Bakersfield - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bacon Wrapped Delights

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I've made these twice and though very tasty I had trouble getting the bacon done enough without crisping the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTIN_OZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Garlic Rub

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
OMG! This works so well with pork and lamb too! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTIN_OZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Loved it! It made a lot though I will 1/2 the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTIN_OZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Asparagus with Lemon Tarragon Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
What a nice, lively, spring dish to accompany salmon cakes for lunch. The only change I would suggest is to use fresh tarragon, which enhances the delicate flavor beautifully. Thank you Jill815!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Found these today and decided to make them for lunch. These were delicious and I will definitely make again, but add butter to the olive oil for a little crisper cake. We do like a little crunch! Great flavor though. Thank you judiebug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil Pesto Bread Rounds

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Love pesto, hate mayo and yogurt. Do you think ricotta or cream cheese might work? It sounds so yummy I don't want to be left out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTIN_OZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Ashamed to admit I am finally reviewing this after making it so many times. The recipe is wonderful, but I found the flavor is enhanced by using balsamic vinegar in place of the white vinegar and reducing the sugar to taste. Helpful Hint: Toasting the sesame seeds brings out their natural flavor significantly. Have used mandarin oranges, raspberries, and green onions in this and each time it's wonderful. Always a plus to have a recipe in your arsenal that allows for quick modifications to what's on hand. Definitely a hit Tozenuf; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Prepared as stated! Perfect with no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Okra

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Good southern recipe! Here's a tip I found on another site to avoid the sliminess that okra produces: Soak your sliced okra in enough cold water to cover it, then squeeze in the juice of one lime and let your okra sit for 10 to 15 minutes before you cook it. Best tip I've encountered yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Chicken and Fresh Mozzarella

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I seem to be having a "daily recipe" day. Perusing through todays recipe's I thought I would give this a whirl along with the candied carrots from today's "daily's". Pounded out the chicken breast this morning and put them into the marinade. I have to admit, I had hoped for more time than 12 hours, but it still managed to permeate the chicken admirably. I made this exactly as stated with the exception that I grilled the chicken. 12 hours seemed a little weak which is why this is given 4 stars. Helpful hint: Let the chicken marinate as long as you can to let the full flavor shine through. Thank you TVMovieGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Seven Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Nice recipe that is versatile enough to accommodate a multitude of taste buds. I followed the recipe but added crisp bacon that was just begging to be used in something and thought "why not"? Loved the mix of sweet and salty. Definitely a winner Holly 214!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Carrots

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Sometimes simple is truly best. Right before serving I put them under the broiler to help caramelize the sugar. You'll have to watch them closely and give them a shake every minute or two to ensure they don't burn. Simply delicious! Thanks Denyse for the lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
My, oh my, was this ever so good. Took a tip from another reviewer and cut up the meat into 4 large chunks so that more surface would be covered by the spices which I doubled and was very glad that I did. The smell alone while this was cooking was phenomenal and it definitely lived up to it's promise. I GUARANTEE you won't be disappointed by this recipe. Thank you Erin Parker - you have alleviated me to stardom in my family and friends eyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
The crock pot surely has to be the work horse and best friend of those who work outside the home or are time constrained. Nice recipe but too salty for our taste and the cooking time was too long for only four chicken thighs. I will try this again with the low sodium soy sauce which should alleviate the problem and a shorter cooking time. Served with fried broccoli and onion rice, both from AR. Provided a nice balance of flavors between sweet, spicy and savory. Thank you Myrna for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Green Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Have used this recipe for years, but I traditionally drain the bacon grease before cooking the garlic and onion as I have found that it tends to overpower the other flavors found in this recipe and add the bacon back prior to serving. Chicken broth vs water also gives a better flavor to the finished dish. Easy to modify to your own family's taste buds, ie., add mushrooms, toasted almonds, even gorgonzola cheese. Thanks Michele for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon, Avocado, and Pepperjack Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Nice change of pace from the regular grill cheese sandwiches routinely served. Used caramelized onions in place of the red onion as that's all I had and served with Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup also from AR. Easy, peasy dinner which everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This recipe is excellent. I used tomatoes I had frozen last summer and took the time to roast the red peppers instead of using jarred. Used my immersion blender to meld the ingredients together and served with Bacon, Avocado, and Pepperjack Grilled Cheese Sandwiches also from AR. Terrific combination. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Chicken Calzones

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Quite good. Quick and easy recipe which gets my vote every time when you have hungry guys clamoring to be fed! I upped the barbeque sauce and substituted caramelized onions as that's all I had on hand. Very similar to Texas Chicken Quesadillas also on this site. Thanks so much Tummy13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spring Strawberry Salad with Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Very nice mix of ingredients that were simple, straight forward and uncomplicated, but when mixed together, gave the salad a "wow" factor. Used grilled chicken and added blueberries that needed to be used and an extra tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. This is a very pretty salad and perfect for a warm summer's day. Thank you for the submission Missskittypoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All American Roast Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This recipe is wonderful and a classic way to cook a roast. For those naysayers, please use the correct cut of meat (eye roast) and your cooking thermometer judiciously to monitor it. If you follow the directions and DO NOT add water as many reviewers have done, you will have a fabulous meal. For a little more flavor, I double the spices and add thyme to the rub as it complements roast beef fabulously. Thank you RCP80 for your submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States