Atascadero, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Caramelized Onions on the Grill

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Mine turned out really soggy and I have no idea where the "caramelized" description comes from. The flavor however was really good, and SO perfect on top of a nice juicy steak. So next time I will try using less butter, a little brown sugar or corn syrup to get the caramelization, and make sure to watch the time..... I have tried recipes like this before and never had luck because they would never get tender enough so I couldn't believe I could overcook an onion on the very top part of the grill for only an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candy Cane Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Everyone at work loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
They were good but not what I expected. For all the extra ingredients and extra time to prepare them this special way I really was expecting them to "wow" me, but they were no better than a much more basic creamy chicken enchilada recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pilaf

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is so easy and delicious! I will never make the boxed stuff again. My boyfriend asks for it all the time. I love how the onions soften up and add a little sweetness to the rice. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
We loved it!! It was easy and sooooo much better than the boxed stuff. I will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt in Your Mouth Marinade

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!!!! I used powdered ginger, I can only imagine how delicious it will be next time when I use the fresh stuff. I love playing with spices and creating my own marinates and I give this an A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Peanut Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I loved the idea of the "quick easy" version but it just tasted way too strong of soy sauce and peanut butter. Next time I'll go the extra mile and go with a more difficult recipe. It really needed some curry, coconut milk, ETC :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Good Brownie recipe. Made it for my sisters birthday and everyone loved it! I made a few tweaks. Instead of a 1/2 cup butter I used 1/4 butter and 1/4 extra virgin olive oil. For the frosting I only used 1/2 Powdered sugar and added 1/2 cup cream cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
After being famous for many bad desserts, I was vindicated when I made this amazing pie! delicious!!!! very gooey and caramel like. Amazing. I added a crumble topping which def made it better. thank u!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini e Pomodori Gratinati (Zucchini and Tomato Gratin)

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This was wonderful! I had to make something for a pot-luck last night. I didn't have time to go to the store, but I have a garden producing lots of zucchini and tomatoes. I didn't have mozzarella, but I had pepper jack cheese. I did have enough time to salt and drain the zucchini, and I'm glad I did. I have found zucchini recipes to get really WET. This was just perfect! I got so many wonderful complements! I am definitely making this again.... there is still a lot of summer left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol P
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Twist on Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very good starter recipe! I left out: tomatoes (don't like them the next day!), broth, and parmesan cheese. Added: diced red and yellow peppers, sun-dried tomatoes, toasted pine nuts, olive oil, italian seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, and pepper. With changes... came out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easter Brunch Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for Easter Sunday Brunch and it was delicious! I added more eggs with some milk also, as it didn't seem like enough liquid for the amount of potato/bacon/onion mixture I had made. Served with a nice fruit salad, it was delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJBOYD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This recipe was amazing! I have always managed to ruin pork chops when it came to cooking them unitl now! My husband and I loved it! We needed a little more olive oil though and left out the white wine. It was still incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette1015

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Spice Mix

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ratatouille Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was delicious! My whole family (even my kids) loved it! I used an all-natural marinara sauce in place of the tomatoes and seasoning. I also added ground beef. When sauteing the vegetables, I added fresh garlic, salt, pepper, and italian seasoning. Left off the mozzarella and just sprinkled with parmesan. Will make again and again. Such a nice change from plain old spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
AMAZING! Moist, just the right amount of spice, yummy!!! Per other reviews, I used 1 c. shortening and 1/2 c. butter. I omitted the cloves. Also, I didn't melt the shortening (what is the point?), just creamed the shortening and butter together before adding other ingredients. I also didn't chill the dough at all. I could see if I was using a cookie cutter, but for these I didn't see the need. They came out PERFECT! Baked for 10 minutes so they would be a tiny bit crispy on the outside. I sprinkled with powdered sugar per another review to make them pretty. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I don't know... I wasn't that impressed with the cake flavor. I wish it had been sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cup Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow, these are great, and sooo sweet. I usually don't like it when people modify recipes, but I did it this time myself, by making a chocolate graham cracker crust, instead of using regular graham crackers (really because when my sons and I went to the grocery store, my sons were asking for so many things and I kept saying no, no ,no, because they had gotten things earlier in the week, so I was trying to get out of there as quickly as possible-thus no crackers) but I did have the chocolate ones at home. Well anyway, all the peanut butter lovers I had try this, loved it! A real winner. I also used loe fat peanut butter, but after everything else that we put in these I thought, hummm....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Thanks so much for this recipe, I made this last night for my sister-in-law's B.D. treat and gave many to my son's teachers, with handwritten copies of the recipes. Everyone loved them and my son said all his teachers were copying the recipe! Will make again and again. I did use half Splenda and replaced 1 cup white flour with i cup whole wheat. The muffins were so moist ans tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
What an amazing recipe. I was given a bag of peaches and needed to make something, this hit the spot! I was all out of nutmeg so I did without and it still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzMoe01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States