Arcata - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe somewhat, but only used a 2 lb bag of powdered sugar and 1.5 cups unsalted butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. Tasted pretty good, somewhat greasy but I think everyone will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Country Style Fried Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
good simple recipe. I was looking for what temp to cook them at. I just cooked it on a low setting, and they stopped sticking to the pan. I also think you could add green onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcookerpauly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Just got everything into the slow cooker and I just know it is going to be good, just by the smell alone, it sure can't be bad. Couldn't find a 5 lb chuck roast, so ended up with a 4 lb. Could not find my dried parsley so that has been left out. Smell alone gives this a 3 star, can hardly wait to give it the 5 star in a day or so. Thank you for this one. MAUREENBURR Going to have a bunch of happy folks. Had to give it a 4 star because I know I am going to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Perfect just the way it is! I served this over linguini noodles, sauteed spinach, onions, garlic, and mushrooms with a small Tilapia filet sauteed with pepper. Seriously better than any restaurant's alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is the one I go to all the time. It is the make ahead breakfast that we all love. I use my own vanilla sugar, sometimes put bacon bits on the waffle iron and cook away. Fast and easy. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Photo by Andrea

Old Fashioned Rhubarb Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Well, it looks GREAT. I just did a Faceless recipe and did my first photo, so this recipe in no longer faceless. We are going to have it with french vanilla ice cream after we have our evening meal. So I really do not know what it taste like, I will have to come back in an hour or so. Well, it is a good thing I made a double batch-----I do have some left over for tomorrow. This is very good, I like the sugar topping, it shines like glass and has a very nice crunch. My guys all loved it and said "Save some for us tomorrow". I am a midnight eater and I know what I will be having, hope there is enough for tomorrow. Very good and easy to fix. I love it. I am so thankful that the rhubarb came out of my garden, didn't have to pay $4 or $5 a pound for it. Now I can freeze up some with 6/7 cups and be ready to do this in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Hamburger Corn Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Great recipe ~ especially for the cooler autumn days! I cut back the amount of corn, and look for organic to avoid GMO products. I also like using white potatoes and leaving the skin on ~ good suggestion to add them last, since they cook very quickly when cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raneaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcata, California, USA
Living In: North Highlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Picked rhubarb this morning and had a piece of VERY good pie tonight. Have even emailed this recipe to my daughter so she can make it. Thank you so much Carol, I didn't change a thing, oh, might have added a little more butter than your recipe called for. This pie is so good and EASY. Will be making it again as soon as the rhubarb is ready to pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Sausage and Zucchini Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used Italian turkey sausage.....perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Gene's Long Island Iced Tea

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
The bartender at my local used to take my keys and force me to take a nap in my car when I had two of these mofos :) Sweet and sour may not have been a bad look, tho....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly O'Neal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcata, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Jelly

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
LOVE IT. Last double batch had 3 cups sugar per batch. I didn't have enough lemon for 1 cup, so added in lemon zest. This is very good. You do have to cook it for a bit longer that called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

GO TO Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic gravy recipe. It was such a pleasure to be task free (almost) in the kitchen yesterday. I did add garlic to the roaster, I have to have garlic. I did blend the veggies and put them in the gravy. The make ahead gravy was warmed up in the turkey roasting pan. Mashed potatoes (in the crock pot) dressing (in the crock pot). Yesterday was a "no stress" day for the kitchen crew. Tons of gravy, so we all got to eat as much as we wanted. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
OK, so I'm a few days ahead of Thanksgiving 2013. But my gravy is made and in the freezer, loving it. Blended all the veggies in the gravy and I am just waiting for the day to arrive. This gravy is so easy (on a day with nothing else to do, maybe doing my washing) and the house smells very good. I used thighs this year. Made a sandwich spread with the nice flavored meats, so that is another plus. I will always use this recipe. Thank you ever so much benwa, I am still getting kudos for last years gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

BBQ Chicken Pizzeria Pizza

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Used skim-mozz and sharp-cheddar for the cheeses. Added crisp bacon, added fresh cilantro after it came out of the oven....sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Italian Sausage Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made the imstake of using low sodium beef stock, to try and keep my family healthier.....the consensus was that flavor was lacking. Perhaps fresh basil next time? I also added extra parm and it melded well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I used fresh long green beans instead of asparagus, because the asparagus was out of season. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Meat was very good. Thank you for such a easy meat to fix. I read many, many reviews because I needed ideas for the whole meal. Fixed mac salad with pineapple and carrots in it, rice and shredded cabbage to go with it. Made a bunch of adults and kids very happy. Desert was chocolate fondue and fruit. A fun meal and I even have leftovers for work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
OH SO NICE. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I made this dish last night, doubled the amount of ginger, and won FIRST PLACE at our Iron Chef: Ginger Battle party... The sauce for these wings is tangy and delicious, and we couldn't put them down until they were all gone! I used 7.5 lbs of wings for the party, and doubled the sauce to ensure I had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hueytown, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I made this dish last night, doubled the amount of ginger, and won FIRST PLACE at our Iron Chef: Ginger Battle party... The sauce for these wings is tangy and delicious, and we couldn't put them down until they were all gone! I used 7.5 lbs of wings for the party, and doubled the sauce to ensure I had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hueytown, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States