Apple Valley, California - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ham with Pineapple

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this today for Thanksgiving, and all I can say is YUM! My mother accidently bought a fully cooked ham, so I cut the cook time 1.5 hours at 325 degrees. I increased the soda to 20 oz and used 1 cup of brown sugar, I also did not include the cherries (not a fan) but it still looks amazing. I would baste it every 20 minutes. This will be my go-to ham recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macarons

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Mine didnt turn out as pretty as the picture, but they were so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Caramel Frosting V

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Followed the suggestions in the reviews and it turned out fabulously!! Withouth following the suggestions, you get a caramel sauce or glaze. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I loved this. I used almost a whole large can of pumpkin (minus half-a-cup) and it came out remarkably well. I baked it in a fluted bunt pan for an hour. My niece suggested that I pour in some milk chocolate toffee bits, so I poured them on top and then swirled them around because, of course, it was already in the pan, but it came out perfectly. Thank goodness that I got the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
OMG this was amazing. So creamy and hearty. We followed other reviewers' advice and cut back on the crushed red pepper - we gave the skillet two good shakes from the dispenser, and it turned out just right. We also substituted dijon mustard for the prepared mustard. Followed the rest of the recipe just as written, using a cast iron skillet. Just be sure to watch it while it's simmering - ours started to burn to the bottom of the skillet. We served it over egg noodles and topped with breadcrumbs, with a little of the Pinot Noir we used for the marinade. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcgl001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Breakfast Omwich

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This made my fiancé very happy. It's a great breakfast for using up the bits and pieces left over in the fridge after cooking dinners. We used ham, bacon, green onions, mushrooms, and cheese. I sautéed the mushrooms in a little bit of olive oil with a dash of garlic salt before adding them in, and it was delicious. Highly recommended, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcgl001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was delicious!! I followed the advice of other reviewers and made sure to leave about 1/4 inch of potato around the skins while hollowing out. It made it really easy to scoop everything out and left the skins ready for the filling later. So tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcgl001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesecake Supreme

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Best....cheesecake....EVER!!! Love this recipe, it is very very creamy and perfectly sweet so my family cant get enough! I have to admit I do cheat, I buy the store bought gharam cracker crust and this recipe yields 3 of those crust and to keep it good and moist I place them on the rack in a cookie sheet water bath or a pan filled with water on bottom of oven, either way it comes out delicious! Try this recipe you wont regret it, have fun with it and eood eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deannac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Country Gravy

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Made This Recipe This Morning, and It Was Fabulous, I Had To Make More Because My Family Of 5 Wanted Seconds! Just Added A Pinch More Salt, and Used A Half Butter/Oil Mix For A Lovely Consistency, and Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Amazingly quick, easy and delicious. Used 5 bone-in chicken breast with the skin removed. Put it on high for about 4 hours. Used in burritos, nachos and enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was so good. We added a can of pineapple rings with it's juice to the marinade and omitted the oil all together. Very simple marinade with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Restaurant-Style Extra Crispy Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I used this recipe and it rivaled my mom's fried chicken. I just placed the chicken in a bowl and let it sit on a counter to marinade to bring it to room temp, this brings better results when cooking any meat. When it was done marinating, I put it in a large bowl added a quarter cup of hot sauce, some pappy's choice seasoning and McCormick's hot shot pepper, after each piece was covered, dropped in a bag of flour one-at-a-time and shake to completely cover and then place in medium-high oil until they were golden brown and crispy. There is no need to double dip, they are coated to perfection when you do it like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've made this slaw for years. I also add a diced green apple and 1/2 c dried cranberry. It's a nice change from regular slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas with Creamy Green Chile Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
These were GREAT! I did sub 1/2 of the sour cream with 1/2 cup of green salsa. Other than that these are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Really great recipe! As other reviewers have said, you don't really need to let them sit for an hour in order for them to taste good. I left them sitting for about 5 minutes and they were delicious! I also added an extra teaspoon of sugar. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcgl001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This recipe was great! The only thing I did differently was double the recipe so I could make a dozen muffins and double the cinnamon/apples which was delicious! The recipe didn't specify the size of apple and I had small ones so I think I used like three and a half small Fuji apples. The muffins puffed up so large they are just delicious! I took them fresh out of the oven cut one in half put some butter on it and shared it with my mate. DELICIOUS! Definitely adding this recipe to my recipe box. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These were amazing. We have 6 of us that are GF and even the 4 kids LOVED these! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffanie Osburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Sandwich Desserts

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
So easy, so quick and so yummy! I am making this for Bunco tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Jim's Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
omgoodness, this is so good. I didn't add the vinegar or pimento, or dill pickles, or processed cheese. I did add half a packet of ranch, used sweet pickle relish, and diced pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Easy Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This recipe just did not workl. WAY too much lemon, WAY too much tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States