Bakersfield - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Koriekiss

Boone Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was incredibly easy to make and really good. I halved the recipe and added 6 slices of my own cooked bacon crumbled instead of the bacon bits. Served with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Chana Masala (Savory Indian Chick Peas)

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Bland for my palate. Added another teaspoon gaman masala and over one teaspoon of ground cumin. Extra salt. Next time I will add another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by Koriekiss

Garlic Chicken Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was great for a cold day comfort meal. I halved the recipe and added 3 sliced of cooked diced bacon. Cooked the chicken chunks in a bit of the bacon grease with half the garlic powder and a clove of fresh. I also added salt and freshly ground pepper to both the chicken and cheese sauce while cooking (highly recommend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by Koriekiss

Grilled Tri Tip Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I thought this recipe was pretty tasty! Followed it to the T but only had about 3 hours to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Used a cut of top sirloin as that's all I had available without going to the store for chuck roast. Stroganoff was very creamy and thick, but I found the wine marinade to be a tad strong and made the "gravy" somewhat sharp even cooking down for the allotted time. I'll cut back on the wine next time and it should be perfect. Very good recipe. Thanks for sharing Sanfrancook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nanny's Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent recipe,definitely a keeper:) thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Deep South Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Wonderful recipe for a beginner. Nice and crispy and golden-brown, cooked all the way through. Oh-so-tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEBarnard

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by nancypants

Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Excellent. Used nonfat plain yogurt. No tomato sauce, so used tomato paste mixed with 1 1/2 cans of water. Addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is absoulutly amazing!!!!!!!!!! Ok, I must admit, I did omit 2 ingredients....but there is no way would I have ever been able to come up with anything close to such amazing flavors. I must get the coriander...I have never tried it and am very curios to what it has to bring to a dish. I did try adding the cinnamon once and brings a whole different flare to the carnitas..my family wasn't super crazy about the cinnamon. We are Mexican from Southern California and do alot "mexican" dishes, cinnamon isn't always used in traditional mexican cooking, mole yes, carnitas, no. So, it's different, to say the least. This is a staple meal, and have this about every other week and with the leftovers, usually on the third night, we make crispy tacos...yummm...also, I like to please my husbands very hard to please family (from Mexico) with this dish, always a thumbs up with everybody. Must try recipe, folks!!!! Hey, don't take my word for the cinnamon, though, try it out, every taste bud is different. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nancypants

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Ridiculously delicious. Used dry parsley, low fat milk, and roasted cauliflower at higher heat. Makes enough for four. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I enjoyed the fresh herbs, and the ease of preparation. Prepared exact to recipe. The potatoes got crisp, but chicken remained colorless and never got crisp. Next time I will brown the chicken before I put it in oven, and double the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Blueberry Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Used cherry pie filling. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Savory Kale, Cannellini Bean, and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made it exact to recipe except no potatoes or carrots and I added browned ground turkey. Splash of extra wine. My husband made all kinds of yummy sounds. Delicious. Cooked 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by Koriekiss

Easy Chicken Stuffed Manicotti

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I loved these for the ease. I even put my chicken tenders in partially frozen. I baked for 45 minutes instead of the hour and only added 1 tablespoon of the Montreal seasoning as it seems like a lot. I think I would even go less next time as it really overpowered the overall dish imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by Koriekiss

Three Cheese Tortellini with Traditional Sauce and Parmigiano Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is the first time i had tried the Barilla tortellini and i thought it was pretty good. My son said they didn't seem as filled or soft and the brand we usually buy, which is not dried. I actually think this tortellini will work well in a cold pasta salad as it would hold up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
5 stars for ease, time management and on hand ingredients. 3 stars for the dumplings.... they will do in a pinch, but not out of this world, I must have another bite, etc., tasting. However this is a great recipe to start in the morning and let cook all day while you're at the office. Helpful Hints ~ First: Add a can of chicken broth to the chicken soup mixture as the biscuit/dumplings absorb most of the liquid. Second: Use low sodium or healthy versions of the chicken soup and broth as I found this dish to be quite salty. Third: Knorr's and Swanson's now make chicken STOCK "flavor boost's". Do add one as it does intensify the chicken flavor. Fourth: 1 can of biscuits is plenty. Last: Add poultry seasoning to taste. Definitely one to add to the winter rotation for a quick make ahead dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Perfect recipe for a slow cooker or those who are counter constrained. Used 3.5 cups of broth and it was perfect... HELPFUL HINT: Laying a dish towel over the top of the crock and then putting the lid on, helps keep extra moisture out of the stuffing. Thanks Gayle for a nice addtion to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Beef Dip Ever

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very good recipe! Tasty, filling and overall a great crowd pleaser. 5 star rating is for printed written recipe. Personal taste adjustments: reduce rosemary to 1/2 tablespoon, add 1 teaspoon peppercorns, use low sodium soy sauce, replace 4 cups of the water with 4 cups low sodium beef broth. Served with a garlic mayo (1 cup mayonnaise and 2 cloves minced garlic that married for 8+ hours). Assembled buns with garlic mayo, roast and then topped with a selection of cheeses; manchego, provolone and horseradish (hubby liked the provolone cheese best) and broiled until cheese was bubbly. Served with au jus and a green salad. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Green Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Nice change from regular steamed green beans. I cut back on the olive oil to one tsp as 3 tablespoons + butter seemed excessive. Threw in crumbled bacon and sauteed onion at the last minute. Be sure to use a good parmesan as it will make all the difference in the taste of this dish! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Very good recipe with marvelous flavor. I did note that I needed a 1/2 can more of chicken broth to finish cooking the orzo. Served with Roasted Chicken and a Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States