Anaheim - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

BLT Cheddar Biscuit Slider Buns

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I don't even know where to begin. This biscuit is designed as a slider biscuit for BLTs - it's insanely light and fluffy, and yet sturdy enough to hold a multitude of yummy fillings. The cheese and cracked pepper on top send it absolutely over the top. I don't think I'll EVER make another biscuit recipe again. Absolutely without question 100% perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My Mother used this very dressing for cucumbers 65 years ago! I like a little white pepper in mine but it is awesome on the tomatoes. So now I am going for some crumbled Feta, green onion, black olives and a splash of lemon juice for the fun of it! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala Florentine

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was amazing! I used boneless chicken breasts, which made it was a little on the oily side, so next time I'll reduce the olive oil, but that's the only change I would make. The flavor is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Easy Snack Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These were absolutely fantastic. I know people hate it when you change a recipe (oh well), but I'm not a huge fan of cream cheese - so I substituted an olive tapenade for same. So light and refreshing - a perfect luncheon sandwich for a hot summer day. Thank you for the recipe - will def make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Delicious! I didn't change one thing about this recipe, superb flavor & texture. Took this cake to a family gathering & everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eg11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Dill Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
My husband recently went nuts over a potato salad at a BBQ joint (made with sour cream). I went searching and found this recipe - only had russets on hand, halved recipe using 1/2 c each of sour cream and mayo and 1 tsp of vinegar & mustard ... it's phenomenal! Thank you so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Spicy Fish Tacos with Fresh Lime Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I loved the recipe. Only four stars because of pre fab tortillas. My only negative is why does everyone use those pre-fab tortillas? want to punch this up? Fry your own corn tortillas or use soft warm flour tortillas.Just be sure to have tortillas ready to fill before you fry fish or if baking fry while fish is in the oven. Those pre- fabs are disgusting! I Know the tortillas take time to do yourself and it is a bit tricky but with a little practice you can do it. The fresher the tortilla the easier to handle. So if you don`t have a tortilla deli near you , when selecting corn tortillas try for the package that the tortilla will "flop" when held upright. Older ones are stiff. So worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Pillow Cake Donuts

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
These are probably the best baked mini donuts I've had. They are NOT dense and cakey (like those little packaged cake donuts ... which is what I was really after originally). These are delightfully soft and fluffy and utterly poppable. I've already popped several into my mouth. Some I did with a chocolate glaze (almost too much for the cake); others with vanilla glaze, some with coconut, and a few simply dusted with powdered sugar. Will definitely make again. Snap to whip up - 5 minutes exactly to cook - 5 minutes exactly to cool - 5 seconds to dip and then into the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

All Purpose Corn Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Very very nice - am quite pleased with this recipe. This really is a solid all purpose corn bread. It's not dense - a little lighter in texture, but still moist with great cornbread flavor. I personally prefer my cornbread to be a little sweeter, but this was so good, I really didn't care. Next time, I might go a little heavier on the brown sugar or perhaps just throw in a couple of tablespoons of granulated? Eh - maybe not. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Mango Blueberry Muffins With Coconut Streusel

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
OMG, CC was right. Run ... don't walk ... to your kitchen and whip these puppies up. They are THAT good! Muffin itself is delightfully light and fluffy, while the mango/blueberries give it JUST the right zing. Coconut crumble takes them from delicious to out of this world. Fill cups fairly full as mine didn't rise much. 25 minutes was perfect time for me. Have read they taste even better once they've cooled ... if so, I'll be making this recipe over and over and over and over again. Thanks SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I love all my veggies done this way only to save the cook top I use a foil lined cookie sheet. Drizzle EVO and spices to taste and bake 375 for your choice tenderness. from 20 to 40 minutes. Brussel sprouts have never been better and asparagus well that will just knock your socks off! SOOO good. Thanks for a well loved recipe.For sweet potatoes give them a bit of softening , then peel and slice and either grill or bake ! Haven`t fried them yet but will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have used this for what was called "stacked enchiladas". The only difference, was a tin foil "T" Placed in the bottom of the crock pot, so that after cooking it can be lifted out of the pot placed on a platter and cut like a cake!To make the "T" I use heavy duty foil folded in to thirds making sure it is long enough that I have at least 6 extra inches to roll back to pot to form a handle for lifting I also can leave the tortillas whole and use my small crock pot. But any way that you do it this one is a great recipe and a keeper. Make it your own! Stack and layer your favorite ingredients. Vegetarian works well beans cheese maybe a few veggies of choice Yum. If veggies are raw and you are going to try this method you might want to saute just a bit because this is a "heat " method not "cook". If you need to cook adjust cooking time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

(ATK) Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These were okay. Nothing spectacular ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Litegal1

Homemade French Fries

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These were very good. I was worried about them sticking to the pan, so I lined with parchment paper, misted both the paper and the potato slices, seasoned, and then baked in convection oven set at 350. I used mandolin set at 1/16th of an inch which was my thinnest setting. At that thickness, these go from underdone to burnt in literally seconds - I mean I stepped away for seriously no more than 20 seconds and as you can see in the picture, they were already beginning to blister. I think next time, I'd probably set thickness to 1/8th inch and go for a little thicker chip. All in all a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

German Sweet Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I specifically used this recipe for the frosting recipe. It makes more and more is best. The recipe is so delicious and incredibly sinful. So, easy and by far superior to store brought. I will always make thisinstead of buying it. The entire raved about it for days....no, weeks actually. So, yummy!!! Oh, and yes make the frosting first....then bake your cake. It's a must, it needs to set up a long while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Wild Wings Asian Zing Sauce Clone

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
2nd Update: Adding this to Asian Sauces - makes a fantastic dip for eggrolls. UPDATE: Super sweet, super spicy, super sticky! Absolutely delicious! Note to self: bake wings first, then toss them in the sauce. I baked the wings, then dipped, then tried to broil a few and it didn't work (too much sugar in recipe). The ones I simply tossed into the sauce afterwards were perfect. ORIGINAL: Just finished making the sauce and letting it chill a bit, so haven't actually tried it on the wings themselves .... but YIKES! this stuff is finger lick'n good! I halved recipe and pretty much slopped the stuff into the pan as I was just tinkering around, so this is based off my approximations, not exact replica of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Banana Coconut Loaf

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was without a doubt the BEST quick bred I've ever had (much less made). Made exactly as directed only I was short on cherries (only had about 1/4 cup) and butter (3oz instead of 4). First impressions were a little iffy as the almond extract flavor was quite strong and I wasn't sure I cared for it ... ten minutes later, I figured I'd better go back and have another piece (grin) before I rated this - and (as I sit here telling myself NOT to go back and get that 3rd piece) I simply had to give it a 5* rating. I do think next time I'll scale back on the almond extract a bit (or use vanilla with chocolate chips instead of cherries), but man I'm telling you this is da bomb. The coconut and banana work SO well together. Can't thank you enough for sharing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Frozen Crescent Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Genius! Made exactly as directed using a KA. Dough was very soft, but used a bench scraper to turn and fold which helped immensely. I made a half batch, cutting each section into 8 pieces so I only ended up with 16 rolls - but they're perfect for splitting in morning and filling with bacon or sausage and eggs. Delightfully soft and fluffy interior and while they *are* more like a crescent shaped roll, they're more than close enough for me. Initial rise only took 1 hour; shaped and froze as directed. For baking, mine took 3 hours to defrost and rise, and were perfectly cooked in 11 minutes. I love love love this recipe! Thank you SO much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
We really enjoyed this. I was out of sour cream so I used a mixture of yogurt, milk, and lemon (which gave it a nice freshness). Also used fresh chives as I had some that needed to be used. You do have to let it sit at least 30 minutes for the flavors to truly develop. Will definitely make again. My thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Chicken Breasts Supreme

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
That was really good! I thought the cooking time was gonna be to long but it comes out like you used a slow cooker, The sauce was great, like a sroganoff sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States