicken), & just threw everything in a bowl & mixed, made into enchiladas, topped with sauce & cheese & it was amazing! Even my carnivorous husband liked them! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmicfuzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kick'N Chicken with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Mango salsa complements the chicken perfectly adding a lively sweet and spicy flavor that would appeal to many. If you like a little more heat, simply add a jalapeno! Thumbs up approval by 4 households in our neighborhood whom we rotate weekend barbequing with! Thanks so much for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Loved the variety this recipe offers to easily customize to your individual tastes. For the family, I add extra garlic for a little more flavor and have since started marinating my chicken in Chakka's Mmmm Mmmm sauce prior to cooking it. Have added different veggies depending on what needs to be used in the fridge, along with a pinch of cayenne from time to time. Peppers, mushrooms, broccoli, asparagus, etc., all have found a home in this dish at one time or another. Delightfully easy! Thank you MinerFamily for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn, Sweet Onion, and Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Light, colorful salad with a zippy dressing perfect for a summer barbeque! I used tomatoes from my own garden and lightly grilled corn on the cob leftover from dinner the evening before. I found the amount of onions to be somewhat overwhelming on the taste buds, but if you are an onion lover this is the recipe for you. Personally, I will reduce the amount next time I make this recipe as it was quite good. Thank you for the submission Twila, my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
What a unique way to cook broccoli! Wonderful crispness, great flavor and so easy to prepare! Added fresh minced garlic the last 3 minutes of cooking so the garlic wouldn't burn and turn bitter. A new family favorite and definitely 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolute Best Pancake Syrup

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Luscious! I made the exact ingredients called for. The only cooking method I changed was I let it cook a little longer than 10 seconds hoping it would darken the color (it did not and mine was very pale almost looked turkey gravy) and I added the vanilla after I took it off the heat. It was fantastic and a nice change from the traditional maple syrup. I won't replace it but will add it to the line up :) I did make it ahead to let it cool & thicken prior to using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Quivering Tenderloins

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We absolutely love this recipe. I marinade overnight in all the marinade liquid, and boil it all down with the chicken stock before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States