Alameda - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Addictive Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was way too sweet. Followed the recipe to a T. It was horrible, we threw it away and went to taco bell which in this case was sadly better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppercorn Roast Beef

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Wonderful! Didn't have all the ingredients, so I used minced garlic and some Peppered-Up House Seasoning to make a paste and added extra crushed peppercorns. Followed the instructions from there. My guys raved about it! This one is a keeper, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe, but added some red bell pepper and onion that I had picked from my garden. Hubby thought it was a bit too sweet, but otherwise good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

3 Cheese Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
These wee pretty good! I used the enchilada sauce I had on hand instead of the salsa, and used minced red onions as well as the green. But everyone was happy with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Italian Irishman's Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
My guys really loved this one! I didn't use the apple because I didn't have any on hand, but will add it next time. I did saute some diced red pepper with the onions, and made the gravy with chicken broth because I didn't have any beef broth. But next time I make this I will be more prepared and make sure I have those items on hand. However... my guys were very happy (husband is Irish, lol) and were excited about taking the left overs for lunch the next day, so a 5 star recipe this is!! Thank you for this one, NikkHoff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was really good! I did take the advice to use extra Cajun seasoning since my guys like spicy. I coated the chicken, added extra while cooking it and then tossed in some more while taste testing towards the end. Also, instead of using lemon pepper, I used some lemon peel and fresh ground pepper. For those of you who said it was "soupy" my advice is to let it simmer long enough for it to thicken. When draining the pasta, save a bit of the pasta water. Be sure to follow the rule, "the sauce can simmer, the pasta can't wait." Make the sauce, and while it's "heating through" cook the pasta. This will allow the sauce time to thicken up. Drain your pasta, saving some of the water, then add the pasta directly into the sauce or pour the sauce directly over the pasta. Toss, toss, and toss some more. Then when you think all the pasta is completely covered, toss again. You will find that you may need to add some of that pasta water to thin the sauce, but add it by the tablespoon because you don't want it to go "soupy" again. I really liked GinnyG's suggestion of using some white wine and shrimp but my guys will not allow any kind of seafood to pass their lips, so I sauteed some shrimp in white wine for me and added it to my own portion. If this turned out bland for you, you aren't using enough seasonings. Remember to taste test as you cook and add seasonings until it tastes good to YOU! Play with your food!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Seasoned Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Split Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Perfect chicken! I smoothed a combo of lemon olive oil and a really nice fruity olive oil over the skin, then sprinkled on garlic and onion powders along with Mrs. Dash Salt Alternative. Took the suggestion of others and used a bit of chicken broth in the bottom of the pan. Baked at 475 for 1 hour. The pan I used could not be put under a broiler, but the skin still turned out nice and crispy with the meat fully cooked, juicy and tender! My guys loved it and complimented me on it, which is unusual because they will eat pretty much whatever I put in front of them, so when I get a compliment, I know it was truly great! And so easy it's almost funny. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
So simple, so good. Added garlic and a dash of chipotle pepper. But otherwise, pretty much perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was fantastic! I've never had a Honey Baked from the store so I had no point of reference. But the ham turned out absolutely perfect, my guys positively loved it, and I'm one happy camper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Savory Cranberry Glazed Pork Loin Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I used my leftover homemade cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving, added a lot more garlic (not overpowering at all!) & used stock to thin. I used it on 2-1 lb center pork loins, basting every 5 minutes. Otherwise, pretty much followed the recipe. My men were happy and that's all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great recipe! My family loved it. I used Hot Italian sausage to give it a bit of a bite because my family prefers spicy, and I used white potatoes because they are firmer when cubed and cooked. Regular russets have a tendency to turn to mush when cooked. But otherwise it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Very easy to make. Definitely melt in your mouth. But boring. They really have no flavor. The first dozen I made plain. Bleh. The second dozen I added some almond extract to try to add some flavor. That helped. The third dozen I topped with a pecan half. The fourth dozen I took Jenmi's advice and piped them just to make them pretty. Those I will dip in chocolate. It's an ok recipe. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aztec Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Quite tasty with the changes I made. However, it looked kinda gross. My family really liked it though. I substituted kidney beans for the corn, added chili pepper, cumin and chopped onions. Thankfully too I realized ahead of time that one can of enchilada sauce was plenty, two would have been overkill and made soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
A great classic. The only variation I make, is that I use half butter and half Crisco. PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Schenone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Mount Shasta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chop and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This was easy and tasty. I used the cream of chicken but substituted cream of mushroom with roasted garlic for the cream of celery. I then added more garlic (family fave) and sauteed onion. I also used regular rice as opposed to instant (gross, lol), sets the oven to 350 and increased the cook time to an hour. My guys said "excellent" so it's a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made these because my family asked for some although I don't normally like oatmeal cookies. But these were great! Easy to make. Not necessary to press with the fork, they cook down perfectly. They turn out so flat I was afraid they would be crisp, but they really are nice and soft. The cinnamon flavor is perfect which is what I don't normally like about oatmeal cookies, but it's not overpowering in these. I did add raisins as they were requested. I also used parchment which negated the necessity to grease the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dog Food Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I have made this one several times for home and work potlucks. It not a pretty dish but the name gets 'em to try it once and the taste keeps 'em coming back for more! I love it! I do add some garlic to the ground beef when browning it. It really does need to sit overnight in the refrigerator overnight for the flavors to marry. Good stuff!! Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

Kiwi Jam

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My jam came out perfect. It was firm and held it's shape when I scooped it out of the jar and I didn't change anything except the temp and how long you cook it. Oh and be sure you use a really firm or tart apple like a Granny Smith, which has more natural pectin. The recipe says to lower heat and "simmer"... don't do this! Heat it to a roiling boil and let it cook at that high temperature, stirring frequently until done... It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Auld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Based on my experience with the Banana Banana Bread recipe, I adjusted the oven temp to 325* - again, the bread turned out moist through and through. The only other adjustment I made was to use 1 3/4C white sugar and 1C light brown sugar. I would have switched out the oil for applesauce, but I didn't have any on hand...next time I'll use applesauce. Husband is raving about this bread. I guess it is one of my new regular recipes. :) And I will, most assuredly, be making gift loaves for the holidays. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Schenone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Mount Shasta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States